Northville, MI 
Cass Benton Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 368ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Long Tee



Reviews: 58
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 room for improvement

1    6/13/2012   6/30/2012
Review By: PerfectPair
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Large course with lots of variety of lay outs. Pro and amature tees.
Tight shots and challanging use of elevations.
some not so challanging holes (for a nice confidence booster lol)
Cons: poorly maintained.
lots of trash, broken bottles, soda and beer bottles and cans.
signs leave a bit to be desired.
can get crowded quickly.
Other Thoughts: We started disc golfing as a "family outing" with out teens and preteens. And for the most part we have found this to be an enjoyable past time. we have visited a few courses and we are learnig the "rules" and "protocalls". For the most part the people we meet on the courses are friendly and helpful. I guess that we luckily havent met the people on the courses that toss thier trash all over like their maid is following behind them. It shows such a lack of respect for everyone when you leave your filth behing for other people to walk through, trip on, and have to pick up, and the graffiti, its just pathetic. Not only does it show that your a hood rat, but it shows your low IQ when you cant spell half of the things you are trying to write/paint....The best positive I can find from this part of this course is it helps me to emphasise to reinforce to my kids to have more respect for themselves and for others.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course near the D

1    6/4/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: dandther
Played: 41  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 39.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall a very good course.

Nice mix of types of holes. Some in thick woods, some in the open, some uphill, some downhill.

I really liked the long distance holes (3, 16, 18)

Interesting artwork mosaics made of beer bottle caps pressed into the dirt on several holes (but this speaks to large volumes of alcohol consumed by the regulars, which might be a con).

Super-friendly locals helped us find our way around an unfamiliar course.
Cons: No way to figure out where to go for the next hole in a number of spots. Signage could be better.

I'm not a big fan of holes that require more luck than skill to make it through the woods. This course has several of those (witness the chain link wrapped around the trees on several of the deep woods holes).

Too many underage drinkers in this park on the two nights we played.
Other Thoughts: Really good course. We spent a couple of days in Novi on business, really enjoyed playing Cass Benton in the evening after sitting in meetings all day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Home course, First course, Good course

5+    12/28/2011   5/4/2012
Review By: CavanC5
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great course design
-Great elevation change as well as basket placement
-Challenging from the backs, fun from the fronts
-Easy access, free
Cons: -the local color sometimes is not always conducive to disc golfing
-the city doesnt much care for its disc golf course
-when it rains the course can flood and gets very muddy
-in the summer the fairways can get very tall
Other Thoughts: This was the course where i first learned on and have played probably 100 times on, the course itself is awesome if a little down in the dumps from people stealing tee signs and trash, etc. The course is sometimes a local meeting spot for high school kids which sometimes is good because it gets new people into the sport but can also be bad because they are often drinking or engaging in behavior of questionable legality. i love this course but its definitely not my favorite

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cass Benton a Classic Course

1    6/25/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 108  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Large Course Sign at Parking Lot
Decent Amount of Parking
Great Design (Flows Well, No Really Long Walks)
Great Variety (Left, Right, Straight)
Great Variety of Distances
Pro and Am Tee Pads on Most Holes
Nice Sized Concrete Tee Pads
Nice Tee Signs (When Present)
Amazing Use of Elevation
Both Open and Wooded Holes
Benches and Trash Cans Throughout
Restrooms In Park
Figure 8 Design (Front & Back 9 End at Parking)
Course Has A Lot of Character
Cons:
Can Get Very Crowded
Litter Can Be An Issue
Many Tee Signs Missing or Vandalized
Erosion Is Becoming A Problem
Very Little Maintenance Done To Course
Can Get Muddy In Spots
Navigation Could Be Hard W/O Guide
Other Thoughts:
Cass Benton Hills DGC is a classic 18-hole course located in Northville, Michigan. The course is located just minutes from I-96 in Cass Benton Park. The park is very nice, and fairly large with amenities such as picnic pavilions, restrooms, and playgrounds, none of which come into play on the course. During the winter months there are many winter activities such as cross-country skiing and bobsledding.

The course itself is located along Edward N Hines Drive, look for the large sign that says Cass Benton Hills Disc Golf Course on the east side of the road. Park in the lot behind the sign, along the road. Once in the lot, to get to the first hole, head towards the woods near the back of the parking lot and walk up the hill towards the road. Follow the path between the road and tree line and look for the trail that cuts into the woods. Hole 1 is just inside the trees and has both a Pro and Am tee pad.

As you play through the course you'll see many features that make this an above average, standout course. The first thing you will notice is the variety of open and wooded holes. Not only is there a great mix of both, there are tight wooded fairways as well as moderately wooded holes that are still quite technical.

The next great thing about the course is the amazing use of the elevation throughout the park. Right from the beginning you will play over rolling hills, up hills, and a couple of down hill bombs as well. The elevation doesn't stop with just the drives and fairways either. Many pins are positioned with a great risk reward factor, do you lay up, or go for it and risk the 40 foot roll-away?

The only downside to this great course is the lack of maintenance and upkeep done on the course. One major problem is the amount of litter. There are trash cans throughout, but people either choose not to use them, or they are full and trash finds its way to the ground. Another issue is the vandalism done to both benches and tee signs, if the signs aren't just missing altogether. Unfortunately you can really see the age and poor misuse of the course over the years and, from what I can tell, not a lot is being done to try to correct the problems.

Other than the extremely large crowds and the poor maintenance on the course, Cass Benton is a really great course. Great layout, great design (beginning and ending at the parking lot), and great variety are all keys to a great course and this has all of them. I would definitely play this one again and would recommend it to anyone in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  A must play

5+    5/14/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: ToneBone69
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cass was the first disc golf course I have ever played on, and is my home course. There is a lot to like about Cass.
- The variation of wooded to open, short to long, challenging to relatively simple and flat to rolling hills never lets the player get board.
- There are a few holes you will never forget; The long tee from #3 is over 700 feet on top of waht seems like a mountain, #16 the longest 350 feet you will ever throw and good luck ducing #18.
- Cass is absolutely free, one of the best free courses out there.
Cons: - The course has a lack of funding for up keep.
- At noon or five, be prepared to wait at every hole.
- Many downed trees block your way, may not be the best course for someone who has trouble moving around.
Other Thoughts: Cass was an amazing course back in its heyday, but with neglect it is falling apart. This course is an unpolished gem that is a must play!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 home course

5+    4/29/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: otherguy14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 3/21/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great course design
verity of holes
distance from hole to next tee
secenery
some holes challening some not so much makes for a great time
18 holes
plenty of new holes can be made with some imagniation [hole 19: shoot from 17 pro tee to basket 18]
plenty of parking
lots of like minded individuals
pro and am tee's
free
Cons: lots of people
has a tendency to flood when it rains for a few days
missing signs
park system dose not take care of it
Other Thoughts: this is the first course i every played at and is still my favorit even with all the Cassholes its big its challenging i never have the same game twice

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/9/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cass Benton Hills offers a wide variety of hole design with some great topography to work with. Tight and tree rich, open, short, long, down hills, up hills, some water to contend with as well. This course offers a great walk and some terrain that is refreshing with some beauty to take in along the way. It is moderately challenging in spots but never becomes frustrating. A revisit would be welcomed.
Cons: Navigation can be confusing at times. Most signage is absent and vandalism has unfortunately taken its toll in some spots. The grounds were pretty clean though. It was relatively early in the day and the place was quite steady with traffic. Other players displayed good etiquette at the time of this review and playing through was permitted where applicable. Plan for hold ups. Have a good time.
Other Thoughts: If you are in this area this is a good one to tack on to your tour. It is a free park that seems to be well maintained, although this review is based on the very early season where garbage and destruction may not have had proper time to proliferate. The locals in this sample population seemed pretty decent despite their reputation and nickname.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    2/25/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: Jabanger
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I was pretty impressed with this course. Nice mix of distances and hills. Along with open and confined shots.
Cons: None that I can think of though I have only played this course once at the end of winter.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best course I've played yet

5+    8/10/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: gmalsparty
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cass Benton (Hines Park if you're from the area) is the course I picked up the game at. Since then I have yet to find a course that compares. The amateur and pro tee option is something a lot of courses in Michigan don't have, and very helpful one for beginners. There's a mix of thick woods and open field; uphill, downhill, and level; and hole lengths vary enough that each drive doesn't seem redundant. Not to mention anyone who doesn't enjoy Hole 3 "Heartbreak Hill" has to be out of their mind.
Cons: Poorly respected by the people there to put it simply. Each tee is surrounded by a mound of cigarette butts and bottle caps. A ton of hole signs are missing, which accounts for why navigating the course can be a bit difficult for first-timers. If Hines was maintained at a higher level, there would be nothing bad to say about it.
Other Thoughts: The earlier you go the better. Once it hits about noon on weekends and 4 or 5 on weekdays, be ready to do a lot of waiting if you're just arriving. Hines isn't just the best course in the area, it's also one of the only free ones. Don't be surprised if a caravan of 10 people in front of you ruin your day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A real gem, but could be better

5+    8/31/2009   8/5/2010
Review By: Grip_N'_Rip
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome variety of holes and a dynamic layout make this course sparkle. Every kind of hole is on display here and it allows the use of many of your discs and many styles of shot.
Hole No. 3 can't be oversold, just a beautiful vista-like view from high above. A wild throw on Hole No. 2 or 3 can land you over Hines Drive on your right, so be wary.
Hole No. 16, called Flexible Flyer is amazing. A semi-short hole that's aceable, it has this great drop-down location for a pin at the bottom of the hill, surrounded by trees. A really cool design.
Concrete tees, excellent pin placement, huge park and convienient location make it a must play.


Cons: People, people, people. The term Casshole only scratches the surface. Deuchebag circus kind of covers it. From over-privileged kiddie punks to obnoxious adults to vagabond rapist-looking weirdos who seem to wander in from time to time, there' s a little of everything. Because this is where I started playing, I thought every course was like this, thank goodness that's not the case.
Plus, there's always big groups of 10+ who sometimes lack common courtesy to let you play through. Luckily the course layout can allow you to skip around them with enough hustle.

Also besides the human trash, there's the trash on the ground. Litter is everywhere, and vandalism rampant. Signage is defaced or removed. The first tee is almost always missing it's sign. C'mon, people.

Also, the brush is brutal in some cases moving from tee to tee. You almost need a machete to get through it all between overgrown trees and downed trees.
Other Thoughts: If the crowds get you down, you can move over to Hole No. 11 to the left of Hole No. 1, called "Knock on Wood" or jump over to Hole No. 13 set across the dirt road/parking area, to start your round.

My love for the game started here and I still consider it my home course, but the people and course condition can really be a drag.

Anytime before noon is a good time on the weekend, on weekdays come after work at your own risk.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.