Northville, MI 
Cass Benton Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 215ft.   3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 62
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Delinquents are the plague of this great course

2-4    6/6/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Great variety of hole lengths
+ Spectacular elevation changes for this part of MI
+ Minimal perceived favoritism for RHBH
+ Tees (Am/Pro) and baskets were in good shape
+ Mostly level tees even on hills
+ A bunch of memorable holes
+ Challenging blind/nearly-blind pin placement
+ Attempts have been made to preserve the trees
+ Some benches and trash cans
+ Defined fairways with appropriately rough edges
Cons: - Very busy with dg'ers and delinquent non-dg'ers without any sense of etiquette or even politeness
- Course layout is a little awkward in the middle
- Bordering fairways/tees of 9-11 slow the flow of play
- Erosion = mainly dirt fairways in the woods and plenty of downed trees
- Vandalism... one of the dirtiest, most vandalized courses I've played
- Tee signs were almost all obscured with vandalism, which sucks because there are so many blind holes
- No layout signage, bring a smartphone or map
- Plays near/through a park at hole 12 to tee 13, which lead to two interactions with picnickers annoyed with disc golf (picnicking less than 20 feet from 12's basket)
Other Thoughts: The location is great, the use of elevation and grounds is excellent, and the overall fun factor is very high. However, the park's popularity is definitely the disc golf course's biggest pitfall and as much as I'd like to give this course a higher rating, in its current condition it just can't be. The condition of the course with its erosion, vandalism, graffiti, non-disc golfing socializing visitors, and somewhat awkward layout are what brought my rating down.

I really enjoyed the disc golf at Cass Benton Hills. Seriously. A LOT of fun was had throwing here despite all the other negatives. The elevation changes are spectacular and the hilly hole layouts were designed to maximize the fun factor of the course. Throwing downhill, uphill, on the banks of the hills, and through few relatively flat wooded holes made for excellent variety. The moderately wooded holes complemented the lush green grassy ones nicely. The downhill and open fairway bombs shine and stand out most with their tough par 3 lengths, especially with sparse trees in all the right spots (challenging for both RHBH/RHFH). I have distinctly good memories of holes 3, 5, 8, and 13-18 :) #15's downhill ace run was also really fun!

Like I said before, the course's popularity is definitely its biggest pitfall. Second biggest pitfall would be its sometimes-awkward layout. Like with most disc golf courses, a couple of transitions were awkward for first and second-timers (1-2, 9-11, 13-14). Unfortunately these two pitfalls create a perfect storm right in the middle of the course at hole 9, 10, 11 that really stuck out as bothersome in our experience at the course. The fairways/tees of holes 9, 10, and 11 are blurred and although they never cross, they are so close that they can't accommodate so many groups of inexperienced throwers. This is where we encountered the most groups and it's also the most tree-covered portion of the course (go figure)... There was a group (or two or three) on every single tee on the day we visited and discs were flying near us regularly. And although this horse has been beaten to death, not only does the popularity of the course show in the erosion of the fairways and damage on the trees, but the litter and vandalism were awful. I don't think a single tee sign was readable and very few surfaces were graffiti-free.

If the downed trees and litter were taken care of, the tee signs replaced, and non-disc golfing delinquents stopped from entering this park, it could be a 4.5 rated course in my opinion. Even with the eroded and sometimes cramped fairways.

To be honest, and this probably wouldn't be a popular opinion, what would really bring me back to Cass Benton would be if the park became pay to play and they spruced it up a bit. This coming from someone who lives two hours away. I doubt locals would dig it much. Disc golf becoming pay to play is definitely taboo, but I don't think anyone could really debate what those dollars could do for the upkeep and preservation of this course.

Thanks for reading!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Cass Benton

5+    2/26/2013   2/26/2013
Review By: PwEmc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty nice course layout with some challenging holes and not much repetition.

Course is split into wide open holes and wooded very nicely.
Cons: Maintenance is absolutely awful. Fallen trees stay where they've fallen, regardless of where they are. Plenty of trees fallen right on the path.

Navigating the fallen tree jungle on hole 9 is depressing.

The amount of graffiti/hoodlum teens is pretty high since this is in an urban area and the course is free.

Absolutely packed in the summer. Prepare to wait for the group of ten 16 year olds to all take their 6 shots to the basket.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Cass Benton

1    9/16/2012   9/17/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 67  Reviewed: 43
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great Challenge for new and advanced players alike. Mix of long hiking hills and woods. Some fantastic long shots and elevation changes.
Cons: Can be a hike for some. Not too many complaints.
Other Thoughts: A great challenge course, will make you a better player.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, challenging course...

5+    6/18/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: MrDiscinox
Played: 47  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent mix of shots. More than a couple bombs (400+) from the Pro tees with a good mix of technical holes.
- Locals are often selling discs, possible food and drinks
- Gets very busy but course design usually allows for good flow with minimal backups
- Lots of shade and sitting areas and trash cans everywhere
- Generally minimal litter despite the amount of people that play there... Depends on the day really.
Cons: - Can get ridiculously busy. Sits in the middle of a lot of courses and areas where there are a lot of golfers. Summer evenings will find every parking lot full.
- Signage is old and vandalized
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses. The huge 700+ bomb off the top of hill on #3 is awesome. This is the place where I learned how to disc golf. Fun to just come out with some beers and party golf all day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 room for improvement

1    6/13/2012   6/30/2012
Review By: PerfectPair
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Large course with lots of variety of lay outs. Pro and amature tees.
Tight shots and challanging use of elevations.
some not so challanging holes (for a nice confidence booster lol)
Cons: poorly maintained.
lots of trash, broken bottles, soda and beer bottles and cans.
signs leave a bit to be desired.
can get crowded quickly.
Other Thoughts: We started disc golfing as a "family outing" with out teens and preteens. And for the most part we have found this to be an enjoyable past time. we have visited a few courses and we are learnig the "rules" and "protocalls". For the most part the people we meet on the courses are friendly and helpful. I guess that we luckily havent met the people on the courses that toss thier trash all over like their maid is following behind them. It shows such a lack of respect for everyone when you leave your filth behing for other people to walk through, trip on, and have to pick up, and the graffiti, its just pathetic. Not only does it show that your a hood rat, but it shows your low IQ when you cant spell half of the things you are trying to write/paint....The best positive I can find from this part of this course is it helps me to emphasise to reinforce to my kids to have more respect for themselves and for others.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course near the D

1    6/4/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: dandther
Played: 43  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 40.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall a very good course.

Nice mix of types of holes. Some in thick woods, some in the open, some uphill, some downhill.

I really liked the long distance holes (3, 16, 18)

Interesting artwork mosaics made of beer bottle caps pressed into the dirt on several holes (but this speaks to large volumes of alcohol consumed by the regulars, which might be a con).

Super-friendly locals helped us find our way around an unfamiliar course.
Cons: No way to figure out where to go for the next hole in a number of spots. Signage could be better.

I'm not a big fan of holes that require more luck than skill to make it through the woods. This course has several of those (witness the chain link wrapped around the trees on several of the deep woods holes).

Too many underage drinkers in this park on the two nights we played.
Other Thoughts: Really good course. We spent a couple of days in Novi on business, really enjoyed playing Cass Benton in the evening after sitting in meetings all day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Home course, First course, Good course

5+    12/28/2011   5/4/2012
Review By: CavanC5
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great course design
-Great elevation change as well as basket placement
-Challenging from the backs, fun from the fronts
-Easy access, free
Cons: -the local color sometimes is not always conducive to disc golfing
-the city doesnt much care for its disc golf course
-when it rains the course can flood and gets very muddy
-in the summer the fairways can get very tall
Other Thoughts: This was the course where i first learned on and have played probably 100 times on, the course itself is awesome if a little down in the dumps from people stealing tee signs and trash, etc. The course is sometimes a local meeting spot for high school kids which sometimes is good because it gets new people into the sport but can also be bad because they are often drinking or engaging in behavior of questionable legality. i love this course but its definitely not my favorite

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cass Benton a Classic Course

1    6/25/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 126  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Large Course Sign at Parking Lot
Decent Amount of Parking
Great Design (Flows Well, No Really Long Walks)
Great Variety (Left, Right, Straight)
Great Variety of Distances
Pro and Am Tee Pads on Most Holes
Nice Sized Concrete Tee Pads
Nice Tee Signs (When Present)
Amazing Use of Elevation
Both Open and Wooded Holes
Benches and Trash Cans Throughout
Restrooms In Park
Figure 8 Design (Front & Back 9 End at Parking)
Course Has A Lot of Character
Cons:
Can Get Very Crowded
Litter Can Be An Issue
Many Tee Signs Missing or Vandalized
Erosion Is Becoming A Problem
Very Little Maintenance Done To Course
Can Get Muddy In Spots
Navigation Could Be Hard W/O Guide
Other Thoughts:
Cass Benton Hills DGC is a classic 18-hole course located in Northville, Michigan. The course is located just minutes from I-96 in Cass Benton Park. The park is very nice, and fairly large with amenities such as picnic pavilions, restrooms, and playgrounds, none of which come into play on the course. During the winter months there are many winter activities such as cross-country skiing and bobsledding.

The course itself is located along Edward N Hines Drive, look for the large sign that says Cass Benton Hills Disc Golf Course on the east side of the road. Park in the lot behind the sign, along the road. Once in the lot, to get to the first hole, head towards the woods near the back of the parking lot and walk up the hill towards the road. Follow the path between the road and tree line and look for the trail that cuts into the woods. Hole 1 is just inside the trees and has both a Pro and Am tee pad.

As you play through the course you'll see many features that make this an above average, standout course. The first thing you will notice is the variety of open and wooded holes. Not only is there a great mix of both, there are tight wooded fairways as well as moderately wooded holes that are still quite technical.

The next great thing about the course is the amazing use of the elevation throughout the park. Right from the beginning you will play over rolling hills, up hills, and a couple of down hill bombs as well. The elevation doesn't stop with just the drives and fairways either. Many pins are positioned with a great risk reward factor, do you lay up, or go for it and risk the 40 foot roll-away?

The only downside to this great course is the lack of maintenance and upkeep done on the course. One major problem is the amount of litter. There are trash cans throughout, but people either choose not to use them, or they are full and trash finds its way to the ground. Another issue is the vandalism done to both benches and tee signs, if the signs aren't just missing altogether. Unfortunately you can really see the age and poor misuse of the course over the years and, from what I can tell, not a lot is being done to try to correct the problems.

Other than the extremely large crowds and the poor maintenance on the course, Cass Benton is a really great course. Great layout, great design (beginning and ending at the parking lot), and great variety are all keys to a great course and this has all of them. I would definitely play this one again and would recommend it to anyone in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  A must play

5+    5/14/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: ToneBone69
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cass was the first disc golf course I have ever played on, and is my home course. There is a lot to like about Cass.
- The variation of wooded to open, short to long, challenging to relatively simple and flat to rolling hills never lets the player get board.
- There are a few holes you will never forget; The long tee from #3 is over 700 feet on top of waht seems like a mountain, #16 the longest 350 feet you will ever throw and good luck ducing #18.
- Cass is absolutely free, one of the best free courses out there.
Cons: - The course has a lack of funding for up keep.
- At noon or five, be prepared to wait at every hole.
- Many downed trees block your way, may not be the best course for someone who has trouble moving around.
Other Thoughts: Cass was an amazing course back in its heyday, but with neglect it is falling apart. This course is an unpolished gem that is a must play!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 home course

5+    4/29/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: otherguy14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 3/21/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great course design
verity of holes
distance from hole to next tee
secenery
some holes challening some not so much makes for a great time
18 holes
plenty of new holes can be made with some imagniation [hole 19: shoot from 17 pro tee to basket 18]
plenty of parking
lots of like minded individuals
pro and am tee's
free
Cons: lots of people
has a tendency to flood when it rains for a few days
missing signs
park system dose not take care of it
Other Thoughts: this is the first course i every played at and is still my favorit even with all the Cassholes its big its challenging i never have the same game twice

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.