Northville, MI 
Cass Benton Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: DaPiCkEL Hole #3 (Taken 5/2004)
5 / 740ft.   5 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Pro Tee: One of highest elevations on the course. Wind plays a big factor on this hole.



Reviews: 58
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Warning

1    9/11/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: Juglaz
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - great variety
- multiple pads
- good signage
- elevation changes

Cons: This is a great course, but I just wanted to add that people have a tendency to steal discs here. I played there once and had two discs stolen down fairway on the same day!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 my home course

5+    8/31/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: drummerjunkie101
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -- holes where always a good length
-- lots of fun obstacles
-- never any long grass, so its easy to find discs
-- water comes into play but you only have to worry on hole 2
--all around fun course
-- people bring thair dogs!
Cons: -- to go at 2:30 to 6:30 its gona be crowded
-- i think theirs a league on mondays
-- everyonce n awhile i find some people smokeing the magic tobbacoo openly, people please smoke it before or after your game.
-- i wached as a dog ran up and stole some guys disc, the guy was kinda mad but got it back(most of it).
Other Thoughts: --people complane about fallin trees, but i did not notice them at first, they are just more obstacles.
-- seriously! do you have to smoke the magic tobbacoo while playing, a lot of time i bring family.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Frusterating beauty

1    8/24/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great concrete tee pads
Baskets are quite solid
Great variety of long and short holes.
Excellent variety of tight wooded holes and wide open holes.
Signature hole three is and absolute stunner
Course plays more challenging than most courses
Layout design uses the overall size of the park well
Dual tees are a nice touch
Water comes into play on a few holes

Cons: Lots of navigation problems
1/3 of tee signs when I played were stolen.
Numerous downed trees in the forest
Vandalism issues, graffiti, trash
most of the second tees are relatively unimaginative, they don't really create a new shot or change the hole, they're just a bit shorter.
Other Thoughts: This course left an unfortunate bad taste in my mouth, playing the course for the first time without a guide was definitely a huge mistake. There is no indication of where the first tee is from the parking lot, having course maps would be a huge improvement. Some of the walkouts are completely unmarked and I needed the help of some kind park walkers several times. Part of this problem comes from the 6 or 7 tee signs that have been torn down. Honestly the course design warrants a 4 star review but my round felt more like a 3, I'll give the course a 3.5 because playing it again with others would've improved the experience greatly.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/10/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: toxicgolfer
Played: 49  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a excellent course with tons of shot variation, elevation changes, and gorgeous scenery. The designer of the course definetly used the land to its full potential. There are cement tee boxes on every hole, many with both pro and am tees and most of the holes have signs. Players of all skill levels will have a good time.
Cons: If it rains, some of the holes have a tendency to be very muddy. All together, the only reason this course is a 4-disc instead of 5 is due to the maintenance of the course. There are downed trees, grafitti, and some missing signs for the holes. As much as I would prefer not to pay for a course, this one could definetly use the money to keep up the course. Trust me, it would be worth it.
Other Thoughts: The bugs aren't that bad so the Cutter and OFF! aren't really necessary. Make a whole afternoon of the course and bring some lunch. Also, this course has a tendency to be very busy during the peak times on the weekend and during the afternoon times during the week so have some patience. Most people are pretty cool about letting you play through if you are fast though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Once great course - continues to deteriorate

5+    7/16/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 163  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/6/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Offers great disc play and a fun, well balanced round. Quite the complete course with all types of holes offering exceptional shot variety: several wooded holes, a few long and open fairways where you can really let'em rip, a few ace runs, uphill shots, downhill shots, fairways that bend right, others to the left, some go straight. Several greens on or near slopes can make you pay with a nasty roll if your putt/approach goes too far or misses to the wrong side (#2, #14, #16, #17). Many holes offer a few different lines, and a couple are suitable for a tomahawk or thumber if that's in your bag. Hard to believe this much shot variety in only 18 holes.

Signature hole is a beauty: 700 ft + from atop a large hill (maybe 40ft?) where wind often comes into play. Wide fairway can be somewhat forgiving, but if your drive gets away from you to L or R, you could end up with a lousy lie behind some trees or in some brush, with another 400-500 ft between you and the basket. River runs about 20 ft or so behind pin, so long approaches can fly or roll in. One of my very favorite holes anywhere in terms of being "extremely inviting to play."

Wonderfully laid out, with #9's basket near tee #1. Easy to play 9 or 18, or even start out at # 13, and come back to play 1-12 if the front part of the course is filled up when you arrive. Dual concrete tee pads on many holes.
Cons: Course is aging like a drug addicted rock star that used to be a headline act, but now screams silently for help. Vandalism, erosion, ashborer, storms and lack of maintenance have combined to create a situation where this course can never be any better than in fair condition. This once phenomenal course can only be considered very good at best today.

Nasty storms and ash borer have claimed numerous trees, several of which still block 9's fairway (not accessible with a cart at all) and hamper the return on 4.

Erosion is a problem on 5's short tee, as well as the pins on 14 and 17, and has all but claimed hole 2... I can't even describe how the basket is staying up, but it quite literally is no longer "in" the ground.

15's basket is only about 18 inches off the ground, and 2's is hanging on for dear life and about to tip over.

Cassholes have treated this course very, very badly, and it's hard to play a round without getting stuck behind a group of chuckers who couldn't care less if people are waiting behind them... and a lot worse. Even the fairly new tee markers have been grafilthied.

Once upon a time, each hole had great signage with each hole creatively and appropriately named, but vandals destroyed those long ago. Given the area's economy, I don't expect any government agency to step up cleaning efforts or refurbish a blessed thing.

Traffic can be heavy during peak hours, so you may need to be very patient on evenings and weekends. But during week days, it's not too bad.
Other Thoughts: If not for the ongoing efforts of wonderfully friendly non-playing local named Jerry, this place would be loaded with beverage containers.

When pristine, I'd have rated this course a 4.5, but sadly, it's simply too run down to merit such a rating in it's current state.

Updated 9/5/10: Even more trees have been lost to storms and what I'm guessing is ash borer. Several trees have been recently cut down to the right of the tee on on hole 12 (Swamp Monster) which make the tee shot quite a bit easier.

Updated 8/7/13: Erosion issues, broken baskets, and condition of some fairways. This once vibrant course is slowly sinking into an abyss from which it will likely never return. :(

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 El Casso

5+    7/23/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: rcd1649
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging course.
Excellent mix of long open holes and short technichal holes.
Course varies from thickly wooded to very open.
Overall one of the best designed courses in Michigan.
Cons: Almost always very, very crowded.
Seems to lack the disc golf etiquette found on most courses.
Other Thoughts: Pay to play would be a great addition here, but not sure if that is feasible in Hines Park. Overall an excellent course just be prepared to wait.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/10/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 407  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -dual cement tees
-good variation between long, open holes and shorter wooded holes
-fun elevation changes
-great use of space in the park
-there are ace run holes that you can just as easily take a 4 on if you don't hit your lines
-a few elevated tees on open holes for those that have big arms and like to crush
-just as many short, finesse holes for those that like to work their discs
-decently descriptive tee signs, but they are rather simplistic
-fencing used to protect trees that get hit often
Cons: -park is not as well kept as it could be (lots of trash and bottles just laying around on the wooded holes)
-if you play on a weekend expect to come across some backups on the longer holes because there are large groups of teens that play and don't generally think about the courtesy of letting faster groups play through
-some of the tee signs have been stolen or have graffiti on them
-after a hard rain many of the wooded holes will become VERY muddy due to the fact that there isn't any underbrush to soak the water out of the ground
Other Thoughts: overall this is a very nice course that's definitely worth visiting. the largest problem with it is the fact that while the park as a whole is kept up pretty well, the disc golf course gets forgotten about when cleaning time comes. but this course has a hole for everyone and i know that you'll enjoy yourself if you go out of your way to visit it

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 AMAZING

5+    6/25/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: CCADGL
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is amazing. It is the best of all I have been too. It is very challenging as there is a wide variety of terrain- from long wide open hole, to holes that are consumed with trees to holes that have streams or rivers that traverse them. The best part is that it is free. You dont have to pay an enterance fee or a fee to play. It is not like any of those soft courses where the hole may curve and bend while being surrounded by fields. This has rolling hills, tight passages, and many many trees. it is truely a test of accuracy and skill.
Cons: There is vanadalism on all of the course signs as well on every park bench. Also it gets very crowded on weekday afternoons and weekends. I recomend going in the morning or early afternoon.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a great course to go to. There are some fallen down trees on holes 9 and 11 but it oonly makes it more interesting and challenging. I think it makes it better. Finally, there is a gr8 ice cream place just down the road off of 7 mile.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    6/6/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: LordSphinx
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Free
Good for all levels of ability
Cons: Trash: some of the holes are littered with it
Signs missing
Other Thoughts: Try to hit this course in the morning to beat the crowds. For a free course, it isn't bad, just ignore the trash.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course but needs TLC

5+    6/4/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: DaPiCkEL
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course with mixed short and long holes. Hole #3 is by far my favorite, with its high elevation, wind is a factor on this hole most of the time, with a water hazard near the basket, don't over throw or you might have to get wet to get your disc. Hole #10 "Knock On Wood" is a very challenging and rewarding hole, if you can get though the very tight tree's on this hole. Hole #15 is a very steep downhill hole that will always have you wanting to throw a second disc to try to ace this hole. The 18th hole called "The Final Insult" is a long dog leg right that is always fun to play. I have been playing this course for quite a while, and I always keep comming back.
Cons: Graffiti, and trash are getting a bit out of hand at this course, lots of bottle poachers dumping trash cans out and not picking up after themselves. Lots of tree's have fallen onto the fairways and have yet to be cleaned up, especially hole #6. Very high traffic at peak play times.
Other Thoughts: I really wish people wouldn't trash this course, if your up for it, bring a garbage bag and chip in on cleaning up this course. I recommend getting there early to avoid the crowds, 8am is preferred, park starts to get really active after 10am, from lots of casual players.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.