Disc Golf Store
Northville, MI 
Cass Benton Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 191ft.   3 / 191ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 58
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    5/20/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: RiverBandit
Played: 46  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cass Benton has a great variety of holes. 6 hole in the open and mostly wooded holes create a challenge. Lots of shade, and benches provided for those days which you are waiting in line to tee off. Signs on most hole to make navigation a bit easier. Cement tee pads, Pro and Am tees on most holes, and Chainstar baskets.
Cons: The crowds at peak hours can be unbearable. Lots of people around the course causing a ruckus can sometimes get frusurating. Lots of vanalisim on every sign and bench, even the big rocks around the course have some spray paint on them. Over flowing garbage cans all around the park Make it a bit trashy. Over the years many trees have come down throughout the woods due to natural and un-natural errosion. Path between 4 and 5 could use some trimming.
Other Thoughts: This course was an extremley awesome course when it was first built but has slowly gone down hill over the years. Tons of traffic, seems to be really taking its toll on the course.

Found some people sleeping in a tent with their dog, next to a smoldering fire the other morning on the tee pad for Hole 11 the other morning. Whats that all about.

If you see people breaking down trees or vandalizing the course don't be affraid to call them out on it. It is a very nice course to have in this area and if we keep abusing it they might take it away.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Classic?

5+    4/20/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great variation on every hole. Best hole is hole #3, beginning on a huge hill and ending with a tough approach against the river. I freaking love this course!! Every hole offers something different. Open fields, heavy woods, a creek, elevation changes (which is damn near impossible to find in the greater Detroit area). Concrete tees on every hole, pro and am tees for most, signs marked though vandalized. A MUST PLAY IN THE METRO AREA!!!!!
Cons: If it has rained in the past few days, don't wear shoes. Every hole is muddy. A few paths between holes have been blocked due to downed trees. A few blind holes. Course can be extremely busy during peak times/seasons, but well worth the wait.
Other Thoughts: ****UPDATE****
I've had to drop this down a peg from my original 4 start rating. I've been a bit of a homer on this review, because this is where I fell in love with the game. But the more courses I play, the more I realize this ranking doesn't hold up. This course, while still challenging and unique, has simply lost its luster. It isn't kept up; every time I play there is another rash of fallen trees, the lines have further grown in, and there is more vandalism to the course. Each time I play I feel like there are more holes in which I walk up to the tee and think, "this hole is a pain in the ass." So I've adjusted my ranking accordingly.

***2013 UPDATE***
New wooded posts w/hole number have been dropped in but of course some already have graffiti on them. Looks like some of the baskets have been spray painted as well, improving their visibility. It's a start, but not enough to get this course back to its former glory. Still one of my favourites.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Northville

5+    5/1/2009   5/16/2009
Review By: waterhyzerd
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 9/25/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety- This course has very good elevation, good variation in hole length ranging from under 250 ft to over 700 ft, open and wooded shots, water, and great scenery.

Good Park- no entry fee, lots of parking (although it does fill up at later times on most days), dual cement tee pads, and somewhat clean.

Good location- only about a five minute drive from i-96 depending on traffic.

Cons: Mud- beware of the mud... not a good place to go early in the spring or after a good rainstorm. Holes 3 and 5 can get especially muddy.

Overcrowded- the best times to go are early in the morning (like before 12 pm) or not at all. Seems like kids are either skipping school more often now or people don't have jobs because the casual players start filling the place up in the early afternoons now. There really can be groups of 10+ people that make things frustratingly slow.
Other Thoughts: Cass Benton is a great place if you think you are a professional or going for your first time. The long tees offer a challenge in both distance and accuracy. The shorts are less demanding but will teach the beginners to think twice about going for it on some holes, risking an errant first drive. Either way, the course is both physically and visually appeasing.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/18/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: BearWolf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice elevations. Nice Pro and Armature tees. Nice mix of woods and open holes. Garbage cans on some holes. Nice location. Good Park. The best in the area.
Cons: Many of the signs are broken or missing. Quite a bit of mud after the rain and during the wet season. Make sure to bring a change of shoes, you will get muddy. Even though there are garbage cans scattered through out the course people still manage to throw their trash on the ground. Hole 3 has a tendency to eat disc due to the river that runs on the left side.
Other Thoughts: I know you didn't put it there, however if you see some garbage laying on the ground pick it up and throw it away. Let's keep our parks clean and the environment safe. We all can play a role in preserving this sport

BearWolf

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    5/6/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: sonicsbeer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging, mostly wooded course. Does have some beautiful open holes thrown in as well. Parks nearby for the children, with pavilions and grills nearby for making a day of it.
Cons: Very popular course, which is not all-in-all bad it's just that the course can get backed up sometimes with too many people waiting to throw. Also - and I mean this - a few of the holes do not drain very well after the winter or a good rain, and they will get VERY muddy. Finally, there is really very little maintenance done on the course - other than mowing the grass - so some of the paths, and even a fairway or two, are crossed by fallen trees and tangled undergrowth.
Other Thoughts: I always feel at home on this course, and I think this course is directly responsible for vastly improving my game. Plus, it's free!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Cass Benton

5+    4/12/2009   4/12/2009
Review By: atassac66
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of holes with good amount of elevation changes coming into play. Pro Tees provide a challenging but fun alternative for even lower skill levels.
Beautiful area!

Course is clean and well manicured with defined fairways on every hole. There a lot of short holes to lower your score, but also a number of wide fairways to rip long drives.

One of the top 10 in the Detroit area. A tradtional "metro park" type course without having to pay.
Cons: None to speak of as far as I'm concerned. Hole 14 "lizards folly" is a bit tough to score well on from the pro tees..
Other Thoughts: Two stores close to park sell large amount lof discs. Lots of Discraft plastic.

UPDATE - Course has had many trees cut down or struck down by lighting. It has become a little more rough around the edges. Trees are across the fairways in some cases as well as walkways. Still a great play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 very cool

5+    3/22/2009   3/26/2009
Review By: rads_4_life
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very good holes, most holes have signs, wide range of challenges from trees (lots of trees) to blind holes, lots of people selling used discs in the summer
Cons: gets very muddy, may be difficult to navigate
Other Thoughts: hole 3 is super long even longer from pro so let her rip! hole 15 is a down hill rush to a super low to the ground pin lots of fun

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/1/2009   3/5/2009
Review By: sapples
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has everything you could ever ask for shot wise. There are some outstanding elevation changes for se michigan. Hole three is an awesome shot to see where your arm is at with distance from the pro tee. Starting around hole six there are great tight wooded shots that not only put your accuracy to the test, but also offer a wide variety of options. There are several approaches to take which always makes it fun to switch up your strategy each time you play the course. The holes all have cool names which make them unique and easier to remember. Concrete teepads still are in decent condition and they did not remove any of the baskets this year for sledding.
Cons: When the weather is nice this is not always a great course to come to due to traffic. I have seen multiple groups of OVER 10 people in the same day. A lot of the time they don't even want to let you play through. Very frustrating since I always try to be friendly to others on the course. A lot of the cool signs for the holes are gone or vandalized with marker. Trash and glass seem to build up here fast. After the snow melted there was quite a few broken sleds littering the fairways on the elevated holes.
Other Thoughts: Free parking and free to play. You have to walk past hole 11 to get to nine. After nine and ten go back to the same path up the hill to 11's tees. Holes 13-18 are across the parking lot near the playground. Bring water and bugspray in the summer.....and a hackiesack to pass time waiting to tee off.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/27/2008   11/20/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Hole Variety/Course Layout--
Most people will like this course, all types of shots from short technical to long and open! A couple of the technical holes will be overwellming to typical "Big arms". Cass Benton also has some of the best elevation in southeast, MI!

Course Navigation--
You can print out a map but its easy to follow. It has mostly good signs but a few are covered up.
Cons:
Course Maintenance--
Alot of broken glass and overflowing trash cans, not much maintenance is done at this park.

Traffic--
To me, the course design itself is a 4.0 rating. But the traffic hold ups are so bad here that it makes it a 3.5. There are times where ive been held up at EVERY hole for about 10+ min.

--Very muddy on wet days
Other Thoughts:
Hazards--
Pretty hard to lose a disc but its for sure possible, water in play on 1 or 2 holes. Rough can be thick but not that bad (only bad on a few holes).

Tee Pads--
Normal concrete tee pads, both am and pro tees.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    11/5/2008   11/5/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 82  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cement pads,most holes have pro & am tees some really change the hole,great variety of open & wooded holes some easy birdies and others long and wide open, lots of elevation changes,can start from several holes to avoid waiting,not uncommon to see very good players here like Geoff Bennett and other great discers willing to give tips, league play on mondays around 5 with Pro-Am matchups,bathrooms not too far away, water in play on hole #3 by basket, lots of fun and challenging,
Cons: Usually busy,lots of casual players,vandals have destroyed most of the signs,some pathways littered with broken glass,lack of available parking at times,fall 08 many trees down over paths/fairways not well maintained, for newcomers there is some fairways that are close to each other #17 & #14 and I see a lot of drives from #3 flying at hole # 4 & #5 tee pads so be aware...I saw someone get hit in the head on tee #5 and it was ugly, litter around garbage cans, not uncommon to see people walking across #3 fairway not knowing their on a DGC or not caring,
Other Thoughts: STOP BRINGING GLASS TO CASS!!!
Course is pretty long and usually busy bring water,as of 11/22/08 no baskets have been pulled for sledding


7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.