Trophy Club, TX 
Trophy Club Park Share
Uploaded By: bradcrow4 Hole #2 (Taken 5/2014)
4 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 2 Tee: Basket is tucked into the trees up the hill on the right.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

1    7/13/2016   7/18/2016
Review By: nckirksey
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 0.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2016
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Maybe one day, they'll clean this place up a bit and I'll return. I'm really sad, since the course got such good reviews from earlier players.
Cons: This place (currently) is SNAKE CITY. Ankle-high grass right off the fairways, fallen debris laying all over the course (mostly trees and logs), and everything is right next to a lake.

Apparently, the city removed 6 holes, as the back 6 was completely gone when I tried to play here.

No map or markers to tell players where to go next. Luckily, I was able to find a map online.

Very limited parking.

$2 park entry fee for vehicles. The exit strip (to prevent people from entering for free - messes up your tires if you go the wrong way) looks SUPER sketchy.
Other Thoughts: Not worth driving 20 minutes only to find that the course is basically unplayable (unless you're Steve Irwin or something and aren't concerned with being bitten by one of the area's many poisonous snakes). Had I known the course would be in such bad condition, I would have just gone to play at Turner. I will not be coming back until there is confirmation that the course is playable again.

If you're an out-of-towner or have to drive a ways to get here, be sure there's another review or course conditions update since mine before attempting to play Trophy Club. Otherwise, you might waste your time like I did.

EDIT: No idea why I'm receiving so many downvotes for this review. If you don't like my review, maybe bug the city of Trophy Club to actually maintain your disc golf course. Sorta like the immaculately-mowed grass on the side of the road leading up to the park. Seriously, that grass looks like it belongs on a golf course, so why does your disc golf course's grass go up way past my ankles? There's always the chance I got there on a weird week, but I'm not going to change my score for this course until I get the chance to play here again (sorry random dude who sent me the angry DM). Just because this is your local course doesn't mean I have to give it a 4-star rating).

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic and very challenging course

1    12/21/2015   12/21/2015
Review By: bball7273
Played: 66  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - HUGE concrete tee pads, which were very new and grippy
- Innova Discatcher pro baskets in great condition and easy to see in the woods
- While there was some underbrush in places, for the most part there wasn't (especially in the front 9), which meant that losing a disc was less likley
- Restrooms near the first tee
- One of the biggest pros for this course IMO is the fact that there was so much variety. Since so many courses just have the same type of holes over and over, it was nice to see a great mixture of all types. You have dogleg lefts, dogleg rights, wide open holes, tight tunnel shots, over water shots, tight wooded shots, holes that go from wide open to wooded and vice versa. There was so much variety in the layout, which yielded all sorts of throws and discs to use.
- This course was challenging! I love a good challenge! Varying types of difficulty were found on the course, such as longer distances, tight fairways that required a throw on the money, blind throws, varying distances from hole to hole, so on and so forth. It was a good challenge.
- The front and back nine formulate two loops, which is beneficial because if you only have time for 9 holes, you wont end up super far from the car, as the 9th will come back to the parking lot.
- A cool aspect this course had was 3 different tees. While the shorter two were just natural tees, they still took the time to designate them as shorter tees, which makes this course not as hard for the beginner or less expirienced player.
- The land was used very well for the course, as every aspect of the land was used in order to make it more challenging and fun.
- Multiple pin positions
- The basket positions were in great spots. The design of the course
- I never got bored with this course, as each hole was different from one another and new challenges were created.
Cons: - Navigation. While it was pretty simple to navigate from hole to hole, there were definetley some spots that were quite confusing. I highly reccomend bringing the map from the link and files tab on the site.
- Not a huge issue, but some walks in between holes were longer than usual, which made you want to think the way you were going was incorrect.
- No tee signs. The only sign at the course was a map at the beginning, but other than that, there were no tee signs showing where the basket was if you couldnt see it from the tee, and of course no signs saying where the next tee was.
- Some of the tight wooded holes had not been cleared out, which didnt really give a real and defined fairway. This was frusturating because you basically had to throw right on the money on those holes in order to have any shot at a birdie or par.
- pay to play, but was a very cheap price.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is phenomenal! All this course needs is a little bit more clearing out of trees and some tee signs and it is all set to be one of the best in the DFW area. The variety that this course offers makes a round at Trophy Club Park not only challenging, but exciting and fun as well. This course is definetley worth your time to play!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Frustrating but Fun

1    10/18/2015   10/20/2015
Review By: Johnyfo8
Played: 52  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a beautiful park and mostly free of litter.
There were technical, open (but not many), short and long shots.
The tee pads are huge and very grippy. #1 is the only one that wasn't as big as the rest.
Very low traffic
Elevated basket on hole 11 was pretty sweet.
The baskets were in good shape.
Cons: Navigating between holes seemed too long and there were only a couple of signs.
There were some spray painted arrows on a few holes that helped but the flow was not intuitive.
There were too many trees on most of the first 12 holes.
There is more briar and thorny rough than I have ever seen on a course.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my round and the course is challenging but fun. It seemed like there were too many trees close to the baskets (within 100ft or so) to pick out a line at all. I found myself picking a spot, throwing and praying it makes it through. I am definitely an advocate for keeping the trees and bushes as much as possible on a course but it was excessive here and frustrating as a result. I would like to see more elevation change in a course if possible and there was not much on this one. I had to search for the next tee pad on most of the holes and that was frustrating as well. If you want to challenge your accuracy then this is a great course for you.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

As I walk through the blackened forest...

1    3/17/2015   4/27/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 373  Reviewed: 172  Exp: 6.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has challenging lines and a good mixture of short, moderate, and longer holes. There are both dog leg L/R holes too. There are multiple tees and pin placements to give you different options. Tee pads were ample.
This course uses the present elevation well and there was some water in the pond on 18(or water hole) that made for an epic finishing hole.
There are a couple of places where you can air out a drive, hole 10 especially.
The elevated basket on 11 was sweet and it offers a good risk vs reward.
The front 9 has some excellent technical holes and the back 9 has some cool tunnel/hallway shots were accuracy is going to come in handy.
Trash cans throughout the course.
Cons: This course has some navigation issues in spots so first time users should take a copy of the map to guide them.
The walk between holes, more so on the back 9 but the front 9 has a couple of spots as well, are long and slow the flow of the round down a bit. This is especially true on the transition from 12's basket to 13's tee.
The lack of signage needs to be addressed and would help with the navigation issues.
The rough can be rough and thorny so be advised.
No other amenities except the porta-john so prepare accordingly.
Other Thoughts: This course is pay to play but for a buck its well worth it. This course will test your accuracy and test your mental game as well. This isn't a grip and rip park style course. If you are a fan of technical courses this will be right up your alley. The disc golf shots here are challenging and excellent.
Hopefully the signage issues will be addressed making this course even better. Over time this course should beat in well as more and more players come out and play this nice technical course. If you are in the area I highly recommend playing here. At a buck you can't go wrong!!!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Even better than Participation Ribbon Club

1    4/6/2015   4/19/2015
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 176  Reviewed: 171  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2015
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Despite driving through a fairly active residential community on the way to the course, the park was not that busy and I only saw three other disc golfers on a pleasant Monday evening.

Hole 1 is a long drive into a pin in the woods, and most of the front 9 thereafter is wooded and fairly technical. All of the lines felt challenging but fair, and intermediate players will find the level appropriate.

The back 9 is slightly more open, but other than hole 10, I don't recall any true grip and rip holes. Rather, there are longish fairways with woods on either side, so accurate distance is key.

Several of these holes feature multiple lines to the basket with landing zones that I wish I had another round to take a shot at. Hole 17 was probably the best example of this with trees dotting the fairway but several distinct possibilities for long drives to set up a birdie approach.

Hole 18 was the only one that featured water. I had no trouble clearing the pond with a Buzzz, but there are a couple trees to negotiate. If you play this course frequently, I'd say plunking a disc in the pond is pretty likely, but the hole is not asking you to do anything unusual.

Update: a local informed me that this pond is not a normal feature but was there after a lot of rain. So enjoy it while it lasts!

Tees are concrete and pretty large.
Cons: There appear to be remnants of an earlier design of this course which made navigation a little confusing at times. There were no tee signs (except one or two for holes that don't seem to exist anymore), and several of the baskets were blind. I had to consult the map a lot, although the trails were pretty worn in, so getting around without a map is probably possible.

There isn't much elevation, although hole 11 features a basket on top of a big mound with very steep sides. I didn't love this hole. Rather than having a good risk/reward profile, there didn't seem to be much of a layup option.

While I don't count this in my rating, the peace and quiet of the park is pretty disrupted by the dirt bike track right next to the course. Can't be too picky about these things, but it did sound like a chainsaw the entire round.
Other Thoughts: The drive through the neighborhood of McMansions (or whatever the next step up is. Five Guys Mansions? Qdoba Mansions?) reminded me of Plantation Heritage in Charlotte. It is refreshing to see a course get approved right next to an area that appears to be pretty affluent.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyed this course A LOT!

1    9/11/2014   10/12/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Outstanding course for Advance/Pro players
- Tons of challenge and shot types
- Fairly well maintained
- Multiple tees
- Good parking and plenty of trash cans
- Port-Johns at hole 1
Cons: - Can be difficult to navigate, just use common sense and you'll be OK
Other Thoughts: I'm told I played this course after the re-design and installation or all 18 holes. Great job to the designer. Never a boring shots on this course. Wish I didn't have to pay to get into the park, but it was worth the admission (think it was $1.50/car).

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/31/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: AthruZ
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Phenomenal, indeed and it will only get better with time. This course has really helped improve my hyzer flicks as I am predominantly a sidearm player.

Love the variety of long and short holes. Little paths walking through reminds me of Hill Country and I have already seen deer and an armadillo. This is nature at it's best.

Teepads are great as they're very new, some could be a little longer but overall satisfactory.

Best time to play is during the early morning when the sun rises and it's cooler during the summer. Looking forward to seeing what the winter looks like out there.
Cons: Hole 17 - LOTS of small tree stumps (throughout the course) and the ground is not very leveled. I believe over time, it will get better and hopefully new grass will be grown around that area as well as a few trees to be chopped down.

No benches but I've heard it will be the Boys Scout project. Meanwhile, bring along a chair.

ATV trail is pretty close to Hole 5. Kicking up dirt and making noises. Luckily it's a pretty easy hole unless you decide to do a thumber and lose your disc.
Other Thoughts: City park, pay a dollar for entrance. Watch your speeding in the area, cops are always hiding.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in DFW

5+    5/17/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 64  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2016
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is made up of two nine hole loops, one on each side of the road. Both loops feature very technical holes. We played after a tournament, and all the pins were in the longs, which makes it a very beastly course. This is not a bomber course, nearly all the holes a very wooded. It doesn't favor left or right fading shots, also including shots that need to take unusual lines. It is a very simple course to navigate, the trails between the holes are very clear and enjoyable. There's no rough terrain, it'd be good for strollers or the wheeled disc bags. The holes are all very cleared out, not much over growth to eat your discs. It's all very nice looking aside from one hole that I'll mention later. Multiple pin locations, and multiple tees. The park has restrooms, picnic tables, the usual amenities. It also has a lot of dirt bike trails, something you don't see much of anymore. None of the dirt bike activities get near the disc golf, so this was thought out well. It's technically a pay-to-play course, but it's $1 per vehicle, so it's not much to get in. I've payed more in tolls to get to some other courses. Posts for tee signs are in place, and it looks like the signs are not far away.
Cons: Hole number 9 has a parking lot located to the right of the tees. the short tee has you throwing over that due to the tree to the left. I had to throw directly over a parked vehicle, and from the short tees you're close enough to do significant damage if you're shot is accidentally a bit low.
Other Thoughts: This really is one of the best courses in the DFW area now. I'd say in my opinion, it's the best that I've played in this area. I'd be very surprised if I didn't see it move up the ratings very quickly.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 One of my new favorites

2-4    5/10/2014   5/16/2014
Review By: geoloseth
Played: 44  Reviewed: 9
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's a long list of pros but the things that stick in my mind are:
1. Wide variety of shots needed. Most of the holes have a defined fairway and while some allow you to throw as hard as you want they will punish an errant or bad shot (especially on 17).

2. It doesn't favor RH or LH. The course is a mix of doglegs and gentle sweepers in both directions. Even the short holes require precision.

3. Multiple pin placements. It goes without saying that having multiple pins for a good number of holes gives this course higher replay value.

4. This will be a little harder to convey, but the holes don't aren't your typical design. You can't just throw any-old-shot that will hit a gap and then skip right to leave you with a guaranteed putt at the basket. Probably 75% of the holes in both layouts require precise distance for a given line in order to have that put. Most greens have strategically placed trees around the pins to toughen up a missed upshot or drive. This gives it a good feel of having greens that "two putt". Again, something that most in the area don't have.

5. This is a pay to enter park on ACoE land. This means that the park will be maintained much better than a city park that is simply mowed on a schedule.

6. The wind will make this course play completely different each time. The fairways are lined with cedar and juniper which means that you have the option to throw up and over them on some holes. This means that each hole will play much, much differently with each change in wind direction.
Cons: There is only one con that really came to mind. This is the motocross track that sits adjacent to the course. I don't dislike them other than the fact that they are EXTREMELY loud. One of the tracks sits directly off of hole 6 and 7. I found the more they went on during the opening tournament the more I just naturally drowned them out in my head, but get a couple of them out there racing each other and there's little you can do to not notice the noise.
Other Thoughts: It's the first course designed by the guys at DD Lewisville and I think they did an impeccable job with the land that they have. Many people will say that some fairways (hole 17 more than most) need to be cleared out more. Just remember that this is ACoE land and that any tree over 2" in diameter has to go through red tape to cut unless it's on their list of invasive non native species. There's a huge mix of holes with multiple pins and soon to be multiple tees that will keep you coming back to this course again and again. Hopefully the guys at DD will get to design more courses in our area. Right now it plays as a 4 in my opinion, but once this course gets worn in through playing it will be very much worthy of the solid 4.5 that I gave it.

On another note. I know that the tee signs for each hole and directions to the next hole are being made and/or waiting to get installed so I didn't add that aspect to the cons section. For the time being it will be a little difficult to navigate between a couple holes without someone that knows the way. But after the first time most people shouldn't have a problem finding their way around.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Just reopened!

1    5/10/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: TxViper3187
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice large concrete tees
Good mix of holes (Tight wooded shots, long open bombers, left and right dog legs, 2 double mando shots, and an elevated basket on 11)
Quality baskets (although some people don't like the Innova chastity belts)
Some holes have alt pin and tee pad locations
Cons: Snakes (One was killed during tournament and at least 2 more seen in the "rough")
Signs just indicate hole # and footage
Only benches and trash cans were near holes 1 and 10
Other Thoughts: While the course is "complete" and playable there is still some work to be done before this becomes the championship level course it has the potential to be. Looking forward to playing it again.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.