Trophy Club, TX 
Trophy Club Park Share
Uploaded By: bradcrow4 Hole #3 (Taken 10/2014)
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
As I walk through the blackened forest...

1    3/17/2015   4/27/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 344  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 5.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has challenging lines and a good mixture of short, moderate, and longer holes. There are both dog leg L/R holes too. There are multiple tees and pin placements to give you different options. Tee pads were ample.
This course uses the present elevation well and there was some water in the pond on 18(or water hole) that made for an epic finishing hole.
There are a couple of places where you can air out a drive, hole 10 especially.
The elevated basket on 11 was sweet and it offers a good risk vs reward.
The front 9 has some excellent technical holes and the back 9 has some cool tunnel/hallway shots were accuracy is going to come in handy.
Trash cans throughout the course.
Cons: This course has some navigation issues in spots so first time users should take a copy of the map to guide them.
The walk between holes, more so on the back 9 but the front 9 has a couple of spots as well, are long and slow the flow of the round down a bit. This is especially true on the transition from 12's basket to 13's tee.
The lack of signage needs to be addressed and would help with the navigation issues.
The rough can be rough and thorny so be advised.
No other amenities except the porta-john so prepare accordingly.
Other Thoughts: This course is pay to play but for a buck its well worth it. This course will test your accuracy and test your mental game as well. This isn't a grip and rip park style course. If you are a fan of technical courses this will be right up your alley. The disc golf shots here are challenging and excellent.
Hopefully the signage issues will be addressed making this course even better. Over time this course should beat in well as more and more players come out and play this nice technical course. If you are in the area I highly recommend playing here. At a buck you can't go wrong!!!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Worst course I've played to date.

1    4/18/2012   4/19/2012
Review By: zendragon
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2015
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a change from the previous layout. This was the worst course I had ever played, and now it's one of my favorites. The short holes are still challenging. Some days you can hit every line and end up with several drop in birdies, but more likely you're going to clip one of the many trees and have a tough upshot just to hit par. It's tough, but so rewarding when you hit the line.
Cons: Navigation can be confusing. There are still old paths from back when the course was terrible. They have laid out branches to mark the correct paths though. Follow these and you'll be good.
Other Thoughts: It's a dollar to enter the course and it has a closing time. The dollar isn't a con to me because it helps keep the park so well maintained.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

latent beauty unleashed

5+    5/6/2014   5/20/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 226  Reviewed: 167  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2015
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -FANTASTIC redesign
-great use of open and wooded terrain and rolling hills
-variety of distance and difficulty of lines
-well thought basket placements
-nice discatchers, new concrete pads
-natural short tees marked by concrete blocks
-alternate pin locations on holes 1, 3, 6, 10, 12, & 18
-paths between holes, easy navigation
-double loop design
-good mix of left and right shots, but still favors RHBH
-rest rooms
Over a year later and still no tee signs, improvements to short tees, or clearing of some fairways (13 and 17 still have a lot of stumps and the latter has lots of uneven ground across the fairway - treacherous footing). Course is in relatively good shape overall but it seems the improvements have come to a halt. Disappointing.

-tee signs are supposed to be coming soon
-park tables in the fairway on hole 9, sometimes pedestrians
-the DD guys have done a ton of work to clear the fairways of brush but there are still a couple holes that need brush and stumps to be cleared (17)
-i'd like to see a little more creativity in some of the short pad locations. most of them are just 20-50 feet shorter than the longs.
-the old course signs need to be removed and the old tee boxes should get filled in, or at least have their frames removed. i see a lot of players new to the course getting confused about the layout from the old course's artifacts.
Other Thoughts: The new redesign by the Dynamic Discs Lewisville guys is exactly what this course needed. I remember when the first 9 holes opened and how excited I was about the potential of the land. After existing in a miserable state for the past 3 years this course is finally becoming the jewel it was always capable of being.

The new design uses a double loop to bring you back to the parking area after each 9. The front 9 is on the north side of the road and is the shorter and tighter of the two. The first two holes play through the open area near the road to tree-protected greens and then you are off into the woods. The next two are very tight with low ceilings, the next two open up a bit with no ceiling but still lines to hit and protected greens, and the next two both tighten up again. The last hole of the first half plays out of the woods and across a long open field. This is the only real two-drive hole on the course but the second shot is wide open. I really love the way there are similar pairs of holes through the front 9.

The back 9 is generally a little bit longer and though it is not as tight as the front 9, it is still very wooded. The fairways are a bit wider and more defined but with thick tree lines and brush off the fairway. It reminds me of the long corridors at courses like Searight and Circle C in Austin. Hole 11 is one of my favorites of the new holes. A hyzer route with a low ceiling opens up to a landing zone right in front of the green: a basket protected by large trees on an elevated bunker. Holes 13 and 18 are fun ace runs, depending on the pin position, and holes 10, 12, and 17 offer a chance to open it up but you'll still need your accuracy.

The new design here at Trophy Club makes for a really fun round with a great variety of shots. It makes great use of the land, hopefully will have all the bells and whistles as work continues, and is beautiful and secluded (apart from the bike trails near 5 & 6). A serious challenge from the longs and no walk in the park from the shorts either. I think once the course is broken in and finished with tee signs and hopefully legit short pads, it could be worthy of a 4.5 rating. This will soon be one of the premiere courses in the metroplex.

**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.