Disc Golf Store
Trophy Club, TX 
Trophy Club Park Share
Uploaded By: bradcrow4 Hole #9 (Taken 10/2014)
4 / 561ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Enjoyed this course A LOT!

1    9/11/2014   10/12/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 31  Reviewed: 18
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Outstanding course for Advance/Pro players
- Tons of challenge and shot types
- Fairly well maintained
- Multiple tees
- Good parking and plenty of trash cans
- Port-Johns at hole 1
Cons: - Can be difficult to navigate, just use common sense and you'll be OK
Other Thoughts: I'm told I played this course after the re-design and installation or all 18 holes. Great job to the designer. Never a boring shots on this course. Wish I didn't have to pay to get into the park, but it was worth the admission (think it was $1.50/car).

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/31/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: AthruZ
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Phenomenal, indeed and it will only get better with time. This course has really helped improve my hyzer flicks as I am predominantly a sidearm player.

Love the variety of long and short holes. Little paths walking through reminds me of Hill Country and I have already seen deer and an armadillo. This is nature at it's best.

Teepads are great as they're very new, some could be a little longer but overall satisfactory.

Best time to play is during the early morning when the sun rises and it's cooler during the summer. Looking forward to seeing what the winter looks like out there.
Cons: Hole 17 - LOTS of small tree stumps (throughout the course) and the ground is not very leveled. I believe over time, it will get better and hopefully new grass will be grown around that area as well as a few trees to be chopped down.

No benches but I've heard it will be the Boys Scout project. Meanwhile, bring along a chair.

ATV trail is pretty close to Hole 5. Kicking up dirt and making noises. Luckily it's a pretty easy hole unless you decide to do a thumber and lose your disc.
Other Thoughts: City park, pay a dollar for entrance. Watch your speeding in the area, cops are always hiding.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in DFW

1    5/17/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 51  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is made up of two nine hole loops, one on each side of the road. Both loops feature very technical holes. We played after a tournament, and all the pins were in the longs, which makes it a very beastly course. This is not a bomber course, nearly all the holes a very wooded. It doesn't favor left or right fading shots, also including shots that need to take unusual lines. It is a very simple course to navigate, the trails between the holes are very clear and enjoyable. There's no rough terrain, it'd be good for strollers or the wheeled disc bags. The holes are all very cleared out, not much over growth to eat your discs. It's all very nice looking aside from one hole that I'll mention later. Multiple pin locations, and multiple tees. The park has restrooms, picnic tables, the usual amenities. It also has a lot of dirt bike trails, something you don't see much of anymore. None of the dirt bike activities get near the disc golf, so this was thought out well. It's technically a pay-to-play course, but it's $1 per vehicle, so it's not much to get in. I've payed more in tolls to get to some other courses.
Cons: Hole number 9 has a parking lot located to the right of the tees. Both the long and middle tees have you throwing over that due to the tree to the left. I had to throw directly over a parked vehicle, and from the short tees you're close enough to do significant damage if you're shot is accidentally a bit low. Hole number 17 seems a bit rough, like it isn't quite finished yet. It's not a bad hole, it just needs a bit of work.
Other Thoughts: This really is one of the best courses in the DFW area now. I'd say in my opinion, it's the best that I've played in this area. I'd be very surprised if I didn't see it move up the ratings very quickly.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

One of my new favorites

2-4    5/10/2014   5/16/2014
Review By: geoloseth
Played: 44  Reviewed: 8
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's a long list of pros but the things that stick in my mind are:
1. Wide variety of shots needed. Most of the holes have a defined fairway and while some allow you to throw as hard as you want they will punish an errant or bad shot (especially on 17).

2. It doesn't favor RH or LH. The course is a mix of doglegs and gentle sweepers in both directions. Even the short holes require precision.

3. Multiple pin placements. It goes without saying that having multiple pins for a good number of holes gives this course higher replay value.

4. This will be a little harder to convey, but the holes don't aren't your typical design. You can't just throw any-old-shot that will hit a gap and then skip right to leave you with a guaranteed putt at the basket. Probably 75% of the holes in both layouts require precise distance for a given line in order to have that put. Most greens have strategically placed trees around the pins to toughen up a missed upshot or drive. This gives it a good feel of having greens that "two putt". Again, something that most in the area don't have.

5. This is a pay to enter park on ACoE land. This means that the park will be maintained much better than a city park that is simply mowed on a schedule.

6. The wind will make this course play completely different each time. The fairways are lined with cedar and juniper which means that you have the option to throw up and over them on some holes. This means that each hole will play much, much differently with each change in wind direction.
Cons: There is only one con that really came to mind. This is the motocross track that sits adjacent to the course. I don't dislike them other than the fact that they are EXTREMELY loud. One of the tracks sits directly off of hole 6 and 7. I found the more they went on during the opening tournament the more I just naturally drowned them out in my head, but get a couple of them out there racing each other and there's little you can do to not notice the noise.
Other Thoughts: It's the first course designed by the guys at DD Lewisville and I think they did an impeccable job with the land that they have. Many people will say that some fairways (hole 17 more than most) need to be cleared out more. Just remember that this is ACoE land and that any tree over 2" in diameter has to go through red tape to cut unless it's on their list of invasive non native species. There's a huge mix of holes with multiple pins and soon to be multiple tees that will keep you coming back to this course again and again. Hopefully the guys at DD will get to design more courses in our area. Right now it plays as a 4 in my opinion, but once this course gets worn in through playing it will be very much worthy of the solid 4.5 that I gave it.

On another note. I know that the tee signs for each hole and directions to the next hole are being made and/or waiting to get installed so I didn't add that aspect to the cons section. For the time being it will be a little difficult to navigate between a couple holes without someone that knows the way. But after the first time most people shouldn't have a problem finding their way around.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.