Trophy Club, TX 
Trophy Club Park Share
Uploaded By: bradcrow4 Hole #12 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
One of the best in DFW

1    5/17/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 48  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 2.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is made up of two nine hole loops, one on each side of the road. Both loops feature very technical holes. We played after a tournament, and all the pins were in the longs, which makes it a very beastly course. This is not a bomber course, nearly all the holes a very wooded. It doesn't favor left or right fading shots, also including shots that need to take unusual lines. It is a very simple course to navigate, the trails between the holes are very clear and enjoyable. There's no rough terrain, it'd be good for strollers or the wheeled disc bags. The holes are all very cleared out, not much over growth to eat your discs. It's all very nice looking aside from one hole that I'll mention later. Multiple pin locations, and multiple tees. The park has restrooms, picnic tables, the usual amenities. It also has a lot of dirt bike trails, something you don't see much of anymore. None of the dirt bike activities get near the disc golf, so this was thought out well. It's technically a pay-to-play course, but it's $1 per vehicle, so it's not much to get in. I've payed more in tolls to get to some other courses.
Cons: I debated between rating this 4 or 4.5 stars, and decided on 4 because of a few things that could be done. I know that permanent tee signs are coming, but they would be helpful for a number of the blind holes. It would be nice if at least the middle tees were concrete, right now only the longs are concrete. Hole number 9 has a parking lot located to the right of the tees. Both the long and middle tees have you throwing over that due to the tree to the left. I had to throw directly over a parked vehicle, and from the middle tees you're close enough to do significant damage if you're shot is accidentally a bit low. Hole number 17 seems a bit rough, like it isn't quite finished yet. It's not a bad hole, it just needs a bit of work.
Other Thoughts: This really is one of the best courses in the DFW area now. I'd say in my opinion, it's the best that I've played in this area. I'd be very surprised if I didn't see it move up the ratings very quickly.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

One of my new favorites

2-4    5/10/2014   5/16/2014
Review By: geoloseth
Played: 44  Reviewed: 6
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's a long list of pros but the things that stick in my mind are:
1. Wide variety of shots needed. Most of the holes have a defined fairway and while some allow you to throw as hard as you want they will punish an errant or bad shot (especially on 17).

2. It doesn't favor RH or LH. The course is a mix of doglegs and gentle sweepers in both directions. Even the short holes require precision.

3. Multiple pin placements. It goes without saying that having multiple pins for a good number of holes gives this course higher replay value.

4. This will be a little harder to convey, but the holes don't aren't your typical design. You can't just throw any-old-shot that will hit a gap and then skip right to leave you with a guaranteed putt at the basket. Probably 75% of the holes in both layouts require precise distance for a given line in order to have that put. Most greens have strategically placed trees around the pins to toughen up a missed upshot or drive. This gives it a good feel of having greens that "two putt". Again, something that most in the area don't have.

5. This is a pay to enter park on ACoE land. This means that the park will be maintained much better than a city park that is simply mowed on a schedule.

6. The wind will make this course play completely different each time. The fairways are lined with cedar and juniper which means that you have the option to throw up and over them on some holes. This means that each hole will play much, much differently with each change in wind direction.
Cons: There is only one con that really came to mind. This is the motocross track that sits adjacent to the course. I don't dislike them other than the fact that they are EXTREMELY loud. One of the tracks sits directly off of hole 6 and 7. I found the more they went on during the opening tournament the more I just naturally drowned them out in my head, but get a couple of them out there racing each other and there's little you can do to not notice the noise.
Other Thoughts: It's the first course designed by the guys at DD Lewisville and I think they did an impeccable job with the land that they have. Many people will say that some fairways (hole 17 more than most) need to be cleared out more. Just remember that this is ACoE land and that any tree over 2" in diameter has to go through red tape to cut unless it's on their list of invasive non native species. There's a huge mix of holes with multiple pins and soon to be multiple tees that will keep you coming back to this course again and again. Hopefully the guys at DD will get to design more courses in our area. Right now it plays as a 4 in my opinion, but once this course gets worn in through playing it will be very much worthy of the solid 4.5 that I gave it.

On another note. I know that the tee signs for each hole and directions to the next hole are being made and/or waiting to get installed so I didn't add that aspect to the cons section. For the time being it will be a little difficult to navigate between a couple holes without someone that knows the way. But after the first time most people shouldn't have a problem finding their way around.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Just reopened!

1    5/10/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: TxViper3187
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice large concrete tees
Good mix of holes (Tight wooded shots, long open bombers, left and right dog legs, 2 double mando shots, and an elevated basket on 11)
Quality baskets (although some people don't like the Innova chastity belts)
Some holes have alt pin and tee pad locations
Cons: Snakes (One was killed during tournament and at least 2 more seen in the "rough")
Signs just indicate hole # and footage
Only benches and trash cans were near holes 1 and 10
Other Thoughts: While the course is "complete" and playable there is still some work to be done before this becomes the championship level course it has the potential to be. Looking forward to playing it again.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

latent beauty unleashed

5+    5/6/2014   5/20/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 195  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -FANTASTIC redesign
-great use of open and wooded terrain and rolling hills
-variety of distance and difficulty of lines
-well thought basket placements
-nice discatchers, new concrete pads
-alternate short tees (concrete coming soon?) and alternate pin locations
-paths between holes, easy navigation
-double loop design
-good mix of left and right shots, but still favors RHBH
-rest rooms
Cons: -needs a "next tee" sign after hole 6, a bit of a walk to hole 7
-tee signs are supposed to be coming soon
-park tables in the fairway on hole 9
-still a lot of brush and stumps to be cleared in some places though the DD guys have done a ton of work and a wonderful job
-hopefully they will change (or maybe already have) but a few of the short tee locations seemed poorly chosen, ie just off from a more reasonable line, especially for a short tee. i'm thinking hole 14.
Other Thoughts: The new redesign by the Dynamic Discs Lewisville guys is exactly what this course needed. I remember when the first 9 holes opened and how excited I was about the potential of the land. After existing in a miserable state for the past 3 years this course is finally becoming the jewel it was always capable of being.

The new design uses a double loop to bring you back to the parking area after each 9. The front 9 is on the north side of the road and is the shorter and probably the tighter of the two. The first two holes play through the open area near the road to tree-protected greens and then you are off into the woods. The next two are very tight with low ceilings, the next two open up a bit with no ceiling but still lines to hit and protected greens, and the next two both tighten up again. The last hole of the first half plays out of the woods and across a long open field. I really love the way there are similar pairs of holes through the front 9.

The back 9 is generally a little bit longer and though it is not as tight as the front 9, it is still very wooded. The fairways are a bit wider and more defined but with thick tree lines off the fairway. It reminds me of the long corridors at courses like Searight and Circle C in Austin. Hole 11 is one of my favorites of the new holes. A hyzer route with a low ceiling opens up to a landing zone right in front of the green: a basket protected by large trees on an elevated bunker. Holes 13 and 18 are fun ace runs, depending on the pin position, and holes 10, 12, and 17 offer a chance to open it up but you'll still need your accuracy.

The new design here at Trophy Club makes for a really fun round with a great variety of shots. It makes great use of the land, will have all the bells and whistles as work continues, and is beautiful and secluded. A serious challenge from the longs and no walk in the park from the shorts either. This will soon be one of the premiere courses in the metroplex.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.