Trophy Club, TX 
Trophy Club Park Share
Uploaded By: bradcrow4 Hole #9 (Taken 10/2014)
4 / 561ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Frustrating but Fun

1    10/18/2015   10/20/2015
Review By: Johnyfo8
Played: 44  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a beautiful park and mostly free of litter.
There were technical, open (but not many), short and long shots.
The tee pads are huge and very grippy. #1 is the only one that wasn't as big as the rest.
Very low traffic
Elevated basket on hole 11 was pretty sweet.
The baskets were in good shape.
Cons: Navigating between holes seemed too long and there were only a couple of signs.
There were some spray painted arrows on a few holes that helped but the flow was not intuitive.
There were too many trees on most of the first 12 holes.
There is more briar and thorny rough than I have ever seen on a course.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my round and the course is challenging but fun. It seemed like there were too many trees close to the baskets (within 100ft or so) to pick out a line at all. I found myself picking a spot, throwing and praying it makes it through. I am definitely an advocate for keeping the trees and bushes as much as possible on a course but it was excessive here and frustrating as a result. I would like to see more elevation change in a course if possible and there was not much on this one. I had to search for the next tee pad on most of the holes and that was frustrating as well. If you want to challenge your accuracy then this is a great course for you.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

As I walk through the blackened forest...

1    3/17/2015   4/27/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 344  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 5.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has challenging lines and a good mixture of short, moderate, and longer holes. There are both dog leg L/R holes too. There are multiple tees and pin placements to give you different options. Tee pads were ample.
This course uses the present elevation well and there was some water in the pond on 18(or water hole) that made for an epic finishing hole.
There are a couple of places where you can air out a drive, hole 10 especially.
The elevated basket on 11 was sweet and it offers a good risk vs reward.
The front 9 has some excellent technical holes and the back 9 has some cool tunnel/hallway shots were accuracy is going to come in handy.
Trash cans throughout the course.
Cons: This course has some navigation issues in spots so first time users should take a copy of the map to guide them.
The walk between holes, more so on the back 9 but the front 9 has a couple of spots as well, are long and slow the flow of the round down a bit. This is especially true on the transition from 12's basket to 13's tee.
The lack of signage needs to be addressed and would help with the navigation issues.
The rough can be rough and thorny so be advised.
No other amenities except the porta-john so prepare accordingly.
Other Thoughts: This course is pay to play but for a buck its well worth it. This course will test your accuracy and test your mental game as well. This isn't a grip and rip park style course. If you are a fan of technical courses this will be right up your alley. The disc golf shots here are challenging and excellent.
Hopefully the signage issues will be addressed making this course even better. Over time this course should beat in well as more and more players come out and play this nice technical course. If you are in the area I highly recommend playing here. At a buck you can't go wrong!!!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Even better than Participation Ribbon Club

1    4/6/2015   4/19/2015
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 149  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2015
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Despite driving through a fairly active residential community on the way to the course, the park was not that busy and I only saw three other disc golfers on a pleasant Monday evening.

Hole 1 is a long drive into a pin in the woods, and most of the front 9 thereafter is wooded and fairly technical. All of the lines felt challenging but fair, and intermediate players will find the level appropriate.

The back 9 is slightly more open, but other than hole 10, I don't recall any true grip and rip holes. Rather, there are longish fairways with woods on either side, so accurate distance is key.

Several of these holes feature multiple lines to the basket with landing zones that I wish I had another round to take a shot at. Hole 17 was probably the best example of this with trees dotting the fairway but several distinct possibilities for long drives to set up a birdie approach.

Hole 18 was the only one that featured water. I had no trouble clearing the pond with a Buzzz, but there are a couple trees to negotiate. If you play this course frequently, I'd say plunking a disc in the pond is pretty likely, but the hole is not asking you to do anything unusual.

Update: a local informed me that this pond is not a normal feature but was there after a lot of rain. So enjoy it while it lasts!

Tees are concrete and pretty large.
Cons: There appear to be remnants of an earlier design of this course which made navigation a little confusing at times. There were no tee signs (except one or two for holes that don't seem to exist anymore), and several of the baskets were blind. I had to consult the map a lot, although the trails were pretty worn in, so getting around without a map is probably possible.

There isn't much elevation, although hole 11 features a basket on top of a big mound with very steep sides. I didn't love this hole. Rather than having a good risk/reward profile, there didn't seem to be much of a layup option.

While I don't count this in my rating, the peace and quiet of the park is pretty disrupted by the dirt bike track right next to the course. Can't be too picky about these things, but it did sound like a chainsaw the entire round.
Other Thoughts: The drive through the neighborhood of McMansions (or whatever the next step up is. Five Guys Mansions? Qdoba Mansions?) reminded me of Plantation Heritage in Charlotte. It is refreshing to see a course get approved right next to an area that appears to be pretty affluent.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed this course A LOT!

1    9/11/2014   10/12/2014
Review By: Joe6Pack
Played: 33  Reviewed: 18
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Outstanding course for Advance/Pro players
- Tons of challenge and shot types
- Fairly well maintained
- Multiple tees
- Good parking and plenty of trash cans
- Port-Johns at hole 1
Cons: - Can be difficult to navigate, just use common sense and you'll be OK
Other Thoughts: I'm told I played this course after the re-design and installation or all 18 holes. Great job to the designer. Never a boring shots on this course. Wish I didn't have to pay to get into the park, but it was worth the admission (think it was $1.50/car).

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

2-4    8/31/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: AthruZ
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Phenomenal, indeed and it will only get better with time. This course has really helped improve my hyzer flicks as I am predominantly a sidearm player.

Love the variety of long and short holes. Little paths walking through reminds me of Hill Country and I have already seen deer and an armadillo. This is nature at it's best.

Teepads are great as they're very new, some could be a little longer but overall satisfactory.

Best time to play is during the early morning when the sun rises and it's cooler during the summer. Looking forward to seeing what the winter looks like out there.
Cons: Hole 17 - LOTS of small tree stumps (throughout the course) and the ground is not very leveled. I believe over time, it will get better and hopefully new grass will be grown around that area as well as a few trees to be chopped down.

No benches but I've heard it will be the Boys Scout project. Meanwhile, bring along a chair.

ATV trail is pretty close to Hole 5. Kicking up dirt and making noises. Luckily it's a pretty easy hole unless you decide to do a thumber and lose your disc.
Other Thoughts: City park, pay a dollar for entrance. Watch your speeding in the area, cops are always hiding.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

One of the best in DFW

1    5/17/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 57  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2015
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is made up of two nine hole loops, one on each side of the road. Both loops feature very technical holes. We played after a tournament, and all the pins were in the longs, which makes it a very beastly course. This is not a bomber course, nearly all the holes a very wooded. It doesn't favor left or right fading shots, also including shots that need to take unusual lines. It is a very simple course to navigate, the trails between the holes are very clear and enjoyable. There's no rough terrain, it'd be good for strollers or the wheeled disc bags. The holes are all very cleared out, not much over growth to eat your discs. It's all very nice looking aside from one hole that I'll mention later. Multiple pin locations, and multiple tees. The park has restrooms, picnic tables, the usual amenities. It also has a lot of dirt bike trails, something you don't see much of anymore. None of the dirt bike activities get near the disc golf, so this was thought out well. It's technically a pay-to-play course, but it's $1 per vehicle, so it's not much to get in. I've payed more in tolls to get to some other courses.
Cons: Hole number 9 has a parking lot located to the right of the tees. Both the tees have you throwing over that due to the tree to the left. I had to throw directly over a parked vehicle, and from the short tees you're close enough to do significant damage if you're shot is accidentally a bit low. Hole number 17 seems a bit rough, like it isn't quite finished yet. It's not a bad hole, it just needs a bit of work. (I've been told this hole looks much better now, but I haven't been back yet to see.) I've been told that there are still no tee signs, something that surprises me, I'd expected those to show up soon.
Other Thoughts: This really is one of the best courses in the DFW area now. I'd say in my opinion, it's the best that I've played in this area. I'd be very surprised if I didn't see it move up the ratings very quickly.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

One of my new favorites

2-4    5/10/2014   5/16/2014
Review By: geoloseth
Played: 44  Reviewed: 9
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There's a long list of pros but the things that stick in my mind are:
1. Wide variety of shots needed. Most of the holes have a defined fairway and while some allow you to throw as hard as you want they will punish an errant or bad shot (especially on 17).

2. It doesn't favor RH or LH. The course is a mix of doglegs and gentle sweepers in both directions. Even the short holes require precision.

3. Multiple pin placements. It goes without saying that having multiple pins for a good number of holes gives this course higher replay value.

4. This will be a little harder to convey, but the holes don't aren't your typical design. You can't just throw any-old-shot that will hit a gap and then skip right to leave you with a guaranteed putt at the basket. Probably 75% of the holes in both layouts require precise distance for a given line in order to have that put. Most greens have strategically placed trees around the pins to toughen up a missed upshot or drive. This gives it a good feel of having greens that "two putt". Again, something that most in the area don't have.

5. This is a pay to enter park on ACoE land. This means that the park will be maintained much better than a city park that is simply mowed on a schedule.

6. The wind will make this course play completely different each time. The fairways are lined with cedar and juniper which means that you have the option to throw up and over them on some holes. This means that each hole will play much, much differently with each change in wind direction.
Cons: There is only one con that really came to mind. This is the motocross track that sits adjacent to the course. I don't dislike them other than the fact that they are EXTREMELY loud. One of the tracks sits directly off of hole 6 and 7. I found the more they went on during the opening tournament the more I just naturally drowned them out in my head, but get a couple of them out there racing each other and there's little you can do to not notice the noise.
Other Thoughts: It's the first course designed by the guys at DD Lewisville and I think they did an impeccable job with the land that they have. Many people will say that some fairways (hole 17 more than most) need to be cleared out more. Just remember that this is ACoE land and that any tree over 2" in diameter has to go through red tape to cut unless it's on their list of invasive non native species. There's a huge mix of holes with multiple pins and soon to be multiple tees that will keep you coming back to this course again and again. Hopefully the guys at DD will get to design more courses in our area. Right now it plays as a 4 in my opinion, but once this course gets worn in through playing it will be very much worthy of the solid 4.5 that I gave it.

On another note. I know that the tee signs for each hole and directions to the next hole are being made and/or waiting to get installed so I didn't add that aspect to the cons section. For the time being it will be a little difficult to navigate between a couple holes without someone that knows the way. But after the first time most people shouldn't have a problem finding their way around.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Just reopened!

1    5/10/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: TxViper3187
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice large concrete tees
Good mix of holes (Tight wooded shots, long open bombers, left and right dog legs, 2 double mando shots, and an elevated basket on 11)
Quality baskets (although some people don't like the Innova chastity belts)
Some holes have alt pin and tee pad locations
Cons: Snakes (One was killed during tournament and at least 2 more seen in the "rough")
Signs just indicate hole # and footage
Only benches and trash cans were near holes 1 and 10
Other Thoughts: While the course is "complete" and playable there is still some work to be done before this becomes the championship level course it has the potential to be. Looking forward to playing it again.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Worst course I've played to date.

1    4/18/2012   4/19/2012
Review By: zendragon
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2015
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a change from the previous layout. This was the worst course I had ever played, and now it's one of my favorites. The short holes are still challenging. Some days you can hit every line and end up with several drop in birdies, but more likely you're going to clip one of the many trees and have a tough upshot just to hit par. It's tough, but so rewarding when you hit the line.
Cons: Navigation can be confusing. There are still old paths from back when the course was terrible. They have laid out branches to mark the correct paths though. Follow these and you'll be good.
Other Thoughts: It's a dollar to enter the course and it has a closing time. The dollar isn't a con to me because it helps keep the park so well maintained.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

latent beauty unleashed

5+    5/6/2014   5/20/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 225  Reviewed: 167  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2015
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -FANTASTIC redesign
-great use of open and wooded terrain and rolling hills
-variety of distance and difficulty of lines
-well thought basket placements
-nice discatchers, new concrete pads
-natural short tees marked by concrete blocks
-alternate pin locations on holes 1, 3, 6, 10, 12, & 18
-paths between holes, easy navigation
-double loop design
-good mix of left and right shots, but still favors RHBH
-rest rooms
Over a year later and still no tee signs, improvements to short tees, or clearing of some fairways (13 and 17 still have a lot of stumps and the latter has lots of uneven ground across the fairway - treacherous footing). Course is in relatively good shape overall but it seems the improvements have come to a halt. Disappointing.

-tee signs are supposed to be coming soon
-park tables in the fairway on hole 9, sometimes pedestrians
-the DD guys have done a ton of work to clear the fairways of brush but there are still a couple holes that need brush and stumps to be cleared (17)
-i'd like to see a little more creativity in some of the short pad locations. most of them are just 20-50 feet shorter than the longs.
-the old course signs need to be removed and the old tee boxes should get filled in, or at least have their frames removed. i see a lot of players new to the course getting confused about the layout from the old course's artifacts.
Other Thoughts: The new redesign by the Dynamic Discs Lewisville guys is exactly what this course needed. I remember when the first 9 holes opened and how excited I was about the potential of the land. After existing in a miserable state for the past 3 years this course is finally becoming the jewel it was always capable of being.

The new design uses a double loop to bring you back to the parking area after each 9. The front 9 is on the north side of the road and is the shorter and tighter of the two. The first two holes play through the open area near the road to tree-protected greens and then you are off into the woods. The next two are very tight with low ceilings, the next two open up a bit with no ceiling but still lines to hit and protected greens, and the next two both tighten up again. The last hole of the first half plays out of the woods and across a long open field. This is the only real two-drive hole on the course but the second shot is wide open. I really love the way there are similar pairs of holes through the front 9.

The back 9 is generally a little bit longer and though it is not as tight as the front 9, it is still very wooded. The fairways are a bit wider and more defined but with thick tree lines and brush off the fairway. It reminds me of the long corridors at courses like Searight and Circle C in Austin. Hole 11 is one of my favorites of the new holes. A hyzer route with a low ceiling opens up to a landing zone right in front of the green: a basket protected by large trees on an elevated bunker. Holes 13 and 18 are fun ace runs, depending on the pin position, and holes 10, 12, and 17 offer a chance to open it up but you'll still need your accuracy.

The new design here at Trophy Club makes for a really fun round with a great variety of shots. It makes great use of the land, hopefully will have all the bells and whistles as work continues, and is beautiful and secluded (apart from the bike trails near 5 & 6). A serious challenge from the longs and no walk in the park from the shorts either. I think once the course is broken in and finished with tee signs and hopefully legit short pads, it could be worthy of a 4.5 rating. This will soon be one of the premiere courses in the metroplex.

**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.