Dexter, MI 
Hudson Mills Metropark - Monster Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #E
4 / 260ft.   4 / 360ft.   4 / 360ft.   4 / 460ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #E Short Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    10/30/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: a3wasp
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of challenging holes, but it also comes with a lot of chances to deuce. Some of the fairways can be pretty tight but it you go off of the fairway it isn't a terrible shot. You can still get a pretty good up shot. There is also a pretty cool long hole (#14).
Cons: Hole #11 doesn't have a very clear line, there are two large trees on either side that make it impossible to throw around them. Also the basket is off to the left, usually I end up throwing a roller just to get it down the fairway. The extras on this course could also use a little cleaning up.
Other Thoughts: This course for the most part is flat, however there are "some" hills.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Another awesome course!

1    10/1/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: elrumpo
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 24 holes (plus 24 more on the original course)
- multiple tee pads per hole, all in great shape
- some holes have multiple baskets
- lots of longer holes (longer than the original course)
- good variation in hole design, makes you think a lot
- good tee signs for the holes
- great park surrounding the course, provides lots of activities
- bathrooms and food right by the parking lot
- course design is great, makes great use of natural obstacles and terrain
- some creative holes that clearly had a lot of thought put into them
- great to have two courses so close together (starting from the same parking lot) so you can get your whole days golfing in easily!
Cons: - $5 car fee + $2 player fee (but totally worth it!)
- one ridiculously long 1038 ft hole...insane!
Other Thoughts: Between this course and the original I think I like the original a tiny bit more. Both are fabulous and I would love to play them both more often. This one just didn't have as much polish on some holes. Probably because it is newer.

This course is still amazing and a ton of fun to play on. It's well worth the drive from a few hours away because you can spend all day exploring the park and get two rounds of 24 holes in on two exceptional courses!

The park clearly loves the disc golfers who come here. There are signs specifically guiding us from the entrance to the courses, and they make it super easy to get your required wrist band and find everything.

Make sure to print a course map before coming...there were none next to the first tee as many stated that there were. Maybe because it is getting late in the season?

**update: there are almost apparently maps/scorecards in the activities center!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beast

2-4    8/4/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: STXCougar
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging course especially from the pro tees. pretty good variation with some tight fairways. well kept and nice tees and some holes offer multiple baskets.
Cons: bugs, can be crowded but most people play the original course. thick undergrowth and vegetation on sides of fairways if u have a bad throw may spend a while looking for your disk.
Other Thoughts: bug spray, and bring a good strong arm and far flying disc

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best Frolf in the area

1    10/30/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: bpatton
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a lot more difficult than the original course at Hudson Mills. Much more unforgiving for the errant drive. I do not recommend a round from the long tees if you do not have a very strong game. This course requires both length and accuracy from the long tees, and you will lose a frisbee if you are not good enough to play from the long tees!

This course is very technical. However, the accurate shot is rewarded with birdie opportunities on the first six holes with shots that make it though the brush and trees untouched. The course changes after that to open up for the big arms, but it still must be shot accurately to avoid scrambling to hit a bogey. That's right, mess up on this one and you may find yourself taking two strokes just to get out of the woods.

The extra six, A through F, will make or break your game on this course. Keep it on the fairway and par is attainable on all six. Find your way off the beaten path, even just a little, and you will have to make a clutch shot just to maintain par.

The signature hole for the entire park is the "monster" hole, #14. Just over 1000 feet from the longs, about 600 from the shorts. This hole is as much about shot placement as it is about length.

After hole #14, the course offers something different on each hole the rest of the way. A couple blind shots, a long down hill shot, and a water hazard. Each of the last four is unique to the course, some birdie holes, some not.

For all of its difficulty, this course is not unreasonably hard. It can be frustrating. Sometimes two or three bad shots can cost you five or six strokes.
Cons: I have lost more discs on this course than any other.

Look out for rattlesnakes. That's right, rattlesnakes. The last time that I was there a friend and I saw six, count them six. The time before that we saw three. They appear to stay mostly on the fairway sunning themselves, but we walked off the course after the second to last hole because my friend was in the woods looking for a disc and nearly stepped on one that was almost two feet long. It seems that the snakes are making a comeback, which is good... I guess. In playing this course over the past 11 years, I have seen only one other rattlesnake, and that was my first year of frolf in 1998. If you happen to come across any of the rattlesnakes report it to the people in the office. They keep track of the sightings for science and all that jazz.
Other Thoughts: After a while all I could think was "rattlesnake...rattlesnake...rattlesnake"

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/15/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: GB Phil G
Played: 101  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It has everything the original has and more! Tight fairways and blind holes I cant reach excite me. Many different throws are required. Another course that can be enoyed by a seasoned player from both short and long pads. Any course with a 1000 ft. hole deserves respect!
Cons: Potential disc loss. The local I played with was all about having a spotter on the fairway during drives. The types of drives needed didn't differ as much now that I think about it. Golf cart pass check traffic was a bit thick. I was also warned the cops make sure golfers "behave" on the course. Did some bad apples ruin it for the rest of us? Thought I was going to get a background check when I asked for help with my car troubles.
Other Thoughts: Too bad theres a great lake between me and this course. I'll return some day to beat my 98 score. Thanks to the awesome people on the course for making sure I had a great time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 best course i've played

2-4    8/10/2007   7/10/2009
Review By: AusTexDoc
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 37.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has it all. Good maps, signs, variety, well planned, well maintained, and good fellow golfers.
Cons: It's not in Texas.
Other Thoughts: Bring a couple of extra favorite discs. I almost lost a couple on the longer holes. This course will make you use every disc in your bag.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Course

2-4    4/23/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: sonicsbeer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
Pros: This course is awesome! Plenty of challenges throughout the course make for a great experience, yet user friendly enough that the 8 year old I sometimes take with me loves it, too! 24 holes make it more than worth the drive, and the course is kept up beautifully!
Cons: Hard to think of any... I can't say I've ever had a negative thought about this course.
Other Thoughts: There are maps available for this course, just to the right of where you pay. They run tournaments for this course as well as the original course in the park. Many of the tournaments are even sponsored by disc manufacturers such as Innova and Disc Craft.

 Very Nice Course!

1    4/13/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: ambroze
Played: 129  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout and very challenging. This course offers a wide range of shots and will kick your butt if not careful. 24 holes is always a plus!!
Cons: Somewhat hard to navigate for a first time player (office said there was no maps). I played a couple of baskets wrong because there were some baskets down the fairways I was driving on. So, it can be a little confusing. Would be nice if there were better signs to indicate where the next tee pad is located.
Other Thoughts: If you decide to play this course, you will not be disappointed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/6/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 81  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2008
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of the best courses I've ever played,great variety of open and wooded holes,Pro and Am tees on every hole,cement tee pads and great signs,easy to navigate,bathrooms,some minor elevation changes,24 holes with the option to play 18 or 24,challenging and lots of fun,practice hole,
Cons: Not close enough too my house!
Beware of rattle snake signs posted although I have played this course many times and never seen or heard of any on the course,lacks some elevation changes,
Other Thoughts: Metro-park pass required for parking,$4 daily or $20 a year,DGC is pay to play $2 a day or $50 a year,Totally worth the money I would definitely recommend this course,this is a fairly long course bring water

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.