Dexter, MI
Hudson Mills Metropark - Monster Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 225ft.   3 / 270ft.   3 / 225ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Short Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Solid Course

1    8/11/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: PsyStal
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a beautiful park, and is well maintained. There's a reasonable variety of shots, and some unique holes that give the course its own flavor. It's also right beside another 24 hole course, so you can disc golf all day!
Cons: Cost is simply too high for one-time visitors. Paying $5 per car to enter the park, and another $2 per person for the course is steep, and the course is not unusually well-maintained. I've played on plenty of free and low cost courses that were equally, or better, groomed.

The rough is absurd on some of the holes, and is likely to result in some lost discs. The layout on holes that are otherwise real standouts (such as 18), is negatively impacted by the presence of seriously thick rough areas that are well within play. I appreciate a challenging course, but I loathe wasting time looking for discs that should be easy to find. Use spotters on every hole, especially if this is your first time.
Other Thoughts: This course lives up to its name - it's a Monster. The length is going to be rough on most players, especially if played in conjunction with the "Original" course. What makes this course a true Monster is the unforgiving rough, and if you don't have the greatest aim, plan to spend some time looking for discs. This course eats them!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

a slightly longer review than the last few.

1    8/4/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 187  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a portion of a large metro park, shares land with walking/riding trails.

Teepads-- all the same length (thankfully) and in good repair.

Teesigns-- as with the original course, these are adequate. nice to have teesigns at both tees along with the "pro" pin placement teesigns.

Mach III baskets-- nice, in good repair. could certainly add reflective tape to increase visibility.

extra added features-- having dual tees is pretty bitchin (in and of itself) but having dual pins on some holes is pretty sweet. I will say though, that the "pro" pin placements SUCKED. always at the end of a narrow "hallway" requiring a park job on the "shorter" pin in order to make par on the "pro." this could certainly have been done FAR better.

Pin placement-- specifically on a group of the lettered holes is PHENOMENAL. there are some killer pin placements under trees or over ridges that make this place special

challenge-- hole A has to be one of the most challenging straight ahead holes ever. depending on the tee you select, either you throw out of a very low, tight tunnel and into a grove of trees or you throw from the front of the tunnel to the grove of trees with the basket at the end of a small tunnel (again), intimidating to say the least!
Cons:
Routing and navigation-- there are some places here that I had no idea where the next tee was and would have been completely lost with out our guides. the lettered holes are NOT marked as they are on the Original course with a 18/24 hole sign. You cross roads and paved trails several times during your round, be careful.

hole 14--14 is just such a monster. it seems so out of place and awkward on this course... with the max length on EVERY other long tee being sub 500' and then the long is >1000' and the short is >600' it just doesn't fit this course.

Repetition-- very much like the original course, there is a good bit of repetition with the field holes. the short holes at the beginning of the course were nice to "warm up" to the course though.
Other Thoughts: i liked this course and it had some very unique features but there were certainly some limitations to this course.
I really enjoyed the Original course better than this course but with some of the additional "special" consideration items, I rated them the same.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/30/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: a3wasp
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of challenging holes, but it also comes with a lot of chances to deuce. Some of the fairways can be pretty tight but it you go off of the fairway it isn't a terrible shot. You can still get a pretty good up shot. There is also a pretty cool long hole (#14).
Cons: Hole #11 doesn't have a very clear line, there are two large trees on either side that make it impossible to throw around them. Also the basket is off to the left, usually I end up throwing a roller just to get it down the fairway. The extras on this course could also use a little cleaning up.
Other Thoughts: This course for the most part is flat, however there are "some" hills.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very nice course

1    5/26/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: MikelNovack
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cement tee pads

Nice baskets

Some fun LONG holes

Polite players

Nice bathrooms along the course
Cons: Some long walks to a few holes

Thats about it, if you want to count the park fee as a con like I mentioned in my other review of the Original course I guess you could.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course but found the Original more to my liking, I'm sure thats just personal preference. Both courses are worth making the hour drive a friend and I made to play them

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Another big park

1    5/12/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: Gyro
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well trimmed and very well maintained course, but there was very thick underbrush if you got off the fairway.
Nice variety of challenging shots
Cons: It was a little confusing to find some of the holes. Had to use the map on the scorecard to figure it out.
Other Thoughts: Great park all the way around

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and rough

1    12/27/2011   3/13/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly wooded area with thick brush. A few holes play out in more open areas, offering some distance and often some wind to contend with. Most of the holes play through woods with thick enough rough to make you really pay for missing your line. There is a nice variety of left and right turning holes, you'll need to hit a bunch of different lines to score well here.

There's a good mix of hole lengths, from ace runs to some long tricky holes including one over 1000' where you really have to plan your landing zones to stay out of trouble. Dual tees add even more variety, they change the length on the holes, and many of the longs offer an additional pinch point or a trickier line off the tee. The tees are nice large concrete pads, with basic signage at both sets of tees. A handful of holes have dual baskets, the longs are often tucked back into protected spots that add some nice additional challenge. The park office has discs and snacks for sale.
Cons: WIth some long blind holes and nasty rough, lost discs (and lost blood) are a real hazard here, spotters go a long way. The holes out in the open get a little repetitive, and the long grass rough does more to frustrate players rather than add real disc golf challenge in my opinion. There are a few navigation issues, especially where the course crosses the road, nothing major but you might have to spend a little extra time the first time through figuring out the layout.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice complex, with two fun courses and a good mix of different challenges. Beginners will find some tough challenges even from the shorts, the distances are reasonable but the rough might get frustrating. More experienced players will need to bring a full skill set and accurate drives to score well and stay out of trouble. The fee to play is reasonable, and it seems like it goes into course maintenance and improvement. I do find it a little annoying when disc golfers pay for the park and for the course when other park users don't pay additional fees for amenities that are more expensive to maintain and install.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Another awesome course!

1    10/1/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: elrumpo
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 24 holes (plus 24 more on the original course)
- multiple tee pads per hole, all in great shape
- some holes have multiple baskets
- lots of longer holes (longer than the original course)
- good variation in hole design, makes you think a lot
- good tee signs for the holes
- great park surrounding the course, provides lots of activities
- bathrooms and food right by the parking lot
- course design is great, makes great use of natural obstacles and terrain
- some creative holes that clearly had a lot of thought put into them
- great to have two courses so close together (starting from the same parking lot) so you can get your whole days golfing in easily!
Cons: - $5 car fee + $2 player fee (but totally worth it!)
- one ridiculously long 1038 ft hole...insane!
Other Thoughts: Between this course and the original I think I like the original a tiny bit more. Both are fabulous and I would love to play them both more often. This one just didn't have as much polish on some holes. Probably because it is newer.

This course is still amazing and a ton of fun to play on. It's well worth the drive from a few hours away because you can spend all day exploring the park and get two rounds of 24 holes in on two exceptional courses!

The park clearly loves the disc golfers who come here. There are signs specifically guiding us from the entrance to the courses, and they make it super easy to get your required wrist band and find everything.

Make sure to print a course map before coming...there were none next to the first tee as many stated that there were. Maybe because it is getting late in the season?

**update: there are almost apparently maps/scorecards in the activities center!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 HUDSON MILLS DISC DERBY

1    7/15/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: innovajohnny5
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.9 Years
Pros: Very Challenging Course. If you are intermediate players play the yellow tees or advanced play the black tees. Well marked for the most part. A few addl' "next tee" markers would help. Whatever style of play you have you should have a blast playing here. Long / short tee mix. And the tees are concrete and in great shape. Well trimmed where you play - very heavy brush when you get off course.
Cons: You do have to pay per vehicle and per disc golfer. I understand the maintanance involved. But it may be alot if you play here regularly. I came from Cleveland so the $9 fee for my son and I wasn't bad. I was glad to donate to the cause. If I had to do it a dozen times or more a year it may takes its toll. I dont know any courses in Ohio that you pay to play (that I've played at least). Plus you "have to" have a wrist band or the maintenance personnel that ride around in the golf cart will "bust" you. Also some of the holes are heavily wooded. If you are off a little you can easily lose a disc as my son did. Brand new disc too.
Other Thoughts: For playing the first time, I did pretty well. Mostly lucky shots off trees instead of into them like I usually do. Some open long shots and good hyzer and anhyzer shots on this course. On Hole #15 threw a BH sharp hyzer over the thick brush/trees. I hit it right was a 1 putt for a 2. The hole just looks hard. #16 is fun - its open to the basket - I just let it rip. #17 I Sidearmed my Destoyer with a slight Hyzer. It put me about 10 ft with a one putt. #18 is a b%$#@h. I took a 4 on it. I tried a clean throw to the clearing before the bridge but ended up in the woods ( if you have strong arm throw it over the whole d*&mn mess). My son and I saw a King Snake as we crossed the bridge. At first thought - it was a massasauga - differnt markings - no poison too bad. My son got past the talls trees and thicket and he was home free. He took a 3. All in all a great course to play at. For a 3 hour drive from Cleveland it was worth it!!!

 

1    6/19/2010   4/14/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Complex- Hudson Mills is a large park that is home to two excellent 24-hole courses. The park itself is on a large and gorgeous piece of land. All of the park, including the courses, is very well maintained and has a "country club" feel to it - (no trash, neatly mowed, nice people, etc.) The parking lot is convenient to the start of both courses. And we took advantage of the picnic tables there and had a nice relaxing picnic lunch between rounds.

The Course- 2 sets of concrete tees, informative tee signs, large sign indicates where the course begins, and good baskets as you should expect. Navigation is a little trickier than on the Original since you have to cross the road a couple of times, but there are usually clearly mowed paths, good signs, and a course map available. The biggest challenge here is staying on the fairways, the rough is super thick and extremely punishing. There was a lot more variety of holes on the Monster (compared to the Original), mainly in that it utilizes elevation a lot more and the variance of hole distances ranged from 190' - 1038' from the long tees. Overall, each of the 24 holes is solid and there are no bad or throwaway holes.

Signature holes could be #14- at over 1000' it was not a "wide-open throw-out-your-arm" hole, but rather you have to break the hole down by shot and place each one strategically to avoid the rough and the isolated trees in the middle of the fairway. #18 is a love/hate type hole that plays blindly over a creek at an awkward angle.
Cons: The Course- The middle section stays out in the open for several holes in a row, and they do offer a little break from the dense woods holes, but they started to get repetitive, and they looked like many of the holes on the Original course. (I remember thinking to myself sarcastically "Haven't I played these already?")

The rough is super thick and deep and the chances of losing a disc are much greater on the Monster, than on the Original. If you do happen to go deep in the rough and find your disc, chances are you are going to get some battle wounds from branches and thorns.

The parks people on the golf carts do their job well of making sure people follow the rules, but sometimes they just come out of nowhere and sneak up on you. They like to talk about disc golf and their course, which is cool, but 1 worker on a cart talked to us for at least 15 minutes in the middle of the round and we sort of had to rudely walk away while he rambled or we would have caused a backup on the tee!

The Complex- I would prefer the holes to be renumbered 1-24 instead of A-F thrown in the middle, but this seems to be common for many courses in Michigan.

If you played here regularly it would cost you a bit as you have to pay to enter the park and to play each day. Locals would want to purchase a yearly pass if they were going to play a lot as $7 a day would add up quickly.
Other Thoughts: The Course- Monster is more difficult and more demanding than the Original. It is a great test of skill and mental toughness. You have to keep your game face on while playing the Monster, where on the Original you can relax a little.

The Complex- This park takes a lot of pride in these courses, and the fee to play here is totally worth, especially if you are coming here from out of town just to play it once or twice. Teeing off without paying is against the law and is strictly enforced, as we witnessed on Monster tee #1 a group of boys waiting to tee off after us get caught by a worker in a golf cart who seemingly came out of nowhere!

I really enjoyed playing both of these fine courses. They offer challenges to most anybody's game, but still provide a good dose of fun. These courses complement each other well, and I see why this is a great place for tournaments.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/13/2011   10/4/2010
Review By: Mark R
Played: 83  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 11.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shares many positive traits with the Original course, such as great maintenance and signs, and lots of benches.

Easy for players new to the course to play without having to look around for the next hole. Signs are well-designed, yet simple-to-understand and have accurate distances posted.

Well-labelled black and gold tees, contrasting with the blue/red tees of the original course. Two large cement tee pads for each hole, a big plus. However, unlike the Original course, many holes have multiple 'championship' baskets, making a total of four different hole configurations at some holes.

Alternate holes (A-F) are brutal, long and narrow fairways (not unlike Oshtemo Hole 2) that are perilous if you miss the fairway.

In addition to the extra baskets, the best holes on the Monster course tend to be a little bigger, more epic and more diverse than the Original course, making it the slightly better course of the two.

Hole 14 plays as long as 1000 feet, but stays engaging and entertaining the whole way, and is just the right width for its length.

Cons: Rough on this course is rougher and easier to lose discs on, though not as rough as Meyer Broadway.

As with original, the details are done right, but the land itself lacks some of the topographical features of the best West Michigan courses. Walking trails have a negative impact on privacy.

A fairly long ways from nearby stores and restaurants, so it's best to fully supply ahead of time (there is a pop machine on site).

A fully realized course, improving it seems difficult.
Other Thoughts: Has indoor bathrooms and a small shop with discs, but the shop wasn't open on Sunday (bathrooms were still open).

Course is challenging on a level even with Leviathan, and may be discouraging for newer players, and can be a bit cruel to those who need a little room on the right-hand side to drive (lefty-friendly). Takes about three full hours to play all 24 holes.

Pay-to-play ($5 to get in, $2 disc golf fee). Annual fee $50.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.