Dexter, MI 
Hudson Mills Metropark - Monster Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 225ft.   3 / 270ft.   3 / 225ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #21 (or #15) - A slightly uphill hyzer with dense woods beyond the basket.



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    4/13/2011   10/4/2010
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shares many positive traits with the Original course, such as great maintenance and signs, and lots of benches.

Easy for players new to the course to play without having to look around for the next hole. Signs are well-designed, yet simple-to-understand and have accurate distances posted.

Well-labelled black and gold tees, contrasting with the blue/red tees of the original course. Two large cement tee pads for each hole, a big plus. However, unlike the Original course, many holes have multiple 'championship' baskets, making a total of four different hole configurations at some holes.

Alternate holes (A-F) are brutal, long and narrow fairways (not unlike Oshtemo Hole 2) that are perilous if you miss the fairway.

In addition to the extra baskets, the best holes on the Monster course tend to be a little bigger, more epic and more diverse than the Original course, making it the slightly better course of the two.

Hole 14 plays as long as 1000 feet, but stays engaging and entertaining the whole way, and is just the right width for its length.

Cons: Rough on this course is rougher and easier to lose discs on, though not as rough as Meyer Broadway.

As with original, the details are done right, but the land itself lacks some of the topographical features of the best West Michigan courses. Walking trails have a negative impact on privacy.

A fairly long ways from nearby stores and restaurants, so it's best to fully supply ahead of time (there is a pop machine on site).

A fully realized course, improving it seems difficult.
Other Thoughts: Has indoor bathrooms and a small shop with discs, but the shop wasn't open on Sunday (bathrooms were still open).

Course is challenging on a level even with Leviathan, and may be discouraging for newer players, and can be a bit cruel to those who need a little room on the right-hand side to drive (lefty-friendly). Takes about three full hours to play all 24 holes.

Pay-to-play ($5 to get in, $2 disc golf fee). Annual fee $50.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Monsterous Indeed

1    9/19/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: sbrody44
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros: -Course Upkeep. Phenomenal. Beautiful
-Tee Pads. They are huge. I like it.
-Layout. This course seems to be a backhand friendly course, but also has many different opportunities for other shots.
-Signs. There are sign with the hole layout and distances at each tee pad.
-Challenge. This course certainly keeps you on your toes throughout.
Cons: -Slightly confusing for a newcomer. Finding some the holes was a bit of a challenge if you've never been here before.
-Baskets. Not a fan of the Mach 3's. Seemed too narrow. I've never had so many putts go in and out of the basket. I could have been having an off day with putting also so dont hold me to that. haha
Other Thoughts: A terrific course. Well worth the trip. I would suggest it to anyone. It has a variety of shot opportunities as well as some massive lengths on some holes. Definitely a fun and challenging course.

 Stomping Grounds

5+    6/15/2010   9/15/2010
Review By: T Wrecks
Played: 78  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.6 Years
Pros: Dual Pads, and alot of variety. Alternate baskets on 6 holes make some of the holes pretty tricky. I love this course, and I think the pay to play is only helping.
Cons: The only thing I don't like about the monster course is the wind. If it's windy out here, good luck trying to read it. It seems to always swirl, especially on the extras.
Other Thoughts: This course taught me how to play, and is the home of my first ace. I still travel home just to play Hudson Mills.

 Stay in the Fairway!

1    6/19/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hudson Mills Metropark is the home of 2 excellent courses. The Monster Course has excellent tees and baskets. The groundskeeping was above average. Elevation was more of a factor on the Monster course than on the Original. This course offered less options off the tee than the other course. This is not a bad thing as it promotes the use of an array of shots. While the Original course had a few holes with multiple options of flight paths. The Monster forces the player to execute a certain shot varying for different holes. I carry about 22 discs, and I used a greater number of discs on this course than any other course on our tour. The monster adds some distance to the challenge. Shooting below par on the Monster course is a lot more of a feat than shooting below par on the Original. Higher level players will probably prefer the challenge of the Monster course. The really, really long hole was intersting to me. While I don't have a long arm, I thought the hole was well-designed. There were definitely landing areas that the designer had in mind in order to navigate the trees in the fairway. I have now played two holes over 1000 feet, and this was the better of the two. Hole #24 was an excellent finishing hole....probably my favorite hole on the course.
Cons: I understand the challenging aspect of thick rough. However, the rough on the Monster course was a little over-the-top in my opinion. Losing discs is a definite possibility. Simply retrieving an errant throw can be dangerous. While the groundskeeping was above-average, it seemed like the Monster course was less "refined". My guess is that since the other course is named "Original", that this course was added more recently. Maybe in a few years the maturation will be more evident.
Other Thoughts: The Monster Course is an excellent complement to the Original course. The Monster is much more challenging, but much less mature. I can see this course being enjoyed more by players with more skill than me. I shot around 5 over and I didn't feel to bad considering I had never played the course before. I only added that part so you can derive your own ideas of the course based on my skill level. While I rated the Original course slightly higher, it was simply because of the maturity of the course. In a few years, these courses will probably be much closer based on that criterium.

The park is rather large and has a few other things going on. However, other users of the park did not interfere with our round, and I can't imagine this being a recurring problem.

If you are in the area, Hudson Mills is definitely a stop that you should make. In my opinion it is worthy of "destination course" status. When combined, the two courses offer immense challenges without losing the "fun" aspect of disc golf.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beast

2-4    8/4/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: STXCougar
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging course especially from the pro tees. pretty good variation with some tight fairways. well kept and nice tees and some holes offer multiple baskets.
Cons: bugs, can be crowded but most people play the original course. thick undergrowth and vegetation on sides of fairways if u have a bad throw may spend a while looking for your disk.
Other Thoughts: bug spray, and bring a good strong arm and far flying disc

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Round Two

1    7/25/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hudson Mills Metropark is a great place to play disc golf. The quality of this park is superb. It appears as though the fees are being put to good use in the upkeep of this beautiful park. It is easy to feel like an honored guest here due to the fact that the course is so pristine and pleasing to the eye. Monster stands next to the Original as the second great reason to visit this park. Or the first great reason depending upon your preference.

Immaculately maintained fairways are standard at every hole here. Concrete tee pads that are perfectly sized await you at either a long or short position.

Signs are present at every hole showing distance and a general idea of the direction to follow as a pin seeker. Scorecards with a detailed map are available as well, although this course is quite easy to follow apart from a few confusing spots.

Some holes offer dual baskets which make for an easy way to change up the adventure and keep things interesting. The terrain is mildly hilly at some points which adds some diversity and keeps things from getting stagnant due to flat and unremarkable turf.

There is a good variety of length here from the pro tees. A full range of distances from 190 feet all the way up to 1038 with the majority being in the 300 to 400 range gives a player plentiful opportunities to throw different discs and use their shot making abilities and tactical skills.
Cons: Not many problems with Monster. With some nit picking, the dual baskets have potential to confuse the uninitiated and in most cases they seem to be strangely deployed in tight little crevices. They certainly do add spice and variety for those who wish to shoot for them. The short tees seem really short and dare it be said quite easy? Very fun though and great for beginners. Hole 17 is hidden away a bit and may require a hunt. Use your map, Magellan. Hole 18 may possibly be one of the most poorly designed and unreasonable holes ever plotted from a play standpoint. Seriously what do you do there?
Other Thoughts: The two courses contained within the confines of Hudson Mills Metropark are agreed by many to be among the best in the great state of Michigan. This park is without a doubt worthy of being considered a destination. The surrounding areas are rife with solid courses that are begging to be explored as well. Those who are serious about the game would be well served by visiting Hudson Mills. These courses are pretty much the definition of what makes up excellence. Bordering on phenomenal. A solid experience.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

This Monster isn't friendly

5+    7/18/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/22/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Several unique holes, a wonderful mix of dogleg left and right, short, long, and longer demand your constant attention. Mostly flat, but significant terrain changes come into play.

Large, dual concrete tee pads (long and short) on every hole.
Permanent (more challenging) alternate pin locations provide up to 4 different ways to play 6 of the holes. How's that for variety?

Great job adjusting the challenge from short to long tees. The long pads challenge both your distance and control as the fairways off the longs are quite narrow, which means there are fewer lines to work and a smaller window to hit. Fairways open up quiet a bit around the shorts, requiring far less precision on your drives. While this technique is employed on the Original course, it's executed to perfection on The Monster.

Supplemental holes A-F can get monotonous, but 6 consecutive long tunnel shots are great for testing how consistently you can throw flat and straight for distance. Can certainly affect how players finish in a tourney, as getting off the fairway here is likely to cost at least a stroke.

After you hole out on F, you've played 19 holes, have walked about 2 miles, and maybe you're feeling a bit drained. You approach the next tee and think "Am I seeing things? Was there an extra digit in there?" Nope - the tee sign is for real. Hole 14 tests your couarge,conviction and control, with 1038' between you and the basket, that requires more than a little control to avoid some VERY hazardous brush (650' from the short tee is no gimme either).

The Monster finishes with a great hole that corkscrews over a narrow gap flanked by trees and brush, with a pond waiting to swallow hyzers that fade hard.
Cons: Not a good course to try out new shots or find out how that new driver works for you. You better know how you're gonna get to the basket from the tee, 'cause if you just wing it... can you say "lost disc?"

Although things open up in a few spots, you really need to keep your shots on a pretty tight line - The Monster makes you pay for shots that get away from you (sometimes in blood). The brush lining the fairways is thick, and frequently thorny (the stuff off the right side of 14 is downright dangerous).

Several blind holes and hazardous rough make spotters more than just a convenience. The brush on some holes is so thick that even if you have a good idea where you came down, finding your disc can still be iffy.

Home to Sistrurus catenatus, better known as the Massasauga rattlesnake - the only poisonous snake native to Michigan. They don't get very large (18"-30") but that dosn't matter much, does it?
Other Thoughts: Hudson Mills is more accommodating to DG'ers than any place I've been to. Case in point: Sun, 6/26/11 was Disc Golf Appreciation Day, with events and prizes just for DG'ers. With two excellent, wonderfully maintained, 24 hole courses, Hudson Mills is a premier disc golf destination. It's specifically because of this that The Monster doesn't get the credit it deserves for being the tournament caliber course that it is. It's often just lumped in as one of two great courses at Hudson Mills, but this bad boy stands on it's own merit.
Take your time and make a day of it. Play one course, enjoy the scenery, rest at the Activity Center, grab a bite and recharge... then go out for another round.

Exceptionally well maintained: neatly mowed fairways, fresh wood chips around all the baskets, spacious dual concrete tee pads, nice tee signs with distance and hole layout for both tee pads, practice basket, score cards w/maps and pencils with erasers. The park office where you pay is conveniently located near the parking lot between the Original and Monster courses. Inside you'll find a well stocked snack bar (burgers, fries, chicken fingers, pizza, snack foods, drinks) with clean, comfortable tables and chairs and CLEAN bathrooms (indeed a rarity on on most courses I've played). This is the most welcoming place to play disc golf I know of.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    6/7/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: Journeyman
Played: 34  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 18.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Monster is a really nice course, highly recommended.

Lots of different shots required on this course. If you play the longs bring your "A" game.

Well maintained with some new trees and bushes planted in spring of 2010. Tees clearly marked with distance and map of hole.

"Extra holes" A-F are tight and through the woods, lots of invasive bushes to get through. Very fun though.

Champion baskets on 1,3, 8?, 13 add to the joy if you want some extra length

Alcohol allowed on the courses. Don't be a drunk fool and ruin it for the rest of us. One of the few places we are allowed to enjoy an open beer while playing.
Cons: Poison ivy EVERYWHERE, mosquitoes get bad at dusk.

The 1038 foot hole is ridiculous. If you throw from the back tees you MUST have a spotter or be very accurate or you will be looking or losing. I have lost more discs on this hole than any other I have played in 15 years.

Not much elevation change, but that is a function of it being in SE Michigan.

Big Brother is watching
Other Thoughts: Yes you have to pay to play, but they seem to be spending the money on the course.

If you are in the area you should play this AND the Regular Hudson Mills, you already paid, so why not get twice the play for your money?

Used to be my favorite in the area until Black Locust opened at Kensington.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/14/2009   5/14/2010
Review By: jayseiler
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good mixture of both long and short holes, all all teas are marked, Woodchipped under the baskets. Concrete Teas. Extra holes for when you have the time.
Cons: Can be very crowded on weekends. the two dollars is somewhat of a downer since you already have to play to enter the park.
Other Thoughts: One of the best mainted course I have played on.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best Frolf in the area

1    10/30/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: bpatton
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a lot more difficult than the original course at Hudson Mills. Much more unforgiving for the errant drive. I do not recommend a round from the long tees if you do not have a very strong game. This course requires both length and accuracy from the long tees, and you will lose a frisbee if you are not good enough to play from the long tees!

This course is very technical. However, the accurate shot is rewarded with birdie opportunities on the first six holes with shots that make it though the brush and trees untouched. The course changes after that to open up for the big arms, but it still must be shot accurately to avoid scrambling to hit a bogey. That's right, mess up on this one and you may find yourself taking two strokes just to get out of the woods.

The extra six, A through F, will make or break your game on this course. Keep it on the fairway and par is attainable on all six. Find your way off the beaten path, even just a little, and you will have to make a clutch shot just to maintain par.

The signature hole for the entire park is the "monster" hole, #14. Just over 1000 feet from the longs, about 600 from the shorts. This hole is as much about shot placement as it is about length.

After hole #14, the course offers something different on each hole the rest of the way. A couple blind shots, a long down hill shot, and a water hazard. Each of the last four is unique to the course, some birdie holes, some not.

For all of its difficulty, this course is not unreasonably hard. It can be frustrating. Sometimes two or three bad shots can cost you five or six strokes.
Cons: I have lost more discs on this course than any other.

Look out for rattlesnakes. That's right, rattlesnakes. The last time that I was there a friend and I saw six, count them six. The time before that we saw three. They appear to stay mostly on the fairway sunning themselves, but we walked off the course after the second to last hole because my friend was in the woods looking for a disc and nearly stepped on one that was almost two feet long. It seems that the snakes are making a comeback, which is good... I guess. In playing this course over the past 11 years, I have seen only one other rattlesnake, and that was my first year of frolf in 1998. If you happen to come across any of the rattlesnakes report it to the people in the office. They keep track of the sightings for science and all that jazz.
Other Thoughts: After a while all I could think was "rattlesnake...rattlesnake...rattlesnake"

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.