Dexter, MI 
Hudson Mills Metropark - Monster Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 295ft.   3 / 380ft.   3 / 295ft.   3 / 380ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Long Tee

Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 Next >

1    7/25/2008   7/25/2008
Review By: Nickwells
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2008
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is legit. There's two concrete tee's & sometimes two baskets for more of challenge. The signs are real nice; they give you a good idea of what you're throwing. The score card you get at the office has a map on the back which really came in handy. The holes are layed out real nice with a lot of variety of shots. There's benches & trash cans at every holes. Looks like it's very maintained. Tree's are placed well to create a good challenge. There's a epic 1,000+ foot hole that I'll never forget 'cause everyone lost their disc on it. There's a bathroom roughly halfway through the course. The bonus holes are real nice. I suggest playing them. I hear it's busy on the weekend... but it seems to be kinda dead during the week. There's a party store down the street that sells disc's.
Cons: There's a $2 fee to play on top of the $4 to get in if you don't have a metro park pass. No signs to point you to the next hole. If you didn't have the map on the back of the score card you'd probably get lost. Par on some holes could be set a little lower. The rough is real thick. Better pay attention to your disc or you might not find it. There could be some downhill & uphill holes.
Other Thoughts: A must play course in my opinion. I haven't played the original course yet but I'm sure it's just as good. Probably spend a whole day here between the 2.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Michigan's Finest

2/10/2008   5/31/2008
Review By: GFDGA
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tough pro-caliber course design. Excellent laout. Dual tees, solids cages. Many different shots needed. Alcohol permitted.
Cons: Pigs on patrol. $2 per player fee in addition to park enterance fee. No easy way to get to this metropark. It's out there.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the toughest courses I've played. T The famed 'monster' hole at plays over 1,000 feet from the pro tees. Many birdie holes to make up for the longer ones though. This and the Original course together in the same park make for one of Michigan's premier disc golf locations. Worth the drive to play. Plan for a whole day to get both courses in. Monster is not as crowded at the original in general. Watch out for the metropark pigs, they love to hassle disc golfers and warrentlessly search.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A 1000 rated review

5/28/2008   5/28/2008
Review By: discgolfer20306
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hudson Mills Monster is great if you like a challenge. This is a very technical course that requires you to know or learn every type of throw. Extremely clean and maintained. Picnic tables and garbage cans on every hole.
Cons: There are a couple of holes that may seem just plain unfair and lucky. I guess luck is part of the game too. Russian olive bushes and shule can and will eat your discs.
Other Thoughts: All in all a great course to travel to. Country club disc golf. This course has produced some of Michigan's greatest players. (Mike Raley, Al Schack, Peter Wyngard) and the worlds greatest player Mike Frame... or was that Brown Park???

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic - one of the best in the state

5/15/2008   5/15/2008
Review By: Caribbeing
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.4 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes plus 6 bonus. Lots of variety, many chances to go for the huge drive mixed with holes that require a high level of precision. Lots of chances for birdies, but a bad throw can put you into a fight to avoid bogie (or worse).

This course (along with it's sister course) is one of the best courses you'll play anywhere, which is proven by the throngs of people here every weekend, and large number of tournaments that are held here every season.

Great facilities - excellent club house, snack bar, concrete tee pads (2 per hole), nice baskets. Everything is in great shape, and vandalism is almost non-existent.
Cons: Personally, I hate the first and the last holes. The first hole requires a precision shot to either enter a tunnel of trees, or drop right by the entrance, so the next throw can go down the pipe. I don't think the first hole of any course should be tough, because it starts you off on a bad note.

Likewise, the last hole is a par-4 dogleg, shaped like a backwards "4". You can try to throw up over the tall trees that are based in a sludge-filled creek, but the safer throw is to lay up near the bridge, then throw a hard hyzer to get close to the basket.

I'm often pissed after the first and last holes, but I can't lose site of the fact that almost every other hole on the course is really fantastic.

Like the Original course, this course is crowded on the weekends. Check ahead to see if a tournament is going on.
Other Thoughts: Read the description of the Original course at Hudson Mills - they are in the same park.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.