Course Extinct
Pearland, TX 
Woody Street DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 261ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    10/5/2012   10/16/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 112  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a quiet course that does not see a lot of action in the Pasadena area. It has nice tee signs that lets you know where the basket is easily. The course is short enough to keep beginners interested but not too short that you are playing too close to another hole. Hole 9 is actually a long hole that needs a good rip to make a chance at a 2 which is something you do not see in neighborhood courses like this.

Because this course does not see a lot of action the natural tee pads are hardly worn in at all, they should probably stay like that as far as I am concerned.
Cons: This course plays stupid close to people's backyards. at Hole #4 the basket sits next to someone's backyard without a fence so if you miss a shot you will be invading someones property to retrieve your disc; I'm not sure if the neighbors mind or are strict but I would not want to be the person to find out.

Besides the three holes that play close to houses there are not a whole lot of natural obstacles to speak of.
Other Thoughts: This course is very close to Cory's Bike and Disc Golf shop so any type of shopping I do there, I will probably be heading here to test out my new purchases. Other then that this course should not be one you travel great distances to, there is nothing special to see here that you cannot see elsewhere in Houston, maybe except breaking a house window.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great place to try out discs after going to the Bike store/disc golf shop!

1    7/21/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: nomex
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nieghborhood course that's fairly close to a great Disc Golf/Bike shop. In fact, my buddy and I found out about this course after our first visit to the previously mentioned store!

This is a good course if you're looking for a pitch and putt. The signs on the tee boxes make it easy to navigate, but I still managed to shoot for hole #7 from the first tee box after winning our initial flip. At least it was the first hole, so we were able to re-tee without issue. I just bought a new fairway driver, mid-range, and a couple putters, so this course was perfect for trying them out. The baskets are in excellent condition. I'd use this course as a test ground after buying discs, or working on my putt/approach game.
Cons: With this being a neighborhood course comes some problems:

Houses and backyards are always going to be a problem/hazard as some holes (2,3,5,6) are placed a little too close to the fences. Imagine what kind of "hazard" you may face trying to retrieve a disc in someone's back yard? This is Texas, you know...

Some of the holes are placed a little too close to other users of the park (1,7,8,9), and on a busy day you may be risking hitting children on a playground or people/cars in the parking lot on the way to hole #9.

My big complaint, though, would have to be the rather low height of the baskets. If you've played MacGregor Park, every one of the baskets are at the same level of hole #10 there. I guess you could pretend you're putting downhill?
Other Thoughts: For me, I'd utilize this course as a testing ground for new discs purchased at the excellent local Disc Golf/Bike Shop, warming up for playing at Tom Bass, or introducing beginners to Disc Golf. Since this course is a little far from Downtown Houston, I don't think I can convince many of my non-playing friends to just meet me down here for an introductory round. It's a shame that I don't have a course like this close by. Rice University is overgrown, and MacGregor Park seems to scare some people (which it shouldn't).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some tweaking

1    6/9/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Tee signs are descriptive enough to let you easily find the basket. MachII baskets are double chains and seem to be the standard these days for typical park courses. The course doesn't get enough play to rut out the natural tee boxes. Surprisingly lefty-friendly for a small park course. It's flat and easy enough to navigate for a fairly quick round. There's a decent variety of shots and holes that offer multiple approaches that would allow you to practice different shots.
Cons:
Safety is a concern on this course as several of the holes play dangerously close to other tees or baskets. The playground is in the line of fire on hole #1 and the parking lot is in the middle of the fairway on hole #9. The walking/jogging path is close enough to several holes to be a concern. And residential private properties are only a few feet from some of the baskets. Lost discs are a very real possibility on #6. Baskets sit a bit below recommended height.
Other Thoughts:
Woody St is the type of course you wouldn't mind having in your neighborhood to get in some good practice rounds. If there aren't any pedestrians or other people playing it's not too bad (you still have private property hazards). But it's not at all a destination course. The course could be notched up a star on the rating scale by moving some of the tees/baskets a bit. The course was nice and dry when I played (early June) but it sounds like it gets pretty soggy after some rain.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Move Along, Nothing to See Here!

1    3/16/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The majority of the course is fairly open, and at average distances - part of the course would be very beneficial in teaching new players how to throw and shape their throws. It also doesn't look like much foot traffic comes through here, so that's an additional practice bonus. Tees are marked and the layout is easy to follow, and you're in relative close distance to other courses like the Powell and Wilmont over in Tom Bass.

BEST HOLE/S: #3
Cons: The course layout is pretty bad. It starts off decent enough, but to be able to make a full nine holes, #4 and #5 go off in another area simply not fit for disc golf. If you don't end up hitting someone on the basketball adjacent to #4, you're bound to end up in a backyard or taking out a birdfeeder on #5. I can only imagine the stink neighbors would make as players are jumping fences to retrieve discs. Then, #6 in all of its on on-paper design glory is playing the majority of the hole through a wetland marsh. I don't mind get a little wet when I play, but it borders on ridiculous.

Other holes are straight forward, with #2, #7, and #8 being a few potential ace runs. You finally get to top off your round by trying not hit your car flying the parking lot on #9. The tee areas are natural and besides a small playground, there's not much else here. Bottom line, is that even though I enjoyed my alone time on a new course, it's simply not safe enough for more populated general play.

WORST HOLE/S: #5
Other Thoughts: Much like Shadow Creek Ranch DGC down the road, Woody Street is a below average nine holer meant more for practice than for play. It has it good moments, and I don't regret trying it out as a local, but once is enough for me, and probably will be for most people too. Plus, with so many good courses being installed or revamped currently in the Houston area, there is just no good reason to waste your time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Local Course

1    10/27/2011   10/27/2011
Review By: TrickyTay
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I thought this was a fun course. First time playing there today. Some long and short shots. Baskets look brand new! This is a course I like because its a mid-level course. I thought that the fairways proper obstacles as well as dog legs.
Cons: Lately do to proper conditions. Mosquitoes are on the loose. There were a few areas where they were pretty bad. Make sure to bring bug spray. There was one hole that was a challenge due to the house on the right. I have a concerned about my disc getting to the house. But thats one hole I will have to get use to!
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course to other mid level players. I will certainly return to this course!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good variety in small area

5+    4/29/2011   4/30/2011
Review By: GMSdrum
Played: 106  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes - tunnels, wide open, lefty, righty, and often more than one option from the tee.

Not too many trees, but enough to make it interesting.

Baskets are brand new, and new tee signs with diagrams.

Layout wasn't too hard to follow for a first timer without a map - all tees visible from previous basket except 4, just a short walk down path.

Only a couple spots where losing a disc might be an issue. (Fences and some tall weeds in back.)

A great medium-easy level course that is much needed in this area. Great contrast to Tom Bass.
Cons: Several tees are very close to previous baskets, and some fairways overlap (1/2/7/8, 4/5, 9/1) - definitely a hazard if another group is in the park. Park probably can't handle 3 or 4 groups at once, unless they are all very aware.

Hole 1 and 9 are dangerously close to the parking and playground area. If the playground is hoppin' you'll need to take a very wide hyzer route on 1, or skip it. Fortunately the playground is usually deserted (at least this summer). On 9 I could see some car damage happening unless you go the lefty route over the walking path. Maybe a mando would be in order.

Fences on private property are definitely an issue on 3, 5, and 6.

No elevation challenges (unless you count the baskets being a little too low).
Other Thoughts: Two playgrounds, decent amount of parking, nice walking path. Quiet neighborhood park - wasn't too busy on a Friday afternoon or a Saturday morning. Well mowed and stroller-friendly. I'd like to see if efforts mentioned above could improve the layout.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Needs more thought

1    4/19/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: ChrisMacG
Played: 82  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 6.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new baskets on a side of town that has been needing a 9 hole course. Also, very close to Cory's Bicycle Shop & DiscGo in Pearland, the best place to buy discs on the south side.
Cons: Six of the baskets are located precariously close to each other on one side of the park along a jogging path. Most tees are located too close to the previous basket. The first hole actually has children's playground equipment in the fairway. Many of the tees are in the landing area of the previous hole and two baskets are located way too close to neighbor's fences. On top of that, the baskets were all about 6" too short.

It's like the course was designed by someone who thought disc golf was played with catch discs.
Other Thoughts: Hopefully the City of Pearland Parks department will consult with some disc golfers and redesign the course for safety and challenge. Right now the course is best for introducing folks to disc golf and practice. It's a shame that more thought wasn't put into the design and installation before the baskets were sunk.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.