Helena, MT 
Hyzer Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: borisbecker475 Hole #3 (Taken 1/2014)
3 / 339ft.   3 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Weaknesses Addressed

1    9/18/2016   9/26/2016
Review By: bkelso
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Prior reviews noted the confusing course layout and somewhat primitive conditions. This has been addressed by whoever maintains the course. The only trick now is finding hole #1. Once you do that, there are directional signs and tee signs that clearly indicate which hole you are on. And finding the next tee from the last hole is very logical and easy to do. See photos for signage.
Cons: Some of the holes are very long for an average player. Although the day we were there I believe they were getting ready for a tournament and had moved the holes back quite a bit in some cases.
Other Thoughts: Nice mountain course. Good variety of long, short, straight, not straight holes. They have a practice tee. It was a bit windy when we played, but it was windy everywhere. Friendly locals. We don't live in Helena, but if we did I would play here all the time.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

It's OK

1    8/1/2016   8/1/2016
Review By: Xelto
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No bad holes.
Decent parking, baskets and tee pads are in good shape.
Cons: No outstanding holes.
Not much variety.
Not obvious where to start, course map might help on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a 19 hole course through moderate woods, along a sloped hillside. Unfortunately, the entire course has the same terrain: no open spaces, no tightly packed spaces. The only difference we found was at a dry gully running through the course. As a result, while there are no bad holes, you get a serious sense of each hole looking very much like the last one, with the primary differences being if you're throwing uphill or downhill, or maybe have the gully to deal with.

On the plus side, this course is less than half a mile from the interstate, so if you're traveling along I-15 and want to stretch your legs, it's the perfect way to do so.

Hole 1 is found by exiting the parking lot up the hillside, on the side without the baskets, and going maybe 100-150 feet until you find the tee. A course map isn't a bad idea mostly to find the first hole, and the occasional one where the course crosses or backtracks slightly, but with a course map you shouldn't have much of a problem.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    7/1/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: Canis Lupis
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great elevation mix. Excellent assortment of distances. Scenic views of the area. Thoughtful course design. Nice baskets and pads (although if it were or had rained it would be a different story.) Very friendly/helpful locals.
Cons: Non existent directional signs for a course that desperately requires it. I had my map open on my phone and still had trouble deciphering where to go. Grass was a bit long when we played
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course. It would be ranked higher if there were a few improvements to signage and course maintenance. Even still, I would play this again with out a doubt.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    10/5/2012   10/7/2012
Review By: Ranger Rick
Played: 54  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun holes, with lots of trees and elevation. We had a blast! New tee boxes and baskets were a plus!
Cons: Very little markings or directional signage. We had to ask where hole 1 was, and it didn't get any better from there. Several times we found that we were throwing at the wrong basket.
Other Thoughts: This would be a much better place to play if there were some sort of signage and legend showing the course layout. Other than that, we had a blast playing this course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    3/13/2012   3/13/2012
Review By: bubbaarmy
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun variety of holes. Not very difficult, but some challenging shots. Nice rubber tee boxes, brand new Mach 3 baskets.
Cons: Little hard to navigate, not much parking
Other Thoughts: Very fun course, well worth the stop to play!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.