Dayton, NV 
Dayton DGC Share
Uploaded By: cjskier Hole #3 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Desert Course with trees

5+    3/8/2014   3/14/2014
Review By: Hammer26
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple pin locations, 2 currently with possible thirds in the works. Some open holes some tunnels a few with water hazards.4 has a low branch that makes you throw low or a wide hyzer. 15 and 16 are moderately poke and hope but 16 has a nice anhyzer route. 17 tees off out of a cage of trees with a low hanging branch and and downed tree not far off the tee. Focus on the drive is needed. 18 is tucked in a line of trees.
Cons: Lost discs to the Carson River. Scenery isn't the best in the winter and spring.
Other Thoughts: Practice basket and bathrooms. Sandy fairways don't kill discs. Leaves make the course harder and when they turn. Though the scenery can be not the greatest, but for a desert its good.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Update distances

1    12/26/2013   12/28/2013
Review By: preacherluke
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked the variety of obstacles. There are holes that play well for every type of throw. There is very little underbrush, which made it easy to find discs. The trees are so big that you have to make a great throw to go over the tops, very challenging.
Cons: The "B" location baskets were not listed on this website. 13 at 720 feet was very challenging, I don't know what the par is supposed to be for all the B locations. It would be helpful if it was listed on the signs or the website. There is a lot of mud this time of year too, which can make throwing with your whole body more difficult.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed the course, any time spent with good friends, flinging at baskets is time well-spent. I was disappointed in my throwing ability as I seem to have a knack for finding trees and branches with my discs. I will be back for my revenge, trees beware.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

nice desert/river course

5+    2/9/2013   2/10/2013
Review By: mhulkman
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is the only course in the Carson City area n its a 20-30min drive. Its the ONLY course beside the crappy one in Sparks that is playable during snow season. Nice flat ground making it beginner n child friendly. Basket to next tee is easy to navigate. Mostly fairly easy holes with a few that have a lot of trees and 2 holes where the river comes into play,especially if its up. Lots of down trees make good obstacles for approach and putting.
Cons: The only con I have and its a HUGE one are the natural sand box tee pads. You are either stepping in a hole or unevenly on every pad. Its so bad that on some holes I throw on the side of the tee.
Other Thoughts: I have to disagree with the last reviewer on some things. You can see the basket on 15-18 holes from the tee pad. Maybe he had a few beers before he teed off, I dont know. The Dayton area does have some ugliness to it but for the area they couldnt have picked a more beautiful setting. The last reviewer played there in August when its 100 degrees n the river is very low. Thats the time of year you should be playing 1 of the 6 courses surrounding Lake Tahoe or Turtle Rock in Markleeville. Come play this course in October when the cottonwoods are bright orange and gold and you will spend more time taking pictures than throwing discs. Or in winter with a dust of snow on the ground, leaves everywhere, with ice forming on the river and reflections of the sky and trees on the slow moving water. From Oct-April this course would be a 4.5 if it wernt for the horrible tee pads.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Course W/Rattlesnake Warning At Beginning!

1    8/18/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 614  Exp: 36.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Dayton DGC plays in an area beside the Carson River mostly in a grove of cottonwood trees. The trees provide much needed shade, most of the obstacles on the course and most of the debris lying around in the manner of broken limbs and branches.
The tee signs which were held on by clips featured a sponsor's name. The course had natural pads which I wasn't thrilled with. There were some picnic tables and some benches carved out of some of the large cootonwoods. The baskets are DGA models with orange numbers. The numbers are facing the correct way (back toward the teepads). I haven't seen these orange numbers before and I'm not sure whether they're homemade or not. If they're homemade, someone did a very superd job constructing them.
I liked the # 4 hole. It featured a low tee box with a low tunnel shot to a basket guarded with a bunch of cottonwood branches.
# 7 is certainly a challenging hole, even in mid-August when the river is low, you're forced to throw a hyser shot out over the river and get some decent distance on it.
Cons: I grew really weary of walking ahead and trying to figure out where the basket was. A few visible baskets off the tee would be appreciated. These signs would be perfect for drilling a hole and inserting a coloring washer to indiscate whether the basket is in the A or B position.

I couldn't bring myself to find any beauty in this terrain. I've played quite a few desert courses and found many of them to be visually pleasing but I'm sorry, this terrain is U-G-L-Y as in you ain't got no alibi.

I thought a couple of the holes were long for the sake of being long and weren't really needed. One or two shorter ACE runs would have been welcomed.
Other Thoughts: I kinda thought when I drove up and the first thing I observed was a Rattlesnake Warning Sign that this course might not be my cup of tee. I didn't like trudging through the soft sand. I thought it to be visually kinda depressing . I didn't care for all the blind basket placements. However, I am pleasantly surprised that the previous reviewers were so kind to it, I would beg to differ.
If you don't live in Dayton proper and want to drive 50 miles out into the desert, I encourage you to come on out and try it on for size. Just watch out when you reach down to pick up your disc!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Dayton NV

5+    3/20/2012   3/21/2012
Review By: swin21
Played: 68  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 34.4 Years
Pros: Course improving every day. Alternate baskets now in. Good mix of short and long. Locals playing all holes as par 3's. Great shade in warm weather with tree growth impacting shots. Water comes into play on several holes. Much better than Reno course. Don't miss it if you are doing the Tahoe loop. Worth checking out.
Cons: Waiting for tee pads to be shored up, but still decent now.
Other Thoughts: Turn south at the Maverick gas station (Cardelli Rd.)

 Not Bad

1    8/29/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout, easy to get around, good parking, great signage at tees, good tee pads. Mid level player should shoot even or better on this course.
Cons: Sandy type dirt, wear sturdy shoes. Be sure you are shooting at the right basket, I think it was #5 the basket is hidden behind a downed tree and just to the right of it and a bit deeper is another basket I fired a tee shot at by mistake. No water on site to drink, bring your own. It looks like this place is a flood plane in the winter judging by the downed wood and debris everywhere, I would double check the conditions prior to playing in the winter.
Other Thoughts: be sure your looking for the turn off HWY50. Its just over 3 miles past the Smiths Grocery store so be in the right lane, its easy to miss.
Good fun course, will play again

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dayton DGC

5+    5/4/2013   4/30/2011
Review By: Swiftacle
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A lot of shade for an area that can be brutal in the summer
- Alongside the Carson River, an excellent spot to take a dip for those hot summer days
- In a quiet area, with lots of trash cans and bench areas
- Good variety of holes (dog-legs left and right; short and straight; long and straight; tee shots with a low canopy)
- Newly updated tee boxes with rubber mats
- Plenty of community support, so the course is always improving (new obstacles added all the time)
Cons: - In the winter/spring the river comes into play on a lot of holes, often rising over the fairways
Other Thoughts: - A fun course with some challenging shots, but nothing over the top
- Most of the B basket locations are further than the A positions. When all baskets are in the B position, the course tends to play 5-6 shots tougher.
- Holes 7, 8, 14, 15 and 16 all run along the Carson River; 9 and 18 have a chance to have some water depending how high the water level is
- Nice place to have a picnic. A lot of usage from non-throwers.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course by the river

2-4    4/20/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: cjskier
Played: 38  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -18 hole course, with 18 tees and baskets, in an area with few courses.
-Nice quiet area, next to the river.
-trash cans around course, some benches carved into fallen trees.
- Nice mix of shots around and threw, live and fallen trees.
-Decent distances on all holes(300'-450')
-Tee signs that are present are nice quality.
-paths lined with fall wood to direct you from baskets to the next tee.
Cons: -No tee signs holes 11-18.
-Tees are made of decomposed granite framed by Railroad ties. Tee pads look like they will get rutted/worn away quickly.
-Don't know if holes 7-9 should be call par 4's.
-river can get pretty high making the fairway on hole 7 disappear under water and channels on hole 15 fill with water. Makes navigating the course tricky.
Other Thoughts: -Nice little course to stop by and play, in an area where there are very few courses.
- would like to play it on a calm summer day, taking a swim in the river would be nice!
-there are some nasty pricker/sticker things about the size and shape of an almond. They are quite the nuisance for long haired dogs! The got stuck in the fur between her foot pads and she could barely walk, so watch out for these if you have a dig on this course.
-There is lots of wood laying around the course from when the river gets high. Some of it is old lumber with exposed nails, so watch your step.

UPDATE 8/1/11:
Tee signs for holes 11 to 18 are now in.
Tee pad for hole 7 has been fixed.
Basket is now in place for hole 17.
Practice basket have been added.
Trash can have been added.
Benches installed
Crossing built over the channels on hole 15.
Grass/weed mowed.
Much of the loose wood/tree debris has been removed.
Parking area has been installed.
This course is going places, truly shaping up to be a great course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.