Littleton, CO 
Dakota Ridge High School Share



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
What a differnce a redesign makes!

5+    6/29/2015   6/30/2015
Review By: MIkeyMikeCO
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a great combination of short and long holes. I believe there are two 400+ holes on the course. You can get the full 9 in if your playing by yourself in about 30 minutes. The tee signs do a great job of letting you know where the O.B. is as well as how to get to the next tee pad. This a great course to get a good practice round in or take someone that is learning.
Cons: It is only playable when there is no school in progress. I would like to see multiple tee pads in the future so if you want to play 18 you can play the holes differently.
Other Thoughts: This is a great replacement for Schaffer. Longer holes that can be played just as fast.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Better Than Average School Course

1    5/26/2015   5/30/2015
Review By: Bwatkins
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee signs every hole
Well layed out, uses existing terrain well
Great beginner course
Alternate tees for holes that play across athletic fields
Cons: A little too open
Nothing super challenging
Other Thoughts: There really is nothing bad about this course, just nothing spectacular either. It plays very flat and In the open. The last few holes play across natural grass that isn't mowed so those are a bit trickier to find discs but still not a problem.

In terms of school courses this is very well done. The holes are long enough (250ish) that you can put a little power behind your tee shot and there is some variety on left/right finishing holes. The course serves great as an introduction to the game without it becoming too stressful.

It's longer but much less technical than the nearby Ken Caryl DGC. I really liked the simplicity of the course the day I played, I wanted a quick, easy, relaxed round and I'll go back just for that reason.

I would much rather play at this school than ACC. Ken Caryl still has to be the best 9 in the area however.

Review is for the updated layout of 04/2015.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

a course...around a school building

2-4    4/27/2015   3/28/2015
Review By: AdamBarnard
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2015
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Good way to introduce people into the game
- Few play this course
- Concrete tees (sidewalk)
Cons: - Can be very windy here.
- Not much in terms of technical shots
Other Thoughts: There are 9 targets set up around a high school building and parking lot, that pretty much sums it up. Most holes are wide open shots across the sidewalks, fields, and parking lots of the campus. They have modified the course recently (hole 7 is now hole 6) to include less impervious surface, but it's generally the same course. Be sure to download the course map before playing.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Deserves a second review

5+    6/30/2015   8/11/2012
Review By: DRod
Played: 67  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mountain Views, good practice for short/mid game and beginners, good baskets, quick to play, a few longer holes have been added.
Cons: Wide open, doesn't require any shot shaping, Walk from 5 to 6 is long and easy to lose your way.
Other Thoughts: The course deserves a second look if you played it before the redesign. Baskets are in placements that are generally further away from the building and sports fields making it more playable when after or summer school sports activities are going on. All the tee boxes have signs are well done and marked. 3 has an alternative tee when the soccer field is in use.

I like coming here with sports fields near by for field work and nice baskets for putting. A quick round can be done in 30 min or less and is really great for putting drives and upshots. I used do putter rounds only here but I had to play a second round because I had to grab a driver for a couple holes on the next round. The use of trees is great for what they have on the property but really don't make you have to account for them and shape lines. Way better than it use to be!

I'd really like to see a set of long tees like ACC so that you can play a full 18.

Overall the best school course in the area I've played to date.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.