Los Osos, CA 
Sea Pines Golf Resort Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #7 (Taken 12/2012)
3 / 435ft.   3 / 564ft.   3 / 603ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    8/11/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 26  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amazing scenery!
Multiple holes over 700'.
No crowds.
Friendly staff and atmosphere.
Great place to improve your distance and learn to play the wind.
Cons: No technical requirements other than TRULY needing to play the wind and rip your longest drives.
Other Thoughts: This place was a fantastic experience! The scenery was phenomenal and the round was incredibly laid back. We played on an August Saturday afternoon and literally had the entire course to ourselves! The shop attendant was super cool and interested in our sport and even pulled out the stack of discs retrieved from the the multiple water hazards and offered us our pick ( after being at the shop "forever"). This is not a technical course but the beauty of the place, the incessant onshore wind and the length make it a very rewarding course and well worth the $6 fee to me!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pining for more DGCs like these!

1    5/25/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perched atop a hill overlooking Morro Bay, this is a very scenic course in a manicured country club like setting. You can avoid the "green fee" if you get there after the Pro Shop closes around 7pm. One of the longer courses you'll play, especially a 9 holer. DG teeboxes are the same as the ball golfers, so you can actually play red or blue variations.
Cons: Rolling fairways make it difficult to see the water hazards.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course and setting. The baskets are positioned off the green, so I don't see any real potential for interference with the regular golfers. I think more 9 hole courses should really consider adding baskets, especially the shorter ones.
====================
Uniqueness: A- (how many DG courses do you know that are along side a ball golf course?)
Difficulty: A- (prevailing coastal wind; long holes up to 1000+ ft; some narrow fairways with OB & hazards)
Fun Factor: B+ (rewarding pars, some fun & challenging over the water holes)
Aesthetics: A- (on a golf course, so it is very nice)
-------------------
Overall: A-

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Long 9 on Ball Golf Course

1    12/14/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very long distances on nearly every hole. Nice DiscCatcher baskets that are easy to spot with their yellow top rings on these long holes. 1 hole 1000' with a large, blind water hazard in front of the green (ate my favorite Destroyer). Another hole has a large water hazard in front of the basket as well but is more noticeable when throwing. Very nice views of the surrounding mountains and Morro Bay. Some slight elevation change on a few holes. Easy to navigate as it plays along the ball golf holes. Very well maintained course. Multiple tees. Hotel, restaurant, and pro shop (limited disc golf gear) on site.
Cons: Grass tees (ball golf tees). Mostly wide open with only a few trees coming into play close to baskets. No signs for the disc golf course so you need to read the ball golf signs (in yards) and estimate the difference in distance between the ball golf pin and the basket to determine hole distance. No numbers on baskets. Long walk from hole 1 to hole 2. Pay to play.
Other Thoughts: Most of the baskets are on the left of the ball golf greens, and they are positioned pretty well with some trees becoming obstacles as you get closer to the basket. Great use of the water hazards, especially on #3 where the pond is blind to you on your second shot. I didn't even see it and splashed right in the middle of it :( Great course to put your distance to the test. Only 2 or 3 holes are potential birdies for most disc golfers (hole 1 is the only fairly easy hole to birdie). I arrived late in the day and the guy in the pro shop let me play for free. Despite the distance if there's no hold up the course can be played in 30-45 minutes if you can throw 300+'. Fun intermediate level (difficult if all are played as par 3's) course. I would recommend parking by the pro shop as you have to pay here before playing (unless you arrive late in the evening) and this is where hole 1 is. You can also park by the restaurant as this is where hole 9 ends. I'm very happy to see baskets being added to ball golf courses. Hopefully it will help this sport get more recognition.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Long Golf by the bay

1    11/20/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: Danger
Played: 86  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -DISCatchers (thank you for the yellow band!)
-Distance course
-Elevation
-Water hazards
-$5 pay to play
Cons: -Not technical
Other Thoughts: Sea Pines Golf Resort is a 'disc on ball golf' course located on the bay in Los Osos. Greens play typical of bolf greens and the view out to the ocean features Morro Rock and an estuary. The course plays very long and includes several hazards along the journey.

For reference when looking at the pictures, basically assume that the pin is beyond the grass horizon, nearly out of view from the tee. It is a very long course.

While wind can be an issue throughout the area, we were lucky enough to visit on a day that the wind was minimal, however it still existed. Fairways are wide and straightforward, and the course presents an opportunity to practice in diverse wind conditions with little fear of lost discs. Moisture in the air and regular fog keeps the grass fairly damp, something to consider when deciding your shot. Additionally, tee pads play from bolf tees, which are also grass.

The course begins with a simple downhill toss with a left fade, really providing the only opportunity for a birdie at this monster. Since the pro shop was closed when we visited, we were playing the course blind. We thought we had hit the jackpot on birdie runs.

After a fairly excessive walk from the massively out of place first hole, you reach the rest of the course, as well as hole 2. This one plays much longer than 1, and plays generally flat. An easy three for any player with a descent arm.

Hole 3 has the best view of the course, and plays flat and uphill, about 1000 ft. Toward the end of the fairway is a lake that you definitely have to think about. All water on the course is circled by white stakes, so if you are ever uncertain about a hazard, just look for these stakes.

Four and Five play up and down a hill alongside each other, with the main challenge being elevation with some minor tree route shaping issues. A small water hazard exists just in front of the pin on hole 4. Casual water in some dips in the area would not be fun to play from.

The course begins to shorten itself a little bit at hole 6, which plays flat with a bit of downhill, and again behind the lake. Both lakes on the course exist at the end of the hole, so be ready for this on both occasions.

7, 8, and 9 all play next to each other and are short compared to the rest of the course but long for disc golf in general. Nearly every hole (Except hole 1) plays at least 500 feet.

We arrived at the course after the pro shop had closed, and we were instructed by the hotel staff that it is 'walk on' when this is the case. You do not need to pay the green fee and it is legal to be there. It is a bit difficult to get your bearings here; when you enter, the pro shop is on the right. Park here to be near hole 1. You can also make a left and drive to the restaurant (near the driving range); park here and your car will be waiting after hole 9. The walk from hole 1 to hole 2 is long, but follow the signs across the street and through the hotel complex and you will see it.

Having played this course with very little information about it (I made the course map provided here after our visit), we were blown away by the massive amounts of distance these 9 holes cover. It had been raining before our visit so it was basically dead, but as per most ball golf courses; even when busy they play tee times which should separate you from other golfers.

More and more disc golf is popping up in the SLO area, and this course is a great addition due to its extreme length with little obstacles. This is a real treat for any golfer trying to add distance to their game and learn to work with wind. Being only 9 holes, it keeps the commitment to the course minimal and allows for multiple loops, or the opportunity to warm up before playing one of the SLO courses. A great addition to our sport in a quiet community that needed its own course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/31/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: funnystance
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The view on the green at #3 is amazing - you see all over an estuary with large distant sand dunes, and the famous Morro Bay. 4 of the 9 holes have very interesting approaches, with elevation and obstacles well placed. The 2 holes that use water use it well. Because of the high winds, you had to think carefully about your drive, which I liked.
Cons: The guy at the pro shop was very unclear about where the holes and teepads were. The deal is this: all the teepads are same as the golf pads, and all the holes are the same as golf holes 1-9. All baskets very near the greens. Many of the baskets abut right against a fence, which makes it pretty difficult, especially since the wind is ALWAYS raging - I talked to several golfers about it.
Other Thoughts: Tons of wind. If you played this course regularly, you would learn a lot about how to play in 20+mph winds. After hole 6, the most natural place to walk up to is actually hole 9. We couldn't find the basket on 8 (or maybe 6) but the one we played for 6 made sense for 8 also. The scorecard lists distances in yards. A lot of courses are guilty of this, but it seems particularly egregious to me to list three holes at over 200 YARDS, and call them par 3s. I guess it's some sort of machismo front, but seems like nonsense to me. Going off the fairway pays a very steep price - very difficult to recover errant discs. We played on a sunday, and while it wasn't terribly busy, the ball golfers were totally cool, and interested in our sport. They let us play through and asked a lot of questions, and often stopped to just watch. For a nine hole course it's decent. The scenery is above average; the hole design is above average for 4 holes and below average for 5 holes. The below average holes are either simple hyzers, or just straight ahead with no obstacles. The above average holes use elevation and obstacles. Costs $6 to play.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.