Dexter, MI 
Hudson Mills Metropark - Original Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #C
3 / 235ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #C Long Tee

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Certainly worth the $$$

1    9/6/2015   9/6/2015
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 48  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Baskets are older but in great shape.
- Great use of existing terrain and land features.
- Wooded but fairways are not terribly narrow.
- Long and short tee pads.
- Concrete tees. Varying sizes but I couldn't possible care less about that. Just so long as they aren't too small and none of them were.
- More than one course on site so more bang for your buck. Even if this were the only course on site it would still be worth the money.
- Very well marked with nicely painted 4x4's in the ground.
- Nice mix of left to right and so on throughout the course.
- Good flow. No silly 1/4 mile treks from one hole to the next.
- I really like the option midway through the course to either play 24 or 18 holes. This really speaks to the well thought out layout here.
Cons: - As good as this course is I'm surprised that the navigation isn't better marked. A few spots were a little mystifing as to where to go. Getting a scorecard with the map is key on this course. This would be a 4.5 course for me had it not been for that.
- The picnic tables are well spread out through the course but good grief many of them need to be repaired or replaced. The wood is getting rotten and I was reluctant to sit on many of them.
- While this is a collection of above average holes none of them really stuck out to me as great or phenominal. I feel a little weird saying that but it's just the way it is.
- Praire grass off the fairways...Oh lawdy I hate this stuff. Either don't throw into it or play in groups with spotters.
- Water hazards. There were a few but even as a Am3 player like myself I didn't feel particularly challenged by them. I kind of wish they were better put into play.
Other Thoughts: My criticisms are picky to be sure so don't get me wrong. This is a fantastic course and worth going out of your way to play here. The pay to play is a little steep but in my opinion it is well worth it. It sort of reminds me a little of Oshtemo Township park but it certainly isn't nearly as challenging and that is what is really holding me back from rating this as a 4.5 or even 5.0. It's great but not spetacular.

As always there are your typical assortment of bugs, poison ivy, and other irratants that are always present on a Michigan course. Bug spray is an essential. And as a special note to the critters be wary that the Michigan rattler has been spotted in the area. They are native to Michigan and are definitely poisonous so use caution when searching through the underbrush.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Classic, with a case of deep brush.

5+    6/19/2014   7/12/2014
Review By: PuttPuttPutt
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The variety of shots you can take - The A-F holes provide great open practice - The courses are part of a beautiful multi-purpose Metropark - Is a blessing to play during less-populated times.
Cons: The seriously thick brush during peak season can scare off novice players and those fearful of losing discs - A few of the baskets are in need of maintenance - It's buggier than the Monster course - Can become crowded.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 great, but not blown away

1    8/4/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 262  Reviewed: 256  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
aesthetic-- course plays through a portion of a large metro park. shares land with hiking/walking/biking trails.

Teesigns--nice to have teesigns at both teepads with seemingly accurate distances. the "pictures" of the hole are somewhat accurate, they show an approximate configuration of the hole.

teepads--both good and bad here, the teepads are of varying lengths. some are really really long (and a bit off-putting), some are appropriate length, and some are short. not sure why one size wasn't used as the lengths on this course do not vary by much throughout.

Mach III baskets-- in good repair, reflective tape might help to increase visibility. most of the time we were just looking for the number placcard on top.

Flow/navigation--relatively easy, nice worn paths seemed to guide us where we needed to go, in the few spots where confusion may have been an issue, the next tee was visible.

Options-- the option to play 18 v 24 is nice and the signage here is very clear.

risk v reward-- most of the risk v reward here is in the form of the rough, there is a small scummy pond on a couple of the holes but for the most part it's a non-issue. the grass is thick off of the fairways and the scrub trees are pretty thick in some places but it's relatively easy to find your disc.

maintenance/upkeep--the mowers cut an insane amount of grass both on and off the courses here and the grass in the fairways was immaculate throughout. not much trash throughout, benches and garbage cans throughout the course.
length-- I really really though with the ratings this course had that there would be more 400-500ft holes where a fairway driver might have come in handy in the fairway. Rather, we spent most of our round teeing off with either mid-ranges or fairway drivers.

repetition-- it seemed that the field holes were repetitious. it seemed like they were mostly straight out with some light trees strewn about.

Lack of elevation--there is very very little elevation change here, I understand that this isn't always controllable but it seemed like there were places that elevation could have been used better.
Other Thoughts:
Honestly, I was slightly disappointed. I thought with the ratings this course had I would be more impressed, I just wasn't blown away. don't get me wrong, it's a great complex, just not phenomenal or best of the best.
I found myself comparing different parts of the course to different courses that I had played before. the later parts of the course reminded me a lot of Oshtemo in Kalamazoo, the water holes reminded me of Knollwood in Kalamazoo. there were parts that reminded me of Blue Gill and parts that reminded me of other courses that I had played in the past.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 An old-school gem that has stood the test of time

5+    5/6/2013   5/6/2013
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 17.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hudson Mills Metropark is an absolute must-visit disc golf destination park. The Original course is one of two very good courses that are beautifully maintained, have tee sets of cement tee pads, good signage, and fully intuitive navigation.

The Original course provides a fun experience with sufficient challenge to keep all skill levels coming back. There are several very good holes and the stretch from hole 6 to 18 is among the best around.

The total experience is very enjoyable and the wooded holes, in particular, are very scenic.

Some of the stand-out holes are:
1) A great initial hole, which is one of the most challenging. This hole requires an accurate, powerful drive to get within 70 ft. of the basket for a birdie chance. Anything thrown off the fairway from the tee can easily result in a 4 or 5.

3) An uphill to downhill sweeping mid-range turnover shot with a run-away green. This is my favorite hole on the course.

12-13) Back-to-back short, tight holes where taking a 4 or 5 for the pair is expected, but it's possible to 8 or 9.

18) This long par 3, could be considered a par 3.5, but is deuce-able with a well executed cut roller or crushed drive and long putt. It's really a mind test to see if you can get into the house with a 3, but is eerily unsettling, particularly after playing the tough hole 17.
Cons: Few. Normally my maximum score for an "all par 3's" course is a 3.5, but I bumped this one up a .5 owing to homie bias. This wasn't my first disc golf course, but it was the first one I fell in love with.

The stretch from hole 4 through the letter holes and ending on hole 5 is pretty boring. It's pretty close to wide-open and mostly crusher-friendly.

With the space given, an amazing 18 hole par 65 course could be constructed.
Other Thoughts: Be kind: leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    10/30/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: a3wasp
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a well kept course, they just pulled out quite a few olive bushes opening up the fairway further. There is a variety of different types of holes. There are shorter ones, longer ones, hilly ones and flat ones. It is challenging yet fun.
Cons: There isn't really anything bad to say about this course, I guess just that I miss the pond holes because there is really no pond anymore. It is just about dried up.
Other Thoughts: I would say that this course is great for just about anybody, beginner and someone more experience.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Intense, diverse, and radical. But not the best around...

1    9/29/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
This review was updated on 7/8/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Huge, double-coursed metropark with pay to play awesomeness
+ Rental shop, bathrooms, chill facility with some cool nature displays
+ Cardstock map/scorecard
+ Practice hole
+ The rough is played through enough to make it forgiving
+ Tees (Am and Pro), baskets, picnic tables, trash cans are all in good shape
+ Good use of elevation changes with a world-class diverse layout, easy to follow
+ Preserved natural obstacles (trees, stumps, etc.)
Cons: - Lots of bikers and hikers around
- Am tees with awfully inaccurate distances
Other Thoughts: If I were to guess, I would say this course was designed by goblins. They know we're expecting an amazing, fun course and instead they built one with beastly trees standing in the way of birdies. Wetlands, woods, wide open spaces... It has it all. Straight shots, anhyzers, hyzers, big long drives, alleys, a bridge shot, elevation changes that help, hurt, and frustrate. I imagine this is a course you can come back to again and again and learn something new every time.

I want to play the Monster course some day, and maybe play both courses when it's not so dried up and losing its color. I'm not sure exactly why this course didn't preserve its color through September like most other courses around. I think it's because it's played through so much. There are prettier courses around... But that's not why everyone plays dg...

Now, why isn't this the best course in the area? There's another one, more impressive, newer, and taken care of better. You can't just read my review and find out though. Go out and find it for yourself :)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Believe the Hype!

2-4    7/4/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: Ricky_Rick
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well kept course with lots of variety.
Optional Long (Blue) or Short (Red) courses
Cement tee pads & chain baskets every hole
Good signage, picnic tables and trash cans
Wide open holes and narrow holes
24 holes to play, x2 courses (Monster)
Cons: Not much to complain about...
Bugs can be bad, but that is summer in Michigan
$5 for park and $2 per player to golf may deter some
Rough can be thick in some spots
Just wish I lived closer to it. :)
Other Thoughts: An absolute blast to play from the Red tees, and a very challenging course to play from the Blue tees. Well maintained, plenty of benches to rest at and traffic flows nicely thru 24 holes. I am not against paying to play if it keeps yahoos off course. I prefer the Original to the Monster myself, but to each his/her own. Definitely stop by and play this course, well worth the ratings hype!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, Amazing Complex

1    5/30/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 129  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Huge Concrete Tee Pads
Pro & Am Tees at Each Hole
Tee Signs (Posts) at Both Sets of Tee Pads
Another 24-Hole Course On-Site
Great Shot Variety
Distances Vary
Practice Hole With Tee Pad at Start of Course
Ample Parking
Very Clean & Well-Maintained
Benches & Trash Cans Throughout
Very Friendly, Helpful, and Respectful Staff
Very Easy to Navigate
Restrooms On-Site (Indoor and Vault - 3 Total)
Both Wooded and Open Holes
Signs Indicating the Start of the Course
Baskets are in Great Shape
Ball Golf, Picnic Areas, Playgrounds, Etc in Park
All Skills Level Could Play Here (Int-Open Recommended)
Air Conditioned Snack Bar (Hot Food) On-Site
Scorecards and Pencils Available
Little Elevation (Nothing to Really Be Done About This)
Maps On Tee Signs Can Be Vague
Some Hole Seem Monotonous
Can Get Crowded (Especially Weekends)
Easy to Lose Discs (Rough Can Eat Them)
Other Thoughts:
The original course at Hudson Mills Metropark is a very well maintained and easy to navigate 24-hole disc golf course. The park is located just outside of Dexter, Michigan. To reach the course take US-23 to exit 49, North Territorial Road. Head west for 8 miles to the park entrance on the left.

Once you enter the park you will need to pay for both parking ($5.00 per car) and disc golf ($2.00 per person). You will pay for your parking/entrance fee when entering the park, and you can pay for disc golf at both the park entrance and the activity center located near the parking lot, between the two disc golf courses. Scorecards and pencils (with erasers) are available at both locations as well.

After you pay your entrance fee, continue through the intersection at the pay booth and make the next right into the parking lot. From the parking lot you will be able to see the activity center near the back of the lot. The activity center is air conditioned, has very clean restrooms, and a snack bar with hamburgers, fries, chicken strips, etc available for purchase. The activity center is just one of the many things that makes this complex a disc golfer's paradise. The park staff welcomes disc golfers and accommodates them like no other place I have been to.

The first tee for the original course is located to the right/west of the parking lot and activity center. Just from seeing the parking lot, activity center, and first hole you can see that the work put into the park and course is amazing. This is one of the cleanest facilities, course and otherwise, that I have been to in quite some time.

The course is very easy to navigate. The park staff does a wonderful job of mowing and creating walking paths that lead you from the previous basket to the next tee with ease. There was only one spot on the original course where we had any issues at all and that was between holes 13 and 14. There are two paths that lead away from the basket for hole 13, one is the nature trail, one is the path to hole 14. You will want to take the smaller of the two paths.

The paths and navigation are just the beginning of the wonderful amenities the designers and park staff have provided throughout the course. There are two sets of huge concrete tee pads on each hole and tee signs, they are wooden posts, with distance, par, and map on both the long and short tee pad for each hole. I thought this was a great tough since many of the courses only provided detailed information/tee signs at one of the tee pads. Another great addition is the amount of benches and trash cans throughout the course. The course isn't exactly shady, but in most cases where there is shade, there are benches which is great. The plentiful trash cans, and of course park staff, seem to do a great job on this course, as it is one of the cleanest I have seen. I don't' remember seeing any litter on the course and none of the piles of trash laying beside the trash can that you will find at many courses. The last great thing about the original course is the amount of restrooms you'll find during your round. There are restrooms at the start (activity center) and vault toilets near basket 5 and basket 8.

As for the play of the course, it's solid. While, like others ave stated, there isn't a signature hole on the course and some of the holes may seem repetitive, there isn't a shot they left out. Hyzers, Anyhyzers, straight shots, they have them. Wooded and open holes, they have them. The original course, while mostly flat, does make great use out of what little elevation this park has to offer. I think that's a key to whether a course was designed by golfers with golfers in mind, or whether it was thrown in by the parks department for a cheap family activity, and this park and both courses, as with most of the courses in the area, was designed with real disc golfers in mind.

The last thing I will say is that there are some holes one this course, specifically the lettered holes, can seem a little monotonous as I mentioned before. When you read this, and see this on the course, keep in mind that there are 48 holes in this park. I think with that many holes you are bound to have some overlap, especially with the courses being so close to one another, and for being one of the very few cons of the course is nothing to really hold against the course or the complex.

Overall the Hudson Mill complex is easily the most accommodating public park I have ever seen when it comes to disc golf. The courses are both wonderful and the park staff respects the disc golfers and are glad to have them playing their great courses. If you are in the Ann Arbor area this course and the monster course are must plays and with the Red Hawk course at Independence Lake being so close its definitely an area worth going out of your way for.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    6/19/2010   4/14/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 246  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 19.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Complex- Hudson Mills is a large park that is home to two excellent 24-hole courses. The park itself is on a large and gorgeous piece of land. All of the park, including the courses, is very well maintained and has a "country club" feel to it - (no trash, neatly mowed, nice people, etc.) The parking lot is convenient to the start of both courses. And we took advantage of the picnic tables there and had a nice relaxing picnic lunch between rounds.

The Course- 2 sets of concrete tees, informative tee signs, large sign indicates where the course begins, and good baskets as you should expect. Navigation was a breeze with clearly mowed paths, no long walks, good signs, and a course map available. The biggest challenge here is staying on the fairways, the rough is punishing and is the courses main defense. There is a decent variety of more open holes and denser wooded holes. A couple holes do play around a small pond that can come into play, but only if you are way off the fairway. Overall, there are no bad or throwaway holes.

This course is playable by people of all skill levels because it is not insanely difficult or absurdly long, but it will make you work to get a good score on every hole. The Original is one of the nicest, well-maintained courses I have ever seen, and better looking than some cheap ball golf courses I have played!
Cons: The Course- All the holes are good, but it does not have that 1 or 2 awesome signature holes that you find on the top rated courses. The holes are almost all mostly flat and are generally 1 of 2 types: either open with grassy rough or a straight narrow fairway through the woods, and it does not mix it up/alternate, but is more like several of a similar style all in a row and several in a row of the other style.

The Complex- After playing both courses in one day, I was ready to move on to another course. By the last part of the 48 holes, the holes do begin to get repetitive and mundane and run together as the next tee looks like many of the previous ones and, thinking back, it is difficult to differentiate one hole from the others. This is bound to happen with so many holes in the same area, and is primarily due to the land itself not having more diversity or outstanding natural feature.

I would prefer the holes to be renumbered 1-24 instead of A-F thrown in the middle, but this seems to be common for many courses in Michigan.

If you played here regularly it would cost you a bit as you have to pay to enter the park and to play each day. Locals would want to purchase a yearly pass if they were going to play a lot as $7 a day would add up quickly.
Other Thoughts: The Course- I found the Original to be a little easier than the Monster. However, I had the most fun playing the Original course. The Original had a more polished look to it, and, as by the name, probably means it is older and has had more time to mature.

The Complex- Closer to the Original side of the complex was a practice area with basket and tee! (We did not know it was a practice hole until after we played both courses and we then realized we had not yet played it and assumed it was a practice hole.)

This park takes a lot of pride in these courses, and the fee to play here is totally worth, especially if you are coming here from out of town just to play it once or twice. There are park workers that ride around on golf carts (like marshals on a ball golf course!)- they are very friendly and love to talk about their course. However, teeing off without paying is against the law and is strictly enforced, as we witnessed on Monster tee #1 a group of boys waiting to tee off after us get caught by a worker in a golf cart who seemingly came out of nowhere!

I really enjoyed playing both of these fine courses. They offer challenges to most anybody's game, but still provide a good dose of fun. It is easy to see why this is a great place for tournaments.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Complete package

5+    3/18/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: dagwood112
Played: 72  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best attribute of Hudson Mills - Original is the maintenance. The maintenance crew at Hudson Mills is top notch. The course is free of trash, the pads are cleared, woodchips are effectively deployed and the abundant trash cans are emptied regularly. I love this aspect of the course.

Partially as a result of the keen maintenance, Hudson Mills excels in the course peripherals department. The tee signs are adequate in terms of informative value and are aesethitically pleasing and mostly free of grafitti. Each hole has two pads. The tee pads are large and well cared-for. The baskets are in good shape, although, as another reviewer pointed out, some are mounted funny.

Course amenities are very strong. The course starts near the nature center/park office building. This building contains: clean, modern bathrooms; warmth in the winter; cool in the summer; a water fountain; a snack bar(although in all the times I've been to HM, I've seen it open like twice); interpretive nature displays that seem to consist almost exclusively of taxidermy. There are also a couple of bathrooms on the course; a port-a-can near Tee #3/Basket #6(12) and blockhouse-syle bathrooms near C or D of the extras.

Oh yeah, speaking of amenities, there's another 24 killer holes a stone's throw away from the Original.

Course design is an attribute as well. The designers managed to execute a varied and exciting course on a somewhat unremarkable piece of land. Do not read 'unremarkable' as 'lame' or 'ugly'. The flora is strong at Hudson Mills, especially the trees. If you take time to notice you will find that the course design utilizes some beautiful trees. The varied holes provide an opportunity to dig deep into your bag of throws, favoring power and finesse in balanced fashion. The available water hazards are put to good use.

Course clientele is generally pleasant. Between the location, the vehicle fee and the golf fee, there are sufficient safeguards against widespread proliferation of tools. This is a big reason why I drive 45 miles to Hudson Mills instead of 19 miles to Cass Benton.
Cons: There aren't any huge holes in Hudson Mills' game. The gripes are minor ones. The multi-use aspect of the park means disc in solitude is rarely attained and secluded spots are at a premium. Further, an elevated level of enforcement personnel on the course could spell trouble for petty rulebreakers of all stripes. Without the bonus holes, the course might lack distance for some. A handful of the holes are redundant, especially when playing the bonus. Although pretty, the land lacks any strong features. There is very little elevation, and the water hazards are pedestrian. Possibly as a result, I can't really think of a signature hole. It's not free, and it's not cheap by disc standards. Five to get your vehicle in the park and two for the disc pass.
Other Thoughts: Hudson Mills offers a premium disc experience. The high level of maintenance and care for the course make me feel good about forking over the 50 bucks for an annual pass. It's my tithe for a most-worthy cause. Consider; one parking spot = two 24-hole beauties. It freakin' rules. Also, Independence Lake is just a short jaunt east on Territorial Rd. And Hey! What do you know?! On that jaunt to Indy is CJ's, merchant in much plastic and prodigious provisions. Hudson Mills is the spot.
Just wish it had a signature hole.

EDIT: I was at Hudson Mills recently for a round on each of the courses. At some point during those rounds, it struck me just how awesome it is to have two incredibly solid courses on the same property. I was very close to giving a four disc rating in my initial review. This recent epiphany pushed it over the line.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.