Dexter, MI 
Hudson Mills Metropark - Original Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #E
3 / 195ft.   3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #E Short Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Wow! Great experience.

1    10/1/2011   10/1/2011
Review By: elrumpo
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - park caters to disc golfers
- great tee pads
- perfectly maintained course
- well designed holes, clearly not just thrown in randomly
- nice players, nice park workers
- LOTS of holes to play (48 across two courses)
- Great variety in hole types, forcing all kinds of throws
- Good use of elevation where possible
- practice warmup holes before the course
- tons of parking and lots of other park stuff to do
- multiple tee pads per hole, allowing even MORE variety!
Cons: - a few repetitive holes in the A-F holes (you won't miss much if you're short on time and have to skip a few)

- One of the hole transitions confused me, I forget which one. But I found it after backtracking 50 ft and glancing around better
Other Thoughts: This course is amazing! There is an activities building between this and the monster course with nice bathrooms and food. The course is maintained perfectly and I saw less trash here than any other course I have played.

The players here are also amazing...I lost a disc and thanks to "Ben" who called me using my number on the disc, I was able to go get it from him 4 holes later. Thanks, Ben!

This course is worth driving to from anywhere within a few hours. There are two 24 hole courses on site, and both are a lot of fun. They were not busy at all, and with all of the additional park facilities it would be a great place to spend the entire day having a picnic or a party along with a few rounds of disc golf.

Make sure to print a course map before coming...there were none next to the first tee as many stated that there were. Maybe because it is getting late in the season?

**update: there are almost apparently maps/scorecards in the activities center!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, Amazing Complex

1    5/30/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 108  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Huge Concrete Tee Pads
Pro & Am Tees at Each Hole
Tee Signs (Posts) at Both Sets of Tee Pads
24-Holes
Another 24-Hole Course On-Site
Great Shot Variety
Distances Vary
Practice Hole With Tee Pad at Start of Course
Ample Parking
Very Clean & Well-Maintained
Benches & Trash Cans Throughout
Very Friendly, Helpful, and Respectful Staff
Very Easy to Navigate
Restrooms On-Site (Indoor and Vault - 3 Total)
Both Wooded and Open Holes
Signs Indicating the Start of the Course
Baskets are in Great Shape
Ball Golf, Picnic Areas, Playgrounds, Etc in Park
All Skills Level Could Play Here (Int-Open Recommended)
Air Conditioned Snack Bar (Hot Food) On-Site
Scorecards and Pencils Available
Cons:
Little Elevation (Nothing to Really Be Done About This)
Maps On Tee Signs Can Be Vague
Some Hole Seem Monotonous
Can Get Crowded (Especially Weekends)
Easy to Lose Discs (Rough Can Eat Them)
Other Thoughts:
The original course at Hudson Mills Metropark is a very well maintained and easy to navigate 24-hole disc golf course. The park is located just outside of Dexter, Michigan. To reach the course take US-23 to exit 49, North Territorial Road. Head west for 8 miles to the park entrance on the left.

Once you enter the park you will need to pay for both parking ($5.00 per car) and disc golf ($2.00 per person). You will pay for your parking/entrance fee when entering the park, and you can pay for disc golf at both the park entrance and the activity center located near the parking lot, between the two disc golf courses. Scorecards and pencils (with erasers) are available at both locations as well.

After you pay your entrance fee, continue through the intersection at the pay booth and make the next right into the parking lot. From the parking lot you will be able to see the activity center near the back of the lot. The activity center is air conditioned, has very clean restrooms, and a snack bar with hamburgers, fries, chicken strips, etc available for purchase. The activity center is just one of the many things that makes this complex a disc golfer's paradise. The park staff welcomes disc golfers and accommodates them like no other place I have been to.

The first tee for the original course is located to the right/west of the parking lot and activity center. Just from seeing the parking lot, activity center, and first hole you can see that the work put into the park and course is amazing. This is one of the cleanest facilities, course and otherwise, that I have been to in quite some time.

The course is very easy to navigate. The park staff does a wonderful job of mowing and creating walking paths that lead you from the previous basket to the next tee with ease. There was only one spot on the original course where we had any issues at all and that was between holes 13 and 14. There are two paths that lead away from the basket for hole 13, one is the nature trail, one is the path to hole 14. You will want to take the smaller of the two paths.

The paths and navigation are just the beginning of the wonderful amenities the designers and park staff have provided throughout the course. There are two sets of huge concrete tee pads on each hole and tee signs, they are wooden posts, with distance, par, and map on both the long and short tee pad for each hole. I thought this was a great tough since many of the courses only provided detailed information/tee signs at one of the tee pads. Another great addition is the amount of benches and trash cans throughout the course. The course isn't exactly shady, but in most cases where there is shade, there are benches which is great. The plentiful trash cans, and of course park staff, seem to do a great job on this course, as it is one of the cleanest I have seen. I don't' remember seeing any litter on the course and none of the piles of trash laying beside the trash can that you will find at many courses. The last great thing about the original course is the amount of restrooms you'll find during your round. There are restrooms at the start (activity center) and vault toilets near basket 5 and basket 8.

As for the play of the course, it's solid. While, like others ave stated, there isn't a signature hole on the course and some of the holes may seem repetitive, there isn't a shot they left out. Hyzers, Anyhyzers, straight shots, they have them. Wooded and open holes, they have them. The original course, while mostly flat, does make great use out of what little elevation this park has to offer. I think that's a key to whether a course was designed by golfers with golfers in mind, or whether it was thrown in by the parks department for a cheap family activity, and this park and both courses, as with most of the courses in the area, was designed with real disc golfers in mind.

The last thing I will say is that there are some holes one this course, specifically the lettered holes, can seem a little monotonous as I mentioned before. When you read this, and see this on the course, keep in mind that there are 48 holes in this park. I think with that many holes you are bound to have some overlap, especially with the courses being so close to one another, and for being one of the very few cons of the course is nothing to really hold against the course or the complex.

Overall the Hudson Mill complex is easily the most accommodating public park I have ever seen when it comes to disc golf. The courses are both wonderful and the park staff respects the disc golfers and are glad to have them playing their great courses. If you are in the Ann Arbor area this course and the monster course are must plays and with the Red Hawk course at Independence Lake being so close its definitely an area worth going out of your way for.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/19/2010   4/14/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Complex- Hudson Mills is a large park that is home to two excellent 24-hole courses. The park itself is on a large and gorgeous piece of land. All of the park, including the courses, is very well maintained and has a "country club" feel to it - (no trash, neatly mowed, nice people, etc.) The parking lot is convenient to the start of both courses. And we took advantage of the picnic tables there and had a nice relaxing picnic lunch between rounds.

The Course- 2 sets of concrete tees, informative tee signs, large sign indicates where the course begins, and good baskets as you should expect. Navigation was a breeze with clearly mowed paths, no long walks, good signs, and a course map available. The biggest challenge here is staying on the fairways, the rough is punishing and is the courses main defense. There is a decent variety of more open holes and denser wooded holes. A couple holes do play around a small pond that can come into play, but only if you are way off the fairway. Overall, there are no bad or throwaway holes.

This course is playable by people of all skill levels because it is not insanely difficult or absurdly long, but it will make you work to get a good score on every hole. The Original is one of the nicest, well-maintained courses I have ever seen, and better looking than some cheap ball golf courses I have played!
Cons: The Course- All the holes are good, but it does not have that 1 or 2 awesome signature holes that you find on the top rated courses. The holes are almost all mostly flat and are generally 1 of 2 types: either open with grassy rough or a straight narrow fairway through the woods, and it does not mix it up/alternate, but is more like several of a similar style all in a row and several in a row of the other style.

The Complex- After playing both courses in one day, I was ready to move on to another course. By the last part of the 48 holes, the holes do begin to get repetitive and mundane and run together as the next tee looks like many of the previous ones and, thinking back, it is difficult to differentiate one hole from the others. This is bound to happen with so many holes in the same area, and is primarily due to the land itself not having more diversity or outstanding natural feature.

I would prefer the holes to be renumbered 1-24 instead of A-F thrown in the middle, but this seems to be common for many courses in Michigan.

If you played here regularly it would cost you a bit as you have to pay to enter the park and to play each day. Locals would want to purchase a yearly pass if they were going to play a lot as $7 a day would add up quickly.
Other Thoughts: The Course- I found the Original to be a little easier than the Monster. However, I had the most fun playing the Original course. The Original had a more polished look to it, and, as by the name, probably means it is older and has had more time to mature.

The Complex- Closer to the Original side of the complex was a practice area with basket and tee! (We did not know it was a practice hole until after we played both courses and we then realized we had not yet played it and assumed it was a practice hole.)

This park takes a lot of pride in these courses, and the fee to play here is totally worth, especially if you are coming here from out of town just to play it once or twice. There are park workers that ride around on golf carts (like marshals on a ball golf course!)- they are very friendly and love to talk about their course. However, teeing off without paying is against the law and is strictly enforced, as we witnessed on Monster tee #1 a group of boys waiting to tee off after us get caught by a worker in a golf cart who seemingly came out of nowhere!

I really enjoyed playing both of these fine courses. They offer challenges to most anybody's game, but still provide a good dose of fun. It is easy to see why this is a great place for tournaments.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Complete package

5+    3/18/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: dagwood112
Played: 72  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best attribute of Hudson Mills - Original is the maintenance. The maintenance crew at Hudson Mills is top notch. The course is free of trash, the pads are cleared, woodchips are effectively deployed and the abundant trash cans are emptied regularly. I love this aspect of the course.

Partially as a result of the keen maintenance, Hudson Mills excels in the course peripherals department. The tee signs are adequate in terms of informative value and are aesethitically pleasing and mostly free of grafitti. Each hole has two pads. The tee pads are large and well cared-for. The baskets are in good shape, although, as another reviewer pointed out, some are mounted funny.

Course amenities are very strong. The course starts near the nature center/park office building. This building contains: clean, modern bathrooms; warmth in the winter; cool in the summer; a water fountain; a snack bar(although in all the times I've been to HM, I've seen it open like twice); interpretive nature displays that seem to consist almost exclusively of taxidermy. There are also a couple of bathrooms on the course; a port-a-can near Tee #3/Basket #6(12) and blockhouse-syle bathrooms near C or D of the extras.

Oh yeah, speaking of amenities, there's another 24 killer holes a stone's throw away from the Original.

Course design is an attribute as well. The designers managed to execute a varied and exciting course on a somewhat unremarkable piece of land. Do not read 'unremarkable' as 'lame' or 'ugly'. The flora is strong at Hudson Mills, especially the trees. If you take time to notice you will find that the course design utilizes some beautiful trees. The varied holes provide an opportunity to dig deep into your bag of throws, favoring power and finesse in balanced fashion. The available water hazards are put to good use.

Course clientele is generally pleasant. Between the location, the vehicle fee and the golf fee, there are sufficient safeguards against widespread proliferation of tools. This is a big reason why I drive 45 miles to Hudson Mills instead of 19 miles to Cass Benton.
Cons: There aren't any huge holes in Hudson Mills' game. The gripes are minor ones. The multi-use aspect of the park means disc in solitude is rarely attained and secluded spots are at a premium. Further, an elevated level of enforcement personnel on the course could spell trouble for petty rulebreakers of all stripes. Without the bonus holes, the course might lack distance for some. A handful of the holes are redundant, especially when playing the bonus. Although pretty, the land lacks any strong features. There is very little elevation, and the water hazards are pedestrian. Possibly as a result, I can't really think of a signature hole. It's not free, and it's not cheap by disc standards. Five to get your vehicle in the park and two for the disc pass.
Other Thoughts: Hudson Mills offers a premium disc experience. The high level of maintenance and care for the course make me feel good about forking over the 50 bucks for an annual pass. It's my tithe for a most-worthy cause. Consider; one parking spot = two 24-hole beauties. It freakin' rules. Also, Independence Lake is just a short jaunt east on Territorial Rd. And Hey! What do you know?! On that jaunt to Indy is CJ's, merchant in much plastic and prodigious provisions. Hudson Mills is the spot.
Just wish it had a signature hole.

EDIT: I was at Hudson Mills recently for a round on each of the courses. At some point during those rounds, it struck me just how awesome it is to have two incredibly solid courses on the same property. I was very close to giving a four disc rating in my initial review. This recent epiphany pushed it over the line.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent disc golf, beautiful upkeep.

1    11/13/2010   11/13/2010
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 14.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -
-Outstanding maintained course, even better the Idelwilds upkeep.
-Probably the best tee pads for a disc golf course.
-Sufficent quality of baskets.
-Great variety, lots of open field shots, distance shots, touch shots, wooded holes, and elevated shots.
-A few signature holes
-High fun factor, challenge is suitable for many levels of skill
-24 holes!
-Lots of different activities for families. Cool nature displays, walking trails, and soccer fields.
-Some benches, sufficent trash cans
-Good signage
-Dogs allowed and doggy bag cannister on hole 1
Cons: -
-Busy metropark with walkers, bikers, and soccer fields next to course.
-No seclusion
-Small fee, well worth it
Other Thoughts: .-
This course was not the most challenging, but I found each hole unique and different. Each hole posed a different challenge and I found myself playing with my entire bag and skill set.
A few holes really stood out in challenge and natural beauty, but I was not blown away by a single hole in a spectacular way, however I really felt that there was not a bad hole on the course.
This is course is a perfect example of what a maintained golf course should look like.
I admired this course for the upkeep and fun challenge it offered.
I think the Monster park is a tab above this course but I recommend this course for any level golfer looking for a good time and a very enjoyable and beautiful park to play!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/10/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/13/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Terrific signs, maintenance and navigation. The signs are simple but are well-designed and have accurate distances. Also there are many signs along the way, including signs at both teepads and others indicating where the alternate holes are.

Many holes are in meadows with low tree-density (1-5, alternate holes A-F), but nearly all drives have narrow paths to drive through. Few are truly wide-open. Hole 2 is one of the best, a long fairway with a medium sized tree in just the right (or wrong) location. Some unusual, sawed-off large tree trunks placed in strategic locations add to the fun (or frustration) and are a unique contribution.

Also has some great wooded holes, especially Holes 7 and 8 which show an Idlewild influence (Hole 8 is a bit like Hole 11).

Class-leading cement tee pads are the best I've seen in Michigan, and are as big as the ones at Lincoln Ridge and Idlewild. Also, there are two for each hole (at well-labelled blue and red tees), a feature found at very few courses (Silver Creek, Oshtemo). There are also quite a few benches on this course.

Easy for players new to the course to play without having to look around for the next hole.

Fairly long and adequately challenging. My rating is slightly conservative, a shade better than other 4.0 courses, but lacking some of the epic quality found at some holes at other courses. 24 holes means two hours of golf.
Cons: A nice but fairly unremarkable piece of land compared with, for example, Beast or Leviathan.

A heavily used park with nearby walking trails, so seclusion isn't a strong point. However, we did see a couple of deer on the back nine.
Other Thoughts: So many details are done right here that there is little room for improvement. However, that still makes it one the best courses around.

Pay-to-play ($5 to get in, $2 disc golf fee). Annual fee $50.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Course

1    9/19/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: sbrody44
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Upkeep. Very well groomed.
-Challenge. Extremely challenging holes out here.
-Tee Pads. Nice, huge cement tee pads.
-Signs. Nice signs with layout and distance on both tee pads.
Cons: Baskets. Mach 3's aren't my favorite.
Other Thoughts: A very good course for everyone. Highly recommended.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Day Of Discing

1    8/27/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: Epiphil
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lovely fairways and beautiful scenery! Challenging holes from dog legs left and right, up and down hills, and tight precise shots with fantastic basket placement. Most of the rough is matted down enough to be able to find a disc that didnt fade to far which is always nice.You can really spend the entire day at the place. After 6 hours of discing I still wanted more...

When you start getting deeper into the holes you feel almost lost in nature, theres so much space its hard to catch up to other players. If you want a challenge this is a great course
Cons: I feel that my first time there it can be difficult to judge where some of the baskets can be, so running up a few hundred feet to see the basket then back to the tee pad can get tiring... The map is somewhat vague and hard to tell if there are two baskets.... this i beleive is on the monster course but when you take a drive and see the basket sometimes you dont see the pro basket... can be a bit of a pain
If you do go deeper into the rough theres so many thorn bushes and vines, poison ivy and prickly trees... discs can be tough to get to or find in the deeper stuff...
If you like long walks and hills....you probably wont want to play here
Other Thoughts: What a great course! had a great time that day playing the moster and original

Recommend this course for sure

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lincoln Ridge North

1    6/19/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Original course at Hudson Mills Metropark is a a challenging and diverse layout. There were open holes and wooded holes. There were holes with options off the tee, and there were holes forcing a certain throw by design. The baskets and tees were in average condition. Signs were informative and in good condition. They kind of reminded me of the signs at Baker Farm near Rochester, NY: a carved wooden sign. Elevation was used as often as it could be. The best thing about the Original course was that it never got boring. When you have 24 holes, redundancy could pose a problem, but for this course, it really does not come into effect. A big plus was a warm-up hole! A warm-up basket is important in my book, but I had never seen a warm-up hole before.

Cons: I really can't think of any major cons. I would have liked to see a few more benches, but that is just being picky.
Other Thoughts: My friends and I played this course as we toured through Michigan in late June. I would rank this course as the second-best course we played on the trip. I had a difficult time reviewing this course because I really didn't have any cons. This really bothered me. It is an excellent course and is just on the cusp of being 5 in my opinion.

My feelings of this course are probably heavily influenced by my level of skill. I don't play tourneys, but I usually play weekly. I usually shoot between 2 and 6 over par at my local course which is a fairly challenging course. This course allowed a player of my caliber a lot of risk/reward opportunities. There were definitely birdies to be had, but an errant toss was punished. I enjoyed this course more than the Monster, but that is also probably based on my skill level. If you're going to pay the entry fee, you might as well play both courses...you won't be disappointed. I don't mind paying as long as I can see the benefits in the course. This is evident at Hudson Mills. I also liked that the staff actually patrolled the courses in golf carts to ensure players had bracelets. There is nothing more frustrating than paying a fee to play and watching free-loaders sneak around.

Hudson Mills Metropark is an excellent stop for any disc golfer. As I previously mentioned, if you are paying the fees, go ahead and play both courses. It makes for a long day, but it is worth every minute of it. There was a very friendly caretaker who stopped and talked to us for a while about the course. You could tell he was very proud of it. As my title alludes to, I think the Original course is very similar to Lincoln Ridge Park in Florence Kentucky. They are both well-designed, par-3 dominated courses located in well-maintained parks.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Oh This Is A Sweet Park!

1    7/25/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hudson Mills is a place with the ability to make you feel proud to call yourself a disc golfer. I paid my money, slapped on my wrist band, and stepped out into an immaculately kept disc golf paradise. It felt very classy, and classy is not a word that is commonly used in the same sentence with disc golf. Unfortunate, but true. I felt like I was a welcome and deserving guest. This place gives the dg'er respect and from the looks of the grounds the players give it back in return. I have never had a guy in a golf cart offer me a cold bevie or a shot of bug spray whilst discing prior to this experience. It felt like I was at a disc golf country club.

The holes were laid out nicely and there seemed to be little if any opportunity for navigational errors. This was one of the smoothest and most intuitive plays I had ever partaken in. The course boasts perfectly sized concrete tee pads offering one pad for long and one pad for short on every hole. There is a fairly decent mixture of open holes and little dips through the woods that make this course a good walk and a good play. Bushes were the dominant form of obstacle apart from the tall grass lining the fairways. There is most definitely possibility for treachery to abound if one is prone to spraying discs hither and yon whilst avoiding fairways! The rough is fairly benign in that there didn't seem to be any plant life that was overtly detrimental to human skin residing within, but it is more than capable of hiding your beloved plastic to be sure. There are ponds at 7 and 12 and 13 that are not at all menacing but more like pieces of disc golf course whimsy. A bridge to throw across at hole 8 is a very nice touch as well. The interchange where a player is given, by way of signage, the option of playing 18 or playing 24 is a nice feature for those wishing to play an abbreviated round. The difficulty level is within reason from the long tees which keeps play lighthearted and enjoyable. The short tees likely allow unbridled fun to occur at every turn. This course is just a great play.
Cons: There are few cons to report at Hudson Mills. However, in all honesty, at times this course seemed like variety was lacking a bit and it was a touch repetitive in spots. It may be a product of the mostly flat terrain. The holes that do offer a different look from the more ordinary holes ultimately make up for this facet. Holing out at 18 will leave you with fond feeling towards Hudson Mills Original. Overall this course is simply rock solid.
Other Thoughts: The feel of this course is just fantastic. A great park with two great courses for 48 holes of disc delight. This is one of the most fun courses I have played in my time here on Earth. The frustration factor is virtually nonexistent. Reasonably clean lines and definite methods of attack are present on each hole and none require the luck factor over skill. This park is a destination for sure. I am excited to return and take my time getting to know it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.