Dexter, MI
Hudson Mills Metropark - Original Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #F
3 / 230ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #F Short Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Hudson Mills

1    8/13/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: mcnal1sp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I loved the challenging, wooded holes and absolutely fell in love with the open holes! This course is so well-maintained and scenic that I'd even go back just to jog it and enjoy myself. Also, the employees are nice and even stopped to help my buddy find his disc.
Cons: I can see paying either $5 to get into the park or $2 to play, but both? Really?
Other Thoughts: The fairways can make for some pretty interesting lies off the tee. You think your disc is in the woods, but find it lying in the fairway.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Top ten course

5+    3/4/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: Journeyman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 17.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: HM Regular has just about everything a course needs. 24 holes, with two tee pads/hole makes for a wide variety of shots. Concrete, even tee pads, excellent signs and directions. Clean rest rooms and vending machines.

#1 is pretty tough from the back tee. I find getting a good score on the Reg requires a 3 to start, not always easy on the first, a dogleg left with a long straight finish. #2 is straight with some "bunker" trees around the basket. #3 (from the back) is an evil downhill to the right, with the basket on a sharply angled hill.

Then the course get's out into some open throws, including A-F holes. These can get a little boring, but it is also nice to be out of the woods for a while, as you will get your fill of that soon.

6-8 are tight, with mild elevation, 9 is an overgown sharp right turn. 10 is long and tight through brush and some cedars. 11 is a great right leaner, with a small hill , perfect for a roller. Careful, though, it is a blind hole. 12 and 13 are short, dangerous holes due to the swamp. Both are rare ace opportunities on this course, so go for it, with an expendable disc. 14-16 are long, tight holes through brush and small trees. 17 is insidious, who the heck puts a "tree" (post) right in front of the tee pad (other than at Idlewild?). 18 is a beautiful finish to a long walk, 400+ gentle left, keep to the right if you go off the fairway or you will have a trouble shot. Be careful of folks coming up #1.
Cons: Very few.
Other Thoughts: $2 is not too much to pay for this course. The staff keeps it in good condition.

The courses in this area make it a disc golf destination, IMHO. 48 holes with multiple te pads/baskets at Hudson Mills, Black Locust at Kensington, Rolling Hills and now Independence Lake ($9/day for non-residents is SHAMEFUL!), Hines Park, Jackson Comm College, DNR course in Grass Lake and many other small courses make this a wonderful place to come throw plastic. There are 200+ holes to be played within 45 minutes of Ann Arbor. Hudson Mills is right at the top.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/14/2009   5/14/2010
Review By: jayseiler
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained, offers a varity of challenges, The extra holes offer yet more varity. the holes are well marked and there are pleanty of woodchips under the pins.
Cons: Can be very crowded on weekends. The 2 dollars the play is a little bit of a bummer since you have to pay to get into the park. Can be very buggy
Other Thoughts: Truly one of my favorite courses.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/10/2009   2/28/2010
Review By: milesdavis
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fantastic course. First off there is a practice hole/basket and a big wide open field to get warmed up at. The first half of the course is pretty straight, long and open. It gives you a chance to get warmed up/tuned in for the back half which is tighter, still long though. Wind can be a factor on many holes. Dual tee pads.

Pay to play is in effect here. $2 definetely worth it. I roll with the $50 seasonal pass.

There are rarely crowds of people here. I guess it's because it's away from the city?

Very clean atmosphere, well landscaped. benches and garbage cans galore. Pretty good chance of seeing some wildlife too.
Cons: Maybe the snakes. That's just being picky though. You rarely see them. I wish the DGLO would be a more popular tourney for the pros to come and play again.
Other Thoughts: Probably the most professional, best maintained course I've ever seen/played. Great people all around.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Excellent course

5+    11/1/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: narulz10182002
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/3/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is an excellent course!! there is really nothing wrong with it!!! the course employs numerous types of shots and incorporates both a level of skill and fun. The course is well maintained with clear fairways and minimal though present rough and a mixture and wooded holes! ALL holes are clearly marked with nice concrete tee pads and signs laying out the course for both the long and short tee locations. all and all one of the best courses i have played. my buddy and i drove 217 miles to play the course and were definitely not disappointed.
Cons: some would say you have to pay to play but it is really not to bad!!! $2 gets you all day play on both this course and the monster course that is located at the same location as well as all day play at kinsington. all 3 courses are if i am not mistaken 24 hole courses.

some more elevation changes would be nice but the area is not really suited for it so you cant really blame the course!!!
Other Thoughts: There is an excellent disc golf shop located just down the road from the course called CJ's that has all the equipment you could ever need really!!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best Frolf in the area

1    10/30/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: bpatton
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This park has a pay to play requirement. This may not seem a pro to some, but it has its benefits. For only two dollars the park allows all day frolf on two twenty four hole courses. Also, the course is very clean, and I have found the staff to be very friendly. One gentleman there has, on several occasions, pitched in to help my group search for a disc. The sheer number of holes, combined with the fact that you must pay keeps the course free of too many people, allowing one to play at whatever pace suits your mood.

This frolf complex has the closest feeling to a private ball golf course that I have yet to experience, and the only one in Michigan that I am aware of. By that I mean the other golfers almost always understand the unspoken rules of etiquette that seem to be hit or miss at other courses.

Now for the actual course....

The original course has two sets of tees allowing for a mix of challenges, shoot for par or run deuce on most of the holes for the experienced frolfer. Most of the holes allow for a variety of lines to be played. Both righties and lefties, or forehand shooters, will find the course not too bias.

This course feels like it is in the woods, one of my favorite aspects of frolf.

The fairways are defined, and mowed when called for. The rough is not ridiculous. You will not look for twenty minutes only to discover your shot right in front of you face.

There are a great mix of shots required. Some interesting pin placements on the open holes, some technical play on the woods holes. The excellent layout makes great use of the land.
Cons: Honestly, the only negative thing I have to say about this course is the lack of dramatic elevation change. However, southeastern Michigan is not exactly known for its mountains, so I can hardly blame the course designers.
Other Thoughts: Taken with the "Monster" course this park has the best frolf experience in the Metro Detroit area bar none.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/15/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: GB Phil G
Played: 97  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 13.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pay to play brings all the things you want at a disc course. Maintained fairways, benches, trash cans, signage, great variety of shot, and the $2 fee keeps the yahoos off the course.
Cons: No elevation. Which isn't even a con. But Im in wisconsin where elevation is unavoidable. Desired to me. Whats with the overpriced snacks? I bet locals don't even consider buying from the store inside.
Other Thoughts: Why wasn't I warned theres two fantastic 24 hole courses here? I was in the metropark three hours longer than planned. Well worth it!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pay to Play is NOT a bad thing!

1    7/25/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was absolutely spotless with perfectly maintained fairways, obstacles, and equipment, benches at regular intervals, and access to restrooms at several spots. Both red and blue tee pads on all holes were flat, level, and HUGE! Having dual tee pads really helped to make this a family friendly course (I even beat hubby, although he played from the blue tees).

Scorecards are available at the Activity Center, where you have to go to get your wrist band, as are both rental and for-sale discs. They also have clean restrooms and food concessions in the Center, and a huge lost-n-found box.

Signage was colorful and adequate and the laminated "Surrounded by Water" additions on the posts were a nice touch.

The front 9 and much of the alternate 6 are open or very lightly wooded with plenty of room to let discs fly while warming up the accuracy throws for the more heavily wooded back 9. Creative lines and tee/basket placement shows itself as early as hole #1 with its elevated tee pad followed by a very tight hyzer through a fairly narrow fairway. Hole #C is a long open straight away with the basket placed directly behind a large evergreen tree. A hole has been opened at the base of the tree allowing a view of the basket and possible "under and up" putts should you get stuck on the wrong side of the tree. Hole #8 with its long, tight hyzer line over a creek was quite a challenge, and spotters are a very good idea on this one. Watch for the slimy pond on the right side of the heavily wooded #12 - a tree bounce here could have you wading (yuck!).

The roving park staff members were helpful, talkative, and funny.
Cons: The grass off the fairway was up to knee deep in places making disc searching a regular and time consuming affair, and you really want to stay out of the brushy bramble rough as the stuff is THICK and even going out over the top may not be an option here.

Par notation and basket location on the tee signs would be nice.

There were 2 places on the course where "Next Tee" locations were neither obvious nor marked. In fact, the trail you expect to bring you back to the Activity Center from 18 actually brings you out right in the middle of the fairway on hole 1....that could be a huge "Ouch!".

A couple of the holes on the front half of the course got a bit monotonous.
Other Thoughts: The daily or yearly parking pass will grant you access to ALL of the Detroit area Metroparks, and the $50 seasonal bag tag also allows access to the courses at the Kensington and Stony Creek Metroparks. That would almost make it worth the $50, although that seems a bit high to me.

The park had lots of other family friendly activities on site, with equipment for each available at the Activity Center.

Definitely stop by CJ's on your way in or out! Even if you need nothing, it's a jaw-dropping experience to stare at that many discs all in one place! The carry Phenix Quads and accessories of all types as well as (I'd guess) EVERY disc available from Innova, Discraft, Lightning, Latitude 64 and Gateway, and even selections from Ching and Aerobie. I just stood there slack-jawed trying to take it all in! Their buy 6 discs, get 1 free deal is the sh*t!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/15/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: rcd1649
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I have played courses all over the nation and this one is still my favorite. The pay to play has been a godsend. For $2 additional dollars (on top of the park fee) you can come here and play two amazing courses that are each twenty four holes long.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: These courses really feel like you're in the woods. The monster is tougher but both are challenging, especially from the pro tees. CJ's party store on North Territorial Road has a bazilliion disc and great beer selection.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Which is better- they're both great

2-4    8/10/2007   7/10/2009
Review By: AusTexDoc
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 36.7 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A tamer and even more beautifully maintained course than the monster. Better for beginners. This course has it all! Great variety.
Cons: Hard to think of any. A couple of repetitious holes. Got caught behind slow playing beginner groups, but eventually played through.
Other Thoughts: I'd pay the $2 anytime for this course. Its a beautiful course to bring a non-golfer along for a walk.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.