Dexter, MI 
Hudson Mills Metropark - Original Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
5 / 310ft.   5 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #21 (or #15) - A long tight hyzer with dense trees and rough on both side. There is little room for error on this hole.



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Worth the price

7/12/2008   7/15/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained and designed disc golf course with a good mixture of challenges to satisfy both the novice and advanced players, whether they prefer wide open fairways, or tight technical layouts. Rough is there in abundance, but isn't totally unforgiving, you can usually get yourself back out of trouble easily enough. Elevation changes, trees, water on a few holes, and the fairways are nicely groomed, grafitti is at a minimum, signs are well placed and informative, and the tee pads are comfortable and of a good size. 24 holes total on this course, so you can extend your round if you wish (or build your own 18 with a mix'n'match of holes to keep the course from becoming stale)
Cons: I guess the fact that you not only have to pay a park entrance fee, but also a daily disc golf fee is a bit of a pain, but if you play it often, it would probably be a good idea to buy a yearly pass. We also discovered that the entrance fee is also good for other 'metroparks' in the area (nearby Kensington in our case) We also noticed signs warning of rattlesnakes in the area, but didn't see any.
Other Thoughts: On the day we played this, we played in a thunderstorm from about the 6th hole on, and even soaking wet, enjoyed this course thoroughly. Wish we'd had the time and inclination to try the 'Monster' as well. Next time for sure.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

7/5/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: caiman
Played: 56  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: An excellent, well-maintained course. Good variety, too: the front half of the course is fairly open, and the back half of the course is in the woods. The front half holes have mowed fairways and unmowed "rough". It's almost like playing ball golf. Fortunately, the rough isn't tall enough to encourage lost discs. The woods holes are well-designed, challenging and fair. Every hole has its own character, making the course very fun to play. Everything is well signed and very easy to navigate. Every hole has two concrete tee pads, and most (if not all) holes have a bench at the tee.
Cons: The only thing really "wrong" with this course is the fee: $4/car to enter the park, plus $2/person on top of that for disc golf. But it's worth it, especially when you compare it to how much you'll spend on gasoline to get there. If I lived in the area, I would get an annual pass ($20/car, plus $50/person). The fees cover both this course and the "Monster" course.
Other Thoughts: Among the best courses you'll find, whether you're a beginner or a seasoned veteran.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2/10/2008   5/31/2008
Review By: GFDGA
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent course design, two top-notch 24 hole courses in the same park. Nice cement teepads and solid cages. Variety of shots, many birdie and ace chances, some good distance holes too. Alcohol permitted on course.
Cons: Pigs on patrol. Watch out for the cops who love to haggle citizens and go through bags without warrant. $2 a player fee.
Other Thoughts: This is the one of best places to play in Michigan. The Original is a pro-caliber course that rivals it's counterpart the Monster. I love the selection of shots. Water hazards come into play on two bonus holes. I only play this course in the off-season as I find the metropark cops here are really distracting and get in the way. Makes for a tense round having to deal with them riding through on their motorcarts. I disc golf to get away from the city and enjoy being in nature and they ruin this mentality. But they seem to stay in their pigpen during the colder months. Don't let this stop you from coming out. This course is one of the best I've ever played.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in Michigan

5/8/2008   5/13/2008
Review By: Caribbeing
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.2 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 holes plus 6 bonus holes. Great variety. Long straight open holes that just beg for a monster drive, and shorter sharply curved holes that require a lot of precision. There are many tunnels of trees, and a large swamp that forces you to be conservative (or you lose your disc).

The warm-up hole is great for practice before a round - it's full-sized, so you can start your official round off totally ready. Nearby clubhouse has nice bathroom and snack bar.

The part itself is beautiful, filled with typical Michigan forest broken up by rolling grassy fields. Swamps (sorry, wetlands) and creeks are prevalent.

Well-marked trails, very little litter or vandalism.
Cons: Cost. Maybe I'm spoiled, but I played for years here, only paying $20/year for my entrance fee to the park. Now it's that plus $2/round (or $50 for a season bag tag). The explanation is that it will cut down on vandalism (although I've never seen much here), and allow them to maintain it better. No big deal - it's totally worth it.

Can be crowded. Tournaments are often run here, and the park attracts visitors from all over.
Other Thoughts: There are rattlesnakes in the park, but I've never heard of anyone getting bitten. Party store east on N. Territorial has a great selection of disc golf gear.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best

7/16/2007   12/20/2007
Review By: riecker2
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Both the Original and the Monster course are amazing. The fairways are mowed and the holes are surrounded by wood chips. The hole placement is perfect; each hole challenges you to make a different throw. The monster, especially, is a blast to play. There are elevation changes and hazards--such as a creek bed--that make each hole unique. More experienced players will be challenged by either the original or the Monster. On both courses, the ability to throw rollers, grenades, or anything that will get you out of the woods will make things more enjoyable. It sets up for big arms just as well as it sets up for people who can play the shorter game better. Each hole is well marked and there is a well worn path. The locals treat the course extremely well and there is a lot of parking.
Cons: There is very little wrong with these courses. On each, there is a section that you can play that adds nine more (I think it's nine) and on the monster course, the challenge holes are pretty ridiculous. It's best to play with a group and someone who can spot drives. It's a very busy park and you have to pay to get in but it's for both courses, all day, and very worth it.
Other Thoughts: Play this course. If you're in the area, play this course.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center