Glen Ellyn, IL 
Maryknoll Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #3 (Taken 5/2011)
-- / --   4 / 300ft.   3 / 284ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Easy but enjoyable

2-4    6/19/2014   6/20/2014
Review By: nivek1385
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautifully maintained course that is part of a larger park complex with minigolf, ziplines, multiple playgrounds, etc. Teepads are well marked and defined and taper toward the front in an elongated, trapezoidal shape. Course is almost completely wide open, with less than 10 trees that come into play. On hole 4, if you hit the woods to the right of the fairway, there is a path on the other side to easily find your disc. I liked the setup for hole 9 with a hill bisecting most of the fairway with the upper side down the right half of the fairway and the entire fairway rising up shortly before the basket.
Cons: The par ratings and distances seem off, sometimes laughably so. I'm wondering if that is just a Chicagoland issue, as I've run into that at multiple area courses.

From tee 6, you can see the basket for hole 8, but not for 6 and it could be a little confusing, though I thought the distance looked wrong and jogged ahead to double check. Hole 7's teepad is cracked around the midpoint. Holes 7 & 8 run a little too close together and it is quite easy to cross fairways (in three rounds, I crossed to the opposite side of 8's fairway twice and was on the border between fairways the other round).
Other Thoughts: I've read that you can rent discs from the store building by the minigolf course, but haven't tried to rent them myself. The staff inside were quite friendly and helped direct me to the first tee. They also offer a number of food and beverage items in the shop. There are trash cans available by several tees, but they seem to be clustered near the end rather than evenly spaced throughout. This is a good starter course and a good ego course for experienced players.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Amenities, poor design

5+    5/17/2013   5/17/2014
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 114  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice concrete tees.
-Nice baskets.
-Well maintained.
-Some small ridges and depressions to add some difficulty.
-Nice playground for the kids.
Cons: -Danger! This course offers you the opportunity to hit both unsuspecting people in their backyards, other disc golfers, and townhouses on a few different holes.
-Most shots seem similar with little distance variety.
-Hole 2 which was the best hole on the course has had it's basket moved short of the trees to make the hole a simple wide open shot. Previously there was a protected green.
-There is one instance where it is not clear which basket is which.
-Very blah course. There is nothing to make it stand out.
Other Thoughts: Another average to poor chicago suburban 9 hole course. This one stands out due to the proximity of fairways to the surrounding homes. I'm surprised this course is still in the ground.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 Hole Course!

5+    6/9/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: Backart
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well Kept Grounds, Concrete platforms, Open holes and slightly wooded holes offer a good variety. The course is never super crowded which makes playing the course through a couple of times a breeze.
Cons: 9 holes, some of the holes could be a little longer. Last two holes are kind of boring.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quick, fun, nine holer

1    2/9/2013   2/11/2013
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 95  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 10.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As a whole, this park is a wonderful accomplishment of the Glen Ellyn Parks Department. It offers a bunch of different activities (such as disc golf, platform tennis, playgrounds and mini-golf, and maybe others!), yet seems to avoid the congestion issue of these activities getting in the way of one another. As far as the course goes...

*Seems to have solid maintenance.

*Good baskets and tee pads.

*Uses trees to shape some lines

*Has some distance variety
Cons: Don't plan on making this course a destination stop on your dg roadtrip. It is far from a world class course.

*Overall pretty short distances

*Not much difficulty on holes, even where lines are shaped.

*The signs here seemed inaccurate... I dont know this for sure, but they just didn't seem consistent
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little course. If I lived in Glen Ellyn I would probably come here all the time.

Also, it's a nice park with a lot of activities. Maybe the large demographic of park users will attract new people to the sport of disc golf (I know I am now interested in learning what platform tennis is).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Mehknoll Park

1    11/24/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 137  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 19.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Everything about this course was meh. It was pretty open, all the shots sort of seemed the same, nothing really stood out about it. Meh.

The park was very pretty and well cared for. The tees were concrete (although it seems that #7 was moved and badly cracked) and the baskets were in good shape. There were nice tee signs with comical distances and hilarious pars. There were 9 holes of disc golf, all about 300' long, with a handful of easily-avoided trees scattered around. There was some gently rolling hills that could have added some elevation changes but mostly were ignored. As a recreational course it was probably long enough to present some challenge to new players.
Cons: The course was too wide open and repetitive to really be anything more than a beginners course. There just wasn't any challenge to it, and it didn't have any fun or unique holes. It was just point and shoot golf. Given that it is a beginners design, there should have been at least one short Ace Run shot and some variety to the distances of the holes to mix things up.

As with a lot of "small park" courses, there were some places where the holes were too close together and caused some safety concerns. There were some places where I could imagine someone could throw into a neighboring yard as well.
Other Thoughts: By now it's a cliche, but Maryknoll Park is just another classic Chicago course: A basically flat, mostly wide open 9-hole course that really doesn't get you excited.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Blech.

2-4    11/24/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Located in a well manicured park with tons of playground activities, walking paths, etc. and surrounded by suburban homes, with backyards adjacent to the course. Great fun on site for the whole family. Mostly a giant glorified lawn, Maryknoll desperately tries to bring some gently rolling elevation into play, and uses as many of the few trees available, but mostly this is wide open golf.
- Great amenities. Outstanding concrete tees (although #7's tee is already badly cracked). Okay signs list the hole number and distance, but take the listed distances with a grain of salt, as they are off badly in spots.
- Decent enough distance to create a bit of a challenge for beginners or very casual players. Open enough, and probably infrequently used, so ideal for field practice.
Cons: - Several holes play dangerously close to each other. #6's tee lies directly in the kill zone of noob hyzers thrown from #5's tee.
- Open for the most part, and pretty mindless. Too long in the distance department for beginners to have rewarding birdie chances, but short and open enough for most to save pars. Too short for experienced players to get much of a challenge past one-disc rounds or safari golf.
- Goose excrement covers most of the course. I realize there's not much the course designers can do about this problem; regardless, its presence always detracts from a round in my opinion. Hopefully, it's a occasional seasonal occurrence.
Other Thoughts: - It looks as though there was a slight redesign on a few holes that pushed the course back from some of the surrounding private properties. #7's tee might have been moved, resulting in the cracked concrete pad. A redesign would also explain why several signs list blatantly wrong distances.
- Be on the look-out for neighborhood dog walkers, joggers, etc.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

maryknoll

5+    9/24/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 75  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -solid pads
-next to impossible to lose a disc
-a good place for beginners to learn how to throw
-good place to learn a new disc
-tons of milfs around the park
Cons: -hole 4 is the only hole that you have to think about your shot and you can shoot around the few trees on that hole if you want to
-if you have a bad throw you are looking through peoples backyards
-a short 9 hole
-i do not think that the distances on the holes are accurate
- hole 6 was the best hole on the course but they moved the pad out from under some big oak trees into an open field to make it just like 7 of the other shots at the course
Other Thoughts: this course is not much of a play it is the closest course to my house so i go there every once and a while mainly just to try out new discs with no chance of losing them or to work on new grips and flicks but if you are trying to teach a friend how to play this would not be a bad place to bring them as long as you don't have to drive to far

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/22/2011   12/23/2011
Review By: Disc Golf Greg
Played: 21  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice tee pads, probably the best compared to the others at near by courses.
-Course is usually not very crowded.
-Park was clean and well maintained.
-Baskets in good condition
-Course tucked away in its own area of the park
-Doesn't seem to flood as much as other courses nearby.
Few holes have several nice mature trees.
-Grass is always cut.
-Good amount of parking.
Cons: -No tee signs as of yet, I think they will be added at a later point in time, perhaps this summer even.
-Holes can become a little repetitive.
-Not enough obstacles.
-Some holes are pretty close to each other.
-Some fairways have homes that can come into play with an errant shot, be careful!
-Could use some benches to rest at in between holes.
-Addition of few more trash cans would be greatly appreciated.
Other Thoughts: This course is still pretty new, hopefully it will continue to get better as it matures. This is a very nice park, located in a great town! As a previous poster pointed out this is more of a neighborhood course than a destination course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good for some practice, not super exciting

1    9/24/2011   10/8/2011
Review By: amryan11
Played: 26  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -grass cut/course well-maintained
-good concrete tees
-nice baskets
-some obstacles
Cons: -not the most exciting layout
-too open to really be challenging
-only 9 holes
-no signs at all
Other Thoughts: This course is ok. If it's nearby and you want some practice it's fine, but it doesn't really offer anything you can't get elsewhere. Some holes have some trees to avoid but for the most part it's too open. I really don't like how the tees have no signs. It's one thing to not have detailed maps on the signs, but to skip them altogether makes navigation confusing at first. However, it would be a great place to start off and learn the sport as a beginner.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Puzzling changes

5+    9/22/2011   9/22/2011
Review By: brettowen
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 28.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really want to like this course more than I do, especially because it is 10 minutes from where I work. However I can't give it more than 2 stars because it's just not that special a course. As others have said I guess the designers did the best they could with the limited space that they had to work with. Also the course is in an area that is used pretty much exclusively for disc golf so you don't have to contend with joggers etc. The tee pads are well designed and baskets are in great shape. FYI The 1st tee pad has been straightened out so that it actually faces the basket.
Cons: HOWEVER there were some other recent changes made to the course that are real head scratchers and in my opinion make what was an OK course worse and not better. When I first played the course in May of 2011 the 2nd basket was tucked in among some pine trees and required a long RHBH anhyzer. I would say that this used to be one of the slightly more interesting holes. However for some strange reason they have recently moved the second hole basket out into the middle of the fairway which makes the hole a rather boring 300 foot open field shot with no line shaping required. This is not an alternate pin placement but looks to be a permanent change. WHY? Also the 7th tee pad used to be slightly elevated on a small ridge that allowed for a slight downhill shot to the basket. For whatever reason the pad was moved 30 feet to the west and into the bottom of the floodplain which makes for a more boring tee point and introduces a much higher probability that the tee will be flooded out after a strong rain. Once again…WHY?
Other Thoughts: My final criticism of this course is that all of the distances are very similar. All but two of the holes are within 15 feet of 300 which make for a very repetitive feel to each round. I would much rather see a few 200ish ace runs along with some longer grip and rip holes. If you are in the area it's OK for a quick round but I wouldn't go out of my way to play this course. As always please pick up your trash and leave the course nicer than you found it. May all your drives be true & all your putts (and the occasional drive) end with a satisfying clink of chain.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.