Russellville, AR 
Old Post DGC Share
Uploaded By: bjflash Hole #8 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Nice Course!

1    2/16/2014   2/16/2014
Review By: Shooter14
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good course, LOTS of variety in the holes, and has an awesome water hole. It was great with a bunch of ace runs, and many birdie opportunities.
Cons: I can not think of any real complaints I had.
Other Thoughts: Well suited for both Righties and Lefties

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Old Folks, Playing Golf

2-4    11/2/2013   11/2/2013
Review By: MaxJal
Played: 58  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Starts put long, but gets technical and has good elevation from hole to hole.
Few ace runs and lots of birdies.
Verity of challenging shots
Good workout


Cons: Elevation
The nuclear reactor causes discs to be super stable

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

BEST DG YOU WILL EVER PLAY

5+    5/10/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: judealan
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Perfect mix of open and tree shots
Challenging hole 7 9 and 18
A fun hole 16 water hazard
Birdie row from 11-17 to help your confidence
Beautiful coarse
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I absolutely love Old Post no other park is even close to it since I moved away from Russellville.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Pristine

1    4/20/2013   4/21/2013
Review By: lschrock
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good selection of shots, long bomb hyzers to finesse wooded shots. There is an island hole, but few other water hazards. Definitely one of the best courses I've played in Arkansas. A good challenge to land an even par.
Other Thoughts: The local vintage disc golf guys are awesome! The host an annual tourney in April, definitely worth attending.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Course!

1    12/21/2012   12/25/2012
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has it all- open shots, wooded shots, uphill shots, downhill shots, over water shots, technical placing shots. This course has it all! There was so many different challenges on each and every hole! This course has awesome concrete t-pads. The signs were very accurate and easy to read. The overlook around 10,11 was phenomenal! You could see the entire river and it was beautiful. The baskets were Innova Discatchers pro and were in great condition. This course is a few miles off the freeway and it is a very quiet park which helps you focus on just your game and nothing else. Tee 1 and hole 18 basket are right by the parking lot which helps with not having to walk a long way to the car. Friendly locals. Hole 16 is the Signature Hole which is down a hill over a little pond. This hole was very well designed and fun (the other holes were well designed too).
Cons: There are only 7 actual spots for parking in the disc golf dedicated parking lot which is kind of bad if it is a busy day. There are no trash cans or benches on any of the holes. Course seems to be relativley busy which could be a problem if you are on a time limit.
Other Thoughts: This course is amazing! Probably one of the best designed courses in the state. If you are driving by, you should for shure come and check this course out to see why it is as good as it is.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun over and over again

5+    5/30/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: jongoff09
Played: 32  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Excellent use of what was available. There were many restrictions that the park put on the designers of the course, but they did a great job with the land they could use.

-Huge variety of holes. Some are on the shorter side, others are long, maxing out at about 660'. Uphill, downhill, there are some of both. Tightly wooded, mostly open, again a few of both. I enjoy the layout.

-The scenery is awesome. You will have views of the river, and occasionally some wildlife will make their presence known.

-Birdies can be had by anyone playing this course, and big arms will still be challenged by most of the course. There are only a couple of holes that I would consider a "must" 2 for the bigger arms.

-This course is fun! I always enjoy playing this course, no matter how well, I am doing. I wish I lived closer to it. I would play it daily if I could.
Cons: I wish it could have a couple more par-4s and a par-5 or two. The par-4s that are there are great. Other than that, I don't see this course as lacking anything.
Other Thoughts: Understand how to play wind and elevation. There is almost always wind in this area just off the Arkansas River. It makes the seemingly innocent looking holes challenging at times. Also, it doesn't always blow in the same direction, so you could play the holes one way one day, and have a different challenge the next as the wind switches directions. I think it adds another interesting and fun element to the course.

There is water and pavilions near the first tee and parking area. There are a lot of things to do in the park near the course, including biking that has trails around the course. I have never seen or heard of any issues involving bikers.

I have been at the course when it seemed like the gnats could carry you away. It isn't always like that, but be prepared in case it is.

The water is usually clear enough to see discs at the bottom of the water on #16. On the rest of the course, there is the possibility of losing discs on the blind holes, and the holes along the bluff. On the downhill holes, if you let your disc start to fade too early, or too high above the fairway, then it could end up going a long way into the woods.

To kinda illustrate how tough the course is, the SSA in a tournament at this course involving some of the top players in the world was just over 52. A round of 52 was rated at 1001, and a round of 62 was rated 905 in both rounds of the tournament.

The fun factor along with the layout of the course make me consider it a "phenomenal" course, thus the 4.5 rating. I truly wish I could play lt every day.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Can't wait for next time

2-4    5/26/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: MikeK
Played: 194  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 19.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of fun holes, with a lot of elevation changes and a good variety of shots. The views of the river and dam are really nice along the way. Enough shade to keep players cool even on the hottest days. Hole 9 was my favorite, a downhill bomb with a great view.

After playing it once I couldn't wait to play it again. There are just so many good golf holes on the course, where you have to think about where to place your drive in order to best make your next long shot. There's plenty of birdie holes out there too. Lots of fast greens on the sides of hills.
Cons: Not really any cons for me. Some people might not like the long length or the hike. It's real close to a perfect 5, but it doesn't have a posted map and the tee signs aren't the best.
Other Thoughts: I've played over a hundred courses and this one is a new entry into my top ten.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    11/6/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: Zfreeman43
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Scenery, Layout was great considering what they had to work with, Challenging, mix of short/ long holes, lots of elevation changes.
Cons: No trashcans except at Hole #9, RSD Track Team runs on course which is not bad but they set up and have their meetings in the middle of #1 instead of to the side... other than that not much to complain about.
Other Thoughts: Set up in a Bike Trail so watch for bikers and Park offers a lot of sports other than disc golf.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice!

5+    10/22/2011   10/25/2011
Review By: dlopez916
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nicely organized, updated with signage and concrete pads. Easily navigated. Challenging mix of shots throughout. Located on the edge of the Arkansas River which provided nice scenery.
Cons: Could use some water fountains and or a bathroom halfway through. Not much to complain about really.
Other Thoughts: This is my "Home" course. I love it, and haven't found any that I would rather play over, and over, and over....

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Love it

1    9/17/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: B_Rad_79
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The tee pads were concrete and the baskets were in great shape. This course had a good mixture long, short, open, and wooded holes. There is a water hazard on 16 which offers a challenge but is not impossible. The park is beautiful right on the Arkansas River and is really well taken care of. Nice changes in terrain .This is the best course I have played, but that isn't saying a whole lot since I haven't played many.
Cons: Can't really think of any major things. Beware of bikers on some of the holes, but they never really interefered with any of my shots.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.