Russellville, AR 
Old Post DGC Share
Uploaded By: bjflash Hole #15 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Old Post Pleases

1    8/9/2016   8/20/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 277  Reviewed: 173  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Old Post DGC is has nice concrete tees at every hole, and good baskets too. There is often good changes in elevation. A handful of wooded holes, but mostly open and grassy with scattered mature trees. One hole with water in play. I really started liking this course once I got a few holes into it. It starts a little slow, with 1-5 crossing open grassy hills. 6-8 are more wooded, I really liked hole 8, uphill shot to a basket on top of a mound under a group of medium sized trees. Hole 9 gets back into the grassy hills, and most of the back 9 has a similar feel, but with a few more trees than the first few holes. Hole 16 is a downhill open throw to a green 3/4 surrounded by water (or at least mud). Very fun drive. 17 is also downhill, but much longer, with rough behind the basket. 18 is a long finisher, with a big turning dogleg right, and a mando at the corner.
Cons: Some of the holes have too much open space, with very few obstacles. It is using what the park has to offer, but can be a little bland. It is long in places, but lacking some challenge compared with higher caliber courses. Hot weather and little shade make it a long hike in summer.
Other Thoughts: Old Post DGC has several very good holes, a fairly simple and efficient layout that is easy to follow, and good quality equipment. I played one round passing through, and scored a +1 (3 birdies, and 4 bogies). If I made a couple of more putts could've been under par. This is a very good course with some really fun throws. Set in a very nice park that is well kept.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Russellville Knows Disc Golf

1    4/24/2016   5/15/2016
Review By: air show
Played: 126  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 16.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Concrete tee pads.
+ Discatchers baskets.
+ Tee signs at each hole.
+ Course flows well and navigation is a breeze.
+ Multiple pin placements on 4 holes.
+ 5 or 6 bomber holes.
+ 4 to 6 wooded holes.
+ A great mix of open and technical holes.
+ Well balanced for right and left hand throws.
+ Beautifully manicured turf.
+ Great use of elevation changes.
+ Beautiful scenic views of the Arkansas River.
+ Many mature trees including some majestic pines.
+ Easy access from Interstate 40
+ Hole 16 challenging island water hole with scenic cliffs off to the side.
+ I pack one or two water discs for hole 16.
+ Friendly disc golf atmosphere.


Cons: - Limited parking by hole one.
- Some fairways play along park roadways so take care.
- Course does not loop back to parking lot during round so pack for 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: Easy access from Interstate 40 makes this course a must play for the true disc golf enthusiast . Upon pulling into the parking lot the smell of fresh cut grass was in the air and mild temps and a slight breeze with the sun shining made for a glorious round of disc golf. This course I believe will satisfy most all disc golfers. Open, technical, elevation, water,and a few bomber holes to boot. Love this course and will always stop and play when passing through. Moreover, a short distance away is another quality disc golf course called Pleasant View DGC. When talking disc golf courses Russellville, Arkansas has got it going on.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I started playing at this course.

5+    8/16/2014   2/16/2016
Review By: Treehousebob
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variation of long and technical holes.
Great view, the park is very pretty and well maintained.
Great course design.
I would like to see a pro tournament held here.
Cons: None come to mind about the course. Parking for disc golf is kind of limited. However if you don't mind walking about half a mile there is plenty of parking in other spots.
Other Thoughts: You owe it to yourself to play this course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

good course that ill play again

1    3/29/2015   3/30/2015
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 180  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 22.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good tee boxes
Good facilities (bathrooms, water, etc.)
Good signs
Good baskets
Solid design
Scenic
Well cared for
Nice mix of technical, water, open holes
Cons: None really
Other Thoughts: This course checks all the boxes for what you want in a course. Its rated a little high for me and thats the main reason i think locals shouldnt be able to review courses on here, they always over rate their own courses. This isnt one of the 50 best courses in america as the rating indicates but ill be back to pkay this course again. It has everything you want in a course.

If you are passing through on I40 hit this course up!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    12/26/2014   1/7/2015
Review By: cheese dog
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great holes, great scenery, very well designed. many signature holes and very well thought out.
Cons: non really but some benches on the course would make it amazing.
Other Thoughts: first time I played this course It whooped me, but it is one of those courses you can play all day. Russellville and the local designer have done a good job making their town a disc golf destination.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course to Play

5+    9/22/2014   9/23/2014
Review By: TheSully411
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Includes both long and technical holes, meaning the course shows the best and the worst in every player.
FAVORITE HOLES:
Hole 4-slight incline, with the basket resting on the side of a steep incline
Hole 6-short, but technical hole with the opportunity for an ace.
Hole 8-slight uphill, the basket sits on top of a rock covered hill which adds to the courses scenic rating.
Hole 16-includs a downhill drive, leading to a medium distance over/around a pond, where the basket sits on a peninsula.
Cons: The course basically acts as a hiking trail where you have holes crossing paths with actual hiking trails, bike trails, and roads.
LEAST FAVORITE/MOST CHALLENGING:
Hole 7-long hole that goes over the top of a hill, hard to judge where the basket is from the tee.
Hole 9-the reason I do not like this hole, is because there is an incline that drops on the left side and its hard to keep your disc from rolling into the trees.
Hole 10-long hole, with the same issue as hole 9.
Other Thoughts: I am glad that this course was built back in 2010 giving disc golfers in the Russellville area a choice between Old Post and Pleasant View

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course!

1    2/16/2014   2/16/2014
Review By: Shooter14
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good course, LOTS of variety in the holes, and has an awesome water hole. It was great with a bunch of ace runs, and many birdie opportunities.
Cons: I can not think of any real complaints I had.
Other Thoughts: Well suited for both Righties and Lefties

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Old Folks, Playing Golf

2-4    11/2/2013   11/2/2013
Review By: MaxJal
Played: 67  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Starts put long, but gets technical and has good elevation from hole to hole.
Few ace runs and lots of birdies.
Verity of challenging shots
Good workout


Cons: Elevation
The nuclear reactor causes discs to be super stable

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 BEST DG YOU WILL EVER PLAY

5+    5/10/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: judealan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Perfect mix of open and tree shots
Challenging hole 7 9 and 18
A fun hole 16 water hazard
Birdie row from 11-17 to help your confidence
Beautiful coarse
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I absolutely love Old Post no other park is even close to it since I moved away from Russellville.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pristine

1    4/20/2013   4/21/2013
Review By: lschrock
Played: 38  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good selection of shots, long bomb hyzers to finesse wooded shots. There is an island hole, but few other water hazards. Definitely one of the best courses I've played in Arkansas. A good challenge to land an even par.
Other Thoughts: The local vintage disc golf guys are awesome! The host an annual tourney in April, definitely worth attending.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.