Russellville, AR 
Old Post DGC Share
Uploaded By: bjflash Hole #1 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 498ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Forgettable

1    9/3/2011   9/3/2011
Review By: lxdawg25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/24/2011
7 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: It's a disc golf course with some long challenging holes, there really isn't too much more to say about it than that. The course was very spread out over a wonderful little park on the shores of the Arkansas river. Trails around the park for nature courses provide helpful little guides to the local trees and plants. A decent mix of open and wooded shots make for a very nice balance as you progress along the course. The elevation changes were used to a good effect on this course but I found many of the holes ran along the ridges not up and down them.
Tee signs and cement boxes make this course easily navigated.
Hole #8 was a neat wooded run at a really large rock formation with a disc coming out of the top of it. This was probably the most unique feature of the course and added a bit of spice to the approach and putt.
Cons: This course is just a course honestly. I found very little to rave about for this course. It was fun and neat and interesting but there is nothing to make this course stand out. To make it memorable. While tee signs are in place for every hole they are generic and give little information, which honestly isn't needed anyway, as 17/18 drives have a decent sight of the basket. Hole 9 was a neat hole but took some scouting to find the basket, this was definitely the most memorable of holes and honestly was a 3 out of 5. Hole 16 is great example of a missed opportunity. A protected island (peninsula technically) hole your drive goes out over a large stagnant pond, which is rather unsightly and makes you want to lay up if nothing but to avoid the mess at all costs. As you approach your putt you find that on the other side there is a large quarry with beautiful sheer cliffs. A shot from there could have been amazing and 100% a signature hole. Add to these problems that the course was very un-manicured and at the end of the day you have a fun round of disc golf that is 100% forgettable.
Other Thoughts: If you are in Russelville for other reasons or you live here it is definitely worth going to play. If you are going out of your way to play this course, however, you may want to find a different course. It just does not have a wow factor. I would like to see the course in different seasons as I think with a little less green some of the views of the river could have been more interesting. A few more amenities (trash cans, benches) would make this a 3 but still just missing it.

7 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/28/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: cream
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2011
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Good Pin visibility, a couple of amazing holes, a lot of holes that are open but with trees only in the most challenging locations, scorecards are on the side of the sign next to the first tee.
Cons: The holes in general are too long for amateurs to get good scores on the course. Easy to lose disc on the ninth and get forced to go swimming for it on the sixteenth

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best Course In The State

5+    5/23/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: acesinthehole
Played: 77  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2014
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I designed and installed this course with the help of the River Valley Disc Golf Association. The land is owned by the Corps of Engineers and they were nice enough to let us put a course there. However, with any federal property there were a lot of restrictions on where the teeboxes, baskets and fairways could go. (Everyone is looking to sue these days) My goal was to provide a good mix of long/short and open/wooded holes with all sorts of different shot shaping required. I also wanted a course that our disc golf community could "grow into". By that I mean as disc golf continues to grow here, discs fly faster and farther, and our players continue to get better, the course would still be challenging. There is some really awesome scenery and wildlife in the are and I tried to create a good use of the elevation and natural features as well..
Cons: Be on the look out for cyclists on the bike trail that runs through hole 7. Because of the limitations we had (mainly liability issues) we were restricted on where we could go.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course in Arkansas built on federal property. Because of that there were lots of restrictions on where the baskets, teepads and fairways could be placed. This affected how the course could be layed out. Given the restrictions from the Corps of Engineers, it is a really great course. A good challenge for most disc golfers. There is water and pavilions near the first tee and the course is always in great shape.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great New Course

2-4    4/23/2011   4/25/2011
Review By: The-Mann
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Love the the trail going through the woods and the hole up on top of the hill. Also the hole in which you aim for the Arkansas River is Beautiful!
Cons: The T-pads narrow, not a bad thing I guess, just different. I supose it saved a little money and definitely better than dirt.
Other Thoughts: Be careful when shooting across run off pond from quarry on hole 16. A big thanks to whom got this course put in!!! Thank you.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.