Moberly, MO 
Rothwell Park East - The Lakes Share
Uploaded By: Boggyman Hole #9
-- / --   -- / --   3 / 378ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The closer to Columbia, the worse things get

1    6/22/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: bkern85
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge variety of shots on this course. Poured cement tee boxes. Maps and score cards at the kiosk near hole 1. There weren't very many people out playing for a Saturday afternoon, so it doesn't seem too busy. A lot of tight, technical shots if you're into that sorta thing.
Cons: In a multi-use park, so you'll have pedestrians to watch out for. You will have to cross the road several times and wait for vehicles to go by. The course itself was starting to get overgrown, which made finding your disc difficult at points even if it landed in the fairway. A few holes go straight over a shelter where families can be hanging out for a picnic or something, so be mindful of that. Carry the map with you because there are no signs pointing to the next hole and some can be quite a distance part. Watch out for poison ivy! I saw plenty of that on my trip there.
Other Thoughts: It wasn't worth the 45 mins drive for me to play this course, so I probably won't be going back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/29/2012   6/1/2012
Review By: Keokuk Discer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice long course for those with an arm to really unleash it. Many different angles that will challenge a lot of players. The course is really well kept up and the scorecards at the kiosk are a big plus.
Cons: There neads to be signs to help navigate the course. There were several places I was left scratching my head, trying to find the next teepad. The walk form 4 to 5 was back along the fairway. The biggest con, in my book, was having to throw AT the shelter house to get to the basket for 17. If the basket was moved I could easily give this course a 4. A couple of the teepads were aimed in what appeared to be a random direction to the in placement.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course and could be a great one if some of the cons were fixed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course in Small Town

5+    11/25/2011   12/1/2011
Review By: Mind Expansi0n
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of elevation and composition of allotted space (wet and dry creek beds, huge old growth trees, the lake and the slope towards it), really good signage posted at each tee (not so great for finding the next hole), top notch fresh baskets, a nice mix of distance and accuracy are needed to score well, the park seems to be well taken care of - several trash cans, flat/new pads that are both wide and long, not as much walking as you might think given the length of the course.
Cons: Can be difficult for a first timer to find the next hole at certain spots (no signage for that), the area has quite a few low-lying areas that are going to get pretty swampy in wet conditions, the multi-use nature of the park means you need to be a bit more aware than usual when you throw on the tees near the walking trail/road. Might be a bit of a hike for someone overweight or with bad knees (quite a bit of up/down hills)
Other Thoughts: Difficulty: Intermediate - Pro. This course might be a bit much for a first timer as it requires a decent sized arm at points, but everyone I have taken here has loved it, and I've taken to the course as well. It's a beautiful piece of land, it will teach you to drive long and low, and while you can lose a disc here (lake and thick woods) it's not a huge issue. I feel like the city of Moberly should be applauded for a course of this quality and the obvious maintenance that continues on the property; one of the cleanest and 'nicest' courses I've ever played.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Weekend at Moberly

2-4    10/2/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: Jorge
Played: 63  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Long course to complement the Woods course
-Fairly easy to play if you keep your drives low and in the fairway
-Enough benches on the holes to give you a little rest on the long walks
-Beautiful scenery around the lakes and park
-Although it's long and open, there are enough different holes to give you a nice mix of long, short, uphill, downhill, trees, water, and "Did I put enough snap on it so that it doesn't hit that car or go in the water?"
-Nice Kiosk with map and score cards
Cons: -LOTS OF OUT OF BOUNDS - watch out for cars and walkers
-A few long walks, especially after hole 18 back to the cars
-Hole signage is good, but no directions to the next hole. Map on score card is a must so you don't get lost on a few of the long walks
-The parks dept doesn't have this on their map for the park yet, so finding the Kiosk would have been trouble if I wasn't playing with someone who had played it before
-Only a few trash cans on the course
-Road comes into play a few times, a guy on my card almost hit a van and was only a little off the fairway on hole 18
-Shelter in the way on hole 17
-Playground very close to basket on hole 16
Other Thoughts: Over all a wonderful course. It's a lot easier to find cons than pros, especially when you take so much for granted at a good course like layout, hole variation, and just overall fun to play. 10 of us from St. Louis camped out here for the weekend. Check out the post on the other course for the camping (it was unbelieveable). Round of singles and doubles for the weekend at the lakes. I was very happy with the course in general and how well the club keeps the conditions of each course. Keep your throws low and long and you won't have much of a problem with this course.

If you want to plan an out of town trip and camp, THIS IS THE PLACE. You will not be disappointed. The 2 courses complement each other perfectly. If you could combine the scores for both courses in one park, it would be a 5, a must play for both.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/9/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: P . J .
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course . Distance , variety , elevation , course layout an all around great course .
Cons: Poison ivy on a couple of holes .
Other Thoughts: Well worth the drive to play the course . The community of Moberly Mo. is lucky to have such a diverse disc golf course .

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Rothwell Park Lakes

2-4    5/8/2011   5/8/2011
Review By: Dan Ensor
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2013
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's a very diverse course. It bends every which way at several distances. You need a variety of shots to put it deep down the fairway, but if you don't mind laying up, you can throw any shot you'd like. Most holes have large trees that you either have to throw around or under. Several holes have water hazards either just past the hole or along side the fairway.
Cons: The brush is very thick if you don't keep it on the fairway. People tend to eat picnics and park their cars on the course. There are some low limbs that should be taken out.
Other Thoughts: This course has had new pins added. One dangerous pin has been moved (16), and there's an alternate on the hole you play over the pavilion. Lots of distance added. Probably another 4-6 strokes to par.

You can play this course several ways. I play short and safe, and my buddy plays long and aggressive. When he has a good hole, he beats me; when he has a bad shot, I can take advantage.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.