Angel Fire, NM 
Angel Fire Resort Share
Uploaded By: ryyedogg Hole #10 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 175ft.   3 / 175ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Views, Average Course

2-4    6/10/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 67  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The lift up the mountain is nice, but the lift down is insane due to its steepness. There are great views from a few holes. The course starts with a bomb shot on #1. The basket on #14 is located high on top of a boulder. The rec tees play like a regular course where a good shot can give you a birdie (2). Trees are used well in three ways: near the tee, along the fairway, or blocking the basket. I had problems finding #1, but the course is easy to navigate.
Cons: I could not find #1 when I exited the lift because there were no signs. When you exit the lift walk down to the restaurant on your left. The tee is on the opposite side of the building. Besides #1 & #2, there is no elevation changes at all. I have never played a flat course on a mountain. I was very disappointed. The map shows all green, but the course is mostly trees and rocks. The pro tees add a huge degree of difficulty.
Other Thoughts: $12 is waaaay too much to pay for this course. I would only recommend playing this course if you happen to be staying at Angel Fire. You could hike up the mountain and play for free if that is your thing. The last half mile up the mountain is really steep. You could then take the lift down for free as they did not scan my ticket on top. If you are near Taos go to Sipapu and have a ton more fun for free.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 BIG AIR-BIG VIEWS

2-4    7/21/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: nightwing
Played: 80  Reviewed: 18
Pros: -HUGE EPIC BIG AIR SHOT ON HOLE 1, "RIGHT NOW AND IN FRONT OF THE BAR CROWD." JUST WOW.

-GOOD FOOTING ON NEARLY ALL TEE-MATS.
-NO MID TEES BUT PRO/REC WORKS WELL.
-MIX OF UP/DOWN/LEFT/RIGHT/ CHALLENGE
-HAS SOME RISK AND REWARD SHOTS
-GOOD BASKETS/ CHALLENGING PLACEMENT.

-BAR/ RESTAURANT/ FACILITIES ON COURSE
-FUN SAWDUST PATH & TREE STUMP BENCHS.
-HIKING AND BIKING AND THE NEW ZIP LINES.
Cons: -LOTS AND I MEAN LOTS OF DEAD-FALL TREES ARE PILED UP JUST OFF SEVERAL FAIRWAYS.
-SOME SIMILAR PILED UP ROCK AREAS.
-SOME WOODS VIRTUALLY UNPLAYABLE.
-A FEW HOLES ARE A LITTLE REPETITIVE
-SOME SHORT HOLES TOO EASY AND CUTE.

-RESTAURANT WAS UNDERSTAFFED. GET AN ORDER IN EARLY, (THEN ENJOY KILLER VIEW.)
-NO DISCOUNT FOR A FEW ROUNDS A YEAR
Other Thoughts: Angel Fire is a special location. It is a newer course and may work it's way up into Sipapu''s
4.5 to 5 star range. But it's very nice now.

BRING EVERYTHING.WITH YOU ON THE CHAIR! The chair goes all the way up: to 10,000 feet.
You may need sunscreen AND a rain-suit.
You may need EXTRA water and food.

Make sure you know the lift closing. They said 430 but probably 445 is ok The restaurant was 3pm..


Not much can be done about all the tree-fall and rocks piled up. Bring solid shoes or light boots.

Don't forget why Tiger Woods tees off with a fairway club more than a driver. Angel can wear you out if you end up in the woods over and over.
I really do LOVE Northern New Mexico's woodsy courses, but some of this is SUPER dense.

ABOUT THE $12.00. Yes, you could buy a season pass if this is your home course. And yes, if you are going once or twice a year, $12.00 is well worth it. But how many regional player are going to pay that much several times a year? The $12.00 is a tourist rate and should apply for your first visit. After that you should be able to get a half-price pass. This will cost Angel Fire very few tourist dollars and get them repeat bucks from many players who rarely go as it is now. If we keep asking for it politely, maybe it will happen.

-FINAL NOTE: Hold onto your hat. The first 30 seconds on the chair down is awesomely exposed.

 ripp

5+    9/7/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: Todd Ripp
Played: 52  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It starts with a breathtaking hole 1, 500 ft. down,down, down hill. The you have Donald working on the pads,greens,fairways,and making nice trails from all baskets to the next pad.
Cons: You have to pay 12 bucks or so and ride the chair lift.(unless you know a local. )
Other Thoughts: I heard rumers there mite be more holes added soon.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course at 10,000 ft.

1    6/18/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
Pros: This is a beautiful course at the very top of the angel fire resort that offers spectacular views of surrounding mountains. There is a practice goal to warm up with at the bottom of the lift. Holes vary from short(<200ft.) to long(>500ft.) and will provide a good challenge for most players. Amateur pads are provided on the longer holes to ease the challenge for inexperienced players. Most holes have nice alleys to throw in, but errant throws will be punished. Bring your hyzers(or anhyzers) to this course because there a lot of doglegs and blind shots. The tee pads are rubber which is a rare sight for being a mountain course. There are also signs with hole info at every hole and everything is very well marked when you need to find the next hole. We didn't even have to use the course map. This course can be played by amateurs and pros alike.
Cons: It is $12 a person to take the lift, which is a little much just to play the course. Although the course has a lot of trees to dodge, many holes have plenty of room to work with and don't have many tight wooded holes that make a mountain course dynamic. Some of the shorter holes are too easy. It is only playable during the off season.
Other Thoughts: This is my first ski resort course, so I still have a lot to explore, but I would say it's worth playing if you are passing by or staying by Angel Fire. There are some great mountain biking trails up there which would make the $12 pass more worth it since you can disc at the top, then bike down.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.