Tyler, TX
Lindsey Park - Red Course Share
Uploaded By: chalos13 Hole #4 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 309ft.   -- / --   3 / 344ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: Dogleg right



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
New layout, new pyramid, better course

5+    11/5/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: hookem41
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is referred to as the Cedar course locally, and it not the easy punk course it used to be. This has a new layout and from the long tees it plays well over 7000 ft. but still considerably shorter from the short tees. It has a nice variety of reachable holes and some that a 3 is a great score on. There is an amazing, huge 3-tier pyramid on hole 9 that you will not soon forget. There are plenty of open holes, but some that you will have to also have to avoid trouble on. Great use of elevation and OB with the park road running past 5 of the holes. Great short and long concrete tee pads on every hole except 16 and 17 (the 2 new holes-also the only 2 that don't have the nice stone tee signs) and multiple pin locations on 15 & 16. Again, plenty of benches and trash cans.
Cons: Not many, some updated signage with distances on a few holes but it's a great course. It gets a little hard to follow on the back 9 but there's lot's of locals that will help you out. In my opinion this is no longer the easiest course in the park, especially from the long tees. Not quite the same shot shape variety as the other 2 courses in the park, but makes up for it with distance.
Other Thoughts: Cedar is cart friendly except maybe 16 & 17 in the back, but there's plenty of space to leave it and pick it back up. You will come back past the parking lot on hole 12 so you do have a chance to reload if you need to. This is the most open of the 3 courses, so you will need extra water in the summer because it is miserable hot. If the wind is blowing, you had better pay attention to your disc selection and your release angle.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short, but fun

1    4/21/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2012
Pros:
- Multiple concrete tee pads for each hole
- Good use of elevation
- Good variation from hole to hole
- Shorter holes, but a very good balance between being too easy and annoyingly difficult
Cons:
- Some of the signage on the back 9 was a little messed up. We never found hole 14.
- Won't challenge advanced players
Other Thoughts:
- Although this is the easiest of the three Lindsey courses, it is still very fun to play, especially if you are an intermediate player who likes to make an occasional ace run, and the longer tees are still challenging enough.

 

5+    2/22/2011   2/24/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is fun to alternate throwing from the red and blue tee boxes. The 2 super long holes from the blue tee box are a great challenge. The course flows really well too. you end pretty close to where you start.
Cons: I do not like the old baskets. Many of my putts hit dead center and just come straight out. Maybe I am just spoiled on the newer Innova baskets.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult Warm Up

1    9/23/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: DeadEye
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good use of terrain, relatively difficult, concrete tee boxes. Some shots are tight through woods while others are over roads. Trees block a good amount of holes, making it more difficult.
Cons: Semi-difficult to navigate, bring a map.. Wear tall socks, fire ants are killer. A lot of it is wide open, so a driver that can go through headwind is needed

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 You Want Me To Skip It Off The Road, Again?

1    6/2/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 207  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Of the three Lindsey Park courses, this is the one I would call the warm up course. This in no way means I am degrading it. This course has lots to offer. There is some good use of gradual elevation on a few of these holes. Many of these pin locations are either sunk into some woods or have OB very close to them. This makes the course rather difficult for being what could be called the easier of the three Lindsey courses. The slightly wooded holes are the holes I enjoyed the best. The "tombstone" tee markers do have the footage next to the short tees. The long and short tee pads are concrete for both. The trashcans and bathrooms are easily accessible to this course.
Cons: There are a couple of holes that do mimic each other and that can seem a little repetitive. There are 2 holes the have the basket close to the road and they are back to back. There is also a hole that you throw over the roads. I am not a fan of over use of roads to make a course difficult. Navigation is a bit tricky, so take the map.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was decent for me. I enjoyed half the holes on this course and found the other half just OK. This is a good course using this part of the park. Lindsey Park is without a doubt a great place for Disc Golf. Thanks Tyler, TX.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Times

5+    9/28/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good challenge, Good variation of left and right turns. A few tunnel holes, and they're a beast. This course has a lot of long, open shots, but then the pin is tucked 30 feet back in the woods. Get used to throwing a good drive, then an approach into the trees, then putting. This is a great course, has trash cans, benches, and good signage. Concrete teeboxes are nice, and there isn't much traffic on the course from non golfers
Cons: Not many honestly. This is a solid course, not too hard, not too easy. long walks between a couple holes, but not awful.
Other Thoughts: if you're new to DG head over to the roc or the front 9 at UT Tyler, if you want a challenge try this course. Drains well after a rain. Easiest of the three in the park.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice

2-4    6/30/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 84  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 13.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open and wooded holes with some elevation changes. Hole 11 sits on a type of peninsula created by 2 ob roads. There are porta potties right there and better restrooms elsewhere in the park. Tees are concrete and there were 2 or more for every hole.
Cons: Not a lot of holes that just stand out in your mind as wonderful. Solid but not spectacular. Needs signs to point you to the 1st tee. There was a sign there but it had nothing on it. We went the wrong direction at 1st and were on the blue course which runs very close to the red at some points, they actually just about overlap. there was an old sign for #1 which we finally figured out was not in use anymore but it confused the situation for awhile.
Other Thoughts: Good course. I would certainly play there again. Having another 18 hole course on site is great also. They are getting another 18 holes there even as I write this. Most of the pins were in and they were getting busy with the tees. Soon there will be a full 54 holes there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome East Texas Course

1    4/11/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park is a nice and challenging course. It has a nice variety of long open shots and a few short shots. The is a lot of elevation changes and some holes play almost in the woods. The tee pads are concrete and are in great shape, and the baskets are in decent condition. The course is kept clean and there are plenty of trash cans and benches to sit on. The layout of this course is nice the way it is set up and is very fun to play.
Cons: The navigation of the course can be a little complex at first, but from help of some locals, we was able to navigate the course.
Other Thoughts: If your looking for a good challenge, this is the one to play. This is a must play if your in the Tyler area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cool

1    4/9/2009   4/9/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 12.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cool stone tee signs and good baskets. The elevation is used well for the little there is. Short course that is easier of the 2 in the park. There are lots of birdies here. There are 2 pads on all the holes which are cool as well. Sandy soil so I bet that it is good to play after a rain. Pretty clean and well taken care of too. I think that alot of the shots are the same although others have said different, but we all threw alot of the same shots on most of the holes.(At least from the red tees.) Cool having 36 in the same park.
Cons: The signage could be better, maybe a course map as well. We walked around alot trying to find where we were going. Some of the holes are in the open field when there seems to be alot of potential in the woods.
Other Thoughts: After hole 7 walk up the hill for 8. Cant wait to see the gold course go in. Lots of great potential for a city park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 To me more fun than blue but not as challenging

1    3/31/2009   4/1/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Almost no holes the same. Some very interesting basket locations especially 16 and I think 9. Several memorable shots even though most were easy. Most of the course seemed more secluded than the blue course, until you get to some of the open holes on the back 9. Most of the front 9 is pretty secluded and I think 15-17 also. Used elevation and woods as effectively as possible, considering this is a city park not a state park. Even though it was busy, it didn't feel like it and I only had to wait about 5 minutes total.

Cons: Some of the basket locations on the back 9 are right next to the park road. and 1 of them is an "island hole", in that it is in the median between the entrance and the exits of the red's parking lot. Not to mention 18's basket which is RIGHT next to the curb!! In my opinion when a basket sits next to a paved road, it adds an element of cheesiness as if you ran out of room when designing the course.
Other Thoughts: I can understand rating the blue higher. It is harder and longer. Besides that, I didn't think one really stood out over the other in my opinion. I guess with 54 holes in a city park, you will have to put in some holes "cram style" next to the road.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.