Tyler, TX 
Lindsey Park - Red Course Share
Uploaded By: chalos13 Hole #5 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 226ft.   -- / --   4 / 673ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: Basket straight ahead under the tree just right of center



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Red Shift

1    4/25/2014   6/10/2014
Review By: Qikly
Played: 66  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lindsey Park's Red Course offers a casual round that's great for beginners or those looking to offset the stresses of Lindsey Gold. Obstacles are present in the form of guarded pins, some elevation, OB, and the occasional tree, but these are limited: they're there just enough to introduce beginning players to a variety of obstacles without tempting frustration. The course's focus is clearly beginners, and I think it does a great job of offering new discers enough challenge to whet their appetite while easing them into the game. With two other courses on site available to those looking to step up in challenge, Lindsey Red can focus purely on beginners and casual players, and in that it succeeds. The occasional spectacle in the form of a downhill shot or the eye-grabbing pyramid-perched basket helps to ratchet up the fun.

Lindsey Red greatly benefits from having two other 18 hole courses on site. Between the three courses, there's something for everyone here, and a great variety of holes for someone passing through.

The tees are solid and the grooming seems to be wonderful. With little interaction with rough, there's little chance of losing your disc. Amenities such as parking, bathrooms, and the like are great.
Cons: Lindsey Red's cons mostly stem from its function as a beginner course, so it seems a bit misguided to rail on them. Still, they detract from the course when rating it comparatively to all the others out there.

The course is exceedingly open: there's little demand on shot shaping or control. Baskets usually lie in straight lines from the tee, and approaches are really only challenged by intermittent OB. In general, Lindsey Red doesn't give you much to think about. Again, this is a result of the course's function, but it certainly limits Lindsey Red's appeal to newbies and very casual outings. Otherwise, it just doesn't have very much to offer in itself to anyone outside of beginners.

For a newbie course, Lindsey Red brings the road into play as OB often enough that there could be some headaches for unwary drivers (vehicles, not discs) or wild-armed beginners.
Other Thoughts: Lindsey Red does its job as a beginner course rather well: its well-groomed and easy, but still offers introductory looks at some obstacle staples. Its appeal stops there for me, though: its too open and simple for much else. I appreciate devoting a portion of Lindsey Park's disc golf riches to showing newbies the game; I just can't rate the course higher for how simple and open it is.

To be honest, I found Lindsey Park to be a bit overrated when I visited: both the straight-forward and punishing Gold course and the simple Red one were disappoints for me, for opposite reasons. The Blue course is fun, solid, and varied, but I still came away thinking that Lindsey Park wasn't the destination site it appeared to be. Worth a visit if you're in the area for sure, but not a place I'd go out of my way again to get to.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Is that another donut shop?!

1    4/25/2014   5/9/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 70  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lindsey Park offers three disc golf courses that are conveniently located near each other. The Red course is by far the easiest of the three courses and is definitely the one to play if you want to have a very casual round by yourself or with friends. It is also a great course to warm-up on before hitting up the Gold course or playing through fast after the other two courses like we did. The park has the necessary amenities including a large parking area, bathrooms, and water fountains. The course also features very large concrete tee pads and new(er) tees signs. Multiple tees give some variety to the difficulty and length of shots.

There's not a ton of elevation in this part of the park, but the course utilizes the elevation it has well. The best use of elevation - and my favorite hole on the course - is the downhill bomb on 18. One of the longest holes on the course, it plays through a few patches of trees and has a very big elevation change. Holes 1-5, 7, and 13-17 also do a decent job of incorporating minor elevation changes.

There's a good mix of completely open and moderately wooded holes. I enjoyed how holes 4-7 played from the open into part of the woods to the right, this was my favorite stretch of the course. Hole 7 was a fun one where the pin is tucked into a tight position within the trees to the right.

While completely random (at least for an out-of-towner; maybe there is more to it than I know) and seemingly very gimmicky, I actually enjoyed hole 9's enormous pyramid. I liked the challenge of trying to the land on the pyramid from the tee. Plus, it turns a completely open hole into something a little more interesting. Still, my brother and I were laughing at the complete randomness of the pyramid when we first drove into the park.
Cons: -A few holes play over/near park roads and the parking lot to a point when it can be unsafe if the parking lot was full - the holes that are most affected by this are 12-15.
-Not a huge variety of distances. While some holes were over 400 feet, about 2/3 of the holes are under 350 feet even from the long tees. The short tees are generally much shorter than that.
-After hole 7, there is a large stretch of holes that are basically completely open and seem repetitive. In general, this is not a challenging or punishing course.
-The navigation is iffy for the last six or so holes. It can get confusing as it plays close to a few of the Blue course's holes. Just look for the red or blue stripe on the tee sign. I'd recommend bringing a map.
Other Thoughts: From reading previous reviews, it sounds like this course has improved from its other design, which is encouraging to hear. To me, with a few too many lightly wooded holes on the course, I can't rate it above a 2.0. Still, the course is a quick play and worth hitting if you are in the area. The best part is that there are two other quality courses on site. If you only have time to play two, I'd highly recommend playing the Gold and Blue courses first. I encourage you to stop at Lindsey Park if you are passing through Tyler on your way to the Eastern Texas monster courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

New layout, new pyramid, better course

5+    11/5/2012   11/21/2012
Review By: hookem41
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is referred to as the Cedar course locally, and it not the easy punk course it used to be. This has a new layout and from the long tees it plays well over 7000 ft. but still considerably shorter from the short tees. It has a nice variety of reachable holes and some that a 3 is a great score on. There is an amazing, huge 3-tier pyramid on hole 9 that you will not soon forget. There are plenty of open holes, but some that you will have to also have to avoid trouble on. Great use of elevation and OB with the park road running past 5 of the holes. Great short and long concrete tee pads on every hole except 16 and 17 (the 2 new holes-also the only 2 that don't have the nice stone tee signs) and multiple pin locations on 15 & 16. Again, plenty of benches and trash cans.
Cons: Not many, some updated signage with distances on a few holes but it's a great course. It gets a little hard to follow on the back 9 but there's lot's of locals that will help you out. In my opinion this is no longer the easiest course in the park, especially from the long tees. Not quite the same shot shape variety as the other 2 courses in the park, but makes up for it with distance.
Other Thoughts: Cedar is cart friendly except maybe 16 & 17 in the back, but there's plenty of space to leave it and pick it back up. You will come back past the parking lot on hole 12 so you do have a chance to reload if you need to. This is the most open of the 3 courses, so you will need extra water in the summer because it is miserable hot. If the wind is blowing, you had better pay attention to your disc selection and your release angle.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short, but fun

1    4/21/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 6/21/2012
Pros:
- Multiple concrete tee pads for each hole
- Good use of elevation
- Good variation from hole to hole
- Shorter holes, but a very good balance between being too easy and annoyingly difficult
Cons:
- Some of the signage on the back 9 was a little messed up. We never found hole 14.
- Won't challenge advanced players
Other Thoughts:
- Although this is the easiest of the three Lindsey courses, it is still very fun to play, especially if you are an intermediate player who likes to make an occasional ace run, and the longer tees are still challenging enough.

 

5+    2/22/2011   2/24/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is fun to alternate throwing from the red and blue tee boxes. The 2 super long holes from the blue tee box are a great challenge. The course flows really well too. you end pretty close to where you start.
Cons: I do not like the old baskets. Many of my putts hit dead center and just come straight out. Maybe I am just spoiled on the newer Innova baskets.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult Warm Up

1    9/23/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: DeadEye
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good use of terrain, relatively difficult, concrete tee boxes. Some shots are tight through woods while others are over roads. Trees block a good amount of holes, making it more difficult.
Cons: Semi-difficult to navigate, bring a map.. Wear tall socks, fire ants are killer. A lot of it is wide open, so a driver that can go through headwind is needed

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 You Want Me To Skip It Off The Road, Again?

1    6/2/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Of the three Lindsey Park courses, this is the one I would call the warm up course. This in no way means I am degrading it. This course has lots to offer. There is some good use of gradual elevation on a few of these holes. Many of these pin locations are either sunk into some woods or have OB very close to them. This makes the course rather difficult for being what could be called the easier of the three Lindsey courses. The slightly wooded holes are the holes I enjoyed the best. The "tombstone" tee markers do have the footage next to the short tees. The long and short tee pads are concrete for both. The trashcans and bathrooms are easily accessible to this course.
Cons: There are a couple of holes that do mimic each other and that can seem a little repetitive. There are 2 holes the have the basket close to the road and they are back to back. There is also a hole that you throw over the roads. I am not a fan of over use of roads to make a course difficult. Navigation is a bit tricky, so take the map.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was decent for me. I enjoyed half the holes on this course and found the other half just OK. This is a good course using this part of the park. Lindsey Park is without a doubt a great place for Disc Golf. Thanks Tyler, TX.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Times

5+    9/28/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good challenge, Good variation of left and right turns. A few tunnel holes, and they're a beast. This course has a lot of long, open shots, but then the pin is tucked 30 feet back in the woods. Get used to throwing a good drive, then an approach into the trees, then putting. This is a great course, has trash cans, benches, and good signage. Concrete teeboxes are nice, and there isn't much traffic on the course from non golfers
Cons: Not many honestly. This is a solid course, not too hard, not too easy. long walks between a couple holes, but not awful.
Other Thoughts: if you're new to DG head over to the roc or the front 9 at UT Tyler, if you want a challenge try this course. Drains well after a rain. Easiest of the three in the park.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice

2-4    6/30/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 103  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open and wooded holes with some elevation changes. Hole 11 sits on a type of peninsula created by 2 ob roads. There are porta potties right there and better restrooms elsewhere in the park. Tees are concrete and there were 2 or more for every hole.
Cons: Not a lot of holes that just stand out in your mind as wonderful. Solid but not spectacular. Needs signs to point you to the 1st tee. There was a sign there but it had nothing on it. We went the wrong direction at 1st and were on the blue course which runs very close to the red at some points, they actually just about overlap. there was an old sign for #1 which we finally figured out was not in use anymore but it confused the situation for awhile.
Other Thoughts: Good course. I would certainly play there again. Having another 18 hole course on site is great also. They are getting another 18 holes there even as I write this. Most of the pins were in and they were getting busy with the tees. Soon there will be a full 54 holes there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome East Texas Course

1    4/11/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park is a nice and challenging course. It has a nice variety of long open shots and a few short shots. The is a lot of elevation changes and some holes play almost in the woods. The tee pads are concrete and are in great shape, and the baskets are in decent condition. The course is kept clean and there are plenty of trash cans and benches to sit on. The layout of this course is nice the way it is set up and is very fun to play.
Cons: The navigation of the course can be a little complex at first, but from help of some locals, we was able to navigate the course.
Other Thoughts: If your looking for a good challenge, this is the one to play. This is a must play if your in the Tyler area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center