Disc Golf Center
Tyler, TX 
Lindsey Park - Red Course Share
Uploaded By: chalos13 Hole #7 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 335ft.   -- / --   3 / 386ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee: Basket in clearing on the right



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Cool

1    4/9/2009   4/9/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cool stone tee signs and good baskets. The elevation is used well for the little there is. Short course that is easier of the 2 in the park. There are lots of birdies here. There are 2 pads on all the holes which are cool as well. Sandy soil so I bet that it is good to play after a rain. Pretty clean and well taken care of too. I think that alot of the shots are the same although others have said different, but we all threw alot of the same shots on most of the holes.(At least from the red tees.) Cool having 36 in the same park.
Cons: The signage could be better, maybe a course map as well. We walked around alot trying to find where we were going. Some of the holes are in the open field when there seems to be alot of potential in the woods.
Other Thoughts: After hole 7 walk up the hill for 8. Cant wait to see the gold course go in. Lots of great potential for a city park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 To me more fun than blue but not as challenging

1    3/31/2009   4/1/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Almost no holes the same. Some very interesting basket locations especially 16 and I think 9. Several memorable shots even though most were easy. Most of the course seemed more secluded than the blue course, until you get to some of the open holes on the back 9. Most of the front 9 is pretty secluded and I think 15-17 also. Used elevation and woods as effectively as possible, considering this is a city park not a state park. Even though it was busy, it didn't feel like it and I only had to wait about 5 minutes total.

Cons: Some of the basket locations on the back 9 are right next to the park road. and 1 of them is an "island hole", in that it is in the median between the entrance and the exits of the red's parking lot. Not to mention 18's basket which is RIGHT next to the curb!! In my opinion when a basket sits next to a paved road, it adds an element of cheesiness as if you ran out of room when designing the course.
Other Thoughts: I can understand rating the blue higher. It is harder and longer. Besides that, I didn't think one really stood out over the other in my opinion. I guess with 54 holes in a city park, you will have to put in some holes "cram style" next to the road.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course all around.

2-4    3/10/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is your typical disc golf course in a public park. Mainly straight holes with a few doglegs. A nicely moderately wooded course that makes it tricky but not too difficult. Like the use of trees to obscure some of the baskets. Each hole is rather unique and you don't feel like you are throwing the same teeshot over and over. Teepads are in great shape and the signs are decent. There are also the neat looking rock teesigns as well,nicely done. Multiple pins mix up the challenge.
Cons: Again, naviagtion and signage usage! Difficult to know where to throw or where to go. Mix of basket types. Can be rather busy on this course so you could always go over to the other courses and play if too bad. Some trash laying around despite the trash cans.
Other Thoughts: Nothing just jumps out at me about this course rather it is just solid all around. Popular course for a reason, well designed, keeps the interest and well liked. Holes 16 and 17 add a little bit more of a challenge. The course plays on a sandy type of soil that doesn't get too muddy that is able to be played shortly after a rain.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Walkin in a sand dune

2-4    4/19/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 177  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The easier of the two courses,still a fun course with slight elevation,Runs smoother then the longer blue course.
Cons: Some pretty easy par holes for your average disc golfer
Other Thoughts: Together these two courses are hard not to play back-to-back the locals must have alot of time on there hands.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun course

2-4    6/15/2008   1/28/2009
Review By: cc0049
Played: 104  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a very fun and very challenging course. There are concrete tee pads on all holes and they provide the opportunity to choose between a short or a long, which I love. The long tees seemed to add quite a bit more length and challenge on the holes. Speaking from memory, it seemed that there were more open holes on the Red course than the Blue and that overall the holes were just slightly shorter. There were a lot of really fun shots on this course...through trees, over trees, long downhills, uphills, hyzer, anhyzer. You name the shot, there was an opportunity that allowed for it. The baskets are good and the course was in great shape. I really enjoyed playing here and will look forward to the next time I'm in Tyler to play again. The Red course was much easier to navigate than the Blue and since more people were playing the Red course it was easier to ask for directions if I did need help.
Cons: There aren't really an negatives that I can think of. There are more open holes on this course than on the Blue course, so that made part of the course a little more boring.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I think that I enjoyed the Blue course a little more, simply because it seemed a little more challenging. I played Blue first, then Red. Next time I'll reverse it and see if that has any effect on my opinion of the courses. I also played in heavy Texas heat, so these courses could have been even more enjoyable than they already were.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but confusing

2-4    11/22/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of fun, memorable holes - several that play along a tree line with the basket tucked back into the woods/rough. Some of the greens for these typs of holes are faily open, others VERY tight.

Elevation in play on many holes - used very creatively on some. A few hill-side greens to keep you on your toes when putting. Several holes have alternate baskets...but you'll have to get a local to show you these.

Several true par 4 holes...always a great thing!

Nice concrete tee pads on all and cool stone hole markers on most.
Cons: Course flow...plan on getting a little lost your first time through, unless you can find a local to show you around. The 2 courses in this park cross over and play next to each other in a few spots, so you have to really pay attention to what hole you're playing. Could use some better signage.

Each tee box has both blue and red text spray-painted on it...which makes the course flow even more confusing.

A few holes with unreasonably tough fairways or blind baskets that require you to walk almost the entire length of the hole to find. Some of these holes are actually really fun after you've played them once or twice, but are just frustrating the first time through.

Some holes have an OB creek in play, which can't be seen from the tee or even the middle of the fairway in come cases. If you think you see a depression in the ground ahead of you, go check it for water before throwing. Some of the creeks look small and shallow, but are actually fairly deep and pretty nasty.

Finally....sticker burrs ALL OVER the ground! Be careful when trying to kneel for a low-ceiling putt :)
Other Thoughts: If the course had better signage (showing an overview of the hole, and the direction to the next) and some maps available, this course would be among my favorites. From a design standpoint, 90% of the course is great, but there are a few very boring holes and some that need to be opened up / cleared out a bit. This is my favorite of the 2 courses at Lindsey park...nice mix of lines/lengths.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice

1    11/14/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: Stan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice course and well worth playing. It has a good mix of holes...respectable length with the ability to add distance by utilizing the alternate tees...open shots and wooded shots.

Most of the drives requiring distance are fairly open holes...yet still require accuracy. In order to get to the basket, you'll need to land your disc in a given area, past an obstacle, on the appropriate side of a tree, etc.
Cons: Out of bounds comes into play in the form of a street (the entrance into the park). One shot actually has to go over the entrance to the parking lot...if the park were busy, you would probably have to skip that hole.
Other Thoughts: It is a nice course and is one I would play again. Make an afternoon of it and play both the Red and the Blue. (I prefer the Blue course).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Seeing Red

1    11/14/2008   11/16/2008
Review By: onjejank
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun course with a great mix of some short and some longer holes. Also a nice blend of hyzer and anhyzer shots so all around, you will be challenged to have a complete game here. This course opens up for a few holes and flirts with OB so you have to deal with wind and be accurate. A fun challenge.
Cons: If there's lots of traffic in the park or lots of activity in the parking lot, there are three or four holes that will be tough to complete. A few holes on this course had no clear line. Signage to next holes would help - but not too bad on this course.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time playing Red, but of the two, the Blue course wins the day. Still, a really fun course and best when played as the first of two rounds at Lindsey Park (if you have time).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

7/6/2000   12/24/2007
Review By: overstable
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros:
first course I played when I moved down.....good range of shots anti and hyzer...not as hard as blue but nice to play!!
Cons: short..
Other Thoughts: 365 disc golf..

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great place to play golf

1/20/2007   11/26/2007
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Shorter of the two courses setup in the same park. But still long and challenging, but not as crazy challenging as the blue course.
Cons: No negatives I can remember. Not getting any younger!
Other Thoughts: I'd like to play this course again but don't expect I'll ever be in Tyler again. You never know though!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.