Springdale, AR 
Sports Life DGC Share
Uploaded By: eye-ball-sac Hole #2 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Beginner/Intermediate

1    12/27/2012   5/10/2013
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in the open grounds of this large church. There are some baseball fields, and some roads in play, but there shouldn't be any interference with DG on any random day.
- Some moderately hilly terrain here, there is a decent mix of uphill and downhill shots. #13 and #14 are the most noticeable downhill shots, #5 and #15 are valley shots, and #12 and #16 play uphill. Nothing extremely major except for #13, but it adds variety to the tee shots. Also some places where the fairway slopes on the sides, like #8 and #9.
- A few trees here and there to force line shaping; #1-#4 have an increasing amount that encourage a RHBH hyzer line. #10's basket is close to some trees, and #16 has rough all along the right side.
- Man-made OB in multiple spots, some holes play next to roads, others play over one or two roads. Also some random pieces of concrete here and there, like on the left side of #3. Not that having concrete in the fairway is a Pro; but it really helps to add some challenge.
- Pretty good mix of hole lengths, half of them are 348' or longer. Seven of the rest are under 300', but none are ridiculously short. Good test of distance overall.
- Natural tees are in pretty good shape, baskets are top notch, signs are good though some were on the ground. Navigation is pretty straightforward, map isn't absolutely necessary.
Cons: - Vast, vast majority of the shots here are wide open. Absolutely wide open. And the holes that do have trees, aren't anything special. Definitely a grip-n-rip course from start to finish with little thought needed towards line shaping.
- Course is bordered by roads on two sides, with a fair amount of traffic. Very little seclusion to be had anywhere on the course.
Other Thoughts: - A decent course that rewards distance over anything else. The biggest challenge is making sure you don't end up in a road somewhere. Great place for beginners to chuck some plastic, or for driving practice with some minor elevation changes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Its All Good

5+    9/17/2012   12/24/2012
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is pretty good. It is by far the best disc golf course in Springdale and one of the best in the area. This course is 18 holes of variety. I dont think any of the holes were the same. The tee signs are very nice and look to be brand new. The baskets are monkey trap and they are very very nice. The course takes advantage of all of the trees and all of the hills in the park by usuing them to make the course more challenging and more fun. You wont lose a disc exept for maybe one hole.
Cons: Some of the baskets are too close to the road and cars could be hit. On 2 of the holes, you even have to throw across streets. The tee boxes are just a piece of wood at the front of the "tee box" They are natural tees (dirt and rocks). I really wish this course had some decent tee boxes. This course is super open and would not be a good idea to play in the summer when its super hot. They redid the baseball fence so on that hole, its even harder to jump the fence now.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Its a really fun course. It has lots of potentional to become the best in the area. The holes range from 300 to about 400 feet which is pretty typical. The course is also home to a cross country course. I always have fun playing this course, even when its hot. If youre in the area, you should try this course out.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 NIce and Open

2-4    6/28/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: DGCakes
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very open
Holes for long drives
Hard to lose discs
Well kept
Some elevation variations
Easy to find tee boxes
Cons: Not much diversity
Throw the same shot a lot
No real tee boxes
Baskets a little outdated
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course compared to the town its in. I like playing this course, but it won't make you really any better, unless you're working only on your tee-offs.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Monkey Trap on Display

1    3/27/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: Ricky1962
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nicest, newest perfect set of monkey trap baskets I've ever seen.
Lots of long holes.
Only a few places where losing a disc is a hazard.
Cons: Grass tees have become rather muddy or difficult to use.
Some baskets are a little too close to the road.
Other Thoughts: Super nice, brand new Monkey Trap baskets.
Add some decent tee boxes, and this course would go right on my favorite list.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/20/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: cream
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very few holes even have the potential to frustrate you; easy to navigate; I really liked the red baskets; this is a good course to get good scores and play when you just want to let your drives fly without adjusting for things in your way.
Cons: This course isn't very challenging; there are parts that aren't mowed and your disc can hide; holes nine and ten are way too close to the baseball fields and they like to keep all the entrances to the fields locked; there's a big cement block in the middle of the 2nd or 3rd hole where a house used to be and it's OB; lots of traffic on the surrounding roads.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun.

5+    8/18/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: random2006
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mostly open with trees to add difficulty.
No real possibility of losing a disc in the front 9.
Good use of space.
Cons: Too open to play on a very hot day.
Two of the holes run along side baseball fields and I've had to jump the fence to retrieve a few discs.
A few of the holes are placed right on the side of a hill making the approach shots difficult if you over throw but that also makes it more fun.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Well Designed, Fun Course. No lost discs here!

1    7/28/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: gfox
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Thoughtfully designed. This course takes full advantage of every hill and tree to create a fun course

-A good variety of technical and distance holes

-Very nice tee signs,

-There is a great flow to the course, starts and ends at the same parking lot.

-Birdies are within reach even for the none pro, but by no means guaranteed.

-Friendly locals
Cons: - No benches or bag hooks

-Tee pads are dirt, but it really didn't bother me at all on this course, I doubt it will bother you either.

-If you like water holes and big roughs, this course isn't for you.
Other Thoughts: I def. would play again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sports Life DGC...

2-4    4/30/2011   5/1/2011
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is very well maintained, almost no trash. Mostly open, but has some nice slightly wooded holes. Awesome signs and baskets. The signs look like they're made by houck design, but I'm not sure. Baskets are made by Disc Golf Monkey (called monkey traps) and catch very well. Good variety in hole distances (219-525). Good variety in hyzer/straight/anhyzer holes. Very creative O.B., but sometimes feels a little gimmicky.
Cons: No trash cans or benches. Tee pads are grass, but have a wooden plank to mark the front of them. Hole 8 has some weird rock tee pad right now that is horrible, so I just teed off to the right of it. 3 holes play right next to a busy road.
Other Thoughts: It was very windy when I played here. Other reviewers have complained about the distance and baseball fields. I thought the baseball fields made it better, but I guess other people don't like it. I don't know if the park has been redesigned or not, but I thought the distances were fair. Threw a disc into the road, and a car almost ran over it.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.