Ithaca, NY
Robison DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Better than expected

2-4    5/1/2012   5/2/2012
Review By: esdubya
Played: 93  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good Terrain
-Some fun throws
-Nice signage
Cons: -Only 9 holes
-Small, rubber teepads
-Some redundant throws
-Swampy areas
Other Thoughts: The elevation on this course makes a few shots really cool, but I think the design could utilize the terrain better. There isn't a nice big downhill 'payoff shot' type hole here and I think it would be nice to have one. I enjoyed playing the 9 hole loop here and I've definitely played worse courses.

I threw a few shots off target and ended up in some nasty areas, so be careful on holes #1 and #9.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/26/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: mprestop
Played: 45  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Tee pads, nice signage, nice mowed fairways. This course has seen a massive improvement since the last time I played it about a year ago. The permanent chainstar baskets are nice, the redesigned hole layouts work well & I'm glad that some of the original holes were preserved.
Cons: If you go off of the fairway lookout. While this adds to the challenge, it might turn off beginners since you'll constantly be walking through knee or waist high fauna. If possible, slightly wider fairways might help this. I guess it depends who the course is trying to cater to.
Other Thoughts: Just a minor quibble - Hole 9 should be a par 3. The par of the course is marked as 28 (all par 3's except 9 being a par 4). I threw my drive and was only about 40 ft away from the basket. It's not long enough to be a true par 4.

Hoping that the course will be expanded to 18 holes. This will make the course a higher rating. Good work DISC ITHACA

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  *sigh*

1    4/18/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: Che Zamora
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice tee type i suppose.
Cons: Not marked.
Confusing.
Likely to lose a disc, or simply not be able to get to it.
Cat tail swamp which smells like garbage.
Just not at all worth the risk of getting a tick.
Other Thoughts: My friend and i lost interest in the course after 4 holes and got in the car.
My foot sank into 5 inches of muck.
Also the entire course in a cloude of gnats.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/9/2009   1/9/2010
Review By: alx133
Played: 59  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great use of elevation, shots off of and up to.

-Reconfigured from the 9 into a 12 with rubber pads and Kiosk added.




Cons: -Potentially hard to follow without a guide (i dont think there is a map yet)
-Some cattail swampiness to deal with
-Not mowed in the summer so grass can get a bit ridiculous
-Hole 2's basket got mangled somehow (vandalism by college students or by god)
-Three baskets disconnected to the nine basket loop could be hard to find with out a guide.
-Lamest of landowners on the border of the course
-Not many trees coming into play
-Mostly shorter holes
Other Thoughts: This course is a nice contrast to the other 9 hole course in Ithaca (Belle Sherman) and they are relatively close to each other.
Popular for Dog walkers and sledding
This course has also seen some improvement, and there is potential for expansion to 18 according to the Kiosk
Worth playing if you have a guide or patience (although the new 9 loop is fairly intuitive) but if your looking for more substance then head to TC3

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 #2 in Ithaca

1    7/2/2011   6/6/2007
Review By: timg
Played: 220  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent signage at each tee, including a "next tee" indicator on the sign. Great use of elevation, just about every hole on the course has a slope of some sort to contend with. The course also flows well and is fairly easy to navigate without a map.
Cons: The rough is THICK and fairways are pretty narrow. If you stray off the path you may be looking for your disc for a little while. A spotter definitely wouldn't hurt on some holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a great alternative to TC3 if you're in Ithaca and probably the #2 course in the area after TC3 in my opinion. I had a lot of fun playing the course and like I mentioned in the cons, I'd highly recommend a spotter on a few holes... especially if you have a big arm.

If you're in the Ithaca area and you've played TC3 already or want a fun warm-up course, look no further, I don't think you'll be disappointed (unless you lose a disc!)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.