Layout Extinct

Sellersville, PA 
Sellersville DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: BradC Hole #5 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 120ft.   3 / 215ft.   3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice complement to the area

1    4/23/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 29  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 2.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I stopped by Sellersville for the first time the other day and I was very pleased with the variety of different shots the course offers and what the layout is able to accomplish with the area given to it. Each hole is somewhat unique: dogleg left, dogleg right, open field fairway, elevated basket, baskets near water, and narrow fairways lined by trees. Hole 9 is a tremendous finishing hole (over a winding creek twice!) that allows you to remember the course after you've left. The baskets were in good shape, and with the yellow ring on top, made them easy to spot on an extremely overcast day. There were bag hooks at some tee boxes and even cement markers in the ground to mark the 10 meter putting circle. Tee signs were hand drawn and were a unique touch. The grass was mowed, and overall park maintenance was good.
Cons: Navigation is a bit screwy the first time out, even with the map. I followed the driving directions on this site and ended up parking by tee 6. I ended up playing the tees in this order: 6, 7, 8, 1-5, 9. This is only an issue the first time through, but I definitely got in the way of other golfers as I tried to find my bearings
Other Thoughts: I was impressed with how well the course was integrated into the park without obstructing other activities, such as the walking path. Having alternate tees marked in the grass is really nice if you come here often and want a different perspective on things.

This course is more wide open than the other 9 hole nearby, Unami, and plays completely different. It offers a different type of challenge and really tests your mid range and putting due to basket locations so close to the water. Nothing too deep that you couldn't go and fish it out, but still enough to make you think twice about your shot. I would recommend a visit if you are in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/5/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: Hartley444
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes 1,2 and good and 9 is excellent. Big open fields for a few holes is great for beginners to master distance. Other people at the park were extremely helpful in finding the holes.
Cons: With the other high ratings I expected this course to be excellent but I was a bit disappointed. It has a good 1st, 2nd and 9th hole but many of the other holes lack obstacles. It is good course if you are not looking for elevation changes and obstacles.
Other Thoughts: I love that this course has weekly doubles and taqgs although I haven't played. It seems to get a lot of use and is well maintained. Looking forward to seeing all 18 holes when completed. I wish Quakertown would make a nice course thyat could attract players like this course.(besides nock)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My first time playing this course.

1    2/10/2012   2/10/2012
Review By: Chuckie1974
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Overall I was very pleased with the course! You really need to have an arsenal full of shots to navigate through this moderately wooded, dog-legged course. That in itself makes this course fun! I will definitely play it again! Take the drive to this course, it's worth it!
Cons: Very sloppy though the first 5 holes, especially the first hole! Not a good beginner course because it requires a great deal of accuracy to post good scores. Some of the holes should be par 4's and they are ALL par 3's. If you are looking to be under par consistently, practice, practice, practice, before you come out!
Other Thoughts: People are very friendly and helpful! Nice neighborhood! However, it is a little bit of a challenge to find. Make sure your GPS is working! Have fun!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Local Spot

5+    5/1/2011   5/8/2011
Review By: Serenity7981
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful course set in a public park with a creek running thru it. Holes are challenging but not very long. Course has a nice mix of wooded and open areas.
Cons: As with any wooded course the poison ivy and sticker bushes pose some annoyance. With water in play on 7 of the 9 holes your disc is bound to take a dip at least once.
Other Thoughts: Very nice local 9 hole with a rumored back 9 on its way.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.