Layout Extinct

Sellersville, PA 
Sellersville DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: BradC Hole #6 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 190ft.   3 / 210ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Recently upgraded course

5+    7/2/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: MarlinRoth
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sellersville now has 18 holes available for play. The mowing for the back nine fairway is not necessarily official yet, as far as I know, but the burough mowed the new fairways once, so hopefully they will continue doing it regularly.

The original nine holes ( now #s 1-7, 17, 18) and the practice hole don't offer noticeable elevation change for the most part, but the back 9 new holes now offer quite a few noticeable elevation changes.

I am a beginner (4 months into it now), and I am at this course almost every day if my job gives me the time to. It has really progressed my game quickly and I am noticing a lot of improvement. This course is excellent for beginners and experts alike.

Many holes have water involved.

Mix of wide open drives and smaller, tight drives on tees throughout the course.

Regular maintenance and improvement. Multiple tees are going to be added to the back nine holes driving and putting practice.

Tags/Doubles meets once a week with many of the locals and everyone is welcome.
Cons: After a day or two of rain, many of the fairways can get very soft and spongy.

Some poison ivy is near hole one but most of the weeds are completely harmless.

If you lose a disc, there is a chance that high schoolers will find it and not return it. Also I know of 3 adults who take discs regardless of if your name is on it. I guess there is people like that in every park and every sport though.
Other Thoughts: It is in a public park that is used by dog-walkers and children and boyscouts. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but take measures to respect other people using the park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice complement to the area

1    4/23/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 30  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I stopped by Sellersville for the first time the other day and I was very pleased with the variety of different shots the course offers and what the layout is able to accomplish with the area given to it. Each hole is somewhat unique: dogleg left, dogleg right, open field fairway, elevated basket, baskets near water, and narrow fairways lined by trees. Hole 9 is a tremendous finishing hole (over a winding creek twice!) that allows you to remember the course after you've left. The baskets were in good shape, and with the yellow ring on top, made them easy to spot on an extremely overcast day. There were bag hooks at some tee boxes and even cement markers in the ground to mark the 10 meter putting circle. Tee signs were hand drawn and were a unique touch. The grass was mowed, and overall park maintenance was good.
Cons: Navigation is a bit screwy the first time out, even with the map. I followed the driving directions on this site and ended up parking by tee 6. I ended up playing the tees in this order: 6, 7, 8, 1-5, 9. This is only an issue the first time through, but I definitely got in the way of other golfers as I tried to find my bearings
Other Thoughts: I was impressed with how well the course was integrated into the park without obstructing other activities, such as the walking path. Having alternate tees marked in the grass is really nice if you come here often and want a different perspective on things.

This course is more wide open than the other 9 hole nearby, Unami, and plays completely different. It offers a different type of challenge and really tests your mid range and putting due to basket locations so close to the water. Nothing too deep that you couldn't go and fish it out, but still enough to make you think twice about your shot. I would recommend a visit if you are in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/5/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: Hartley444
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Holes 1,2 and good and 9 is excellent. Big open fields for a few holes is great for beginners to master distance. Other people at the park were extremely helpful in finding the holes.
Cons: With the other high ratings I expected this course to be excellent but I was a bit disappointed. It has a good 1st, 2nd and 9th hole but many of the other holes lack obstacles. It is good course if you are not looking for elevation changes and obstacles.
Other Thoughts: I love that this course has weekly doubles and taqgs although I haven't played. It seems to get a lot of use and is well maintained. Looking forward to seeing all 18 holes when completed. I wish Quakertown would make a nice course thyat could attract players like this course.(besides nock)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My first time playing this course.

1    2/10/2012   2/10/2012
Review By: Chuckie1974
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Overall I was very pleased with the course! You really need to have an arsenal full of shots to navigate through this moderately wooded, dog-legged course. That in itself makes this course fun! I will definitely play it again! Take the drive to this course, it's worth it!
Cons: Very sloppy though the first 5 holes, especially the first hole! Not a good beginner course because it requires a great deal of accuracy to post good scores. Some of the holes should be par 4's and they are ALL par 3's. If you are looking to be under par consistently, practice, practice, practice, before you come out!
Other Thoughts: People are very friendly and helpful! Nice neighborhood! However, it is a little bit of a challenge to find. Make sure your GPS is working! Have fun!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 New, Developing & Full of Potential

1    5/15/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 122  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New rubber mat tees were as expected - 'standard' size, level and easy to throw from. The hole number can be found on the wood border at the front of each tee. (there are no tee signs when I played but I understand they will be installed eventually)
DISCatcher baskets - brand new, great catchers & the yellow color makes them easier to see off the tee (when visible from the pads).
Risk/reward - water in play on 7 of 9 holes is the major hazard/challenge here - several baskets are placed precariously near the water's edge plus fairways bordered by/throwing over water makes one mindful of shot selection.
Good hole variety - tight fairways, low ceilings, open/semi-open, lightly/heavily wooded - with a sense of balance in hole length (3 holes under 250 ft, three between 250-299ft and three that are 300 ft or more)
Fairways mix in a couple straight and left shots with right turning holes being most prominent (#2,3,4,6 & 8)
Some nice subtleties - '10 ft' markers in the ground showing distance to pin for 'putting perspective' plus directional arrows embedded in the ground near the base of the basket pointing toward the next tee.
#4's raised basket by the creek is a nice touch of elevation on an otherwise flat course.
Cinder block bridge on hole #1's fairway aiding in crossing over soggy ground - this shows the designer is aware of the bogginess issue and taking steps to minimize the condition known as 'mushy foot'.
Very beginner friendly but with enough challenge to hold the interest of those with more DG experience.
Community awareness & enthusiasm - the course is new and has only been playable for a short period of time but practically everyone encountered in the park (general park goers engaging in non-DG activities) was conscious of the course, actively engaging in discussion about it, offering navigation assistance and had basic curiosity about disc golf in general. I can't EVER remember being at a course with this much responsiveness and interest from non-dg-ers.
Cons: Navigation may be tough for first timers (currently no tee signs or kiosk) so the current map on DGCR is recommended as a rough guide
Mainly flat/lacks elevation changes
Flow is somewhat fragmented - notable is 2's transition to 3 and the walk to 9 as well as walking back to 8 around 7's fairway. However these things are understandable due to land use restrictions, getting the best holes possible out of the land, the course still being in its infancy, etc.
Alt Tees (red brick) difficult to locate due to no tee signs, no 'formal' map & high grass obstructing them (and from what the course designer indicated, they're currently in a 'state of flux' as their location is still being 'tweaked' so this will develop over time)
Some holes were soggy and retained moisture so wear proper footwear and watch your step
Park is heavily used for other activities (walking path goes around much of the course) so be conscious of other park goers
Other Thoughts: Sellersville DG has some well designed, 'true' golf holes - the kind that demand discipline in shot selection (you're really not going to try and throw that high speed driver at full speed on the narrow, low tunnel hole #1 are you?), accurate line shaping (tree jail on #2 if your line isn't perfectly sculpted on this narrow, right turning hole), consideration when putting (do you make a run at it or play it safe with baskets placed by the creek on #1, 4, 5,6 & 9) & risk/reward (#9's drive where you cross the creek twice on route to a pin on a peninsula).

Being in an established town park, there are going to be limitations on what the 'course can be' design-wise & issues like soggy ground and other park goers being near/on the course are to be expected. I commend the designer for making the most of it and accept the course for what it is: a fun nine holer with some solid holes, intelligent use of the available land/water and a fine introduction to disc golf for the local community.

Whenever a new course pops up in the vicinity, I'm enthusiastic about checking it out and understand there will be opportunity for growth. Therefore I was somewhat reluctant to write a review as this course is very young and still in the developing stages which subsequently will affect its rating. However, it's only going to keep improving (actually I'm expecting it to) so I'm looking forward to subsequent visits where I can experience the progress first hand and update this review accordingly.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Not Your Average Community Park Course

1    5/22/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/11/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sellersville DGC is a great addition to the nine-hole courses that dot the area between Philadelphia and the Lehigh Valley. A short distance from 309, the park itself (in which the course resides) isn't difficult to find.

The course features a great mix of fairways in terms of shape (left-turning, right-turning, straight, "S-shaped", and a solid hook-shaped), length, and composition (wooded, open, and a mix of open/wooded). Alternate tees are currently being installed on most of the holes, eventually allowing the current nine holes to be played as 18.

The holes featuring woods are challenging but fair. This certainly applies to holes #1 and #2, but is especially the case on hole #7. Hole #7 is a beautiful wooded hole studded with trees throughout the entire length with possible lines all over the fairway and finishing at a protected basket encircled by trees. Sellersville DGC makes good use of natural obstacles (like downed trees) and the elevated basket on one of the holes certainly helps to raise this course above many other nine-hole courses in the area.

There are water hazards on many of the holes are intelligently designed to push the player to focus on accuracy from the drive through to the putt. This is especially so on hole #9 where water can come into play up to three or more times. The winding creek was nicely worked into the layout of many of the holes.

The large fly pads were clean, flat, and included the hole number. The newly-installed baskets were in great condition. Hand-painted tee signs showing obstacles, hazards, distances, and par are a very nice touch. Next tee signs are also very helpful in getting around the course. New bag hangers at each of the primary tees is a welcome amenity.

The park itself is quaint and very well-maintained, mowed, and clean. In addition to being a challenging aspect of the course, the meandering creek (and its water falls) provide a great aesthetic backdrop.
Cons: While the park is easy to find, getting to the course is a little difficult the first time as the first tee and parking area are located apart from the main enterance. Getting to the first tee might be a bit confusing the first time you play. Neither of these issues should come into play during subsequent rounds, especially as signage is continually improving at the course.

The course is very soggy in several different areas following any precipitation. Although there had been a lot of rain leading up to my round, given the topography and soil composition, some of these trouble spots are unlikely to dry out completely. Additionally, the course has very little variation in elevation. Both of these cons need to be taken with a grain of salt, however, as the designer was forced to work with the land that was available and the layout uses as much of the land as possible, including the mushier areas. Specific to the flatness of the ground throughout the course, the elevated basket helps elleviate this to a degree.

Although it's still being cleaned out, there is some poison ivy in the rough and stinging nettle around edge of the creek that could turn your round sidewayz if you happen to brush up against these plants.
Other Thoughts: Because it's located in a multi-use public space, you may encounter other park patrons during your round. Golfers need to play with safety and mutual respect in mind.

Sellersville DGC was designed well and was pleasantly challenging. Despite being installed on a shoestring budget, the course has the amenities necessary for a good round of DG and the countless hours of selfless volunteer work that has been performed really shows through.

Sellersville DGC is still a work in process and there are many improvements on the way (including a possible back nine). Additionally, work is still being performed to clear the rough (including the poison ivy and stinging nettle). Already a good place to play, once these additional items are complete, Sellersville DGC will be a solid option for the folks in upper Montgomery/lower Bucks county that currently live in a DG dead zone.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice compliment to nockamixon

1    5/10/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: Kunztown
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course offers a nice array of shots. Open field on hole 3, To a tree that hangs near the tee on hole 5. Hole 4 has a lifted basket and two ways to tee off...around the trees, or in between them through a narrow trail....definitely a good element. Hole 9 is the signature hole across 2 streams... Not a long hole, but challenging if you Have a "fail" on tee off.
Cons: I heard signs are on the way, but for now each hole has an arrow leading to the next. The most difficult hole to find was the first one, which is down the small alley and to the right.
Other Thoughts: The course was well layed out, and is a nice compliment to nockamixon. The tee's are brand new and the course is well maintained. Can't wait for the back 9. This course raises the bar to other "lackluster" 9 hole courses in the area.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Sellersville DGC

5+    5/8/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: stout202
Played: 50  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good 9-hole course set in a nice public park. Mostly wooded with a few open holes. Tight fairways on the wooded holes force you to shape your drive very accurately. Water comes into play on almost every hole but the creek is usually low so fishing your disc out isn't too difficult. This is especially true on the signature 9th hole that plays over the creek twice through a narrow gap in the woods. Good variety of shots will be required to post low scores but is playable by any level of disc golfer. Elevated basket on hole 4 presents a unique challenge with the creek right behind it (make a run for the chains or lay up??). At this time the baskets and tee pads are brand new and in excellent condition. Overall a very good course that is a must-play if you are in the area.
Cons: The park is shared by a number of other activities (baseball, walking path, etc) so it's important to be careful while playing.
Navigation is difficult right now but I am told signage is on the way (the course is brand new).
Open field on hole 3 and some other areas of the course get a little sloppy after it rains
Other Thoughts: Another gem to add to the growing list of excellent DG courses in this area. I am told that depending on use of the course and public perception it may be expanded to 18 so please stop by!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Local Spot

5+    5/1/2011   5/8/2011
Review By: Serenity7981
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful course set in a public park with a creek running thru it. Holes are challenging but not very long. Course has a nice mix of wooded and open areas.
Cons: As with any wooded course the poison ivy and sticker bushes pose some annoyance. With water in play on 7 of the 9 holes your disc is bound to take a dip at least once.
Other Thoughts: Very nice local 9 hole with a rumored back 9 on its way.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.