Estherville, IA 
Joe Hoye Park Share
Uploaded By: Martin Dewgarita Hole #2 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 203ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Park Course

1    5/8/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 331  Reviewed: 329  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Nice baskets
+Concrete tees
+Signs that have distance and hole number. Baskets are in sight mostly so it is easy to find your way around. Great flow.
+Good mix of hole lengths. Some around 200, some around 300, nothing too long.
+Good mix of tree amounts. Some are pretty open, some are more wooded. One is a pretty tight alley.
+The course had a decent fun factor for me. It wasn't super challenging but you still had to hit your lines. There are ace runs on most holes. It was well maintained and quite a relaxing round in a sleepy city park.
+Shouldn't lose a disc here.
Cons: -On the shorter side overall.
-Tees are short, they don't need to be much longer because the course isn't too long.
-Some holes are a little too open for my taste.
-Not much for elevation here.
-This course is in a floodplain and could be flooded in spring.
Other Thoughts: +This course has a high fun factor and is worth a stop if you are in the area. It is slightly behind Okoboji Gold for top course in the area. It is a pretty quick play and doesn't look like it is busy often so you can get a quick round in.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Worth a round or three

2-4    10/16/2013   1/14/2014
Review By: bils247
Played: 48  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.1 Years
Pros: Secluded from town
well maintained public park
small play ground and shelter house with power
requires a variety of skill shots for birdies if playing all par 3's as we always do
Nice tees, although I would agree with a previous review...not aligned properly on all holes
Cons: Spring flooding!!!
A bit buggy after flooding and stagnant water can remain on the course for quite some time after the flood subsides
Other Thoughts: We have played this course with several variations based upon flooding and have found that using some o the tees for holes they were not originally intended for proved to be quite fun and challenging......just what I like in a quick round.

joe hoye

5+    7/5/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: mev53
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.1 Years
Pros: Nice course fun fast playing.
You will find yourself Always trying to play it a different way
Nice signs.
Nice tee pads
Cons: Floods in the spring and hard rain. Check the conditions before u go .
Other Thoughts: one nice thumber shot
What out for the dog next door.

 

1    7/8/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: dsmeyer
Played: 33  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.2 Years
Pros: Nice short course.
Good for beginners.
Has some trees and some open shots.
Appears well groomed and maintained.
Signs for all but hole 8.
Cement Tee pads.
Cons: Many of the fairways play across each other, so with much traffic, it gets very crowded.
A few of the tee pads are not aligned very well, and with all the baskets close it can be a little confusing as to which basket you are headed towards.
Some the signs have pars marked as fours, but I would say they are all threes.
Other Thoughts: If the fairways were more separated it would be much better.

 Easy, Fun, and Quick Course

1    4/1/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: nickolaswoods
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is scenic, next to a branch of the Des Moines river.

-The course is great for a beginner as it is all ~250-400 ft. shots. Mostly around 300 ft.

-It has some wooded terrain with a hill coming into play on hole #2.

-The baskets are in good shape and there are nice concrete tee's for all the holes except #8 that I believe got washed away in last years flooding. Otherwise, I just couldn't find it.

-The course is laid out in order so you do not have to search around or really guess which basket.
Cons: -Some of the holes offer little obstacles, so not a lot of hard shots. And most shots are about the same distance, besides 1 which is maybe 400ft.

-Tee 8 seems to be missing to my best guess.

-If the river is flooded, the course could be unplayable.

-A few of the Pars are a little generous...I was able to make Par using my mid-range and not use my distance thrower.
Other Thoughts: Definitely one of the best courses in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  A fun 9 hole course!

2-4    8/11/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: CSUMB Disc Golf
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was an eagle scout project and the kid did a great job on the course.
-Mixed verity of shots
-Some short holes, and some longer holes
-Everything is well marked with the distances and easy to find all the holes.
-Concrete tee pads
-Some holes are wide open and others have a fair amount trees.
-course is well maintained
Cons: - some of the holes are kind of short
-only one basket position per hole
- some of the pars are very generous ( like hole #7, its wide open and only 311 feet long and it is a a par 4)
Other Thoughts: The course is played along some farm land and a river. the whole course is on grass so no skip shots. It was my first time playing the course and I didn't know what to expect, and was very pleased with how it was set up.
Over all, it is one of the best courses in the area and is a must play if you are in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.