Billings, MT
Pioneer Park - Summer 9 Share
Uploaded By: DiSCRoCKeR Hole #7 (Taken 9/2011)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Pretty Little Park, but Really Crowded

1    4/17/2014   4/17/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 44  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a typical park type course with lots of mowed grass, tall trees, and very little brush.

The course is on rolling terrain, so there is some element of up/down on many holes. Decent variety of hole lengths and enough trees to make to consider your line. Nice little creek cuts the course in half and adds an interesting element.

Good concrete teepads and baskets.
Cons: Incredibly crowded. I tried to play this course on a nice weekday afternoon in April, and almost gave up. There were easily 25 - 30 other folks playing, mostly teens. The amount of yelling, cursing, and throwing on other folks was amazing. Chaos, plain and simple.

This is not a large course so many of the holes are close enough together for poor driving to become an issue quickly.

Not a sign on the course, so you get to sort of feel your way along. I was able to watch others to get a sense of course navigation, but some folks were obviously playing whatever holes they were close to.
Other Thoughts: I only got a chance to try this course once, and would like to go back on a weekday morning before school lets out. It would still be an average park course, but would be much easier to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun

5+    10/5/2011   6/5/2013
Review By: Caveman1829
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
Pros: -Nice use of elevation, scattered trees, and water.
-Nice concrete tee offs
-The course is situated away from other park features that attract walkers, kids, etc. so no people in the way.
Cons: -Can get very crowded
-Not marked well, but ask a local and you'll quickly pick up on the layout.
-Quick course, leaves you wanting to maybe even take a 2nd round of it
-The one creek has an undercurrent and will hide your disc so some digging may be necessary to get it out if you hit the water.
Other Thoughts: Time it to avoid the crowd and you'll love it. Great for all level of players. Nice mix of pars. Very family friendly, can definitely bring the dog or stroller.

Fun course in the middle of town

2-4    6/29/2011   1/7/2013
Review By: windsurf17
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10
Pros: This isn't a destination course, but it's fun if you are in Billings and want to golf. I bet it gets crowded now and then.
Cons: I only play when I'm in the area visiting family. I've played mostly summer mornings. There are a couple of holes that I worry about clobbering someone on a run or walk. I had to skip holes where there were other park users using. It's their park too, so I don't have any issue with that, other than there may be times when the round will be a tad staccato.


1    7/25/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: toucan2306
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Enough trees to make it tricky
-Distance was not the only factor for scores here.
-Course is away from the rest of the park making it lest crowded.
Cons: -There was not a single sign on the whole course.
-Followed a local crowd to lead us through.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course as a quick 9 on the way home for the night. I would play it again if I find myself in Billings.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond X Warm Up Course

1    10/9/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 187  Reviewed: 182  Exp: 10.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pioneer Park is a course built in a nice city park with small rolling hills, perfectly green grass and a two foot wide stream running through. The course plays up, down and around the hills with lots of low ceiling throws. There are a number of holes out here that are fairly challenging par three holes for intermediate players and a couple of shorter ones as well. This is a good place to practice rollers and skip shots depending on the condition of the grass but when I was there it was green and not too long. Lots of little hills both up and down to add some flavor to an otherwise vanilla set up. The course is easy to find and navigate, just look for the cement tee pads and all but one of the baskets are visible from the pads, even with out tee signs or a map it is easy to find your way
Cons: The course was a little bland with little obstacles and the same kind of shot on most of the holes. Since everything is low ceiling the easiest/best way to get to the hole is a roller and after throwing five or six in a row it gets a little boring. Also since so many holes are so similar once you master one of these holes you have mastered the course. A RHBH thrower on this course really has nothing to worry about and will never be forced into throwing a FH.
Other Thoughts: We used this as a warm up to the big boy that is Diamond X. We left pretty early in the morning from Bozeman so it was nice to get the body warmed up in the morning before we went out and started climbing. Overall nothing special here but it is beginner and family friendly. You're playing Diamond X so you might as well stop in here and bag a quick nine hole course while you're at it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lazy Summer 9

1    9/6/2011   9/8/2011
Review By: DiSCRoCKeR
Played: 87  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 14 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nicely manicured city park. Good cement tees. This course plays pretty quick with a round lasting about 30 - 40 minutes. Beginner friendly.
Cons: No tee signs. Most of the holes feel as though not a lot of thought went into the design/layout. It's almost impossible to have a bad round as every hole is easily attainable in 2 or 3 strokes. No multiple pin placements or alternate tees.
Other Thoughts: A decent course if you're looking for a quick round with not a lot of challenge. The winter 9 hole is a bit more fun and definitely better than the summer 9.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Time

5+    7/7/2011   7/7/2011
Review By: djjeremiahj
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Grassy Layout. Set in the middle of a city park. Uses Natural terrain to create challenging holes. Very nice residents - very friendly and willing to be impromptu course guides.

(On the day i played)
No short or gimme holes.
Decent balance of FH & BH shots. - Each hole could be played either way, but some did present easier lines with one or the other.
Concrete teeboxes.
Challenging for players of all levels.
Cons: No course markings. - No distance markings, no direction markings.
(On day i played)
All holes threw 300' or longer.
9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course and "ambassador" to the sport for the surrounding community. The layout was in a slightly open park space. The only course sign mentioned that there were alternate pin positions. The course, at first was a bit tricky to figure out, but after playing once, (and with the help of a local player) it was quite easy to figure out. It's a compact course and i played quickly in 35-40 minutes.

On the day i played -
Holes can be played either BH or FH (i did both), but -
BH - All were very long lines that felt closer to 400' (or better) than 300'. The option was either a laser straight 325'+ line through a tiny window, some crazy almost 400' hyzer, or a "shoot through the trees and pray. " - Very technical, long and advanced as a BH course. I saw no extreme hyzer/hook holes. Long straight controlled discs (with turnover capacity) would have been best on the day i played. (SL, TL, Buzzz)
FH - I played with a local who threw FH and it was a lot easier. In fact, it almost seemed a bit too easy. The FH lines are open, long, but absolutely do-able. They also throw a lot shorter and feel more like 300'-350' shots. (A full array of FH shots was beneficial on the day i played - turnover, long & straight finish, hyzer/hook)

Be careful of wind - it will be there the day you play.

In short, this is a fun course and worth playing if you are in the area playing Diamond-X. It's a compact, fast layout that after the first round or 2, you will get it dialed in very quickly. Outside of errant shots off trees, i cant say that i needed a full arsenal of mids and/or approach. Most guys i saw, and played with only carried 2 drivers. (I carried 5). Very playable with a "traveler's bag" of 3 discs.
If you are in the area (or anywhere within 500' miles) Diamond-X in the same area is a must! This course is sufficient, but not necessarily worth a special trip. But if you are passing through, it's worth the 45 minutes (to play atleast one time around the 9).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.