Omaha, NE 
Hummel Park Share
Uploaded By: AJDisc Hole #3 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / 303ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Challenging

2-4    8/2/2014   8/6/2014
Review By: bstar1992
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
Pros: This course has it all hard backhand/sidearm holes this isnt a course to play for people who just like to bomb the disc this is a very technical/ ver unforgiving course.The course starts out giving you a 600ft down hill hole it has a 91 ft elevation change from the top to the hole location. this isnt a hole where you can just rip it either more like threading a needle from 50 yards out witha shotgun. the terrain is very difficult to navigate whcih in my opinion is what makes this course just awesome because one minute your throwing a relativley clear cut straight shot hole to a omg thats the basket, the course is very fun
Cons: the layout of the course makes sense but is NOT clearly marked after hole three their is a road you need to go down the road and to the nature center , they have maps which are helpful but only because they show where the holes are generally but not the correct numbers. also if you are new to discing i strongly suggest you take someone who really knows what to look for because a few tees dont look like they are their but a seasoned discer can pick out a tee.
Other Thoughts: suggestion: bring water/ make sure you have a seasoned discer or a person who has played the course before. not a course where you want to bring heavy objects or carry alot , wear boots and long socks. bring bug spray lost of mosquitos.

if this Course was maintained properly this would be up their with the best of them "like Flip city, luddington's beast beauty and goliath, silver mountain" definitley will test your skill

Where to start... with a review

5+    7/18/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: ZMesenbrink
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Technical course for those that have honed their skills, and are up for a good challenge.
Pads, baskets, some trash cans (though not too many) and it's a beautiful course. Great for a hike through the hills.
Cons: Bring a chainsaw. This course isn't full finished. The people that designed this course feel like everyone is at their level and put baskets realllllly far away. The pars don't seem to be accurate sometimes like when they move to the far placements. You might need bug spray and hiking boots. I usually play this course and about halfway through I'm thinking "I hate this course, why did I come here?"
One just needs to play the course enough to know the lines, discs, and throws needed to work well. It's a very challenging course. Also, if you don't know the course bring someone that does, or walk far enough into the forest and you will find the next pad.
Other Thoughts: I will always play Hummel. Don't think from my review that I won't. It's like a drill sergeant. Throw off the fairway or don't think about the disc you're using, or throw you're attempting and you will need to drop and give Hummel 20, more throws that is over par. Ha!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Please improve this course

1    4/6/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: holmslice
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Massive elevation changes
-Challenging and technical
-A lot of variety of layouts - right legs, left legs, up and down
-Aesthetically pleasing
Cons: -Extremely poor tee boxes - only two had some disintegrating rubber pads
-Poor tee signage
-Poor directional signage
-Very few trash receptacles
-Very few benches
-Course does not turn back to parking area (after 9 holes)
Other Thoughts: Bring your hiking shoes, this is not a course for beginners or anyone out of shape. There is a considerable amount of elevation change and course is moderately to heavily wooded. The course makes you pay for missing the (often narrow) fairway, in some cases requiring some spelunking to retrieve your disc (i.e. right side of hole 3). Nearly every hole is very technical and seems to favor LHBH/RHFH shots. This is a beautiful course and I thoroughly enjoyed playing it. Unfortunately, it lacks several basic items that are standard to just about any course. Some holes do not even have tee signs and those that do have no indication of pin placement, and several pins are not visible from the tee. Also, the course does not loop back to the parking area until you have played an entire 18. I understand that the course is currently under construction and these improvements are planned for the near future, however I have to deduct points from the review for the current condition. This course is really deserving of a 4-4.5 score if a few improvements could be made. I would still highly recommend playing this course if you are anywhere in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

GOOD WORKOUT

1    8/25/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: OldGymRat
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Terrific challenges in elevation, hill-side putting/approaches, trees, ditches, cliffs and water make this a very fun course and get those mid-range disks into play. A truly good workout too just climbing and hiking from hole to hole. I loved it.
Cons: The on line map we download is completely confusing because it's missing some of the landmarks and roads. I'd recommend getting a satellite photo and editing that instead. Once we got past hold 4 it was easier to find the next tee. It's getting better as they work on the course. If you are not in the best of health it might be a bit much for you to hike this place. We struggled to find hole 4, losing 20 minutes to the search. This place is a nature preserve so there will be without question some conflicts between nature lovers and the yelling, cursing, drinking, smoking trash-droppers that seem to be on every course these days. It's an embarrassment and surprising that the disrespect is so overt. YES, CIGARETTE BUTTS ARE TRASH.Get yourself a pocket ash tray please and take a trash-bag into the park before they get fed-up with us and kick us out.
Other Thoughts: The course is being developed so my rating is a little low for how much fun it is. I love to hike and this course gives you a reason to do it.We ran ito a member one of the DGA's and he said they need volunteers to help pour concrete pads and other jobs that will make the course better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Keep it up...

5+    10/31/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: Nathan Stahl
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just like every other reviewer said... lots of blind throws up and over the mountain. Terrain is awesome and the trees make you pick your line and if you stray you will pay. You can get a good work out walking the course so be ready for a hike.
Cons: Need to concrete the tee pads and mark pads. It has not rained in a long time and I am glad, it would be very muddy if it had. No next tee directions and it could use it. The leaves being moved off the trail leading to the next tee box helped in guiding. Little to no seating or trash cans along the course. If they had them then maybe the lazy golfers would not leave garbage along the course.
Other Thoughts: I printed and carried the map to help get around the course. You need the map and then it is not hard to navigate and the map is 100% correct. I only took one wrong turn going from hole 8 to 9. For this one just stay on the flat and walk right around the end of the hill, do not go up the trail just across the road. Could be an easy 5 disks with a few more touch ups and additions.

UPDATE: My wife and I love this course and spent two days picking up all the trash along it. There was about 140 lbs of trash we picked up and most of it glass. Is it so hard to "Carry In and Carry Out"? Don't play it if you can't do your part.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

This is Nebraska?

1    9/16/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a wooded, hilly park. Elevation comes into play on most holes, and is the defining feature of the layout. There are a few great downhill shots, offering tight windows and plenty of punishment for missing your line along with the fun of the downhill. Several holes offer tough uphills, steep enough to really change your shot and add to the effective length. Some valley shots, an up and over and many with various smaller elevation changes make this a tough walk and a really fun play.

The park is very wooded, many of the holes have tight lines with thick enough rough to really punish errant shots. You'll need a good mix of line shaping skills, the course has a good balance of left and right turning shots with all kinds of lengths and shapes. The creek comes into play on a handful of shots, offering lurking ob and an awkward shot from the low area around the creek to get back onto the fairways.
Cons: Navigation was tricky when I played, it seems like that's a work in progress. There are a few spots with spray paint, but that's pretty sporadic and the numbering doesn't match the map available here. With no tee signs and no next tee signs, you'll end up doing quite a bit of extra walking to find your way and figure out where to throw.

The tees aren't great, some aren't all that level and a few have some ruts. Some of the hillsides show erosion, on a wet day the steeper spots would be really difficult to walk. A road is right along several holes, taking away from the secluded feeling. A couple holes play directly over the park road, potentially a safety issue.
Other Thoughts: This course is a blast, with lots of challenging shots and a ton of variety. I love courses that use elevation well to mix things up, and this one definitely fits the bill. Advanced players will definitely be tested here, there's not a ton of length but most other disc golf skills are needed to score well. Beginners will find this a tough walk and a tough layout, there is a lot of rough and plenty of potential for roll aways on top of difficult shots.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting, rough

1    7/9/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: Rob Martin
Played: 101  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging holes.
Nice woods.
Quiet course.
17 nearly new baskets.
Cons: '17' nearly new baskets on an 18 hole course. Basket 6 was completely dug up, concrete base and all.
No signs.
Only 2 garbage cans on whole course and they were overflowing. Really dislike seeing garbage laying everywhere.
Only a few benches.

Hole 8 doesn't actually have a defined fairway. It does not curve like the map shows because that route is solid trees. You actually have to shoot downhill across park road about 2/3's of the distance to land in a safe zone.
Needs better marking from hole 8 to hole 9. Don't go up the path that leads up the hill. Need to keep walking along road to next large open path.
Rubber tee pads have been tossed off to the side.
Other Thoughts: This course does have a lot of potential of being a '4', but not yet. It is still to rough and lacks important amenities, such as more benches, signs, labeled and more clearly defined tee areas.

You will be tired after playing this course - very hilly.

If you could play with someone to help spot discs, it may help prevent losing some discs.

If you are familiar - reminds me of a rougher Cliff Drive - Kessler Park (Kansas City) front 9.

Earlier reviews refer to the original hole number. The map has renumbered them.

Map - Original
6 - 1
7 - 2
8 - 3
9 - 4
10 - 5
11 - 6
12 - 7
13 - 8
14 - 9
15 - 10
16 - 11
17 - 12
18 - 13
1 - 14
2 - 15
3 - 16
4 - 17
5 - 18

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of NE better courses

1    5/25/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: edavis
Played: 41  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very challenging course, very clear fairways, and markings. Would highly recommend this course to any disc golfing friend.
Cons: Print the course map off of the link above, or you will get lost. If I had not gone with a friend who had recently golfed there I would have been lost. They also need to make their tee pads more stable, most rubber tee pads were pushed off to the side, and not used. Also they need to do some trash pickup as there were plastic sacks hanging on trees although there were beer cans everywhere.
Other Thoughts: beautiful park, great course design. One of my new favorites for sure!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Terrible

2-4    6/8/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: Zafros
Played: 132  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Has potential, needs a lot of work before it even begins to be a great course.
Cons: Untrackable holes, terrible placement of pins (if there at all), no direction to next hole, no map at the beginning.
Other Thoughts: Don't play it they need to do a lot of work otherwise you will just blow out your knees climbing the massive elevation changes instead of just shooting the hole once you walk it 4 times to find discs and to see the hole.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great wooded course

1    5/5/2012   5/5/2012
Review By: tlandegent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: As other reviewers noted, this course makes you use every trick in your bag. Great use of ravines and elevation.
Cons: The tees and holes were sometimes difficult even with a course map in hand. The basket for #4 was missing.
Other Thoughts: Good shoes are a must. Don't even think about sandals. We thought we could bring my kid and nephew in a heavy duty stroller, but that was not going to happen.
I only was able to play through about 7 holes, but it was worth it. I hope to be back.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.