Omaha, NE 
Hummel Park Share
Uploaded By: AJDisc Hole #12 (Taken 10/2013)
4 / 478ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
This is Nebraska?

1    9/16/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a wooded, hilly park. Elevation comes into play on most holes, and is the defining feature of the layout. There are a few great downhill shots, offering tight windows and plenty of punishment for missing your line along with the fun of the downhill. Several holes offer tough uphills, steep enough to really change your shot and add to the effective length. Some valley shots, an up and over and many with various smaller elevation changes make this a tough walk and a really fun play.

The park is very wooded, many of the holes have tight lines with thick enough rough to really punish errant shots. You'll need a good mix of line shaping skills, the course has a good balance of left and right turning shots with all kinds of lengths and shapes. The creek comes into play on a handful of shots, offering lurking ob and an awkward shot from the low area around the creek to get back onto the fairways.
Cons: Navigation was tricky when I played, it seems like that's a work in progress. There are a few spots with spray paint, but that's pretty sporadic and the numbering doesn't match the map available here. With no tee signs and no next tee signs, you'll end up doing quite a bit of extra walking to find your way and figure out where to throw.

The tees aren't great, some aren't all that level and a few have some ruts. Some of the hillsides show erosion, on a wet day the steeper spots would be really difficult to walk. A road is right along several holes, taking away from the secluded feeling. A couple holes play directly over the park road, potentially a safety issue.
Other Thoughts: This course is a blast, with lots of challenging shots and a ton of variety. I love courses that use elevation well to mix things up, and this one definitely fits the bill. Advanced players will definitely be tested here, there's not a ton of length but most other disc golf skills are needed to score well. Beginners will find this a tough walk and a tough layout, there is a lot of rough and plenty of potential for roll aways on top of difficult shots.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 One of NE better courses

1    5/25/2012   6/14/2012
Review By: edavis
Played: 41  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very challenging course, very clear fairways, and markings. Would highly recommend this course to any disc golfing friend.
Cons: Print the course map off of the link above, or you will get lost. If I had not gone with a friend who had recently golfed there I would have been lost. They also need to make their tee pads more stable, most rubber tee pads were pushed off to the side, and not used. Also they need to do some trash pickup as there were plastic sacks hanging on trees although there were beer cans everywhere.
Other Thoughts: beautiful park, great course design. One of my new favorites for sure!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great wooded course

1    5/5/2012   5/5/2012
Review By: tlandegent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: As other reviewers noted, this course makes you use every trick in your bag. Great use of ravines and elevation.
Cons: The tees and holes were sometimes difficult even with a course map in hand. The basket for #4 was missing.
Other Thoughts: Good shoes are a must. Don't even think about sandals. We thought we could bring my kid and nephew in a heavy duty stroller, but that was not going to happen.
I only was able to play through about 7 holes, but it was worth it. I hope to be back.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

mountain golf

1    1/1/2012   1/8/2012
Review By: blkwizardsonny
Played: 88  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2013
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: im giving this course a 5 rating even with it not complete.yes that sik every hole you walk up to is breathtaking mostly the downhill tunnel shots are the coolest the haunted stairwell hole is rediculous .great workout while great challenging golf fast greens and mezzanines sssssssss
Cons: only con i see is that its not finished can be played easily but there are no tee pads yet and its muddy when we were there .too far from des moines lol
Other Thoughts: this course when finiished will be a premier course in the midwest good job all

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation!

5+    12/26/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 67  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the premier course in Omaha. It requires a high skill set and savvy execution. 5, 6, and 7 are super challenging. The rest of the holes traverse up and down the hills and valleys. The course has a worn path so it is pretty simple to navigate. I'd still recommend a map (though one has not been made accessible) or playing with someone who knows where they are going. On every hole, you have to contend with the trees. Omaha is normally windy, but the trees do a good job of calming the wind.
Cons: I think #1 would be better if it were ace-able. There are not many ace chances, but I know there have been several already. I prefer the dirt tee boxes, but I also prefer signs. I'm sure they will be there in time. This course is probably more difficult in the summer with weeds and bugs. In the summer: blind shots + slopes + plants = lost discs.
Other Thoughts: The course is remote so I imagine foot traffic to be similar to Cunningham aka light. I will be intrigued to see where the other pin positions will be added or if other tee boxes will be added. Either way the course is hard as is. No matter who you play with, every hole and every round could see wild variations in the scores.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome course

2-4    10/8/2011   10/9/2011
Review By: MaxxPower
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very good course in just about every aspect of it. I would say overall it is the best in the omaha area. First off it is a beautiful park expecially for omaha terrain wise and you will get that from hole 1 through 18. Each hole has its own unique design and varying difficulty. My personal favorite is hole 7 with it being about 450 feet long through trees to finish with a shot down onto a mezzanine.
Cons: With it being fall and this course in a heavily wooded area there are leaves everywhere and can sometimes make it hard to locate discs. Also if you are not in good physical shape this is a very physical course to play with some holes having 300 to 500 foot elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Here is a site with a map for the course http://discgolfstats.com/secu...spx?cid=1465.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Absolutely AWESOME!

2-4    10/5/2011   10/5/2011
Review By: BalataGrande
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is breathtaking! Not only the views off the bluff but in the walking of the course. The elevation changes on most of the holes is like no other course I've played in the area. Almost every hole has an OB line or area that makes shot making essential. Hole 1 is awesome with an extreme downhill throw down a staircase. Hole 2 is my favorite. A steep uphill throw off the tee with a BIG penalty for being right.......a drop off a cliff is the BIG penalty! The 2nd shot is another downhill that falls off to the right, dont go too far tho or you're OB. I won't go hole by hole for space sake, but each hole has it's own personality and I threw RHBH and RHFH almost equally off the tees.
Cons: 2 things, although neither affected my overall experience too much. 1-The trees that were cut to create the "fairways" were left about 3-5" and I tripped over several. 2-There are no hole signs marking the tee boxes. I know this probably is to come but I'd love to have some distance reference. After the 3rd hole, following the orange arrows/dots on the trees guide the way, but the leaves are falling and cover up the tee boxes as they are natural.
Other Thoughts: My overall experience was great at Hummel. It's the best course I've played to date, I gave it a 4 b/c it's not perfect but extremely fun to play. I was worried it may be too difficult for me as I'm just an average player but I found it to be within my skill set. This is a course that can be played well with good shot making but will penalize an errant shot with a vengeance. There are some double/triple bogeys out there for you!! In closing, I will say that we went around twice today and I'm in pretty decent physical shape and was pretty tired at the end of 36 holes. It's physically challenging to play this course! LOVE IT!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain disc golf...in Omaha?

5+    3/31/2012   5/16/2011
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mountain disc golf comes to Omaha! Three years in the making, the fairways are carved out and the baskets are in. And it doesn't disappoint.

Other than holes 4-7 and 14, all of the holes have big elevation changes. The course begins at the top of the bluff and plays down a 100+ step staircase (if you attended Hummel Day Camp as a kid, this is the "Haunted Staircase"… I don't believe it's really haunted, but you can blame your poor shots on vengeful spirits if you want) and around the bend. After that it's up and down through the woods and hills. Other than the signature hole (#1), there are several other notable holes:

#2 tees off up a short but steep hill and then down a long valley on the other side. This one reminds me of #9 at Maple Hill.

#4 curves left to right toward a wide creek bed about 250' up the fairway, so you have to decide if you'll play it safe and lay up or attempt a hero drive with a long turnover/forehand. Then it's another 250 feet or so to the basket with some sparse trees and an old picnic structure blocking the way. Fun design on this one.

#7 features a green nestled on a natural mezzanine between the fairway and the creek bed below. There are logs to prevent rollaways into the creek, but the approaches are tricky. Due to the design, you can't see the basket from the tee on this one.

#15 has the basket straight ahead just over a knoll…but there is no fairway that way. You can either chuck your disc straight ahead and pray it gets through (bad idea) or follow the fairway up a huge hyzer route over a steep embankment to the right. If you manage to get your drive up the hill, you are then faced with a downhill putt with the basket 30 feet below you. I've never seen a hole quite like this.

#18 ends the round in dramatic fashion, throwing over a deep valley before throwing up a hill that goes left to right against the grain of your drive (if that makes sense). A rollaway on your approach could be devastating.

In between are plenty of wooded shots with just punishment for errant shots. You will need a workable forehand or turnover shot (as a righty) to score well, as there are plenty of left-to-right fairways. The course plays long, and there are only a handful of ace-able holes. I like that they started out with long, tough holes. Shorter tee pads could easily be installed at a later date to make a more rec-friendly configuration.

Playing this course is a little like experiencing the back bowls at Vail: you simultaneously think "Oh, WOW" and "Man, I need to get better."
Cons: Most of the cons are a result of the newness of the course that will soon be fixed:


1. The tee pads are carved out and flat, but they are just dirt right now. I understand that concrete tees are planned.
2. No tee signs (yet). Navigation is tough in some places if you don't know your way around. There is a link to the course map, which can probably get you where you need to go.
3. Getting around. There are a couple of places where getting to the next hole requires clambering up some embankments while grasping onto branches and roots, or crossing over makeshift bridges that are sinking into the mud. I believe these are going to be fixed, but in the meantime be careful. This is not a good course for people who are in poor shape.
4. The playability of this course will depend on how well it's maintained. If it stays mowed and weed-whacked, it will be fine. If not, it could get ugly. There is already a real chance of losing discs on the holes near the creek in the water and dense weeds. And once the heat and humidity arrive in a few weeks, it will be muggy and buggy. Come prepared.
5. My only complaint about the design of the holes is that I'd like to see more baskets on slopes. Despite the elevation changes, many holes are situated on flat ground. Putting on inclines makes for great scoring spreads and interesting decisions. Holes 8 and 18 are the only baskets I can recall on steep inclines.
Other Thoughts: This is a review in progress! I will continue to update (and upgrade) the score as improvements are put in. Let me be clear, if this review was based just on course design and wow factor, it would be a 4.5. The course is that good. But I wanted to get a review up some people know what to expect.

Update: some fly pad tees are installed and new retaining walls are improving the tees. Pavers will be installed at some point.

Note: there are a number of places to park. Up top has the most places to park, but there is a lot along Ponca Hills Drive (near hole 4), and there will soon be disc golf parking in the lot at the bottom of hole 1. The course number may change.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.