Disc Golf Store
Omaha, NE 
Hummel Park Share
Uploaded By: AJDisc Hole #9 (Taken 10/2013)
4 / 411ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Keep it up...

5+    10/31/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: Nathan Stahl
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just like every other reviewer said... lots of blind throws up and over the mountain. Terrain is awesome and the trees make you pick your line and if you stray you will pay. You can get a good work out walking the course so be ready for a hike.
Cons: Need to concrete the tee pads and mark pads. It has not rained in a long time and I am glad, it would be very muddy if it had. No next tee directions and it could use it. The leaves being moved off the trail leading to the next tee box helped in guiding. Little to no seating or trash cans along the course. If they had them then maybe the lazy golfers would not leave garbage along the course.
Other Thoughts: I printed and carried the map to help get around the course. You need the map and then it is not hard to navigate and the map is 100% correct. I only took one wrong turn going from hole 8 to 9. For this one just stay on the flat and walk right around the end of the hill, do not go up the trail just across the road. Could be an easy 5 disks with a few more touch ups and additions.

UPDATE: My wife and I love this course and spent two days picking up all the trash along it. There was about 140 lbs of trash we picked up and most of it glass. Is it so hard to "Carry In and Carry Out"? Don't play it if you can't do your part.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

1    2/26/2012   2/26/2012
Review By: Wheelz
Played: 28  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2012
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a little bit of everything for the experienced golfer.

* Elevation... Yes, I realize this course is located in Nebraska, but there is massive elevation to be found here. The course plays over and around several very large cliffs/bluffs, I would guess in the 100'-200' tall range. You do it all here: some holes are on level ground, others are extreme uphill shots, some are extreme downhill shots, and everything in-between. Roll-aways are plentiful here as most of the baskets are positioned on or near a slope of some sort.

Water... Not a ton of water on this course. There is a small creek that comes into play on a handful of holes, but nothing too serious. The elevation makes up for the lack of water, in my opinion.

Seclusion... One of my favorite things about this course is the seclusion it provides. Being as the course winds through the bluffs and with all the trees, the course could be pretty full and you wouldn't know it. The fairways are pretty tight and don't cross each other. In fact, there are only a few spots where you can even see the fairways of other holes.

Challenge... This course will force you to use almost every shot in your bag, except maybe a roller. In my one round I threw forehand about as must as I did backhand (I'm primarily a RHBH player), threw several flex shots and several overhand shots (aka thumbers, tomahawks, etc.). The course has a handful of par 4's, and trust me they are true par 4's. If you are expecting to bomb some drives 400 + feet here, it isn't going to happen. The course is very technical and you are forced to make shots, not just throw as far as possible. The majority of the holes can be played with a mid and putter, maybe a fairway driver. The fairways are well defined, and the course design awards good shots and punishes bad ones. Throw a good shot, and you are fine. Throw a bad shot or kick off a tree... it may take a couple throws to get back on the fairway. While some fairways force you to fit your throw into a somewhat tight window, I felt the course was very fair. I was able to find at least a couple possible lines on every hole.

*Design... The course flows really well and there is plenty of parking next to hole 1 at the Nature Center. I didn't explore too much, but I assume there are restroom facilities at the Nature Center as well.
Cons: Infrastructure... While this is listed as a con, I am not dinging this in my rating. At the moment, most tee pads are dirt. A handful of used rubber tee pads have been placed on the tees in the spots that are easily accessible. If someone is playing for the first time along and mapless, it could be confusing... but the trails are well-defined between holes so its not a big deal. I realize that the course is not completely finished, so this doesn't affect its rating. The tee pads are dug out and cement pads are due in this spring, as well as tee signs. I've seen the design for the signs myself, and they are first-class all the way. Erosion control is another area that could be worked on. I could easily see tee pads getting covered with dirt/mud after a heavy rain as it runs down the hill side. There is some in place already, as well as some spots with steps to help climbing. Some more steps could be added in other places to help with climbing up and down the hills. I'm sure this too will be on the way soon.

Location... The course is located north of downtown Omaha along the Missouri River. It is a somewhat remote park, so don't expect to see many houses. Because the terrain is so extreme, it is hard to get from one side of the course to another without following the few roads that run through the park. Food/beverage is 10-15 minutes away. Overall not a big deal.

Safety... Really the only ding I have on the course is the safety aspect. Being as the terrain is so extreme, injuries are a definite possibility. The slopes are very steep, and slipping/falling/sprained ankles can easily happen. Extreme caution is advised in this area. If something serious were to happen in the middle of the park, it may be a challenge for EMT crews. I went on a day where there was snow melting, and many holes were extremely muddy. I slipped and fell several times traversing the slopes, and a guy in our group took a pretty good spill. If there is snow melting or it has recently rained, I would seriously reconsider playing the course until it has dried up a bit. The whole safety bit should be a non-issue as long as you are cautious and don't shank your shots too bad :S
Other Thoughts: Overall Hummel is a fabulous course, probably the best in Nebraska and when finished one of the top courses in the Midwest. It makes for challenging golf for the experienced player while not being so ridiculous that an intermediate level player can't have a good time. I haven't played a ton of places, but I have played courses such as Blue Ribbon Pines and the Kansas City courses such as Water Works, Cliff Drive, Rosedale, etc. I would put Hummel right up there with these, maybe even above them. The closet comparison I can come up with is Water Works in KC, except Hummel has more trees and in some cases more extreme elevation (I didn't think it was possible). It is def. worth the drive to play, I guarantee you won't be disappointed!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    12/28/2011   1/3/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set within a large city park that has tons of trees and tons of hilliness. Some holes play close to a few roads, but it seems like there shouldn't be any conflicts.
- Majority of the holes are set within a dense forest, that has a wide variety of shots to be found. Some of these are spectacularly epic. #1 is a steep, monster downhill hyzer with OB lurking on the bottom. #2 is a shorter, tight uphill shot, followed by another STEEP downhill shot, finishing right, with a nasty rollaway. #18 is a nice long, wooded shot that has to clear a deep valley and then go way back up to reach the pin. Major punishment to be found here.
- Other holes in the deep woods aren't as intense, but still provide challenge. A blind uphill hyzer on #9 plays a lot longer that 286', a tight downhill RHBH anny or RHFH shot on #10 and #11 provide small windows, #16 is a super low/tight window uphill with a right finish. A few holes are more open to provide a break as well, like a shorter downhill on #3, a shorter uphill (pretty steep though) on #8, and a blind up-and-over on #17. Fantastic mix overall.
- Rest of the holes, basically 4-7, are in a flatter area of the park with larger, more mature trees. There is still some rolling terrain, especially next to a small creek that is running through the holes. A bit of a gap on #4, slight right finish, with the basket across the creek. Laying up here leads to an uphill, over-the-water putt. #5 has the creek running alongside to the left, open to both hyzer or a RHFH shot. #7 is the highlight; an elevated tee RHBH flex shot, long, with a finish left down by the creek.
- As described above, there is so much to this course. Lots of trees, in varying amounts. Lots of hills - way uphill, slight uphill, rolling terrain, slight downhill, and some way, way downhill. Water present in a few spots, and some well-placed artificial OB. Some well protected baskets thanks to water, slopes, and placement by trees. Good variety in hole length and difficulty. Yowza.
- Baskets are good, and the dirt tees aren't so bad. BUT, there are no signs as of right now, and the baskets don't even have numbers on them yet. Without the info on this site, you could be in serious trouble. There is spray paint to help find the next tee, current tee, and general basket placement, but some holes are tough to find. Hopefully will be brought up to snuff in the near future.
Cons: - There are some stairs present in spots, and small bridges to cross the creek, other spots are extremely treacherous just based on the hilliness combined with dirt/mud. I could see the place being nearly impossible to play if there was mud present. Hard to count extreme elevation as a con, but it would make things tough.
- Entrance road, and regular road, are pretty close in a few spots. Just a distraction, and doesn't help the overall feeling of seclusion.
Other Thoughts: - Well, long story short, I was blown away by this course. Every hole has something interesting going on, even the most open hole out there provides a fun downhill RHFH flex shot for me, with OB lurking to the left and by the pin. The first two and the last hole are especially memorable, for different reasons. I hope to make it out again someday...
- Beginners should stay away from this course, both to save frustration and avoid possibly having to traverse a cliff for a shanked drive. Even experienced players might have a tough time getting around, but should enjoy the tough golf to be found.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.