Omaha, NE
Hummel Park Share
Uploaded By: AJDisc Hole #7 (Taken 10/2013)
4 / 445ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Intermediate/Expert

1    12/28/2011   1/3/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set within a large city park that has tons of trees and tons of hilliness. Some holes play close to a few roads, but it seems like there shouldn't be any conflicts.
- Majority of the holes are set within a dense forest, that has a wide variety of shots to be found. Some of these are spectacularly epic. #1 is a steep, monster downhill hyzer with OB lurking on the bottom. #2 is a shorter, tight uphill shot, followed by another STEEP downhill shot, finishing right, with a nasty rollaway. #18 is a nice long, wooded shot that has to clear a deep valley and then go way back up to reach the pin. Major punishment to be found here.
- Other holes in the deep woods aren't as intense, but still provide challenge. A blind uphill hyzer on #9 plays a lot longer that 286', a tight downhill RHBH anny or RHFH shot on #10 and #11 provide small windows, #16 is a super low/tight window uphill with a right finish. A few holes are more open to provide a break as well, like a shorter downhill on #3, a shorter uphill (pretty steep though) on #8, and a blind up-and-over on #17. Fantastic mix overall.
- Rest of the holes, basically 4-7, are in a flatter area of the park with larger, more mature trees. There is still some rolling terrain, especially next to a small creek that is running through the holes. A bit of a gap on #4, slight right finish, with the basket across the creek. Laying up here leads to an uphill, over-the-water putt. #5 has the creek running alongside to the left, open to both hyzer or a RHFH shot. #7 is the highlight; an elevated tee RHBH flex shot, long, with a finish left down by the creek.
- As described above, there is so much to this course. Lots of trees, in varying amounts. Lots of hills - way uphill, slight uphill, rolling terrain, slight downhill, and some way, way downhill. Water present in a few spots, and some well-placed artificial OB. Some well protected baskets thanks to water, slopes, and placement by trees. Good variety in hole length and difficulty. Yowza.
- Baskets are good, and the dirt tees aren't so bad. BUT, there are no signs as of right now, and the baskets don't even have numbers on them yet. Without the info on this site, you could be in serious trouble. There is spray paint to help find the next tee, current tee, and general basket placement, but some holes are tough to find. Hopefully will be brought up to snuff in the near future.
Cons: - There are some stairs present in spots, and small bridges to cross the creek, other spots are extremely treacherous just based on the hilliness combined with dirt/mud. I could see the place being nearly impossible to play if there was mud present. Hard to count extreme elevation as a con, but it would make things tough.
- Entrance road, and regular road, are pretty close in a few spots. Just a distraction, and doesn't help the overall feeling of seclusion.
Other Thoughts: - Well, long story short, I was blown away by this course. Every hole has something interesting going on, even the most open hole out there provides a fun downhill RHFH flex shot for me, with OB lurking to the left and by the pin. The first two and the last hole are especially memorable, for different reasons. I hope to make it out again someday...
- Beginners should stay away from this course, both to save frustration and avoid possibly having to traverse a cliff for a shanked drive. Even experienced players might have a tough time getting around, but should enjoy the tough golf to be found.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation!

5+    12/26/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 66  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the premier course in Omaha. It requires a high skill set and savvy execution. 5, 6, and 7 are super challenging. The rest of the holes traverse up and down the hills and valleys. The course has a worn path so it is pretty simple to navigate. I'd still recommend a map (though one has not been made accessible) or playing with someone who knows where they are going. On every hole, you have to contend with the trees. Omaha is normally windy, but the trees do a good job of calming the wind.
Cons: I think #1 would be better if it were ace-able. There are not many ace chances, but I know there have been several already. I prefer the dirt tee boxes, but I also prefer signs. I'm sure they will be there in time. This course is probably more difficult in the summer with weeds and bugs. In the summer: blind shots + slopes + plants = lost discs.
Other Thoughts: The course is remote so I imagine foot traffic to be similar to Cunningham aka light. I will be intrigued to see where the other pin positions will be added or if other tee boxes will be added. Either way the course is hard as is. No matter who you play with, every hole and every round could see wild variations in the scores.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Best of Omaha

5+    11/25/2011   12/4/2011
Review By: jpass21
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 4/23/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Arguably the most scenic and beautiful course in the Omaha area. The forest in the fall is gorgeous. Nearly every hole could be considered "signature" because of how truly unique this course is. The elevation changes are unreal and each hole has a very distinct and fun personality. When first playing the course, I was amazed at how epic holes 1 and 2 are. Then as I continued to play I realized that every hole would be that way.

Most holes can bee seen from the tee (at least in the fall) and the ones that can't are marked on trees. Each provides a unique challenge element while keeping to the theme of the course. The rather extreme terrain keeps traffic low so the park is usually fairly empty.
Cons: Because of the terrain, the park gets dark before sunset and can leave players in the dark if not careful. Most tees are labeled but only with spray paint. Some graffiti can make it difficult to tell the location of the next tee. (On 4 someone falsely spray painted the adjacent trees with 5 and 6). The paths are existent, but not in pristine condition. Some of the fairways feature steep descents, loose dirt, and hard to see stumps. Also the penalty for going out of bounds on some holes is a near straight down cliff. If you lose a disc to the right on 2, it is gone. If it is your first time to the course it can be difficult to locate the start
Other Thoughts: This could easily be one of the best courses in the Midwest (or even the nation) if given a little TLC. It is easily the most fun course I have played. I assume that better signage and tees are to come as well as opening some of the fairways a bit. I highly recommend hiking shoes and picking up a walking stick along the way. Loose dirt and steep hills will make your normal golf shoes feel like ballet slippers. This is not a course for the faint of heart. You will have to walk a lot. At the same time, its structure is friendly enough on most holes to support all but the newest of golfers. If you live in the area and haven't tried it out yet, I promise it is unlike any other course around.

*Update* With recent updates, this park has more than surpassed the criteria for five discs. Keep it up Omaha golfers.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome course

2-4    10/8/2011   10/9/2011
Review By: MaxxPower
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very good course in just about every aspect of it. I would say overall it is the best in the omaha area. First off it is a beautiful park expecially for omaha terrain wise and you will get that from hole 1 through 18. Each hole has its own unique design and varying difficulty. My personal favorite is hole 7 with it being about 450 feet long through trees to finish with a shot down onto a mezzanine.
Cons: With it being fall and this course in a heavily wooded area there are leaves everywhere and can sometimes make it hard to locate discs. Also if you are not in good physical shape this is a very physical course to play with some holes having 300 to 500 foot elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Here is a site with a map for the course http://discgolfstats.com/secu...spx?cid=1465.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Absolutely AWESOME!

2-4    10/5/2011   10/5/2011
Review By: BalataGrande
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is breathtaking! Not only the views off the bluff but in the walking of the course. The elevation changes on most of the holes is like no other course I've played in the area. Almost every hole has an OB line or area that makes shot making essential. Hole 1 is awesome with an extreme downhill throw down a staircase. Hole 2 is my favorite. A steep uphill throw off the tee with a BIG penalty for being right.......a drop off a cliff is the BIG penalty! The 2nd shot is another downhill that falls off to the right, dont go too far tho or you're OB. I won't go hole by hole for space sake, but each hole has it's own personality and I threw RHBH and RHFH almost equally off the tees.
Cons: 2 things, although neither affected my overall experience too much. 1-The trees that were cut to create the "fairways" were left about 3-5" and I tripped over several. 2-There are no hole signs marking the tee boxes. I know this probably is to come but I'd love to have some distance reference. After the 3rd hole, following the orange arrows/dots on the trees guide the way, but the leaves are falling and cover up the tee boxes as they are natural.
Other Thoughts: My overall experience was great at Hummel. It's the best course I've played to date, I gave it a 4 b/c it's not perfect but extremely fun to play. I was worried it may be too difficult for me as I'm just an average player but I found it to be within my skill set. This is a course that can be played well with good shot making but will penalize an errant shot with a vengeance. There are some double/triple bogeys out there for you!! In closing, I will say that we went around twice today and I'm in pretty decent physical shape and was pretty tired at the end of 36 holes. It's physically challenging to play this course! LOVE IT!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 best in Omaha

1    5/17/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: dirtyrice
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2012
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A great challenging course.the elevations and being a wooded course,makes shot selection important.You will probably use alot of different disc on this course.
Cons: i cant say anything is wrong yet.The course is not finished.when its done it will be great.
Other Thoughts: Im glad there is another place to golf in Omaha.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain disc golf...in Omaha?

5+    3/31/2012   5/16/2011
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 103  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/3/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mountain disc golf comes to Omaha! Three years in the making, the fairways are carved out and the baskets are in. And it doesn't disappoint.

Other than holes 4-7 and 14, all of the holes have big elevation changes. The course begins at the top of the bluff and plays down a 100+ step staircase (if you attended Hummel Day Camp as a kid, this is the "Haunted Staircase"… I don't believe it's really haunted, but you can blame your poor shots on vengeful spirits if you want) and around the bend. After that it's up and down through the woods and hills. Other than the signature hole (#1), there are several other notable holes:

#2 tees off up a short but steep hill and then down a long valley on the other side. This one reminds me of #9 at Maple Hill.

#4 curves left to right toward a wide creek bed about 250' up the fairway, so you have to decide if you'll play it safe and lay up or attempt a hero drive with a long turnover/forehand. Then it's another 250 feet or so to the basket with some sparse trees and an old picnic structure blocking the way. Fun design on this one.

#7 features a green nestled on a natural mezzanine between the fairway and the creek bed below. There are logs to prevent rollaways into the creek, but the approaches are tricky. Due to the design, you can't see the basket from the tee on this one.

#15 has the basket straight ahead just over a knoll…but there is no fairway that way. You can either chuck your disc straight ahead and pray it gets through (bad idea) or follow the fairway up a huge hyzer route over a steep embankment to the right. If you manage to get your drive up the hill, you are then faced with a downhill putt with the basket 30 feet below you. I've never seen a hole quite like this.

#18 ends the round in dramatic fashion, throwing over a deep valley before throwing up a hill that goes left to right against the grain of your drive (if that makes sense). A rollaway on your approach could be devastating.

In between are plenty of wooded shots with just punishment for errant shots. You will need a workable forehand or turnover shot (as a righty) to score well, as there are plenty of left-to-right fairways. The course plays long, and there are only a handful of ace-able holes. I like that they started out with long, tough holes. Shorter tee pads could easily be installed at a later date to make a more rec-friendly configuration.

Playing this course is a little like experiencing the back bowls at Vail: you simultaneously think "Oh, WOW" and "Man, I need to get better."
Cons: Most of the cons are a result of the newness of the course that will soon be fixed:


1. The tee pads are carved out and flat, but they are just dirt right now. I understand that concrete tees are planned.
2. No tee signs (yet). Navigation is tough in some places if you don't know your way around. There is a link to the course map, which can probably get you where you need to go.
3. Getting around. There are a couple of places where getting to the next hole requires clambering up some embankments while grasping onto branches and roots, or crossing over makeshift bridges that are sinking into the mud. I believe these are going to be fixed, but in the meantime be careful. This is not a good course for people who are in poor shape.
4. The playability of this course will depend on how well it's maintained. If it stays mowed and weed-whacked, it will be fine. If not, it could get ugly. There is already a real chance of losing discs on the holes near the creek in the water and dense weeds. And once the heat and humidity arrive in a few weeks, it will be muggy and buggy. Come prepared.
5. My only complaint about the design of the holes is that I'd like to see more baskets on slopes. Despite the elevation changes, many holes are situated on flat ground. Putting on inclines makes for great scoring spreads and interesting decisions. Holes 8 and 18 are the only baskets I can recall on steep inclines.
Other Thoughts: This is a review in progress! I will continue to update (and upgrade) the score as improvements are put in. Let me be clear, if this review was based just on course design and wow factor, it would be a 4.5. The course is that good. But I wanted to get a review up some people know what to expect.

Update: some fly pad tees are installed and new retaining walls are improving the tees. Pavers will be installed at some point.

Note: there are a number of places to park. Up top has the most places to park, but there is a lot along Ponca Hills Drive (near hole 4), and there will soon be disc golf parking in the lot at the bottom of hole 1. The course number may change.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.