Kearney, NE
Kearney High School DGC Share
Uploaded By: srm_520 Hole #3 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 150ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Baskets in a field

1    9/4/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
Pros: -There are 9 baskets.
-The grass is nice.
-There are a few trees
-Good for practicing or safari golf
-Some decent hills in the area
Cons: -It is a pretty small area to have 9 baskets
-There are no tees or signs of any sort
-On school grounds so you probably shouldn't play during the school day
Other Thoughts: There really isn't a ton to say about this course. It is 9 numbered baskets in a field but there is nothing else there. Even if they had tees this course would still only be average at best. I guess it is good that the kids might get some exposure in gym class but overall, I wouldn't play this course again nor recommend it. It gets half a disc because it has nice baskets that have to be worth something.

Safari golf. practice area.

1    6/17/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good baskets on rolling hills with a batch of trees scattered about in the center.

Good place to create your own holes and practice.
Cons: Baskets are marked, but you have to be so close that you can not see the next basket from the previous basket.
You are basically throwing from basket to basket because there are no tees at all. Not even little flag markers.
This is a safari course or practice area at best.
all 9 baskets are in a very tight area.
Other Thoughts: If you are not a course collector avoid this stop. It is not really a course, just 9 baskets infront of a school.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good elevation, good beginner course

1    7/10/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The terrain is by far the biggest pro of this otherwise mediocre course. The high school is set at the top of a rolling hills with probably 50'-70' of overall elevation change, which makes to a perfect albeit small area for some baskets. With its undefined tee areas, you have the luxury of playing pin to pin golf or safari to set things up to your level of play.

There are also some great big trees that surround #2 and adequate coverage around many holes to provide some much needed shade in the hot Nebraska sun, and even with some of the glaring cons - I thought this was a pretty enjoyable round of golf. Note: I made my #1 tee box on the concrete near the top by the campus, and it made for a much better hole. This would be a great course to teach first timers the game or to let family enjoy a casual round.

BEST HOLE/S: #2; #8
Cons: No defined tee boxes or markings at all. Fortunately the pins are marked, but the same pro of playing pin to pin and safari is a big negative for most people. Plus, there is not much imagination with about half the course being decent and the other half being pitch and putt throwaway holes. It's unfortunate because #3 and #4 could have been much better if the designer had incorporated the entire southeast area of the grounds, which could have added at least 300' more feet of much needed distance.

#6 and #7 aren't much better, and it's not until #8 you get a chance to throw more than an approach putt. Plus, as with any school - you are limited to the hours you can play - however the course is set off to one corner of the grounds and doesn't interfere with the campus as most school courses do. Bottom line, most people won't like the simple lines and short length, but the undulating terrain is fantastic and is this course's saving grace.

WORST HOLE/S: #3; #4
Other Thoughts: When it comes to playing Kearney courses, you basically have Cottonmill DGC and then the rest. And while Cottonmill towers over the others in distance, terrain, playability, and overall quality - having played all of the Kearney courses, I will give and ordered rating of what I viewed as the best courses as well as my personal favorite courses in the area.

The best courses are ordered in what I believe are the variables other DG reviews would require to create a quality disc golf course. My favorite courses will vary a bit from the other rating just based on my overall playing experience and personal preferences. Take each with a grain of salt, and then go hit them all yourself and make your own list.

Overall Course Rating:
1. Cottonmill DGC - 4.0 discs
2. Fort Kearney State Rec. Area - 2.5 discs
3. Centiennial Park - 2.0 discs
4. Sunrise Middle School DGC - 1.5 discs
5. Kearney High School DGC - 1.5 discs.

Personal Enjoyment: (1 is best and 5 is worst)
1. Cottonmill DGC
2. Fort Kearney State Rec. Area
3. Kearney High School DGC
4. Sunrise Middle School DGC
5. Centennial Park

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Serious Work

1    1/1/2012   1/1/2012
Review By: 888HUSKERS
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 43.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/16/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The only good thing I can say about this course is that it's in town so if you lived in the area you could use it as a practice course.
Cons: Where do I begin ...

No tee markers, no tee pads, no signs, baskets right on top of each other, and absolutely no signage of any kind giving you an idea of the course layout because there really is none at this time.
Other Thoughts: If someone would at a minimum mark the tees with a sign showing tee #1, #2, and so on this would be a real workout because it's on a very steep slope which is a workout for anyone going up and down it for each hole. Until the lack of clearly marked tees is addressed I will never play this course again nor recommend it to anyone.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.