Matthews, NC 
The Scrapyard Share
Uploaded By: skinnylimbs Hole #3 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 297ft.   3 / 297ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 legit

5+    3/1/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: onetimeme
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: You win or you die on the water holes. Very diverse selection of shots.
Cons: You win or you die by the water hole. Also, that one par 3 with the impossible line is...well, impossible.
Other Thoughts: Good course for a casual day of disc golf that will hone your skills. Good test of mid rsnge shots. few up, few down, few left, few right. Average difficulty, given all the woods. Good place to check out. We're so spoiled here in Charlotte though I'd rather play nest and renny all day ;)

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course Close to Home

2-4    4/1/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: HeavyEd
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Love that such a high quality course is close to home (live in Morris Farms Area)
Beautiful layout; you dont feel like 3 holes playing the same field.
Playground nearby for the kiddies.
Cons: Litterbugs leave their trash everywhere.
Parks & Rec need to pick up and change out the bags hung on trees, replace them with cans at least.
Still a lot of roots and stumps. Make sure the kiddies step high.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. very technical with a few long shots in it. One of our favorites. Just wish people didn't leave such a mess.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    3/12/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 91  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.5 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Another great wooded course in Charlotte.
Great tees and baskets, all in excellent shape.
Tee signs are professionally done and a great help. Distances seemed accurate.
I really enjoy the layout. The course is in the woods, but the fairways are FAIR, meaning there are no trick-trees smack in the middle of the fairways that take an otherwise great shot and make it terrible just by being in the perfect line. Sure, some fairways are tight, but all of them are more than fair.
A few of the holes are quite long, requiring good placement shots, which is one of my favorite design aspects.
Nice blend of shots. Some are slightly uphill, some slightly downhill(not a lot of elevation change here). Left- and right-turning holes, and even a couple water carries :)
Doesn't interfere with any other part of the park, feels almost private at times.
Navigation could be tricky if not for the spray paint, arrows, and other various markers that lead you in the right direction.
Trash bags for your litter.
Cons: The rain had come down the night before I played, and while it wasn't a substantial downpour, it was enough to affect the course. Essentially, the fairways were soaked, and to stay dry I had to AVOID the fairways, like the water found its way to the ideal lines...the tee pads were just fine for the most part.
The pond smells like....let's not go there. I hit a great shot on #9 over the water, but my hot pink ESP Buzzz slid ever so slowly into the abyss. Was maybe only a foot into the water, but never could see it or snag it with a stick. I was NOT about to dive into this water -- think of the Bog in "Labyrinth:...I hear someone fishes them out for a small fee, but it's been a week and no call. Not mad about it, just know that the visibility in the pond is 1 inch, and the smell if you touch it is permanent.
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to my new home, and I look forward to dominating all over it in the future. If not for the smell of the pond, I would put this at a 4, but I can't avoid it in my review, it's the one thing that will stick out to anyone who plays here for the first time. Hit me up if you need a guide or just someone to toss with!

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Holy Transformation!!

5+    8/19/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 204  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2013
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clean Airways!! This course has fair lanes to throw down. They may be tight but they are clean.

The Teepads are short but now with the backfill and framing you don't really notice it anymore.

Garbage bag on every hole and the teesigns look great.

There is lots of variety of shot shapes and placement shots from the tee.

Holes 8 and 9 use the lake well and provide for some crazy scoring seperation. Hole 8 really reminds me of 17 at Buckhorn, And the fence on 9 looks great!
Cons: Well even though it was impossible with the land provided there are no open holes. That is a tiny con for me.

Trippers, ATL Scott didn't get them all!

Hole 9, Yes it was in the pros and its in the cons. I have a love hate relationship with this hole. while i love the angle and the throw over the lake the green is almost too much imo. It is hard to land anything close or layup a putt even with a great shot.
Other Thoughts: Ok so if I had of reviewed this course after the CAC I would have given it a 3 or 3.5 but when I went back last weekend I was ammazed at how much it had changed since then. Rob Kelly and anyone else who was involved have really busted tail to get this course looking great and I commend them for that. Definatly worth a stop if you are nearbye!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Solid but Unrefined as of Yet

5+    5/5/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: curmudgeonDwindle
Played: 18  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 35 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Course is in a district level park featuring rolling piedmont landscape under mature canopy. Park is almost 60 acres and course is sequestered from other park activities. Park shares design features common to area parks, those being a complete periphery buffer and an entrance road leading to the park's interior where facilities are developed. Course is another iteration of the wooded/technical variety. Moderate power can score very well here, even from the advertised extended course. The average hole distance is less than 340' and on the short course 14 holes are less than 300'.

It should be noted that this course is young and, observations are not judgments. Signage is mixed, with superior tee signs on the short course. Paths on this course are narrow, long, winding and sinuous, and the routing has a rough spot in the transition from #15 to #16. Way-finding markers are inconsistent and faint. Equipment is above average. Tee pads are adequate, although some may feel them undersized. Park amenities are above average. There is a lot of fallen wood on this course, both from natural causes and from course construction. In several instances at The Scrapyard, major course features are centered on either diseased/injured trees or short-lived tree species. Rough is much less penal here than average for a course of this age. Wind effect blunted due to heavy canopy on all but the water carries. There are a few potential drainage issues, but nothing too intrusive or unsafe.

As for course balance, from the tee, natural clock spin shot shapes appear to be moderately favored on the 'scoring' holes, although many of these same landing zones do not favor fading shots approaching with this spin. By contrast the high handicap holes decidedly favor a stable counter-spin shot shape from the tee. Course requires consistent ability to hit tight gaps off the tee to keep the disc in play. To really score, one needs hit the gaps with the right angle, height and speed. Close putts from one's tee shot are really earned here. The 2 forced carries both favor a clock spin stable shot and are each a bit less than 300'. When the pond is full, #8 is the most aesthetically pleasing hole on the course.

Greens here are quite forgiving in the main, with the notable exception of #9, which can be severely penal, even to the point where it seems a little out of character with the rest of the course. #15 is a very nice punctuation mark of a short hole (215'); it is such a tempting 'straight-up' challenge, that one might feel a little embarrassed if the birdie is missed.

Course monkeys with one's perception with many blind or semi-blind holes; frequently the line of play is visible, but the target/landing zone is 'just around the corner'. 11 of the Scrapyard's holes are like this and it requires a special mindset to 'play' this feature effectively. Course knowledge would also be very useful in scoring well here, as not all trouble is easily seen, and therefore avoidable, from the tee (ie: 'hidden' tree syndrome). There are no 'impure' lines however.

As is generally the case, The Scrapyard will soften and play quality should improve as foot-traffic increases. Also of note is the unique funding method used to create this course, something this reviewer feels is a 'win-win' for all involved parties.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Brilliant

1    5/13/2012   5/13/2012
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7.1 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If there was a dictionary entry for NC disc golf course, there would be a picture of this course under it.

Beautiful woods in a nice park, an abundance of fairway shapes, and superb distance variety as well. The obvious feather in this course's cap is the two water holes, a rarity for the QC. This course has wonderfully fair fairways with just the right amount of challenge for the distance. Tees, benches and all the other usual stuff are accounted for.

Specifics:
Lots of tunnel shots yet hardly any monotony b/c the course mixes up early/late trouble, elevation, and lines really well. The most characteristic fairway shape I recall is a kind of teardrop/reverse bottleneck with early trouble providing some pucker factor but plenty of width to air out a drive if you make the gap. Absolutely no "disc can't do that" kind of lines from the tee at all.
Cons: Tees are a little smallish and a little raised but I'm nitpicking. Some of them had a log in front of them that can be annoying if you like to follow through off the tee.

The second water hole could use some bigger logs to prevent BS rolls into the water. I'm just sayin'.
Other Thoughts: Just really fun. I was playing with bikinjack and he was telling me how when he and his buddy were playing it for the first time, they just looked at each other and remarked how much fun they were having and I concur. This course just recharges your battery if DG is starting to feel like work. It really reminds me a lot of one of my favorite courses, Castle Hayne, except with water and better elevation. I think with time, as this course gets smoother around the edges, I'll be rating it even higher b/c it really is more or less flawless.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/23/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed this course. You can definitely tell the course is new and it will improve even more over time. The fairways are carved out of the woods very nicely. The shorter holes tend to have narrower fairways which adds nice challenge.

Other Pros:
- easily navigated with signs pointing you the right way
- elevation used
- risk/reward (water hazards)
- cement tee pads
- nice tee signs
- distance variety
- mostly beginner and advanced friendly
Cons: The biggest con, which I am sure will eventually not be an issue is the tree stumps. I tripped over a few of the smaller ones. Some were spray painted but there are too many to watch out for right now.

Other Cons:
- small parking lot can fill up quickly and there isn't another nearby option

Hole #9 is awesome but tough. A beginner may hate this hole. The throw carries over the water to the basket on a ridge, the backside has a steep slope down to the woods.

I personally loved #9! My friends did not.
Other Thoughts: Many holes felt secluded from the world. The woods are thick outside the fairways, and you felt far from civilization even though you aren't.

There has been a lot of work done and as more of the extras are added the course will look even better.

Nice job Charlotte! This is a good one.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 What a blast!

1    3/8/2012   3/8/2012
Review By: chefjeff315
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of varying length holes.
Even for beginners there's some ace opportunities, esp. #8.
Benches are really appreciated.
Teepads are excellent.
Rough isn't overgrown, very open making it easy to find errant or ricocheted discs.
Trash cans and bags are everywhere.
Very well separated from the park and secluded, you are really out in the woods and not distracted.
Yellow topped Discatchers easy to see, but this will probably change a bit when everything leafs out soon.
Cons: Signs pointing to next tees were good when they were available.
Tee signs with directions soon to come I'm sure. For now the small orange marked posts at each tee suffice.
Other Thoughts: Too bad we have such inconsiderate, lazy people on this course. Empty cig packs and paper bagged empty 40's not even 3 feet from a trash receptacle.
As a beginner I was a bit intimidated when I read about, then started playing, this course. That was wrong. yes, it is challenging, but it is very forgiving for beginners in a lot of ways. It is also very difficult in spots as well which makes it interesting and fun.I almost aced #8 across the water with a Leopard thrown high and to the right which faded and dropped 10 feet from the pin on the opposite bank....what a rush that was! Then on to #9 and OMG! The pin is across the water, about 2 feet down the far side of an 8 foot wide berm. If you miss long, you're down a hill and faced with an uphill putt. There is an alternate teepad that allows you to try it and miss the water by throwing along the back side of the berm.
Hole # 7 is 500 feet long, the longest I have ever played. Most are in the upper 200's, with a couple under 200.
We really enjoyed this course and are planning to visit it frequently.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Scrapyard Schmapyard

1    2/16/2012   3/2/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Practice basket is available on the way into the course and about 75-100' away from the #1 tee.

2) There is a tremendous amount of distance variation on this course with holes in the 100', 200', 300', 400' and even up to 500' range. This forces all sorts of different discs to be used and different techniques. I love this variety as a key design element.

3) Benches are available in many spots on the course which is always a plus especially during tourneys and hot NC summers.

4) Perfect course for Yellow banded Discatchers. They are easy to see and work the best on these tight wooded courses.

5) Water comes into play on a couple holes and while there are places to bail out, you want to try and bite all of the water off to give yourself a putt otherwise if you bail out big time one way to be safe you may have a tough upshot. This is truly risk/reward and in all honesty I would not have expected to come out and have those two water shots. It doesn't feel like you are approaching a pond at all, but then all of a sudden you get up to your next tee and you have a water carry.

6) This section of woods is pretty cool. There is some undulating hills, very mature hardwoods, and overall the peripheral areas do not have a lot of underbrush. You want to stay on the fairway sure, but you won't often be punished by downed limbs or thick or thorny underbrush and that is much appreciated from a throwing standpoint but it also makes the course look just that much cooler.

7) The basket location on #9 (the second water shot) is extreme and I like it. Basically you can try to land on the bank of the pond short of the basket but risk rolling into the water, or you can try to overshoot the basket and end up down a big hill putting uphill where high putt might end up in the water. I say go for the ace-run and hope you make your uphill birdie putt and you will pass the field! Great great hole.

8) The leaves from the recent fall have created a nice cover for what would otherwise be bare soil. There is almost no turf to speak of on this course except maybe around the pond in a few areas. This keeps the mud down to a minmum and keeps your feet clean and helps avoid slippage.

9) There was one spot where my early round afforded me something you wouldn't always get to see . . . 5 deer including 2 bucks went scattering when I walked up a fairway one time. I love that about disc golf when you can really get to experience the natural surroundings and the animals that live on our courses.

10) There were a lot of little trippers on the fairways but they painted many of them. I assume this is preparation for having them ground out and also to help prevent us from tripping on them.

11) Hole #15 is also a great hole . . . only 180' long but through approximately a 6' tunnel. I threw my Mako and came up just short of an acerun which I couldn't even cash in on the 25' birdie putt. A great hole nonetheless and I am happy I didn't hit one of the early trees.

12) Excellent variety in shot shaping required here, not only in the direction of the hole but also in what you want to throw. This variety keeps you thinking constantly.

13) Concrete is better than any other tee surface (but see also cons).

14) I would say this course is moderately friendly to beginners because of the openness of the woods if you get off the fairway, but also because of the relatively shorter distance. They also have separate tees which helps greatly in making a course accessible to beginners.

15) The same little small posts with Hole # and distance on them along with the hole #. It helps with navigation to know you are on the right tee.

16) Bathroom and water is available right at the first tee and near the practice basket.

17) The course is completely removed from any other activity in the park (except that walking path) so you will not have distractions taking you away from the "other world" type feeling while throwing plastic at metal cages.

18) Directionals helped in a couple of spots where the layout may not be 100% intuitive.
Cons: 1) There is a path that goes through the course which is in view of some holes and in play in a few spots. This is good for exposure but bad for the conflict it can sometimes create.

2) There were a couple of lower wet spots on this course which I am sure could be handled with a little bit of draintile. They were not terrible but it was something I noticed couple of times. Eventually I assume these will be taken care of.

3) The teepads were just a bit small for my liking and I am a short guy so others will really not like them.

4) The overall feel of the holes gets
a little repetitive because they are all through the dense woods except for #8 and 9 over the water. The shots may be different but the feel and look of the holes isn't diverse. Not a bid negative, because I love wooded courses, but it is always nice to shake things up a bit, but this park looks like it doesn't have any turfed areas or slightly less dense woods to be had.

5) No teesigns quite yet . . . I will not take off points on my rating because this course was still so new, and I am sure they will end up in the ground in short order with Worlds coming up this summer.

6) No garbage cans yet . . . it looks like the locals were bagging up some garbage and leaving the bags around the course . . . I think I saw the same thing at Winget so maybe they have a way to go in and around the park and pick up those garbage bags more easily than carrying them the whole round.

7) The holes seem to favor a flick or a rh anhyzer shot. I love these shots more than anything so I enjoyed it but many other will not.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course . . . I am giving it a 4.0 even though it currently is about a 3.5 for me. I know the tee signs will be finished and the rest of the amenities will also be completed in time for worlds so I do not want to "punish" this course by lowering my rating for what I know will be done very shortly. The design on this property was awesome and the property itself was beautiful. It truly feels like you are in the middle of nowhere throwing plastic around because there is no way for noise to work its way into the woods. I would also say there are no interactions with neighborhoods, RV parks, or anything civilization has to offer so it feels even more like you are out in the woods in the middle of nowhere instead of an extremely large metropolitan area. I love it and I will be back..

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/28/2011   1/4/2012
Review By: jksenior
Played: 117  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course design was very good. the holes were generally fair, fun and an equal number of righty and lefty holes.

This is a course that was not too difficult, but there were not any real gimme deuces. The one hole that was very short, was also very, very tight - think 5-6 foot gap to throw through.

The water holes were very fair (even though my disc hit the bank on 10 and rolled into the pond). They were challeging but quite birdie-able.

The course seemed pretty well "beaten in" for a new course. New courses are often quite brutal if you miss a line and go off fairway. There wasn't a lot of scrub off of the fairways, so there was an opportunity to get back into play. Kudos to the developers if this brush was cleared.

Navigation was easy with directional signs to the next tee. Tee signs were small and basic, but were there.
Cons: The biggest con for me was the teepads. While I appreciate the fact that concrete pads were recently installed, the pads were way too small and were often slightly above the level of the surrounding ground. This made it very difficult to make a run up on most of the holes.

No major cons regarding the holes themselves. Maybe an additional tough par 4 would add to the course, but there are plenty of those in Charlotte.

Other Thoughts: The majority of the holes were of similar length (250-300). This may seem like it would get repetitive, but it didn't seem like I threw the same discs over and over.

The park was in a nice section of town, so no issues there compared to some of the Charlotte "hood" courses.

I thnk this course sets up well for players of all abilities. Pros will undoubtedly shoot in the mid to upper 40's; and good players should be able to break par easily. Beginners will enjoy as well since the majority of the holes should be reachable.

Overall a pleasant experience and a good addition to charlotte's courses.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.