Matthews, NC 
The Scrapyard Share
Uploaded By: skinnylimbs Hole #17 (Taken 5/2011)
4 / 394ft.   4 / 463ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 This is Charlotte Disc Golf

1    7/23/2013   7/24/2013
Review By: TOURNEYPLAYER
Played: 54  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.3 Years
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As one of the few courses in Charlotte that I had yet to play I was very excited to finally check Scrapyard off the list. This is not the largest park by any means but they certainly made a large and great course in the woods here. This is the only course I can think of in Charlotte where you are forced to throw over water. you do have some bail out options (lay up to the short tee) but you still have to throw over some water. the fairways for most of these holes are extremely fair. and are not punishing of good shots. Now if you miss the line you will pay the price, but thats alright by me. I think it has a nice variation of LH and RH shots, many holes are equally tough for either. My absolute favorite thing about this course is the isolation. you dont have anything else going on where the DG course is and you feel like Disc Golf is the main attraction. I have played a few other courses in Charlotte where you have to watch for kids or pedestrians or even cars, not here you dont.
There were not a bunch of gimmicky greens either. most were protected but not overly punishing for a good putt.(except for 9)
Cons: Not a whole lot of Cons. I am one who enjoys elevation changes, there was not much of this. Also, it is nice to be able to air out a drive a couple of times per rd. This course limits that due to tightness and turns.
Other Thoughts: This is a great example of Charlotte Disc Golf and the style of DG we play in the South. hit your lines and make the placement shot and you will be rewarded. Get greedy and try to drive the green, you will be punished. Anyone who is coming here should bring a couple throwaway discs for the water carries. I did not and chose to lay up on the first one when I really wanted to go for it. All in all, I would recommend this to anyone visiting Charlotte, you will not be disappointed.

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 First CLT course played - did not disappoint

1    7/5/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: pfpro
Played: 52  Reviewed: 39
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Started traveling to Charlotte for work - have looked forward to playing the area for some time.
- fairly convenient, 5 minutes from the interstate
- good signage. The tee signs show all pertinent info. There are decent "too next hole" arrows when the next teepad isn't obvious. (I did have the benefit of playing with someone who had played the course before).
- the layout is challenging and fun. Good mix of "longer" and short, left and right, a few slight elevation changes. Water shots - more on that later.
- yellow banded baskets were easy to see.
- benches at most holes. Garbage bags at most holes. Restrooms by teepad 1. Lots of parking.
Cons: - there are a lot of trails winding through the course - it was well marked, but there were a few transitions that were a little confusing.
- played after some rain, and course was kind of "washed-out". It was a little soft in some places.
- this course is tight - I woul not bring someone here to introduce them to the sport.... For an intermediate player, this is not a con.
- the pond was super high (probably due to rain). Probably made 9 a little tougher then it typically is.
Other Thoughts: This was my first Charlotte course, and I was not disappointed! I was joined by a cool local on #2 and he was my guide. I consider myself an intermediate player. Shot 3 birdies, and more bogeys. I think this would be a fun course to play on a regular basis and look forward to playing it again. Lost a throwaway disc on 9 - probably one of the toughest holes I've played. I tried to hit the gap - I'm sure you could lay-up by trying to miss trees short. With regards to fairways being "fair" - for the most part, the longer holes have wider fairways. Some are pretty tight. Very technical. Want to leave mysel some room for higher ratings for some of the other CLT courses. Reminds me of a cross between Buckhorn and Leigh Farms up in the triangle. Great course. It's definitely worth a stop.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Love it!

5+    4/1/2013   4/6/2013
Review By: MacMan
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Really fun course. Well designed, using the available land. Technical woods course, "not too hard, not too easy" shaped holes. Fairways are "fair". No hidden trees/ impossible shots. Love holes 8 & 9- great risk/ reward. Nice tee pads. Short concrete with back fill framed around them, plays like larger tee pads. Balance of straight, left and right turns. Good tee signs. Practice basket by hole 1. Bath rooms by holes 1 & 18. Best shaded course I've played, really notice it in the summer.
Cons: Trippers/ tree stumps. Lots have been removed, still lots out there. Water in the lake is down. Was told there is a leak and doubt that the parks dept will fix it any time soon.
Other Thoughts: Really love playing this course. Not too hard, but not easy. The par 4s require placement shots off the tee, not just throw it as far as you can, throw it again... Love the design of this course.

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  legit

5+    3/1/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: onetimeme
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: You win or you die on the water holes. Very diverse selection of shots.
Cons: You win or you die by the water hole. Also, that one par 3 with the impossible line is...well, impossible.
Other Thoughts: Good course for a casual day of disc golf that will hone your skills. Good test of mid rsnge shots. few up, few down, few left, few right. Average difficulty, given all the woods. Good place to check out. We're so spoiled here in Charlotte though I'd rather play nest and renny all day ;)

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course Close to Home

2-4    4/1/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: HeavyEd
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 23 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Love that such a high quality course is close to home (live in Morris Farms Area)
Beautiful layout; you dont feel like 3 holes playing the same field.
Playground nearby for the kiddies.
Cons: Litterbugs leave their trash everywhere.
Parks & Rec need to pick up and change out the bags hung on trees, replace them with cans at least.
Still a lot of roots and stumps. Make sure the kiddies step high.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. very technical with a few long shots in it. One of our favorites. Just wish people didn't leave such a mess.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/12/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 124  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 12.3 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Another great wooded course in Charlotte.
Great tees and baskets, all in excellent shape.
Tee signs are professionally done and a great help. Distances seemed accurate.
I really enjoy the layout. The course is in the woods, but the fairways are FAIR, meaning there are no trick-trees smack in the middle of the fairways that take an otherwise great shot and make it terrible just by being in the perfect line. Sure, some fairways are tight, but all of them are more than fair.
A few of the holes are quite long, requiring good placement shots, which is one of my favorite design aspects.
Nice blend of shots. Some are slightly uphill, some slightly downhill(not a lot of elevation change here). Left- and right-turning holes, and even a couple water carries :)
Doesn't interfere with any other part of the park, feels almost private at times.
Navigation could be tricky if not for the spray paint, arrows, and other various markers that lead you in the right direction.
Trash bags for your litter.
Cons: The rain had come down the night before I played, and while it wasn't a substantial downpour, it was enough to affect the course. Essentially, the fairways were soaked, and to stay dry I had to AVOID the fairways, like the water found its way to the ideal lines...the tee pads were just fine for the most part.
The pond smells like....let's not go there. I hit a great shot on #9 over the water, but my hot pink ESP Buzzz slid ever so slowly into the abyss. Was maybe only a foot into the water, but never could see it or snag it with a stick. I was NOT about to dive into this water -- think of the Bog in "Labyrinth:...I hear someone fishes them out for a small fee, but it's been a week and no call. Not mad about it, just know that the visibility in the pond is 1 inch, and the smell if you touch it is permanent.
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to my new home, and I look forward to dominating all over it in the future. If not for the smell of the pond, I would put this at a 4, but I can't avoid it in my review, it's the one thing that will stick out to anyone who plays here for the first time. Hit me up if you need a guide or just someone to toss with!

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Transformation!!

5+    8/19/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 335  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2013
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Clean Airways!! This course has fair lanes to throw down. They may be tight but they are clean.

The Teepads are short but now with the backfill and framing you don't really notice it anymore.

Garbage bag on every hole and the teesigns look great.

There is lots of variety of shot shapes and placement shots from the tee.

Holes 8 and 9 use the lake well and provide for some crazy scoring seperation. Hole 8 really reminds me of 17 at Buckhorn, And the fence on 9 looks great!
Cons: Well even though it was impossible with the land provided there are no open holes. That is a tiny con for me.

Trippers, ATL Scott didn't get them all!

Hole 9, Yes it was in the pros and its in the cons. I have a love hate relationship with this hole. while i love the angle and the throw over the lake the green is almost too much imo. It is hard to land anything close or layup a putt even with a great shot.
Other Thoughts: Ok so if I had of reviewed this course after the CAC I would have given it a 3 or 3.5 but when I went back last weekend I was ammazed at how much it had changed since then. Rob Kelly and anyone else who was involved have really busted tail to get this course looking great and I commend them for that. Definatly worth a stop if you are nearbye!

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Solid but Unrefined as of Yet

5+    5/5/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: curmudgeonDwindle
Played: 18  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 36.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Course is in a district level park featuring rolling piedmont landscape under mature canopy. Park is almost 60 acres and course is sequestered from other park activities. Park shares design features common to area parks, those being a complete periphery buffer and an entrance road leading to the park's interior where facilities are developed. Course is another iteration of the wooded/technical variety. Moderate power can score very well here, even from the advertised extended course. The average hole distance is less than 340' and on the short course 14 holes are less than 300'.

It should be noted that this course is young and, observations are not judgments. Signage is mixed, with superior tee signs on the short course. Paths on this course are narrow, long, winding and sinuous, and the routing has a rough spot in the transition from #15 to #16. Way-finding markers are inconsistent and faint. Equipment is above average. Tee pads are adequate, although some may feel them undersized. Park amenities are above average. There is a lot of fallen wood on this course, both from natural causes and from course construction. In several instances at The Scrapyard, major course features are centered on either diseased/injured trees or short-lived tree species. Rough is much less penal here than average for a course of this age. Wind effect blunted due to heavy canopy on all but the water carries. There are a few potential drainage issues, but nothing too intrusive or unsafe.

As for course balance, from the tee, natural clock spin shot shapes appear to be moderately favored on the 'scoring' holes, although many of these same landing zones do not favor fading shots approaching with this spin. By contrast the high handicap holes decidedly favor a stable counter-spin shot shape from the tee. Course requires consistent ability to hit tight gaps off the tee to keep the disc in play. To really score, one needs hit the gaps with the right angle, height and speed. Close putts from one's tee shot are really earned here. The 2 forced carries both favor a clock spin stable shot and are each a bit less than 300'. When the pond is full, #8 is the most aesthetically pleasing hole on the course.

Greens here are quite forgiving in the main, with the notable exception of #9, which can be severely penal, even to the point where it seems a little out of character with the rest of the course. #15 is a very nice punctuation mark of a short hole (215'); it is such a tempting 'straight-up' challenge, that one might feel a little embarrassed if the birdie is missed.

Course monkeys with one's perception with many blind or semi-blind holes; frequently the line of play is visible, but the target/landing zone is 'just around the corner'. 11 of the Scrapyard's holes are like this and it requires a special mindset to 'play' this feature effectively. Course knowledge would also be very useful in scoring well here, as not all trouble is easily seen, and therefore avoidable, from the tee (ie: 'hidden' tree syndrome). There are no 'impure' lines however.

As is generally the case, The Scrapyard will soften and play quality should improve as foot-traffic increases. Also of note is the unique funding method used to create this course, something this reviewer feels is a 'win-win' for all involved parties.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Brilliant

1    5/13/2012   5/13/2012
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 116  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 8.8 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If there was a dictionary entry for NC disc golf course, there would be a picture of this course under it.

Beautiful woods in a nice park, an abundance of fairway shapes, and superb distance variety as well. The obvious feather in this course's cap is the two water holes, a rarity for the QC. This course has wonderfully fair fairways with just the right amount of challenge for the distance. Tees, benches and all the other usual stuff are accounted for.

Specifics:
Lots of tunnel shots yet hardly any monotony b/c the course mixes up early/late trouble, elevation, and lines really well. The most characteristic fairway shape I recall is a kind of teardrop/reverse bottleneck with early trouble providing some pucker factor but plenty of width to air out a drive if you make the gap. Absolutely no "disc can't do that" kind of lines from the tee at all.
Cons: Tees are a little smallish and a little raised but I'm nitpicking. Some of them had a log in front of them that can be annoying if you like to follow through off the tee.

The second water hole could use some bigger logs to prevent BS rolls into the water. I'm just sayin'.
Other Thoughts: Just really fun. I was playing with bikinjack and he was telling me how when he and his buddy were playing it for the first time, they just looked at each other and remarked how much fun they were having and I concur. This course just recharges your battery if DG is starting to feel like work. It really reminds me a lot of one of my favorite courses, Castle Hayne, except with water and better elevation. I think with time, as this course gets smoother around the edges, I'll be rating it even higher b/c it really is more or less flawless.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/23/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 7.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed this course. You can definitely tell the course is new and it will improve even more over time. The fairways are carved out of the woods very nicely. The shorter holes tend to have narrower fairways which adds nice challenge.

Other Pros:
- easily navigated with signs pointing you the right way
- elevation used
- risk/reward (water hazards)
- cement tee pads
- nice tee signs
- distance variety
- mostly beginner and advanced friendly
Cons: The biggest con, which I am sure will eventually not be an issue is the tree stumps. I tripped over a few of the smaller ones. Some were spray painted but there are too many to watch out for right now.

Other Cons:
- small parking lot can fill up quickly and there isn't another nearby option

Hole #9 is awesome but tough. A beginner may hate this hole. The throw carries over the water to the basket on a ridge, the backside has a steep slope down to the woods.

I personally loved #9! My friends did not.
Other Thoughts: Many holes felt secluded from the world. The woods are thick outside the fairways, and you felt far from civilization even though you aren't.

There has been a lot of work done and as more of the extras are added the course will look even better.

Nice job Charlotte! This is a good one.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.