Canterbury, NH
Top O' The Hill Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: docsmock Hole #12 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Great course, constant improvement

5+    10/19/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: JimBailey175
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Well laid out offering a good shot variety and level playing field for LH/RH and FH/BH throwers.
+Easy navigation and good signage.
+Decent length and elevation on a mostly technical (tight) course.
+Rubber mats on large, level frames make for the best tee pads you'll find.
+Friendly and passionate owners (Marty and Betsy) improve the course in new ways every day.
+Fully stocked pro shop, ample parking, and complete warm-up area (practice basket and huck net).
+Nice finishing touches including big benches on most holes (handcrafted from cut trees) and water coolers at pro shop and hole 12/13/15/16 intersection.
Cons: -Some litter near tee pads (carry out, people!).
-A few holes are more like "throw and hope" than "follow the fairway" (1, 11, 13), at least for an intermediate player like myself.
-Hole 13 eats lost discs. Big hyzer bomb with blind hillside landing zone generates frequent rollaways where locating your drive is very difficult. Use a spotter if you can (I often play solo).
Other Thoughts: Thanks to the efforts of the owners, TOTH gets better every time I play it (which is too often). Brand new pro-shop construction is well underway and (already ample) disc/bag selection is expanding.
Continuous improvement is ongoing with brush reduction and selective tree removal to enhance the playing experience without compromising the challenge of the course.
I'm happy to have TOTH as my home course and I can't wait to see what the future holds here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

TOTH is great

2-4    7/2/2013   8/28/2013
Review By: 603dischucker
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: this course offers it all you will use every shot in your bag and some. it's the only PDGA rated course in NH as well. Marty has put a lot of time and effort into this course and it shows. The fairways are clear and sized perfect for being in the woods. the. Overall the course plays great and is very clean, nice baskets great practice area and the proshop is priced well too.
Cons: it can be rather buggy so bring the bug spray.
Other Thoughts: TOTH started tags this year as well, wish I could make it to them.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

The best Course In NH

5+    8/23/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: Ctufankjian
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: I'm biased because this is the course that introduced me to DG.
Marty owns and maintains TOTH and he's usually around to talk to etc.
The course is designed well the holes are memorable, challenging, and varied
Every hole is constantly being improved, making this course better every year
Great pro shop
Cons: Makes many of the other area courses generally disappointing.
Other Thoughts: Youll see why it's worth the 5 bucks!

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

home sweet home

5+    8/4/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: blumonk
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a terrific variety of long and short holes and left/right turning holes.
As of this spring, all holes have framed rubber tee boxes.
There has also been some clearing of brush outside of the fairways combined with ordinary foot traffic that has made finding your mishap of a shot and making a successful recovery easier.
Marty is upgrading his pro shop as we speak which will only add to this already terrific course.
Cons: I would mention things like mosquitos, ticks, pricker bushes, and poison ivy like everyone else, but it's no worse than any other place in the woods of New England. Bring bug spray and watch where you step.
Other Thoughts: We stumbled upon TOTH in spring '12 and it quickly became the home course of my friends and me. Marty and Dave have put a ton of work into it. The holes flow very smoothly. Holes 8 & 11 are two of the last few holes to get rubber tee pads and their locations were moved slightly to provide a little more challenge.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

TOTH is playing nice

1    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Mergz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really challenging layout with holes that vary in distance, direction, and elevation. It is a neutral friendly course. Rubber tee pads, benches and trash buckets at each hole, the benches are mostly shaded.
Cons: Poison Ivy, mosquitoes, and the usual New England pests.
Other Thoughts: The course has come a long way. They have done a lot of clean up. Even the "rough" is a little nicer and it seems like they got rid of some trees along the edges of the fairways. Some holes seem just a bit more open than last season. Others are just as tight as I remember. If you play smart and in control, the trees, even the ones right in the middle, in front of the tee boxes are avoidable. With trash buckets at almost every hole, it's amazing that there is still litter on the course. My son was collecting up the bottle caps that he found along the way.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Becca

5+    5/2/2013   5/2/2013
Review By: powelljoy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Top O'The Hill is my favorite course to play. While being a bit of a challenge, it is a very enjoyable course.
Cons: It is a very new course and isn't completely finished. I commend the owners and all who helped along the way. It gets better and better everytime I play.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    4/17/2013   4/23/2013
Review By: jvaccaro
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Solid course design rewards good drives with birdie chances, while offering a fair but serious challenge. Well balanced 18 with short and long holes, with both open and wooded shots. Not an easy course, but not too hard either, making me want to play it again and again. The surrounding area is beautiful NH woodlands with nice home made wood benches. Good signage makes it easy to navigate. Also, the owner of the course Marty is a really nice guy who you can tell truly loves disc golf. Large disc selection in the club house too.
Cons: Some of the teeboxes don't have rubber mats yet. When they're all finished this course will be 4.5/5 easy.
Other Thoughts: I played this course when it first opened and again late last year. From then to now, the improvements are dramatic. The underbrush is way less intrusive, cleaned up fairways, benches, and rubber teeboxes make this course very close to championship caliber.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Always Improving

5+    12/7/2012   12/10/2012
Review By: AaronMonier18
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you haven't played Top 'O the Hill recently, you haven't played Top 'O The Hill. The course has undergone many improvements over the year, especially in preparation for the NEFA tournament, and is working in like a new disc. Framed rubber teepads have been installed on many holes. Chainstar baskets at the proper height and level. The amount of cleared scrub and trees has really opened up this course and made it entirely different from a year ago. Increased foot travel has only been improving the fairways. Homemade benches are present on many holes. Clearly, this course is loved by the owners and locals. There is a diverse variety of shots required and luck can be a factor even on some good shots. Elevation changes can be dramatic at times but makes for good exercise. The course has length but requires accuracy and consistency.
Cons: Some lines require luck and you're not always rewarded for a good shot. The high-line on hole 1 comes to mind. However, just about every hole presents a birdie-opp with quality shots.
Other Thoughts: Top 'O The Hill will continue to get better in time with use and care from owners. It can be frustrating but very gratifying when played well. Owners are very committed to growing the sport and create a great community environment.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Looking Good, Fun Course

2-4    10/22/2012   10/24/2012
Review By: breck66
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent baskets,practice basket, driving net, clear fairways, good distribution of shots, bombs, flicks, finesse, elevation change,teepads are currently being built, some are in. Owner is a good guy, pro shop w/decent selection on site, awesome views.
Cons: Not a lot of negative, for a new course, a ton of work has clearly been done, signage and completed teepads would boost my rating to a 4.
Other Thoughts: I played TOp O' The hill last weekend for a tournament and was pleasantly surprised. Current pictures don't do it justice, this is a well planned out 18 hole course, fairways are cleared, side vegetation removed. A lot of work has been done and continues, I live an hour and a half away and would not hesitate to drive up again to see what improvements have taken place. I like water hazards and OB's, this course does not have that, pro or con depending on personal preferrence. Could probably get away with only bringing a ROc-Buzz, and driver, a lot of shorter technical holes which demand accuracy.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Fair Test.

5+    9/7/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: NH DISCDOLF J
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Holes Range from 200-600 feet.
-Righty's call this a lefty's course, and vice versa, all shot types are needed.
-Hole variety encourages driving with putters, mids, and distance drivers.
-Technical / Demanding front nine, errant shots will be punished.
-"Air it Out" on holes 12-15.
-5 holes over 450 feet. These are not just open bombs either, through the woods.
-All holes are birdie-able. Some easy (Hole 2), others very difficult (Hole 14).
-Excellent brand new baskets that are well located, most have wood chips in the circle.
-It's a give and take course. If you make a double, so what, there are birdie and eagle oppurtunities ahead.
Cons:
-There are some overhanging branches that will snag a good drive on holes where a low ceiling is not necessary. (I have seen recent improvements in this area)
-Some fairways have large stumps, that will redirect your low lazer drive into the woods.
-Hole 13 involves some luck. There are multiple lines, but there is not one distinct / safe line to the basket. The hole is fairly marked a par 4. However, I think a line should be opened up, changing the hole into a par 3.
Other Thoughts:
-Course owners are dedicated to growing the sport. Make sure you say hello to Marty or Betsy.
-Marty and Dave work very hard to improve the course daily.
-Feel free to make suggestions to Marty. He may not act on them. But he will listen to your ideas and is very open to others interpretation of his course.
-Well stocked pro shop with over 400 discs. Innova, Discraft, Gateway, Latitude 64, and Vibram.
-Easy access off of Interstate 93-Exit 17.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.