Canterbury, NH 
Top O' The Hill Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: docsmock   (Taken 1/2013)
Pro Shop



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good hometown vibe

2-4    8/16/2014   8/16/2014
Review By: KLydon
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +Flick friendly (could be a con)
+Well maintained
+Great owner
+Nice little pro shop
+Clear fairways
Cons: -Some holes are a little awkward playing through the first time (positioning)
-I feel like it would be easy to get nailed by a disc as many of the fairways are parallel
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to just chill out and play some disc golf. Some of the mapping is a little off but it's pretty easy to find your way around; I liken this course to Flatrock. Just like Flatrock, watch out for people throwing on other holes! I really enjoyed this course though; I use a flick for 99% of shots and scored a +2, so I think that means you should bring a good anny game or have a flick ready.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

TOTH is playing nice

1    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Mergz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really challenging layout with holes that vary in distance, direction, and elevation. It is a neutral friendly course. Rubber tee pads, benches and trash buckets at each hole, the benches are mostly shaded.
Cons: Poison Ivy, mosquitoes, and the usual New England pests.
Other Thoughts: The course has come a long way. They have done a lot of clean up. Even the "rough" is a little nicer and it seems like they got rid of some trees along the edges of the fairways. Some holes seem just a bit more open than last season. Others are just as tight as I remember. If you play smart and in control, the trees, even the ones right in the middle, in front of the tee boxes are avoidable. With trash buckets at almost every hole, it's amazing that there is still litter on the course. My son was collecting up the bottle caps that he found along the way.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Always Improving

5+    12/7/2012   12/10/2012
Review By: AaronMonier18
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you haven't played Top 'O the Hill recently, you haven't played Top 'O The Hill. The course has undergone many improvements over the year, especially in preparation for the NEFA tournament, and is working in like a new disc. Framed rubber teepads have been installed on many holes. Chainstar baskets at the proper height and level. The amount of cleared scrub and trees has really opened up this course and made it entirely different from a year ago. Increased foot travel has only been improving the fairways. Homemade benches are present on many holes. Clearly, this course is loved by the owners and locals. There is a diverse variety of shots required and luck can be a factor even on some good shots. Elevation changes can be dramatic at times but makes for good exercise. The course has length but requires accuracy and consistency.
Cons: Some lines require luck and you're not always rewarded for a good shot. The high-line on hole 1 comes to mind. However, just about every hole presents a birdie-opp with quality shots.
Other Thoughts: Top 'O The Hill will continue to get better in time with use and care from owners. It can be frustrating but very gratifying when played well. Owners are very committed to growing the sport and create a great community environment.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Fair Test.

5+    9/7/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: NH DISCDOLF J
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Holes Range from 200-600 feet.
-Righty's call this a lefty's course, and vice versa, all shot types are needed.
-Hole variety encourages driving with putters, mids, and distance drivers.
-Technical / Demanding front nine, errant shots will be punished.
-"Air it Out" on holes 12-15.
-5 holes over 450 feet. These are not just open bombs either, through the woods.
-All holes are birdie-able. Some easy (Hole 2), others very difficult (Hole 14).
-Excellent brand new baskets that are well located, most have wood chips in the circle.
-It's a give and take course. If you make a double, so what, there are birdie and eagle oppurtunities ahead.
Cons:
-There are some overhanging branches that will snag a good drive on holes where a low ceiling is not necessary. (I have seen recent improvements in this area)
-Some fairways have large stumps, that will redirect your low lazer drive into the woods.
-Hole 13 involves some luck. There are multiple lines, but there is not one distinct / safe line to the basket. The hole is fairly marked a par 4. However, I think a line should be opened up, changing the hole into a par 3.
Other Thoughts:
-Course owners are dedicated to growing the sport. Make sure you say hello to Marty or Betsy.
-Marty and Dave work very hard to improve the course daily.
-Feel free to make suggestions to Marty. He may not act on them. But he will listen to your ideas and is very open to others interpretation of his course.
-Well stocked pro shop with over 400 discs. Innova, Discraft, Gateway, Latitude 64, and Vibram.
-Easy access off of Interstate 93-Exit 17.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/16/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: memammc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Very challenging course.
well cared for, great views, variety of shots offered. Have a blast every time I'm there.
Cons: Make sure you bring bug spray. ticks are bad
Other Thoughts: I have been playing this course since it opened. Its amazing how much work has been put into it. I can tell its only going to get better and better with time.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/12/2012   5/13/2012
Review By: tcolby
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Challenging course, great environment, loaner discs, wood chips around baskets and on walking path to next tee box and nice tee boxes being completed.
Cons: There isn't too much to complain about besides if you're having an "off" day the course can become frustrating and some holes could have less trees.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing here for about 4 months now since I live less than 10min away and this course gets better every time I play. From what I've been told about last year, which was the first year being open, the course has made significant improvements!

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Great course Many changes

1    4/26/2012   4/26/2012
Review By: tr4w
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Many varied shots
Good use of terrain
Well Cared for
Friendly Owner
Cons: The tee pads are rough. But new ones were going in the day we played.
Other Thoughts: Marty has done a fantastic job with this course! Most of the older reviews are no longer valid. There has been allot of clearing trimming and chipping around this entire course. There are challenges for all skill levels. And Marty was installing the first rubber Tee Pads while we were there. The pads will certainly bump this courses rating.

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  On Its Way

5+    11/16/2011   11/20/2011
Review By: docsmock
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very good flow to the course, I like courses that are easy to navigate,The course forces you to play hard and challenge yourself at every hole
Cons: The course is brand new, so not everything is well manicured. I see big improvement every time I play here, so probably want be a con much longer.The tee box's are natural and could stand a little better maintenance
Other Thoughts: I am glad that there is a course in the middle of NH and that the owners are totally dedicated to the sport

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  worth the 5$

5+    8/9/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: Fairway Tammy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/9/2011
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Wanted to take a moment to thank Marty of Top 'o' Hill disc golf. Being a recovering stroke victim, and your passion for disc golf has gotten me out alot more.Thank you. Your course is pleasure to play. I like seeing how you are keeping things as natural. Seeing the birds in the trees,chip-monks on the stumps and the great tasting berries under the roughs.Your getting me hooked on the game. keep up the good work!! I play all the time now!!!
I take my time, but,a good time it is!! 13-15 are hard, as a disabled person.
Cons: Bugs spray and water needed!! Make sure you have water!!
Other Thoughts: Good people also!!

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Keep it in the fairway

1    7/3/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: bradharris
Played: 75  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2012
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This a great course for when you're really looking for a challenge. There is a nice mix of long holes that test your arm and shorter technical holes that force you to consider shot selection very carefully.

There are a number of nice par 4 holes that require two shots to reach the green. These holes really require a sharp mental game to play your tee shot to the right place to set up a second shot to reach the green.

Most fairways are well defined and clear, with good signage with shape and distance.

Navigation is generally very easy aside from one trick spot (see below).
Cons: Anything off the fairway is punished severely. The rough on most holes is very thick. Not only is it easy to lose discs, but a tee shot even a few feet off the fairway leaves a par save very unlikely. Although this isn't necessarily a bad thing, narrow fairways with very few defined landing areas on par fours make it worse. Even a good straight shot can end up in the rough if it fades a little too much at the end. Tall trees prevent wide shots designed to fade back to the fairway, so dead straight is the only safe option.

A few holes need some tree removal. 1 and 13 particularly. There's too much luck involved on these holes.

After hole 12, the most prominent tee is actually 16. The 13th tee hides behind it. It's very easy to miss 13 and play 16 instead as I did. I only realized I'd missed three holes after holing out 600 feet down the trail.

The short tees don't offer much relief to the less experienced player. Nor do they provide a distinctly different look for the experience player. It would be nice to see a more beginner friendly layout.
Other Thoughts: This course will definitely challenge all aspects of your game. You have to be strong mentally and physically through all 18 holes.

Bring water and bug spray for sure.

The on-site pro shop is nothing more than a camper with a few racks. When I was there the stock was completely depleted. It looked like they mostly carry basic DX discs.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.