Canterbury, NH
Top O' The Hill Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: docsmock Hole #1 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 193ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Awesome Course

5+    6/18/2013   7/1/2012
Review By: davistd0
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2013
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a technical course that helps level out all players on the scorecard. There are only 3 or 4 holes where 350 foot drives are needed. The rest require a controlled mid-range disc or a smooth flick. Great hole variety and pin location as well: no gimme approaches.

Good tee signs on every hole. I had no problem navigating the course. Smooth flow from hole to hole.

They are constantly clearing the low vegetation along the eges of the fairways to give the course a more polished look and increase playability. The trimming is very strategic; keeping the challenge intact while making it easier to find bad shots/kicks.

A few holes have hand-crafted benches made from trees cut on the course. There is a practice basket and driving net by the parking area to warm up your game on.

New teepads have been installed and they look/play great!
Cons: The rough lining the fairways can be unforgiving where it hasn't been trimmed yet. Do not stray to the left on #3 or #6.
Other Thoughts: Course is in great condition and a blast to play.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/16/2012   6/23/2012
Review By: memammc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Very challenging course.
well cared for, great views, variety of shots offered. Have a blast every time I'm there.
Cons: Make sure you bring bug spray. ticks are bad
Other Thoughts: I have been playing this course since it opened. Its amazing how much work has been put into it. I can tell its only going to get better and better with time.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

needs a ton of work

1    6/18/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: decksnap
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
15 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: A couple of interesting/scenic holes around the power lines.
Cons: • The tees are rubber at best, scruffy dirt patches at worst.

• Fairways are tight, rough, stumpy, lumpy and weedy.

• Pin placement choices are odd
Other Thoughts: I felt compelled to write a review after seeing such a high and unwarranted rating. This course was rough to say the least. It is essentially a backwoods four wheeler trail with some baskets on it. This course needs wider, cleaner fairways and better pin positions on many (most of) the holes.

I've only played about 10 of the courses in the area, but this is honestly at the very bottom. It's hard to describe what makes a course feel like a course vs just throwing discs through the woods. This doesn't feel like a course, and though I wish these guys the best of luck, they need to rethink this thing if they want to bring it to the next level.

15 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Good Job Marty

1    5/26/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: Chris Carr
Played: 39  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Clean and quiet. A mainly wooded course layed out with variing degrees of difficulty, elevation changes and distances. Marty is doing a great job. Jarod and I were the first to play Hole 13 tee. Nice rubber on alot of stone dust. He has definatly put alot of time, hard work and money into this coure. It shows! Well done.
Cons: Usual blood sucking vermin.

Long walk to Hole 1
Other Thoughts: Great course. If a few more small trees were removed and maybe additional lanes on a couple holes it would be awsome.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/18/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: Acey
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Challenging.course
nice.fairways
Nice.owners
Shaded.and.sunny.areas
Great.disc.prices.
benches.through.out.the.course
Well.maintained


Cons: Ticks
no.water.holes
Other Thoughts: This.is.the.best.course.I've.played.in.NH.so.far.

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/12/2012   5/13/2012
Review By: tcolby
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Challenging course, great environment, loaner discs, wood chips around baskets and on walking path to next tee box and nice tee boxes being completed.
Cons: There isn't too much to complain about besides if you're having an "off" day the course can become frustrating and some holes could have less trees.
Other Thoughts: I've been playing here for about 4 months now since I live less than 10min away and this course gets better every time I play. From what I've been told about last year, which was the first year being open, the course has made significant improvements!

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great course Many changes

1    4/26/2012   4/26/2012
Review By: tr4w
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3 Years
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Many varied shots
Good use of terrain
Well Cared for
Friendly Owner
Cons: The tee pads are rough. But new ones were going in the day we played.
Other Thoughts: Marty has done a fantastic job with this course! Most of the older reviews are no longer valid. There has been allot of clearing trimming and chipping around this entire course. There are challenges for all skill levels. And Marty was installing the first rubber Tee Pads while we were there. The pads will certainly bump this courses rating.

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  On Its Way

5+    11/16/2011   11/20/2011
Review By: docsmock
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very good flow to the course, I like courses that are easy to navigate,The course forces you to play hard and challenge yourself at every hole
Cons: The course is brand new, so not everything is well manicured. I see big improvement every time I play here, so probably want be a con much longer.The tee box's are natural and could stand a little better maintenance
Other Thoughts: I am glad that there is a course in the middle of NH and that the owners are totally dedicated to the sport

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but rough

1    8/27/2011   10/27/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.2 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through dense woods with some nice elevation changes. A few holes have steeper hills that add some nice challenges, and many have minor elevation that keeps it interesting. The course is challenging from the longer tees, but offers shorter tees on many holes to offer more reasonable shots for newer players.

There is a good mix of hole lengths, from ace runs to multi-shot par 4s that call for a couple accurate shots through the woods to get near the pin. The fairways have good variety of left and right turning shots. The signs are basic but informative enough with hole layout and distance. The flow is easy to follow other than a little confusion after 12. The baskets are in great shape, and still looked basically new.
Cons: The course is still pretty rough, though there were lots of signs of recent clearing. The woods are dense with lots of thick underbrush, so I can imagine it's a huge job to keep up with. That said, some of the fairways were a bit overgrown and many still have small stumps waiting to trip you up. The tees are a bit rough as well, many showed some signs of erosion and rutting.
Other Thoughts: With a little cleaning and clearing, this course has the potential to be a really fun challenge with harsh but fair punishment for missing your line. Despite the shorter set of tees, beginners will still find this course pretty tight and punitive which could be frustrating to some. More experienced players will find some nice tests here, though it can get a bit repetitive in certain parts of the course.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  worth the 5$

5+    8/9/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: Fairway Tammy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/9/2011
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Wanted to take a moment to thank Marty of Top 'o' Hill disc golf. Being a recovering stroke victim, and your passion for disc golf has gotten me out alot more.Thank you. Your course is pleasure to play. I like seeing how you are keeping things as natural. Seeing the birds in the trees,chip-monks on the stumps and the great tasting berries under the roughs.Your getting me hooked on the game. keep up the good work!! I play all the time now!!!
I take my time, but,a good time it is!! 13-15 are hard, as a disabled person.
Cons: Bugs spray and water needed!! Make sure you have water!!
Other Thoughts: Good people also!!

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.