Canterbury, NH 
Top O' The Hill Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: docsmock Hole #12 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
  On Its Way

5+    11/16/2011   11/20/2011
Review By: docsmock
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very good flow to the course, I like courses that are easy to navigate,The course forces you to play hard and challenge yourself at every hole
Cons: The course is brand new, so not everything is well manicured. I see big improvement every time I play here, so probably want be a con much longer.The tee box's are natural and could stand a little better maintenance
Other Thoughts: I am glad that there is a course in the middle of NH and that the owners are totally dedicated to the sport

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but rough

1    8/27/2011   10/27/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through dense woods with some nice elevation changes. A few holes have steeper hills that add some nice challenges, and many have minor elevation that keeps it interesting. The course is challenging from the longer tees, but offers shorter tees on many holes to offer more reasonable shots for newer players.

There is a good mix of hole lengths, from ace runs to multi-shot par 4s that call for a couple accurate shots through the woods to get near the pin. The fairways have good variety of left and right turning shots. The signs are basic but informative enough with hole layout and distance. The flow is easy to follow other than a little confusion after 12. The baskets are in great shape, and still looked basically new.
Cons: The course is still pretty rough, though there were lots of signs of recent clearing. The woods are dense with lots of thick underbrush, so I can imagine it's a huge job to keep up with. That said, some of the fairways were a bit overgrown and many still have small stumps waiting to trip you up. The tees are a bit rough as well, many showed some signs of erosion and rutting.
Other Thoughts: With a little cleaning and clearing, this course has the potential to be a really fun challenge with harsh but fair punishment for missing your line. Despite the shorter set of tees, beginners will still find this course pretty tight and punitive which could be frustrating to some. More experienced players will find some nice tests here, though it can get a bit repetitive in certain parts of the course.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  worth the 5$

5+    8/9/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: Fairway Tammy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/9/2011
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Wanted to take a moment to thank Marty of Top 'o' Hill disc golf. Being a recovering stroke victim, and your passion for disc golf has gotten me out alot more.Thank you. Your course is pleasure to play. I like seeing how you are keeping things as natural. Seeing the birds in the trees,chip-monks on the stumps and the great tasting berries under the roughs.Your getting me hooked on the game. keep up the good work!! I play all the time now!!!
I take my time, but,a good time it is!! 13-15 are hard, as a disabled person.
Cons: Bugs spray and water needed!! Make sure you have water!!
Other Thoughts: Good people also!!

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Not worth $5 yet

1    7/7/2011   7/7/2011
Review By: hawknick
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course is challenging, and many tight fairways test your accuracy and punish mistakes, even small ones. Signs are not bad, and also baskets are brand new which is always nice.
Course is easy to find, only a few minutes off the highway. Requires a decent variety of shots.
Cons: Though the course layout overall is not bad, the fairways are all very overgrown with weeds and brush and many tree stumps which makes walking the course a struggle, and also leaves good shots with difficult footing for the next.
Most of the holes you cannot see the basket from the tee, forcing you to walk down the length of the overgrown fairway, find a landmark, go back to the tee and throw.
Pay to play, not worth the $5. It is a new course and has potential to be worth it in a few years, but not yet
Other Thoughts: Overall ok, but not worth $5. I live in Manchester NH and this is the closest course to me. I will probably choose Muldoon over Top o' The Hill next time.
Also "pro shop" is just a trailer.
Biggest negative was the overgrown fairways.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Keep it in the fairway

1    7/3/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: bradharris
Played: 70  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2012
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This a great course for when you're really looking for a challenge. There is a nice mix of long holes that test your arm and shorter technical holes that force you to consider shot selection very carefully.

There are a number of nice par 4 holes that require two shots to reach the green. These holes really require a sharp mental game to play your tee shot to the right place to set up a second shot to reach the green.

Most fairways are well defined and clear, with good signage with shape and distance.

Navigation is generally very easy aside from one trick spot (see below).
Cons: Anything off the fairway is punished severely. The rough on most holes is very thick. Not only is it easy to lose discs, but a tee shot even a few feet off the fairway leaves a par save very unlikely. Although this isn't necessarily a bad thing, narrow fairways with very few defined landing areas on par fours make it worse. Even a good straight shot can end up in the rough if it fades a little too much at the end. Tall trees prevent wide shots designed to fade back to the fairway, so dead straight is the only safe option.

A few holes need some tree removal. 1 and 13 particularly. There's too much luck involved on these holes.

After hole 12, the most prominent tee is actually 16. The 13th tee hides behind it. It's very easy to miss 13 and play 16 instead as I did. I only realized I'd missed three holes after holing out 600 feet down the trail.

The short tees don't offer much relief to the less experienced player. Nor do they provide a distinctly different look for the experience player. It would be nice to see a more beginner friendly layout.
Other Thoughts: This course will definitely challenge all aspects of your game. You have to be strong mentally and physically through all 18 holes.

Bring water and bug spray for sure.

The on-site pro shop is nothing more than a camper with a few racks. When I was there the stock was completely depleted. It looked like they mostly carry basic DX discs.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 decent course

1    6/5/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: DiscGolfingGuy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: spread out, scenic
Cons: fairways need trimmed up...pay to play...
Other Thoughts: this is a decent course, but still way to many trees in the fairways. should be a free course until they finish working on it ... not worth 5 dollars to play ...

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course in the making

2-4    5/14/2011   5/14/2011
Review By: danman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very challenging, nice wooded fairways, very good signage, awesome course owner. Beautiful brand new baskets. A couple of ace runs, and some really long legitimate par 4's
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Awesome course still a work in progress. Loved it, would definitely like to play there again after its broke in a little more.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Finally a course less than an hour from me

5+    5/11/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: bigpygmy
Played: 55  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2011
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun and challenging, good variety of shots come into play. No water...
Cons: The usual; ticks, poison ivy, bugs, etc.... No complaints about the course, only mother nature.
I guess the tee pads could be better, but they're still putting some things together as it's a completely new course
Other Thoughts: The course is brand new, once people start using it more and things become more established, I see this course becoming excellent. Pro shop and free loaner discs

Since May they have cleared literally tons of undergrowth, widened fairways, improved signage, painted the pro shop, installed benches, replaced the stolen sign(stolen the within first couple weeks they opened), got a website, hosted an awesome Ace Race, and overall have steadily improved the course over the summer.
Marty and crew are passionate about disc golf for everyone and his dedication to making it accessible is shown through this course.
Your $5 is what helps to make this course and it has put it to good use. As evident by the vast improvements that have taken place in only one season. It takes cash to run chainsaws, tractors, brush cutters, etc...
....and the shop never has discs because people buy them up as quick as he gets them in.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.