Canterbury, NH 
Top O' The Hill Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: docsmock Hole #2 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Good hometown vibe

2-4    8/16/2014   8/16/2014
Review By: KLydon
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +Flick friendly (could be a con)
+Well maintained
+Great owner
+Nice little pro shop
+Clear fairways
Cons: -Some holes are a little awkward playing through the first time (positioning)
-I feel like it would be easy to get nailed by a disc as many of the fairways are parallel
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to just chill out and play some disc golf. Some of the mapping is a little off but it's pretty easy to find your way around; I liken this course to Flatrock. Just like Flatrock, watch out for people throwing on other holes! I really enjoyed this course though; I use a flick for 99% of shots and scored a +2, so I think that means you should bring a good anny game or have a flick ready.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Top O the line Casual Experience

2-4    7/13/2014   7/17/2014
Review By: jtreadwell
Played: 34  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fantastic atmosphere and staff
- Good variety of shots and hole lengths
- Well groomed for a deep woods course
- Nice little pro shop on site
- Good signage and teepads
- Excellent use of elevation
Cons: - Lower on the challenge side (may be pro for some)
- Rough is typical for a deep woods course
- Buggy as all hell (not necessarily within control, but s con nonetheless)
Other Thoughts: Top O' The Hill DGC is an exemplary example of a top notch casual course. While it lacks the long, difficult drives and high class amenities of a "professional" course like Maple Hill, TOTH never wanted to be one of those courses in the first place. The owner and designer, Marty, created TOTH to be a haven for those who want to relax and hang out with friends while playing a fantastic round of golf, and in that pursuit he succeeded with honors. The course winds throughout the woods as it traverses the large hill that is the course's namesake. Every hole has at least moderate elevation change, and the course is set up to have a good mix of both positive and negative elevation to create some unique holes. There are plenty of trees to block errant shots on even the shortest, easiest holes, so while there will be quite a few birdie and ace opportunities nothing is guaranteed. There are no clear signature holes (though the downhill 390ft bomb into the woods could be a contender to some) but each hole presents a different shot than the last, and the mixing of short, long, uphill, downhill, tight, and open holes is well done to avoid a feeling of de ja vu.
While the fairways are well kept, this IS a deep woods course and is therefore subject to the usual drawbacks. Going off of the fairway can lead to some difficulty in locating your plastic, as the underbrush is clearly too much for the small staff to completely keep in check. With thick foliage comes thick swarms of mosquitos and horseflies (or deer flies, or moose flies, or whatever. Some variety of ungulate fly) so be prepared to leave a pint or two of your blood at the course. High DEET bugspray seems to act as seasoning for the bugs here, so plan to wear protective clothing if you're averse to a few bug bites.
Don't let the bugs turn you off though! The best way to reduce the threat of bugs is to play with others and provide extra targets, and fortunately that shouldn't be a problem. I showed up alone, but was easily able to meet up and be invited to play with some of the local players. There is an active league with multiple skill tiers, so not only are there plenty of friendly locals to play with, there's opportunity for some healthy competition if that's your thing. Marty has a good thing going here and will happily include you in it as long as you're respectful and friendly. Leave your privilege and don't be a dick, and you'll have a fantastic, laid back round of good old fashioned disc golf at TOTH.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Gem

2-4    6/15/2014   6/25/2014
Review By: NHChiver
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: What a Great course. I had no expectations when i arrived. I kinda thought I'd be looking at a really good home course. I can see why this place is so highly rated. Great shot variation, some early birdie opps to get your game going. Then on back the 9 they open up to some real bombs. Fairways are challenging but fair, the rough is well cleared of scrub, leaving just evil trees to screw up your shot. Water stations on a few holes. The owners are friendly and the pro shop is well stocked. Make a trip to this little New Hampshire Gem.
Cons: I wish it was a little closer to my house
Other Thoughts: a music series, regular leagues, a pro shop. what are you waiting for.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    5/14/2014   5/14/2014
Review By: Kinsman
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Got the chance to play this course today for the first time. A nice little course in the hills of southern NH. Lots of tight wooded holes with well trimmed fairways and a couple of open holes on the back 9. Course is clean and well maintained by the owner. Discraft Chainstars are my favorite basket to putt into and they treated me well on this course.
Cons: Some of the holes seem a bit awkwardly shaped and will have either a LH or RH bias. A couple of curvy tunnels cut for fairways were a little too tight on the curves to realistically give you a chance a making it all the way down the fairway. Lots of short par 3s in the trees doesn't give you many opportunities to pull out your faster discs.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is a great addition to the area. Although I like a course to feature a few more open shots, I think they did a great job making the tight woods of New England work.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great course, constant improvement

5+    10/19/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: JimBailey175
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Well laid out offering a good shot variety and level playing field for LH/RH and FH/BH throwers.
+Easy navigation and good signage.
+Decent length and elevation on a mostly technical (tight) course.
+Rubber mats on large, level frames make for the best tee pads you'll find.
+Friendly and passionate owners (Marty and Betsy) improve the course in new ways every day.
+Fully stocked pro shop, ample parking, and complete warm-up area (practice basket and huck net).
+Nice finishing touches including big benches on most holes (handcrafted from cut trees) and water coolers at pro shop and hole 12/13/15/16 intersection.
Cons: -Some litter near tee pads (carry out, people!).
-A few holes are more like "throw and hope" than "follow the fairway" (1, 11, 13), at least for an intermediate player like myself.
-Hole 13 eats lost discs. Big hyzer bomb with blind hillside landing zone generates frequent rollaways where locating your drive is very difficult. Use a spotter if you can (I often play solo).
Other Thoughts: Thanks to the efforts of the owners, TOTH gets better every time I play it (which is too often). Brand new pro-shop construction is well underway and (already ample) disc/bag selection is expanding.
Continuous improvement is ongoing with brush reduction and selective tree removal to enhance the playing experience without compromising the challenge of the course.
I'm happy to have TOTH as my home course and I can't wait to see what the future holds here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

TOTH is great

2-4    7/2/2013   8/28/2013
Review By: 603dischucker
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: this course offers it all you will use every shot in your bag and some. it's the only PDGA rated course in NH as well. Marty has put a lot of time and effort into this course and it shows. The fairways are clear and sized perfect for being in the woods. the. Overall the course plays great and is very clean, nice baskets great practice area and the proshop is priced well too.
Cons: it can be rather buggy so bring the bug spray.
Other Thoughts: TOTH started tags this year as well, wish I could make it to them.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

The best Course In NH

5+    8/23/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: Ctufankjian
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: I'm biased because this is the course that introduced me to DG.
Marty owns and maintains TOTH and he's usually around to talk to etc.
The course is designed well the holes are memorable, challenging, and varied
Every hole is constantly being improved, making this course better every year
Great pro shop
Cons: Makes many of the other area courses generally disappointing.
Other Thoughts: Youll see why it's worth the 5 bucks!

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

home sweet home

5+    8/4/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: blumonk
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a terrific variety of long and short holes and left/right turning holes.
As of this spring, all holes have framed rubber tee boxes.
There has also been some clearing of brush outside of the fairways combined with ordinary foot traffic that has made finding your mishap of a shot and making a successful recovery easier.
Marty is upgrading his pro shop as we speak which will only add to this already terrific course.
Cons: I would mention things like mosquitos, ticks, pricker bushes, and poison ivy like everyone else, but it's no worse than any other place in the woods of New England. Bring bug spray and watch where you step.
Other Thoughts: We stumbled upon TOTH in spring '12 and it quickly became the home course of my friends and me. Marty and Dave have put a ton of work into it. The holes flow very smoothly. Holes 8 & 11 are two of the last few holes to get rubber tee pads and their locations were moved slightly to provide a little more challenge.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

TOTH is playing nice

1    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Mergz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really challenging layout with holes that vary in distance, direction, and elevation. It is a neutral friendly course. Rubber tee pads, benches and trash buckets at each hole, the benches are mostly shaded.
Cons: Poison Ivy, mosquitoes, and the usual New England pests.
Other Thoughts: The course has come a long way. They have done a lot of clean up. Even the "rough" is a little nicer and it seems like they got rid of some trees along the edges of the fairways. Some holes seem just a bit more open than last season. Others are just as tight as I remember. If you play smart and in control, the trees, even the ones right in the middle, in front of the tee boxes are avoidable. With trash buckets at almost every hole, it's amazing that there is still litter on the course. My son was collecting up the bottle caps that he found along the way.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Becca

5+    5/2/2013   5/2/2013
Review By: powelljoy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Top O'The Hill is my favorite course to play. While being a bit of a challenge, it is a very enjoyable course.
Cons: It is a very new course and isn't completely finished. I commend the owners and all who helped along the way. It gets better and better everytime I play.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.