Disc Golf Store
Macomb, IL
Everwood DGC Share
Uploaded By: robthepope Hole #3 (Taken 1/2009)
5 / 327ft.   5 / --   3 / 327ft.   5 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Macomb is long.

2-4    9/24/2008   1/16/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is a very well kept and peaceful park. It has some minor rolling hills with large trees throughout. There are only a few spots with rough. Hole #1 is pretty hard to find.

It is really long and difficult. 14 holes are over 300 feet. This is an advanced/pro calibur course. You get to go out there and rip some drives.

Solid design with a variety of shots.

Nice concrete tee pads and Mach 3 baskets.
Cons: Print out a course map. The tees are very difficult to find and this course is hard to navigate.

The walk from #9 to #10 is ridiculously long.

This course lacks really tight shots and rough to warrant a rating of 4.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you play the 9 hole course in the middle of WIU's campus. It's a great course to play at night.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wow

1    10/24/2009   12/13/2009
Review By: BigA31640
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 17.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic course that has..... well everything. Wooded shots, open shots, short, long, elevation changes. Concrete tee pads. Great baskets.

I know anyone who vists once will be destined to come back again.
Cons: Has no signs and is difficult to navigate if you have no map. Hole one was hard to find I ended up starting on 8.
Other Thoughts: I went to college here back in the 80's and was already familiar with the park. I drew the course layout on a piece of paper and was able to find all the holes. This course has so much room for expansion I wonder what it will look like in 20 years.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 good, solid 18 that spans 2 city parks

1    11/8/2009   11/16/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 335  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good change in course style between front nine and back nine. Front nine has some elevation and plays through mature trees with a good mix of shot variety and length, back nine is a bit longer, more open with slight elevation changes.
-A couple of holes here (5 and 8) have trees just off the teepad that take away the obvious rhbh line, which is nice because it makes you think about the shot and choose the best line on the hole.
-A lot of shot variety here, some slight rhbh hyzers and anhyzers balanced with straighter shots.
-Hole 11 is a tightly wooded hole, downhill to a pin on the side of a hill, nice hole.
-I felt like a lot of these holes were weave type holes where you have to throw a nice S curve to shoot the hole correctly; examples 1, 5, 7, 8, 10, 12.
Cons: -Navigation was my biggest issue here, there are no tee signs and I didn't print the map out so pretty much I had to wander around around a bit to start getting the flow. Biggest issues were hole 1 teepad, hole 5 teepad, hole 10 tee (across the road up by the playground), hole 17 tee (behind the lookout bench left of 16's fairway.) These weren't huge problems as I've had bigger problems with marked courses before, but it was annoying. Even just putting the hole number on the pad would have helped. Luckily the baskets all had number plates on them.
-Parking is a bit ambiguous, I drove around a bit, trying to find 1's tee, and there is very little parking up by the start.
-I didn't see any bathrooms or drinking fountains.
-A couple of holes 13, 14 were a bit too open, but they had some slight elevation to correct for that.
-It's a shame that the lake wasn't brought into play here, 18 plays along it, but no risk involved
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really enjoyed this course, a lot of variety here and it's empty so you aren't overrun by college chuckers like you are at the campus course. The shots here are better than a 3 rating, but the navigation issue is annoying enough to knock it down a half disc.
-do yourself a favor and print out the map before playing here, and if you've seen 4's pin (at the curve in the road at everly park) as you are driving around looking for the first tee, you've gone too far, go back up the hill until the edge of the ravine. There you'll find 1's tee. Happy hunting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Everwood

1    7/17/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: Keokuk Discer
Played: 25  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a nice quiet park. The moderate amount of trees on the front 9 makes this a fun and challenging course while the openness of the back 9 gives the arms a chance to shine. The tee pads are very large and made of concrete. The layout does make you think a little about the type of shot you want to take as well as trajectory of the disc. There are restrooms right off of hole #1 and Hole #9, which is nice for those hot days when you have to drink a lot of water.
Cons: The layout was very confusing, even with a map. I wouldn't want to try this course without one. The lack of tee signs compounded the confusion factor. I drove right past the first tee, not even noticing that it was there. The walk to tee #10 is fairly long, as is the hike back to your car from #18. I should have listened to Greg Cobra and moved my car.
Other Thoughts: The first 11 holes were quite fun and was a challenge with the wind blowing at 20 mph (gusts to 30). The last 5 holes were just frustrating because of how wide open and boring they were. The water on 18 does not come into play unless you really shank one off the the right. Also, I'd have given this course a lot better score if it had tee signs.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course--but take a map!

1    11/1/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: Cobra165
Played: 100  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid layout with a good mix of shots. Fun course overall. Nice city park. Well-maintained. Far enough away from WIU to be a quiet, pleasant round.
Cons: No tee signs! The walk from 9's basket to 10's tee is quite long. Holes a bit too long in spots. One or two tees too close to previous basket, which could have been avoided by shortening hole a bit.
Other Thoughts: First half of the course is in a moderately wooded city park, playing up and down gentle hills. Very nice, and a good mix of short and long. Back 9 is across the street. There's no danger in crossing, but the walk is too long. Move your car, then play the back 9. Back 9 starts strong then plays through a tight, wooded gauntlet (fun contrast) into a less-mature but still well-groomed portion of the park. These holes are solid, but a little less interesting. Overall a good course, but the absence of tee signs is inexplicable. Print out the course map and take it with you or you will leave the course angry. A few bucks spent on tee signs could raise the rating on this course by a full point.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/17/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: robthepope
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very beautiful scenery throughout a variety of holes that start tight with a moderate covering of mature trees and change in relief and obstacles and finish with some long chalenging open holes with freshly planted trees. Accessable shelters/picnic areas, restrooms, and several water fountains.
Cons: Space primarily park area and secondarily a disc golf course. Thus poor layout and spacing between holes make navigation difficult without maps. Back half long and wide open, discs susceptible to unforgiving winds that make holes arduous and perceptively unrewarding. Some holes boarder lush forests with poison ivy and thorns.
Other Thoughts: A hometown gem yet to be discovered by very many WIU students. One of my favorites!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.