Pilot Mountain, NC 
Armfield Civic Center Share
Uploaded By: 22dude Hole #1 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 222ft.   3 / 279ft.   3 / 529ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    6/21/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: MichaelWebster
Played: 45  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a new gem in NC! This course plays through beautiful wooded hills with a few grassy holes mixed throughout. The course challenges a variety of lines and distances, from touch putter shots to long drives. The design uses the available land well to create a challenging layout.
Cons: The baskets are cheap and do not catch well, and seem to be easily bent out of shape. Teepads don't exist yet, and the signage is almost non-existent. Bring a course map with you to make sure you can navigate through the course. I would have liked to see a few more Par 4-5s to require a bit more strategy. Besides these facts, the course is really well designed.
Other Thoughts: The rough is really thick since this re-design seems recent and the course doesn't seem to get much play. Poison Ivy was present in large quantities, so wear high socks and wash asap! Some highlights are: Hole #1 is gorgeous downhill with a grassy fairway. From the teepad of hole # 5 you cannot see a river running just off the fairway to the left of this 440 foot bomb. Hole #7 is a 150 foot wooded toss down a hill that drops 40 feet, just a jump-putt or a light toss. Hole #15 is a 740 foot par 4 that plays down a powerline clearing and requires two good throws for a putt at birdie.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A walk in the park

1    6/2/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: Tenacious EJ
Played: 33  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 21.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -a fair amount of elevation changes
-18 holes
-nice view with some interesting holes
-mix of long and short holes
- multiple tees
Cons: -little to no signage
-terrible tees
-a few holes that don't work
-the course is built in and around numerous running and hiking trails and picnic areas
Other Thoughts: I approached this course with some trepidation, knowing that it was recently redone and that it was still in the process of being finished. I arrived at the Civic Center and drove around for a while looking for the start of the course. There were no signs directing me to the start, and I was lucky to find it. I found a sign lying on its side near the first hole that signifies it as the start. There was a post that said "hole 1, par 3," and some flat rocks spray-painted blue. I came to realize the white, yellow, and blue painted rocks were the "pads," which were grass. The post signifying the first hole was one of few, if any, posts that identify where holes begin. The yellow tee, which was supposedly on the other side of the road, was not to be found. There was no course map on the kiosk near hole 1, nor were there copies of the map.

This beginning should have been a warning to me about the rest of the course. In fairness, the course is not horrible, but it is unfinished. Faded spraypaint on rocks in high grass or dirt on uneven terrain does not make good tees, and they are hard to locate to boot. Thankfully, the map linked to on this website is accurate, if sometimes hard to read. Each basket has a red and white arrow pointing to the next hole, and there are blue spraypainted arrows on the ground as well to help guide you. The baskets are old and wobbly, but certainly playable. One problem is that some of the holes, while interesting ideas, just don't work. Hole 7, for example, is a short throw from the edge of a cliff to a basket surrounded by chest high foliage. It's a concept hole that just doesn't work- hit the green or don't. 13 starts with the dreaded lay-up shot, then a steep, uphill turn. Hole 4 is a medium range throw with a 90 degree turn at the end. Another issue is numerous areas that need trimming of some sort. Overhanging branches on hole 2, and 10, the harsh turn on 8 that allows for only one lane to the basket where there could easily, and probably should be two (if some clearing was done on the right side of the trees larger trees at the bend it would be a better hole). In fact, quite a few of the holes could use some clearing, whether high or low (beware the poison ivy!).

But the biggest potential problem I foresee, is that the course was built in and among walking and running trails. Signs for the trails litter the course, making course navigation difficult. And a lot of the holes run alongside trails, or throw over, through, or at them. 17 throws at and over a foot bridge, while 3, 4, 5, and 8 double as fairways and trails. I threw long on 12, and realized a running trail went right behind the basket, and with all the trees on the course people will be coming from behind blind spots and in the line of fire on a busy day. 13 throws over a picnic table, and 14 throws into a picnic area! Luckily, I went on a Monday about lunchtime and I never saw another person throughout my round. But understand that on a busier day you will be interacting with people who don't know what it feels like to get tagged by a disc.

All this is a shame. There could be a really nice course here, and someday perhaps it will be once finished. Tee signs with proper distances are a must if no map is available. Uneven ground makes for poor tees- concrete would be appreciated, but gravel tees might be a better option. And I hope the designers realize putting the yellow tee 20 ft behind the blue tee doesn't really much change the hole or add anything new. At the same time, the short white tees offer very little challenge and will likely not interest any but the youngest players. There are some beautiful parts of the course- The green for 8 is gorgeous, and the short 16th is an interesting little challenge. 15 is by far the signature hole- 744 ft downhill in a tight fairway centered around telephone poles- all in a par 4, where landing outside the fairway is devastating to your score. Overall the course isn't as challenging as it could be, but it does what it can to make use of elevation changes, and for an area with no other courses it's the best available. It's a bit of a shame Pilot Mountain doesn't make much of an appearance in the view once on the course itself, but the landscape on the course is pretty enough. I wouldn't call it a destination course by any means, but if you're traveling through the area its close to the highway and good for a few hours of fun.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

REDESIGNED! Come try it now.

5+    5/25/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: hycard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6 Years
Pros: Now this course has a challenging layout based on skill level instead of the old fractured layout.

Beautiful new setting behind the Armfield Civic Center with many holes bordered by Tom's Creek.

Water and huge rock formations come into play.

White and blue tees in place with gold tees almost completed.

Good mixture of shorter and longer hole distances.

Many holes have baskets placed out of view from tee making for very few tee shots that can reach the target. Challenging for all skill levels.

Wildlife abundant: lots of birds, deer, turkey, snakes, salamanders, possum, squirrels, and frogs spotted so far.

Bathrooms located at front section of park and porta-john near hole #2 of new layout.
Cons: Some fairways are really tight as the course is still getting "played in" as a new layout. This will only get better though, and some consider this a "pro" rather than a "con."

Signage is improving rapidly as volunteers get holes dug and posts relocated.

Watch for hikers, dog-walkers, and 5K runners since these trails are intermingled with the disc golf route.

Other Thoughts: Much better course now after redesign....Thank you to the fine people who made the new layout possible!

Redesign allows disc golf to utilize a far better area of this park. Previously disc golfers had to skip holes that were played next to baseball fields and parking spots.

Under construction

1    5/21/2014   5/21/2014
Review By: waltny
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Seems like it will end up being a decent course once they get it planned out and executed.

Alot of the tee indicators and next tee that way signs were leaning up against a fence, so in the future that should be available.
Cons: This course still seems to be under construction. I think I was only able to find a few of the front 9. The tee areas are only painted on the grass, so in a few days I dont think you may even find those. They anchored the baskets in the concrete with PVC pipe, I can forsee issues with this if they dont shim them up as a few rattle.
Other Thoughts: On the hole up the hill, I think the small tree in the middle of the "fairway" should be considered to be removed. I would love to see someone snake it through the current layout and park one in the ring. Near impossible even going up top.

All in all it seems like it might turn out to be an interesting course. They need some work with signage and some kind of actual teebox. I will be in and out of the area and I will be sure to check on and it in the future.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.