Pilot Mountain, NC
Armfield Civic Center Share
Uploaded By: DGolfer2011 Hole #1
3 / 248ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A nice walk in the woods, with some kind of crap disc on the way.

1    3/15/2014   3/19/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 28  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.9 Years
Pros: The course traverses some really beautiful walking paths and woods. There is okay signage telling you where to go, which is needed! Pretty cool in that there is a 9 hole loop and an 18 hole loop.
Cons: No tees, old busted baskets. Really long distances between holes (especially to hole #7 on the 18 hole loop) and a lot of overlap. Not a huge variety of shots, and some holes are kinda dumb (#15).
Other Thoughts: When I was there, we actually passed a group of people that were "testing out a new layout", so this may improve, but right now the design is pretty tiring and a bit boring. If you think of it as basically a glorified walk in the woods, it ain't half bad though!

Not very fun

1    8/31/2013   8/31/2013
Review By: Jonathan K.
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Some short holes for beginners.
-Clean.
-There were a couple cool holes....#3 with the basket on the side of a hill.......#7 was neat in a simple way. Straight shot downhill with a ditch with growth in the middle.
Cons: -WAY too much walking between holes, and a lot of backtracking from some baskets to the next tee. Too many times you would throw from A to C for instance, then have to turn around, backtrack to B for the next hole. As other commenters have mentioned, the layout of the course just isn't good at all. If there was some tweaking done it would be much better.
-Couldn't locate the basket for 16. We found the tee but couldn't really figure out where the basket was.
-There are some areas of real thick brush that could easily swallow a disc if you get a little off the fairway.
Other Thoughts: I lost a disc on #9. It is a hard left from the tee to the basket with a big field of THICK brush/grass/weeds/thorns in front of you as you throw. Well, my throw went a little too far out in front and didn't hook enough to the left and into the field it went. I think it went in about 15-20 feet of so. We looked for 20 minutes but could not find it. It is a red/brown Discraft Wasp in case someone wants to take a bush axe out there and start looking. The brush is pushed down where we walked around so that will give you a general idea of where to look. The red/brown color of the disc doesn't help much either. I did find plenty of briers though!

I love to play disc golf, and usually like just about any course I play, but for some reason this one just didn't do much for me. My girlfriend thought the same way. Clear out some of the thick brush. Looking through the woods is one thing, but looking through areas of overgrown stuff just isn't much fun. I know - if I just throw it better I wouldn't have that problem, but we all have one go a little off course sometime.

We were just passing through from eastern NC on the way to WV and picked a couple courses to hit on the way. We played Horizons Park just outside Winston Salem first and it was really open with some random trees here and there to add a little challenge. Unfortunately if Armfield isn't tweaked then we won't be back to this one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good course for the area

1    9/29/2011   4/29/2012
Review By: destroy ya
Played: 45  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Several different shot types required as the course offers a nice terrain change throughout.
Cons: Confusing layout at times.
Other Thoughts: In no way do i mean any disrespect to the original designer of the layout,, but there are a couple of opportunities to "tweak" some of the holes to make it a great course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 OK course, maybe not playing all the holes gives you the most bang for your buck

1    8/28/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: pfpro
Played: 45  Reviewed: 35
Pros: - The park is manicured - the hole thing, not just the holes close in, but the holes in the natural area as well.
- Great beginner park.
- Next tee signs are right on target - if you can't see the teebox from the last basket, there are signs that are very intuitive.
- Close to Pilot Mountain State Park
Cons: - The middle third of the course is a ton of walking. 9-10 required so much, we were wondering if we were lost in the back, but were actually on track....
- No teepads
- Some holes are ridiculously short.
- Some holes are really close to park areas for other use.
Other Thoughts: So I say this many times, but I golf with my daughters (11, 9, 5) so I think like a dad who is trying to spend time with his daughters. When we started this course, I thought it was perfect: beautiful park, short holes, all was good. Then we hit the back end, and it because interesting. The good thing is, my kids look at DGing as somewhat of a nature hike, so they went down to the creek, they picked wildflowers, etc and we survived. I uploaded photos of the maps, and here's what I would recommend: Play 1-7 and then 13-18. The five holes that I propose skipping - none were anything really interesting (although, again - the fairways were well-maintained and generous - kudos to the staff). If we play this course again, this is what I am doing. 16 is the most challenging (blind dogleg left uphill through a tunnel of trees). We played Horizon the next day, and although it was crowded it was much more enjoyable.

  Armfield

1    7/17/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: bbowles22
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.7 Years
Pros: Pretty easy to follow with signage and tee box markers. Would probably be fun it you were a first time player with the short and very forgiving holes. Well maintained.
Cons: The first 6 holes are very short, equivalent to a mid range shot. The course has (2) par 2's that are not much more than a long putt. If you decide to play 18 holes instead of the original 9 you better be ready to walk a country mile starting after #6. All holes are in wide open holes with very few obstructions or obstacles. If they had utilized the many acres of woods to make some nice holes it would have been more enjoyable; instead you walk anywhere from 2-5 minutes between holes THROUGH THE WOODS to get to a wide open field. Holes #16-18 play from the same tee pads as the original 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: It was a great idea for a course but a bad design. I have played Highland Hills where lots of walking is required but this was miserable since you spend more time walking then actually playing. I will not play this course again unless a new design configured. There is plenty of woods, hills, and creeks to make an awesome course that would probably be comparable to Yadkinville or Johnson Street. If you have beening playing disc golf for a while I would not recommend playing this course.

  

2-4    6/24/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: nerorat
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 more baskets were recently added making it a full 18 hole course. The new holes (#7 through 15) take you way back into the back of the park for a very scenic hike through open medows over a stream and through old, beautiful forest. While playing here, I could not here the roads nor did I see anyone except a curious deer who was checking out the basket on the new hole 8.
Cons: The old 9 holes could get pretty boring with repeated play. There are few trees and it's pretty much a straight shot to the baskets. The new holes are even worse. They would be great for ball golf--complete with fairway and a tall rough, which for the most part is the only "obstacle" you'll have to watch out for, and that will only be during the spring and summer months.

There were a couple of times you had to take trails through the woods to get to the next tee--they could have easily placed baskets here for at least a little challenge. As it stands now, all of the new holes are pretty much the same--see how far you can throw in an open field. It seems like they have a lot of very good land to work with here. I hope that they will reconsider some of the basket placements. If they could move a few baskets onto some of the land already cut for trales from one hole to the next, and maybe plant a few trees on some of the new fairways they could easily have a phenomenal course here.
Other Thoughts: This course is only a few minutes from home and with the new holes offers a great, quiet place to get away...not to mention practice my distance drives. I'm very happy to see the city of Pilot Mountain show there support for the sport with the addition of the new holes. However, I hope they will be willing to reconsider the course layout a little. I would gladly volunteer my time to help them make this a great course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Armfield

1    5/9/2011   5/11/2011
Review By: DGolfer2011
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is close to home. The closest decent courses to the Pilot Mountain area are in Winston-Salem or Yadkinville. The course is easy to navigate. Clear marked tee markers with hole numbers and par number. Most of the course is mowed grass with little trouble to get into by beginners.
Cons: This may all sound a little harsh. To begin with I do not agree with some of the Par numbers on several of the holes. It looks like they went strictly on distance when choosing the proper par for each hole. Some holes are easy pars, while others force you to make perfect shots to even come close to making par. The next thing that I picked up on was that 2 of the holes are very close to ball fields. Beginners with a hard left tail at the end of their flight pattern will put a few discs onto the fields. Also, 3 of the holes travel down parking lots or roads within the park. If there arent any games going on then this shouldnt be an issue. 7 of the 9 holes are mainly open with few obstructions. This can get old after repeated play. Hole number 7 is the only hole that incorporates any form of a wooded area. The fairway is only about 10 feet wide which isnt a problem, except for the poison oak that thickly lines each side of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Its not too bad of a course for locals to squeeze in a quick round. It will be nicer if the tee boxes were concrete. In my opinion it isnt a course that will continue to pull people from miles around. That being said, the civic center did do an excellent job in using a lot of the available space around the park. Its not difficult to move through. It should be a good course to introduce people to the game, without having to drive a longer distance. It did make me feel a little better about the course after speaking with a groundskeeper while playing. He mentioned something about 9 more holes being added soon.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.