Bemidji, MN 
Bemidji City Park Share
Uploaded By: wadevk Hole #1
3 / 140ft.   3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Bemidji DG

5+    5/27/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: anerikwithak
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Environmental variety
Hole variety
Caters to different skill levels
Community
Cons: Water hazards if you're not a fan of them
Pollution in water hazards
Pins taken down too early, and put up late
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is great. This course demands accuracy, but it's also fun for casual players.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Paul Bunyans Favorite Disc Golf course?

1    7/28/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: deadbody
Played: 103  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice concrete teepads and nice baskets.

Pretty good use of space available

lots of tight wooded holes, that mixed left and right turns well.

Nice signs that tell you where the next tee is.

Multiple tees.
Cons: Pretty short, Maybe 1 hole that a long arm can really open up on. I have a noodle arm and was throwing a full driver on less than half the holes.

The holes kind of run together. Like there are only so many ways you can play a 200-300 ft wooded hole with a bit of a turn.

Other Thoughts: Would have been a 3 but one of the holes had by our count 15 tampon applicators strewn about the fairway. This really squicked up out, like I know the course was built next to a covered landfill, but walking on someone elses biowaste is kinda nasty.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Wooded Course

2-4    5/3/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: Smileyaili17
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: --A lot of fun wooded shots that require finesse and accuracy, both hyzers and anhyzers and other technical shots
--Concrete tees that are a good size
--Superb hole markers at the tees (see pictures)
--Being a wooded course, it provides a great opportunity to practice and hone in on your accuracy and finesse throws because it forces you to shoot between gaps that are often only 6-15 feet wide (the "fairway" on hole 9 is only about 6 feet wide, the fairway on holes 1, 2, 13 is quite narrow as well, and hole 15's fairway is nonexistent as there are about half a dozen trees clumped right in front of the tee forcing you to throw a steep hyzer if you want a safe shot)
--Dual tees
--The baskets are also newer and not worn out or anything
Cons: --Too many wooded holes and it gets redundant quickly (the first time I played it I got bored because they all look the same after awhile). I miss open holes where I can launch my driver on when I play here.
--The flow of the course is really confusing around certain holes (especially between holes 1 and 2 where you have to basically walk back down the fairway of hole 1 to get the tee of hole 2 which is closer to the road than hole 1's tee). I would recommend going with someone who has played it before so they can lead you through. Fortunately, the hole diagrams at the tees have directions to the next hole, so if it's your first time, double check where you need to go while you're still at the tee
--Really crowded (2/3 times I have gone the parking lot was full; the only time it's free of people is in the mornings). In fact, it's the busiest course on all 10 courses I've ever played on.
Other Thoughts: Good course if you're in town (the only disc golf course in town in fact). It is great for learning how to play on wooded holes. I like variety and since most holes are wooded it gets old for me, but I do like the challenge of all the tight fairways where I can practice my finesse skills.

Grading Criteria:

Landscape quality
4/5

Baskets, Tees and Hole diagrams
5/5

Variety in hole distances
3/5

Variety in hole types
(field/wooded holes; hill/level holes; etc)
2.5/5

Difficulty/Challenge
4.5/5

Course flow
3/5

Busyness
1/5

Outside interference
(pedestrians; traffic noise distractions; etc)
4.5/5

Fun factor
3.5/5

Use of Available Land
4/5

Total: 3.5/5

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Thick Shrubbery

2-4    4/19/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: Woodbooger
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course is friggen huge. Great Bird watchin and some great looks at a bunch a really neat trees. Super cool drawings on signs to make sure that you dont get lost in all of the nar nar.Biggest pro of this course....always a potential that a squatch crosses your path while your tryin to get pitted after throwing the dick like its your J.O.B.
Cons: A plethra of thorns if you throw off the " fairway". So much nar nar that sometimes its hard to find the disks. Also the first couple times that i have played it a large to medium size African american was gett gibbled on whole 5.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course was dec. Im not gunna go out of my way to say it was great just dec. I def would call it "SPOT" or even " DA SPOT". THinkin this course is gunna have some prettygnarly berry pickin this summer and if your playing it in the fall the leaves on the trees are just gunna be so pitted

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  bemidji course

5+    8/17/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: Spletty
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fast course, short holes, easy to get to
Cons: Lots of trees, difficult to find some tees
Other Thoughts: The course now has signs telling par for the hole, distance for both tees, and location of next hole. Overall solid course

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Well rounded course.

5+    6/24/2012   6/24/2011
Review By: wadevk
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of long narrow technical shots to really get some practice hitting lanes.

Signage is great, As can be seen in the pictures there are detailed info signs at every tee which include distances and maps.

Multiple tees provide fun for beginners and a challenge for the experienced players.

Course is well maintained, Rarely any trash laying around and is mowed at least once a week.

Lots of long holes where you can really open up your arm and test your distance drives.
Cons: Most teeboxes are level with the ground and get covered with dirt/mud quite often. I find myself bringing a small broom and sweeping them off when I am going to play a serious round.

The Parks Department removes the baskets on November 1st every year to get ready for the Skiing season (majority of the course is on a ski trail) If there is snow on the ground this is fine, however most years this is too early and there could be another month of golf played before the snow flies.

Other Thoughts: Back when I first started playing this course I was a beginner. I thought narrow fairways and heavy woods was a Con... Now that I have more experience and have played several other courses I realize this is a Pro as it really helps you hit those tight lanes on other courses.

To the other reviewer saying this course is way too busy, It IS very busy in the early spring when college classes get out, But during the summer when a good majority of those students have moved back home it is a quiet course with little wait time.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best city park course I've played

1    6/23/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: dispatch1313
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 holes, new concrete tee pads, long and short tee locations, new baskets. Most of the holes are in or along the woods. Its a very technical and challenging course. There is a lot of water in play on this course. You have to throw along side/across a creek an a couple, and over a pond on another. Very fun course to play, definitely worth checking out if you're in the area.
Cons: I'm not sure if its because its so new, but there are no signs by the tee pads that say what number hole you're on. There was a few times I had to run up to the basket to see if I was throwing off the right pad.
Other Thoughts: I would rate this course a 3.75 if I could.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.