West Bend, WI 
Riverside Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: widye Hole #8
3 / 320ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Great Course

5+    6/27/2014   6/28/2014
Review By: cnwillie
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety of distance and difficulty throughout the course. Long holes with tall grass and trees that come into play. Along with short easy holes with few obstacles.

All the tee's are cement and are great lengths to get a good start, along with benches on every hole, and very detailed signs on almost all of the holes.
Cons: Can be very wet on hole's 1 and 16. still very playable but can be annoying getting everything all wet. won't hurt to pack a towel.

Navigation can be difficult as their is some walking from hole to hole, but there are signs and always people their to direct you for your first time.
Other Thoughts: I was one of the first people to have the pleasure of playing this course before it was even 18 holes. Over the past few years i have been happy to see it develop into a wonderful course that everyone can play and i hope everyone that plays it has a great time.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

LONG!

1    5/18/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: Scott Van Dyke
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 20.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hole Length. I do prefer holes where I can air out my drivers.
Teepads. These are flared and I've never seen larger ones out there. Think: Tendick, but in an XXL size. Perhaps these were on a portion of the holes only, as I believe this course grew from 9 to 18 holes at one point.
Location.... with Slinger having closed up, and no other decent 18 hole courses (that I know of) around the Washington Co. area, this was a welcome addition.
Not too crowded.
Water hazzards. There are two shots over a creek you have to make when playing from the pro's. Nice design implementation!
Tee signs are very well put together.
Cons: The only thing that I would pick on here is that the pro pads just "felt" like the only option to play from. I don't generally play from anything but the am's, but I felt like the course was designed around the longer tee positions. Perhaps this will be improved over time. Much of the am pads I either missed, or there were no cement pads in that location.
The walk from 15 to 16 was a bit much, but I don't see any way around that.
Other Thoughts: Playing from the pro pads wore me out. I like the long holes over a shorter technical course like Valley View or LimeKiln. Playing this for the first time, I just wasn't prepared for back to back 400+ ft. holes I guess.
When you park in the lot, find the walking path and take it into the park. The first hole's pro pad will be on your right. The am pad is a few minute's walk down onto the hole itself, though I don't know why anyone would play from there....

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Solid and challenging course

5+    3/29/2014   6/2/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 94  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a city park, but with nice open and wooded holes, along with a bit of elevation that makes for some fun tee shots.

Great catching baskets in good shape. Nothing to complain about here.

Concrete tee pads on all long positions, and nearly all natural tee pads for the shorts. Hole 4 is the only hole with two concrete pads.

GREAT signs at each hole. Very large, with all the information you could want. These are possibly the most visually appealing signs I've seen.

Navigation is easy, with the flow of the course being very intuitive. The only transition that could cause any issues is from 3 to 4, but follow the paved path, and you're in business. Really nice setup for tournaments.

Lots of fun lines here, along with a couple bomber holes from up on the hills. The wooded holes offer a lot of different lines, with most having a forced line that you'll need to hit to score well. Also, a really nice mix of distances keep the course feeling fresh from hole to hole.
Cons: It would be nice if the short tee pads were concrete and had more than just rudimentary paper signs, but honestly, I don't think I've ever seen anybody playing the short tees.

Wind can be a huge factor on the more open holes, especially the shots from elevation.

It can get very wet here in the spring...there are some lower wetland areas that can flood out, making it very difficult early in the season, unless you're wearing your mukluks.

Other Thoughts: This really is a solid course in a nice park with man other amenities. Rentable pavilions, playgrounds, baseball diamonds, etc.

There are two parking lots, one that sits near the beginning of hole 3, and the other that sits near the basket of 18. If you park here, you'll need to walk up the path to the practice basket and Hole 1 tee pad.

Overall, a really solid course, especially if you can throw 350-400'. Lots of scoring opportunity, or, if you're off that day, lots of high scoring opportunity. Definitely worth a couple spins if the opportunity presents itself.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very nice 18 in very nice park.

1    8/26/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 152  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice looking chainstar baskets on every hole. These were all in great shape and caught nicely. The tee pads here were probably the best I've ever seen in about 90 different courses so far. They are huge, level and grippy. They start out about 8 feet wide in the back and flare down to 4 or 5 feet wide in the front. Also every tee pad had a bench on the back part which is a nice bonus. They incorporate the river that runs through the park on holes 1 and 17 which is a cool idea here. There's a decent amount of elevation here as well. Nothing too drastic but enough to keep it interesting in spots. There's also a good amount of heavily wooded, moderately wooded and mostly open shots here. The distances also vary nicely on this course. There were two sets of tees on most holes too. The longs being concrete and the shorts being grass/dirt. There weren't signs on every hole but at least half it seemed if not more. Again, like the tee pads here the signs are the biggest and best I've seen to date. They show a nice topographical diagram of the hole layout with hole locations, tee locations, distances and pars. Very informative and easy to spot. The flow of this course was excellent. Hole 1 starts very near the parking lot and 18 ends right next to it. Every hole in between flows nicely to the next hole. Also all the holes keep a safe amount of distance away from each other. All said this is a very fun, well rounded course. It's still new too so it should only get better with time.
Cons: It can get a bit busy it seems but with a course this nice that's to be expected. Other than that this is a really nice course with not much for cons. I could say the short tees would be better with concrete but again I'm sure that's coming eventually.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely worth a trip here if you're in the area. Good challenge for intermediate to skilled players alike. Many things they did here I would love to see new courses do in the future. This one won't disappoint.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good course

5+    7/4/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Sturmus
Played: 90  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of shots. Long bombs, short curves, and wooded shots. Long tees are good shots; short tees are short.
Cons: Course can get very busy during peak hours.
About 1/2 are concrete, 1/2 are not.
Other Thoughts: Good course to play if you're in the area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/8/2013   5/11/2013
Review By: 00100
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall a relatively calm park course, nice signage and tee pads on the permanent holes (1,2,3,4,5,6,12,13,16,17, and 18). Benches on every hole that I can remember. Nice mix of wooded and open holes with some elevation change (the most notable of which I would say are on 12 and 16).
Cons: Dirt tee pads can get muddy and the hillside on hole 2 can become squishy after rain. The walks between 3-4 and 15-16 can be a bit long. Some players unfamiliar with the course will start on hole 3 causing some confusion.
Other Thoughts: When throwing hole 12 keep in mind the disc can skip a large amount at the bottom. Holes 5 through 13 can be cut off from wind on a calm or moderately windy day as opposed to the other holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/8/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: DonoFerguson
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very challening course, long holes, short holes, wooded shots. Overal this is going to be a very good course in the future.
Cons: The only bad thing about this course is that it doesnt have all of its teepads in yet, we have the money just not the people to do it yet.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open spaces

1    6/3/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling multi-use park. There are a handful of holes in the wooded areas of the park that offer some fun technical shots. These are mostly shorter and have a good mix of left and right turning lines. There is some thick underbrush in spots to punish errant drives.

The rest of the course plays in open areas with scattered trees. There is plenty of length on these holes, offering several opportunities to open up and throw longer drives. It seems like the tees and pads are an ongoing process, the concrete pads that were in on a few holes were large and nicely textured, assuming the rest of the holes get that kind of treatment this is a big plus. The signs are in a similar state, mostly not finished, but a few great signs with hopefully more to come. There are next tee markers for several of the walks between holes, always a nice touch.
Cons: The course plays pretty wide open overall, and can feel a bit repetitive. I'm not a fan of tall prairie grass, and it comes into play on several of the open holes here, it adds more frustration than it does legitimate disc golf challenge. There are lots of long walks between holes that break up the flow of your round.

There are dual pin placements, but the current position isn't marked on the sign so you have to walk ahead to scout out the holes despite good signage. There are some spots where walking paths and other park activities are in play, this could be a safety issue on a busy day.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course pretty long, though mostly it's not all that punitive for less accurate throwers. More experienced players might enjoy the chance to rip some long drives, but it doesn't really provide a great overall test of various disc golf skills.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Work in progress

5+    5/19/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: Daynk
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Long course, with a few challenging holes.
Cons: Only real challenge is the distance. Most holes are just long empty fields with a basket at the end. Only a few actually have obstacles to think about. Also there is a long walk between holes 3 to 4 and 15 to 16. As for the water hazard its barely a hazard. The river is directly in front of the tee pad so it isn't much of a challenge.
Other Thoughts: Other park users don't respect the course and continually walk out in front of golfers. This course is a work in progress so maybe in five years it might be comparable to something like Crystal Lake Park.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/15/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: ZDotHalbach
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice tees and signs
Good mix of field shot wooded shots and everything in between
Wood chips fairways in the woods
Good baskets
Cons: Can get a little confusing in some parts
Bugs
No benches or garbage cans
Other Thoughts: Minor improvements can make this course one of the best
If all the tee signs were like they are on hole 1 that would be killer good

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.