Carmel, IN 
The Hill @ Northview Church Share
Uploaded By: holyschmidtski Hole #13 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 160ft.   3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Blue Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 The Hill

2-4    7/15/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: Discalier
Played: 40  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes. It's the highest point in Carmel, IN. The pin placement makes for much of the difficulty, as a lot of them are placed behind and around trees.
Cons: The first 5 holes are not long, but VERY wooded. The mosquitos will kill you on the front 9. No concrete pads, so make sure to bring a good pair of shoes or you'll be slipping and sliding on your drives.
Other Thoughts: Is a good change-up from the other courses in the area. Beautiful course, but not the most difficult.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

1    7/27/2011   8/4/2011
Review By: Victory33
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Elevation! This course with some fun elevation. Nothing too crazy, but the layout is great. There are open holes, wooded holes, uphill shots, downhill shots, dogleg holes...it's got a fair amount of variety. The baskets are all Innova and great quality. The course was well maintained and being mowed while I played, the in and out of bounds were clearly marked with bushes. Should be pretty hard to lose a disc on this course, even in the wooded area. I noticed alternate basket locations as well, which is always a plus for variety.

The course takes you around a great plot of beautiful land and leaves you near where you started. Most holes were very fun and manageable for par or birdies....with a few ace possibilities. Place nearby to buy discs as well if always a plus.

Great location in good area, not far from Dillion park if you want to get 18 holes in.
Cons: Signage got confusing my first time, but should be easy next time. Red and Blue tees were sometimes hard to find due to lack of concrete. Course is also used as Cross Country course, which isn't horrible unless you have to wait to tee off. Don't like the 8pm closing time when the sun stays out until 9 in the summer.

I couldn't see the basket from quite a few tee pads, I had to walk around to find where I was shooting to. In time that won't be a big deal, but it's not always awesome shooting blind at a basket. Course could have used a few more wooded holes in the front 9.
Other Thoughts: Overall, my new favorite course near Indianapolis. I really appreciate the church building this course and can't wait to play there some more. Highly recommended.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Expertly Designed and Going to Be better

2-4    6/29/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Chainrattler
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is layed on a prime piece of land. The course is expertly maintained. The design with am and pro tees is sweet. Im sure teepads will be poured, so don't get all nasty about that. This is a new course and a work in progress. The use of the elevation and already mature trees is nothing less than brilliant. Appr. 4 of the teeshots are blind since the pins are tucked behind evergreens or other types od mature tees. The use of the creek on 9 makes it a great challenge. The rolling hills of the back 9 and the monster drives you need to score well is not for babies. This course is a premier course for the Indy area, and has an excellent future. The Northview campus has a nice cafe and eatery. The bookstore also sells discs. Overall the pros of this course is a wonderful representation of disc golf.
Cons: If I could change something I would dig out a pond and let it come into play. That would also add to the already beautiful landscape.
Other Thoughts: It is my opinion this course along with Dillon is setting a standard and a bar that other courses in the Indy area and other growing disc golf cities are paling in comparison to. I've only been playing 1 year but I'm a diehard player already with 40 courses under my belt, and I think it's awesome to see our area of the state and midwest putting in some courses that anyone who is a lover of the game would respect. The Hill is an ultimate representation of where this great sport is heading.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 top five

1    6/12/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: madman1101
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2011
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very nice layout, utilizing the hills and trees on the property. flowed very well and felt very natural. although the holes are short, most are very difficult
Cons: did not go from one hole to another easily at times. be sure to look at signs to figure out where to go. one of the best courses, but not much places for you to put trash. Holes 4, 5, 6 are back in a wooded area of the property. be sure to watch out for poison ivy. speaking with the groundskeeper she told me she sprayed SIX GALLONS of ivy killer and she still has to get more. so be careful
Other Thoughts: overall, my favorite course so far. liked the layout and glad to have a new place to play. be sure to bring your "A" Game, as well as your legs. plenty of hills. HAVE FUN! also talking with the groundskeeper, there is not enough money in the budget for concrete pads. but they will put them in once the funds are raised.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to "The Hill" at Northview Church

5+    5/11/2011   5/13/2011
Review By: MacDaddy
Played: 145  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 31.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2011
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course has a rolling terrain that inlcudes the highest point in Hamilton County. You will get to throw shots that are open, tight, wooded, downhill, lightly wooded, and uphill. It is manicured by a seasoned golf grounds professional; Marcia Schwartz. She is dedicated to making this course something special!

The course has many features that will imediately remind the player of a "ball" golf course. The tees are large, grassy patches, cut to 3.5" with movable, colored tee markers. There are also fairway-greens areas that are also cut at 3.5". All the rest of the "rough" is cut at 5". Almost every hole has some degree of elavation change on it. Vegitation runs from wide open, tight wooded fairways, and others with a little of both.

The 4 combinations for Red & Blue tees with an "A" and "B" pin location on each hole produce layouts that allows brand newbies, intermediate, and advanced level players to enjoy the course.

Pro-shop on site at Capstone Bookstore/Cafe (like a really nice Starbucks).
Cons: It could use a few more trees on some of the holes (there is a plan to add several in the future). The course will be closed during a few other large events at the church, like various large cross-country meets that are held on the grounds highly rated running course.
Other Thoughts: Of course no alcohol. And trash collection is limited, so please pack it in-pack it out.

Special thanks to Connor Powell who did fundraising and provided labor for this course as his Eagle Scout project. Congrats to him and his mom Kim, with thanks to all of the donors who made this course possible!

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.